Reviews and Ratings for Kershaw 1600 Ken Onion Chive Assisted Flipper Knife 1.9" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles

Kershaw 1600 Ken Onion Chive Assisted Flipper Knife 1.9" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handlesrated 4.588 stars out of 5 (51 reviews)
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
39
4 star
8
3 star
1
2 star
1
1 star
2
Kershaw 1600 Ken Onion Chive Assisted Flipper Knife 1.9 inch Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles

 

Price: $39.95

Save $30.04 (43%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Kershaw 1600 Ken Onion Chive Assisted Flipper Knife 1.9" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Czab
Western New York
Jan 03, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Type, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Feel
Love this knife
This is the perfect pocket knife. Easy to open if your other hand is full or busy with something else. Keeps an edge fair well. A few strokes on the steel and it good to go. When it comes time, sharpening is a little tricky because of the "s" curve blade. An Accusharp does the trick though.
Kershaw 1600 Ken Onion Chive Assisted Flipper Knife 1.9" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Got Wood
Great White North Michigan
Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Weight, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Handle Feel
beautiful little knife
This is exactly what I was looking for. I work in a lumber yard and was looking for a small well made knife that I can carry in my pocket. I dont like to have knifes keys flashlights ect. hanging from my belt. This is perfect. It is very well made and the price was excellent. It thus far holds an edge very well. the only "con I can find is the handle is a little slippery.
Kershaw 1600 Ken Onion Chive Assisted Flipper Knife 1.9" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Walkingeagle
lincoln il
Apr 28, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
VERY GOOD PRODUCT
light & useful
Kershaw 1600 Ken Onion Chive Assisted Flipper Knife 1.9" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Heckler
new york
Sep 06, 2009
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
excellent one hand operation
This knife is a very good choice for your every-day pocket knife. The open assist feature makes for easy one hand operation. There is a lock for securing the blade in the closed position, be sure to use it because the blade can partially open in your pocket. I have had no accidental openings when locked closed. I would definitely buy this knife again.
Kershaw 1600 Ken Onion Chive Assisted Flipper Knife 1.9" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
John D
USA
Apr 18, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Perfect small EDC
Pros: This knife fits in your palm; close you fist and it vanishes. Blade shape is perfect for slicing strokes. It has an adjustable-tension safety knob. Fairly corrosion resistant, all stainless construction. Takes a shaving edge, can shave safely due to the curved blade. (Yes, I've shaved with one before.) There is a reason this is one of the most popular knives in the USA. Cons: I have owned 3 of these. I have worn out 1. The springs apparently aren't as corrosion resistant as the rest of the knife. By the way, it still worked, just no longer assisted. Get one of these and attach a Photon Freedom Micro light to the lanyard hole. Trust me.
Kershaw 1600 Ken Onion Chive Assisted Flipper Knife 1.9" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rdnk
H-Town
Nov 04, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
easy front pocket carry
I now have all three....love the quick opening...good quailty knife for edc
Kershaw 1600 Ken Onion Chive Assisted Flipper Knife 1.9" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jon C Allen
whitefield, Me.
Apr 14, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
letter opener
excellent little letter opener.
Kershaw 1600 Ken Onion Chive Assisted Flipper Knife 1.9" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sean K
Ewa Beach, Hi
Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
informative
Gave this as a gift. Very good looking and extremely sharp out of the box.
Kershaw 1600 Ken Onion Chive Assisted Flipper Knife 1.9" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Larry
Wisco
Jun 13, 2020
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: None
Excellent EDC
Very good every day carry. I use it daily and have never had an issue. Lock is simple, and works well. Blade stays sharp, it’s small size is very nice as it doesn't take up too much space in your pockets.
Kershaw 1600 Ken Onion Chive Assisted Flipper Knife 1.9" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bombina
NC
Apr 29, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great Little Knife
Very handy little knife for everyday chores.Very sharp and opens quickly.I have a tendency to lose or misplace knives.Should that happen with this one I would buy another!
Kershaw 1600 Ken Onion Chive Assisted Flipper Knife 1.9" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Knocker
Cedar Falls, IA
Jun 23, 2010
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: None
Excellent carry knife!
Use it for everyday stuff..opening boxes at work, toys at home for my kids, everything. Very sharp...shave sharp, opens good, perfect size for my coin pocket.
