Reviews and Ratings for Kershaw 1556BW Cryo II Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Blackwashed Plain Blade, Rick Hinderer Framelock Design

Kershaw 1556BW Cryo II Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Blackwashed Plain Blade, Rick Hinderer Framelock Designrated 4.308 stars out of 5 (13 reviews)
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
2
3 star
2
2 star
1
1 star
0
Kershaw 1556BW Cryo II Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25 inch Blackwashed Plain Blade, Rick Hinderer Framelock Design

 

Price: $45.95

Save $25.44 (36%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Kershaw 1556BW Cryo II Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Blackwashed Plain Blade, Rick Hinderer Framelock Design
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bladesmith3
colorado springs
May 06, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Not just a poor mans Hinderer
First of all I will spoil the review right now and say this is the BEST $30 folding knife on the market in my opinion. I was a custom knife maker (bladesmith3 is my handle not my blade mark. most people know me by my handle) for almost 40 years before I broke my neck and lost most of the use of my right arm. Now I just enjoy using knifes. Yes I have dozens of high end and hand made knives. I am not saying that the CRYO II 1556BW is better. I am saying that it is great in it's own right. This knife rocks!! I love the blackwash finish and the assisted flipper is wonderful with my disability. Mine came super sharp and well centered. Many of my friends (all of them knife people) have purchased one after holding it in their hands for about a minute. That says a book worth. I have used it as an EDC for a few weeks now. I actually love the weight and the correct amount of jimping. The blade shape and the strong lockup make this useful for most tasks. the blackwash finish lets you use and sharpen this knife without feeling guilty. Heavy use just gives it more character. Is it perfect? No. I carry blade up. The clip rides lower on the knife so too much knife rides out of your pocket. So it needs a higher mounting on the point up side. I would also like a deep carry clip instead of the one it comes with. (also the clip needs to be blackwashed. I aged my clip in just 2 minutes with a scotch brite pad. Looks great) Do yourself a favor and buy one of these.
Kershaw 1556BW Cryo II Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Blackwashed Plain Blade, Rick Hinderer Framelock Design
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ben D
Illinois
Apr 09, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Kershaw 1556bw
Very good knife it has a good feel and extremely sharp knife use it for daily use and Excell at any job I have used it for. Fits very smoothly in pocket and is constructed very well
Kershaw 1556BW Cryo II Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Blackwashed Plain Blade, Rick Hinderer Framelock Design
rated 5 stars out of 5
Alex
NC
Dec 07, 2015
Pros: Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: None
awesome and affordable
I have a couple of the smaller Cryo's and wanted to try the bigger one. I was not disappointed. I'm not sure why it has both thumb studs and a flipper but the flipper works perfectly for me. Feels great in my hand and snaps open with perfect lockup. I love the look of this knife. It looks like a piece of well-made equipment.
Kershaw 1556BW Cryo II Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Blackwashed Plain Blade, Rick Hinderer Framelock Design
rated 5 stars out of 5
George Y
Alaska
Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Kershaw 1556BW Cryo II Assisted 3-1/4"
Nice knife, solid quality, nice look with the Blackwashed blade, I will probably buy more... George
Kershaw 1556BW Cryo II Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Blackwashed Plain Blade, Rick Hinderer Framelock Design
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael H
Troy, Mi
Apr 10, 2015
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: None
Made in China
This knife fits my hand well. The blade holds an edge for about a week. It looks good. No sharp corners or rough edges where they shouldn't be. It opens quick and clean. If this tool was made in the USA it would cost four times as much. I have many, made in USA, knives and no matter what the blade material is, they all get dull. This is the best, no nonsense, working mans EDC that I've seen in a long time.
Kershaw 1556BW Cryo II Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Blackwashed Plain Blade, Rick Hinderer Framelock Design
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nishant
Lima, Peru
Nov 07, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Solid Knife
I use this as an EDC knife. I love the ergonomics . It came out razor sharp and has held the edge pretty well. Love it
Kershaw 1556BW Cryo II Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Blackwashed Plain Blade, Rick Hinderer Framelock Design
rated 5 stars out of 5
Burla
CA
May 09, 2014
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Cons: None
Love It
I bought this because I like the cryo so much that I wanted it's big brother. This knife is a monster, a little too big for EDC but I knew that before i bought it. I prefer the Delica 4 for this purpose, even though they are almost the same size this knife is fat and heavy. The cryo is a great size and function for EDC as well. Since there was only one Con I will say that first. This knife does not snap open as fast cryo. You can tell the assist is not stout enough for this behemoth, it is a little slow and will not snap open with the thumb assist, only the flip assist. However, I have used the heck out of it and it always has worked for me. Best part of the knife is thick construction, beyond the assist that is. This is very stout like a ZT. The knife is tight which is a great sign of quality, and the lock is as good as it gets. Big thick frame lock, this knife is staying locked until you release it period! I have the original cryo coating and the blackwash. I like both