Kershaw 1600 Ken Onion Chive Assisted Flipper Knife 1.9" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Astronomer1
Chesterfield, VA
May 22, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Yet another guy who likes this knife
This is a nice, but tiny, gentleman's knife that virtually disappears into a sport coat or suit pocket. I already have the 3-inch assisted model and it is very well-made. The much lighter 1 15/16 inch Chive is of the same quality--it flips open quickly and locks up smartly. Unlike the larger Leek, the clip is not movable. So the blade is tip-down only (or no clip at all). I prefer a tip-up carry, but the Chive's carrying purpose is primarily minor cutting jobs, not self-defense. This knife is very small, and you need to be careful to hold it properly to keep portions of your hand out of the way when opening the blade. In particular, the point can incise a nice curved arc in the ball of your hand. It's best to use the flipper only. The thumb studs are primarily blade stops and you may cut yourself if you use them for opening the blade.
Kershaw 1600 Ken Onion Chive Assisted Flipper Knife 1.9" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lupy
Ocean Park,Wa.
Oct 09, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: Sheath, None
chive 1600
great to open mail with
Kershaw 1600 Ken Onion Chive Assisted Flipper Knife 1.9" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ap
Seattle
Nov 13, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great Little Knife
This is a well-built, solid little knife. Looks and feels great.
Kershaw 1600 Ken Onion Chive Assisted Flipper Knife 1.9" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mnm
Portales, NM
Feb 01, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great knife!
I am a hunter and the knife came in handy at camp. I really like the assisted opening,really fast!
Kershaw 1600 Ken Onion Chive Assisted Flipper Knife 1.9" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
C Nishioka
Washington
Feb 05, 2016
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Kershaw Chive
Great size for small , light every day tasks. Fits comfortably with all trousers. Not threatening when seen in public.
Kershaw 1600 Ken Onion Chive Assisted Flipper Knife 1.9" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gerry G.
Asbury Park NJ
Apr 28, 2010
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
perfect chore knife!
this is the fourth one i've bought. friends see it & love it so i get them one.
Kershaw 1600 Ken Onion Chive Assisted Flipper Knife 1.9" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jim Richardson
Chicago, IL
Jun 20, 2011
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
Very slick.
Put it on the key chain, and forget about it kind of knife that just happens to be very cool, fun to fondle, and seriously sharp, and built to last. Handy for opening packages, and preparing packages for shipment. Of course, it's tiny so it's a bit difficult to grip for any real work, and so maybe the Scallion is a better EDC for most folks.
Kershaw 1600 Ken Onion Chive Assisted Flipper Knife 1.9" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dee
New Orleans, LA
Dec 10, 2010
Pros: Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Review
Nice item, fast shipment, great customer service.
Kershaw 1600 Ken Onion Chive Assisted Flipper Knife 1.9" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lt
Long Island, N.Y.
Feb 05, 2018
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Perfect small knife
Great little knife! Perfect size to fit into the small pocket of my jeans. Excellent flipper action. Since I purchased this Kershaw knife I carry it everyone!
Kershaw 1600 Ken Onion Chive Assisted Flipper Knife 1.9" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Loves_45S
Saginaw, MI
Feb 15, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Lock Type
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
Good quality, kinda small.
I have a Shallot and like the size and quality. I wanted a Kershaw that wasn't just a flip opener.. Liked the size of Chive and it has both side and flip openers. Came brain-surgery sharp out of box. Great sturdiness for the size. I prefer the flip open though, used the side open and nearly split my thumb in two. If your a guy or have large hands, do not try to open it from the side, or you'll make you sushi. I a tab bummed...but it is small. Too small for an EDC knife for me, would best be used as a seat belt cutter if needed.
Kershaw 1600 Ken Onion Chive Assisted Flipper Knife 1.9" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Blade 14
Atlanta, GA
Mar 01, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Cute?
Small but useful. Great workmanship (as with most Kershaws). Very sharp, fun to flip open.
Kershaw 1600 Ken Onion Chive Assisted Flipper Knife 1.9" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sam Izzo
AZ
Jun 12, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Best buy for everyday carry!
A phenomenal little knife- so good that when I lost the first one, I went out as soon as possible to replace it and ended up with the exact same knife. Just plain entertaining to open, stays sharp for a long time, and incredibly stout. Only one downside: thin and soft tip- don't bend it! Hasn't ever gotten rusty either, even with lots of abuse.