of them but love this blackwash, pay the extra money and get the blackwashed. The clip is deep carry and sturdy, it is very stout as well. yeah they could have done better maybe, but for 40 bucks this knife is an incredible deal. This knife has great protection from the blade for the user. You can see they made it so the frame will never fail, they have a security "button" so the frame lock will never go past the button. This feature is set up for long term use, when you unlock the knife you will never retrain the frame because it cannot go past the button, very smart some more expensive knives don't have this. I bought the cryo and about 2 seconds later I ordered the cryo II. I loved it so much I had to buy the other. I know I wont use it much because of the size, but it is one of my favorite knives and both of the are the best deals I have in my knife collection. I give it 5 stars for value and great thought to the construction. I could have knocked a star off for the spring part of the assist, but in light of how well this knife is built beyond that it is a very small con. This thing really sits my hand well, the one thing I have against the smaller cryo is that it doesn't. You really can't go wrong buying this knife, It is much more friendly then the Police Spyderco for everyday carry because it is no where as long, but it may be too thick for most guys taste for EDC. I do grab it for carrying because my town has no law against size, but when I travel I grab the smaller stainless delica4 serrated. This is now my second Kershaw, and I feel like I've been missing out on the brand. Very nice knives that are better quality then the price you pay.
Kershaw 1556BW Cryo II Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Blackwashed Plain Blade, Rick Hinderer Framelock Design
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kyle B
Georgia
Apr 10, 2015
Pros: Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
GREAT EDC
I was really interested in the original size then I heard about the larger version. One I looked at it, it was a must have. Really thin and solid feeling with zero blade play. No regrets on my end.
Kershaw 1556BW Cryo II Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Blackwashed Plain Blade, Rick Hinderer Framelock Design
rated 4 stars out of 5
Popeye 62
Baytown, TX
Feb 10, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Blade Material, None
Cons: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material
My New EDC
This is not my only purchase from Knife Center and I will make future purchases from them.
Kershaw 1556BW Cryo II Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Blackwashed Plain Blade, Rick Hinderer Framelock Design
rated 4 stars out of 5
Steve
Georgia
Jun 09, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Handle Material, None
Cons: Weight, Lock Ease of Use
Solid construction
I have really liked this knife. It's solidly built and opens quickly and smoothly. For me, it's at the 'almost' too large size to carry at work or on social occasions. But it is my go-to knife for errands, working around the house and anything I do outdoors (camping, hiking, etc.). The frame lock requires some pressure to fold the knife, but I expect it to loosen with use.
Kershaw 1556BW Cryo II Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Blackwashed Plain Blade, Rick Hinderer Framelock Design
rated 3 stars out of 5
Dylan G
Lake Worth, Fl
Jul 02, 2016
Pros: Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip, Weight, Handle Material, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Overall Quality
okay knife for an okay price
its a good knife but i wish the steel held up a little better mine at least the tip is slightly bent and the blade is always getting little nicks correct me if i spelled that wrong but overall its an okay knife its not the best but its not bad either i would recommend it as a first knife for any new people
Kershaw 1556BW Cryo II Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Blackwashed Plain Blade, Rick Hinderer Framelock Design
rated 3 stars out of 5
Gabriel Const
San Antonio , Tx
Apr 28, 2014
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use
Cons: None
Was excited to get my Cryo 2. Ive been wanting to get one for quite some time and then the blackwash version was released and had to have it. My knives are simply EDC use. Im not a carpenter and I dont go camping. So my blades are light use or whatever else may come up. Which is why I was dissapointed when after two weeks of barely using it the torsion bar snapped. I had heard about this while doing some research online but it appeared to be isolated incidents so i wasnt to worried. Ive owned a few assisted openers from different reputable companys and always the same result. So far what ive learned...assisted openers=more parts that are likely to malfunction. The knife still looks great. The blackwash looks amazing. The feel of the knife is fantastic. A lot of people dont care for the weight. If you wear it in the pocket i can understand that but i wear mine on my belt. My new torsion bar has been ordered. If this one snaps I guess i have a cool new manual folder. Oh...more thing. The clip looks horrible...like they ran out of clips and replaced it with one off a different model. I scraped the crap of it and now it matches.
Kershaw 1556BW Cryo II Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Blackwashed Plain Blade, Rick Hinderer Framelock Design
rated 2 stars out of 5
Tom
Chicago
Oct 20, 2017
Pros: Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Handle Material, Pocket Clip, Weight, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness
Kershaw Cryo II Assisted Flipper 3-1/4" Blackwashed
It opens quickly, it has that going for it. Beyond that it’s nothing special. Kind of ugly in fact! When you see it in person it looks a lot cheaper than in its photos. It’s also a little too bulky for comfortable EDC. Reading all the hype I thought I was getting a great deal at $43.95 but upon examining it I think it’s more like a $20 knife (MSRP). Too much hassle to return it, gave it away to a friend.