Kershaw 1600 Ken Onion Chive Assisted Flipper Knife 1.9" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ddh
WI
Apr 26, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Great little knife
This is my EDC and carries nicely in my coin pocket. It came out of the box nice and sharp and has served me well opening mail, cutting packaging tape, and zip ties. I am not a big fan of pocket clips and I could remove it but it is kind of ugly without it so I just left it intact, no big deal. The only thing I needed to do to this knife was tighten the screw that acts as the safety, it was a little too easy to slide and I didn't want the knife coming open in my pocket, about an 1/8 of a turn took care of it and I haven't touched it since. Go Made in America
Kershaw 1600 Ken Onion Chive Assisted Flipper Knife 1.9" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cutter
Sparta NJ
May 03, 2010
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Little cutie
Use as a money clip can clean trout open boxes or clean my nails. Stays sharp Be careful make sure you always lock the blade when done.
Kershaw 1600 Ken Onion Chive Assisted Flipper Knife 1.9" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
The Judge
Hermosa Beach, CA
Jan 26, 2010
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great Little Knife
This is a perfect size to carry when I'm dressed for work, especially since I've removed the pocket clip. Very handy. Well made, solid, sharp, and the way it ones is awesome.
Kershaw 1600 Ken Onion Chive Assisted Flipper Knife 1.9" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gregg From Nc
High Point, NC
May 04, 2010
Pros: Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Cons: None
Great "Office" Pocket Knife
This is a solid, well-enginered little knife, perfect for carrying in your pocket on an everyday basis. You probably wouldn't want a knife any smaller than this; but for my purposes, I don't need anyting larger.
Kershaw 1600 Ken Onion Chive Assisted Flipper Knife 1.9" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rocky
, Virginia
Apr 20, 2020
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Price is most always
Really like this little knife by Ken Onion even has a lock on it for safety Price has to my knowledge always been $39.95 for this knife recommended by Kershaw If you can find it for less its a great deal
Kershaw 1600 Ken Onion Chive Assisted Flipper Knife 1.9" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chive User
USA
Aug 04, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Kershaw Chive
Incredible knife. The opening system is absolute bliss. Fit & Finish are all great. The blade shape is functional and cuts well. Sharp and clean from the factory. In my opinion this is the best pocket knife on the market.
Kershaw 1600 Ken Onion Chive Assisted Flipper Knife 1.9" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Docb
Audubon, PA
Sep 16, 2009
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Buy the Chive
Easy open and close.
Kershaw 1600 Ken Onion Chive Assisted Flipper Knife 1.9" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joe A
Morehead City, N. C.
Oct 26, 2015
Pros: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Cons: None
1600 chives knife
Second knife. Lost the first one after 15 yrs. Had to have another one. Great little pocket knife. Jie
Kershaw 1600 Ken Onion Chive Assisted Flipper Knife 1.9" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Webfoot
North Idaho
Oct 31, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great Service
For an every day pocket knife it works great. The only problem is if feels a bit small in my hand which makes it a little bit harder to hold on to tight. I wanted a small knife, however, this might be a little too small. Other than that, great product, well made, great service.
Kershaw 1600 Ken Onion Chive Assisted Flipper Knife 1.9" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tony B
Oakland, OR
Dec 16, 2015
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Great little knife!
Open plastic on prescription bottles. Open boxes of goodies etc. Clean under finger nails.
Kershaw 1600 Ken Onion Chive Assisted Flipper Knife 1.9" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dan
Ma.
Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Top 5 in folders
When I first bought this Kershaw I got it as a blemish. Couldn't find anything wrong and I was looking for a long time, I started carrying the thing and before I New it, it was like I grew a new limb. I just started using it for everything. I'm used to carrying a BUCK 110 , A great knife but I found out that for me it's just a little to big for everyday use. Better in the field. I do not feel uncomfortable pulling this out and people getting nervous by its size. And the edge is unbelievable I've only had to sharpen it a couple of times, it's sharp! And you don't even know you have it in your pocket. The assisted opening is great when you have something in your other hand. I could keep going but I won't Thanx.
Kershaw 1600 Ken Onion Chive Assisted Flipper Knife 1.9" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kelly
Naples
Jan 07, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Perfect
My husband had this knife for years, the tip of the blade broke so we sent it to Kershaw and they replaced it free, no questions! He lost it a few months ago and was very happy I bought another one for him at Christmas. It's the perfect knife for comfortably carrying in your pocket, very slim but still strong.
Kershaw 1600 Ken Onion Chive Assisted Flipper Knife 1.9" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Friggs
Denver, Pa
Oct 05, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Handle Material, None
Small in size. Big in ability.
This knife is amazing in what it can do. People think they need a large knife to do certain jobs. But in reality, theey can be done with a quilaty small knife. This knife is amazing. Fit and finush is perfect. Typical Kershaw. Comes razor sharp. Typical Kershaw. It disappears in your pocket. And the pocket clip keeps it close by, ready to show what it can do. If there is a negative, the metal handle can be slippery when wet. But I have never had it slip out of my hand either. Great everyday carry that you will forget about, till you need it. And the people around you will not freak out when they see it.
Kershaw 1600 Ken Onion Chive Assisted Flipper Knife 1.9" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
W J B.
Farmington, NM
Nov 02, 2011
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Handle Feel
Kershaw Chive Assisted 1-15/16" Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
Good knife at a good price. Bought for a gift.
Kershaw 1600 Ken Onion Chive Assisted Flipper Knife 1.9" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dexter Ewing
nc
Sep 10, 2008
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
KERSHAW KEN ONION DESIGNED MODEL 1600 CHIVE
This is an early review of the Kershaw Chive by Dexter Ewing- writer for Blade magazine Presenting a sneak peek at the new Kershaw Chive model 1600. This knife is another offering from the dynamic collaboration team of custom maker Ken Onion and Wilsonville, Oregon’s Kershaw Knives. The Chive is a stylish little folder, only about 4.90" overall length. It’s an ideal gentleman’s knife and small and compact enough to function as a money clip. Weighing in at 1.9 ounces, the Chive rides comfortably clipped to the pocket or sitting at the bottom of the pocket as would a traditional pocket knife. The ergonomic handle is machined out of 410 stainless steel, with an integral bar lock. The handle’s surfaces are bead blasted for slight texture. There is a cut out above the pivot to allow the index trigger to sit lower and not protrude too much, yet remain within easy reach to fire the blade. The handle is held together by three Torx® head screws (including the pivot). A steel pocket clip is fastened to the opposite side of the handle to permit ease of carry in the tip down position (please note, the clip on actual production models will be a little different than the one pictured on the prototype). Width of handle minus clip is 0.295" thick. The Chive’s clip point blade is of 420HC stainless-steel with a hollow grind. Stock thickness is 0.090". The index trigger serves both as an ambidextrous opening aid and as a finger guard when the knife is open. With a simple push on the index trigger, the closed knife quickly springs open using Ken’s own Speed Safe torsion bar technology to propel the blade to an open and locked position. The dual thumb studs serve only as the blade’s positive stop, as they are too small for use as one-hand openers. The notched thumb ramp of the blade provides a secure placement for the index finger or thumb to rest on during use. Overall, this is a neat little folder. The blade’s action is so crisp that you will be tempted to flick the knife over and over! Fit and finish is very good, blade grinds are even, and there is no blade play whatsoever in any direction. ...
Kershaw 1600 Ken Onion Chive Assisted Flipper Knife 1.9" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jd
Richmond, VA
Jun 06, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: None
Perfect Pocket Knife
I am one of those who likes to carry a pocket knife at all times but am very particular about size, weight, function, etc. This little baby fits the bill perfectly. It fits easily in the pocket of any pants - dress, casual, jeans - and is easily opened. Just the right size for small, everyday cutting jobs without the bulk and weight of other knives I have used in the past.
Kershaw 1600 Ken Onion Chive Assisted Flipper Knife 1.9" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Steven B
Ca
Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Kershaw 1600 Ken Onion Chive Assisted Flipper Knife 1.9" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mark T
BFE, Michigan
Aug 18, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Type
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Good quality
Mine is partially serrated. I had an issue with the clip screws being too short, and the factory sent me new ones no charge.
Kershaw 1600 Ken Onion Chive Assisted Flipper Knife 1.9" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Doran
Slaughters,ky
Dec 10, 2010
Pros: Lock Type, Overall Quality, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Weight, Handle Feel
good quality
was smaller than i thought it would be, good knife but will have to change purpose of use
Kershaw 1600 Ken Onion Chive Assisted Flipper Knife 1.9" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Tim P
Ocean Park, WA
Jan 06, 2017
Pros: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Pocket Clip
Well Received
This was a gift for my girlfriend's son, a guy with everything. He loved it, played with it for hours.
Kershaw 1600 Ken Onion Chive Assisted Flipper Knife 1.9" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Dale R
Warner Robins, Ga
Jan 30, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Handle Feel
Kershaw 1600 Ken Onion Chive Assisted Flipper 1.9"
Too small
Kershaw 1600 Ken Onion Chive Assisted Flipper Knife 1.9" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Scott
Cuyahoga Falls, OH
Aug 26, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Weight, Handle Material, None
Cons: Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use
Great knife; don't need the safety
I bought this knife as a money clip with additional uses; it serves well in that roll. Good blade and handle; right size. The safety device is, in my opinion, unnecessary.
Kershaw 1600 Ken Onion Chive Assisted Flipper Knife 1.9" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Cossack
Norway
Nov 30, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Handle Material
Kershaw Chive Assisted Opening
I use the knife as a EDC tool. The knife is very handy, does not take space in my pockets. The blade is exellent and easy to sharpen.A good sign of a high quality blade.There is no play between blade and shaft. Overall quality of the knife is superb. I love the assisted opening mechanism. Kershaw should have it on the Skyline aswell.. The only thing that is`nt so great is that the handle is to smooth to hold in. There should be some grooves in it. The pocket clip is exellent.
Kershaw 1600 Ken Onion Chive Assisted Flipper Knife 1.9" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Lynne
Santee, CA
Jul 15, 2013
Pros: Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Lock Type, None
Let down by the lock...
A very good knife which fits nicely in the hand. What prevents me from giving it a 5 star review is the lock which doesn't stay in place and is made from plastic and the central spacer which is also plastic. The latter isn't too much of a problem although I wonder how it will effect long term use. The former is annoying and allows the knife to open when clipped to a front jeans pocket. This puts it point up towards your stomach!
Kershaw 1600 Ken Onion Chive Assisted Flipper Knife 1.9" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
John
Virginia
Jun 21, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Ease of Opening
I have carried the larger version of the Kershaw and it is a great knife. Thought this smaller version would be handy, but the SpeedSafe does not work as well as my larger knife. Still overall a good knife with the Ken Onion design.
Kershaw 1600 Ken Onion Chive Assisted Flipper Knife 1.9" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Cinbomb
NY
Feb 21, 2015
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Material
Not USAmade
I purchased a Kershaw. Initially I was excited but when i recieved it the blade said "China". Emailed the company with no response but I can assume the blade is made in China and its only assembled in the US. Pretty untruthful to say Made in the USA I think. I couldnt return it so I use it and its actually a pretty good for everyday use but still. Needs sharpening frequently
Kershaw 1600 Ken Onion Chive Assisted Flipper Knife 1.9" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Anonymous
USA
Apr 19, 2017
Pros: None
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Junk
Kershaw typically has great knives. Not this one. The blade is not sharp, the deployment gets caught on I have no idea what but it doesn't engage properly. It is a bit small. The aluminum handles makes it impossible to hold for long lengths of time or with wet hands. It doesn't seem secure with the liner lock, and why can't the the 'USA' stamp be on the blade and not the handle?? It's like you're trying to hide the fact that it's made in America. For this price, suck up having the one hand opening (which doesn't work anyway) and go by a Case knife. They are always pristine, reliable and stand the test of time.
Kershaw 1600 Ken Onion Chive Assisted Flipper Knife 1.9" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Woodland Warrior
California
Jul 20, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Blade Material, Handle Material, Pocket Clip
Not worth the price
$40 is far too much for such a small piece of 420. For less than that You can buy a RAT 1, Zancudo, or Avispa in D2 and not only have a superior steel but also much better handles and a much larger knife. Edge retention on the Chive is also terrible. The grip on the handle is awful and the pocket clip being pretty much the size of the whole handle is ridiculous. There are definitely much better blades on the market for the same price or less or slightly more. I bought it because it said Ken Onion but I was quickly disappointed.