Reviews and Ratings for Kershaw 1660CB Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Composite D2 Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles

Kershaw 1660CB Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Composite D2 Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handlesrated 4.652 stars out of 5 (23 reviews)
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
16
4 star
6
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Kershaw 1660CB Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3 inch Composite D2 Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles

 

Price: $82.95

Save $47.04 (36%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Kershaw 1660CB Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Composite D2 Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Aaron
Western Colorado
Aug 12, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use

Good knife, excellent steel, takes an edge & holds it. every day carry

I had one of these Onions for 2 years. A couple weeks ago one of the grandkids stole it in the middle of the night and lost it in the pasture. I gave up on finding it and am ordering a new one. I had a custom D2 drop point that was my favorite for cleaning elk for many years, but a horse went ballistic about 15 years ago and spread the contents of my saddle bags over half the county. D2 is a great steel. It takes an edge and holds it. I can gut and skin an elk without having to touch up the blade and I have never had another steel that is as easy to sharpen that will hold an edge for that much work. I carried this knife every day for 2 years. It is a little heavy in the pocket for office work in the city, but at least I know it's there. I really dislike the safety mechanism that slips into lock in the pocket so that I can't open it immediately when I take it out. I dismantled that POS. I have never had the knife accidentally open in my pocket without the safety. I also don't like pocket clips. They take up room in the pocket and if you use them to clip to the pocket of your pants they keep the knife at the top and sitting down in a car can result in the knife being pushed out of your pocket, or they can be seen by nosey people like the security guard who tossed me out of the social security office because I didn't read the sign saying no weapons. Hey it's a 3 inch pocket knife, not a weapon. So I took the pocket clip off. The curly joint between the D2 part of the blade and the stainless steel back of the blade is really cool. The knife opens easily. The outside grips, it's really like a frame with no scales, are slick and could use a grip pattern, but I have never had the knife slip out of my hand even when cleaning with soapy water. D2 steel WILL RUST very quickly, like overnight. So keep the knife clean and dry it immediately. You will be a very happy camper until your grandkids lose it in the pasture.
Kershaw 1660CB Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Composite D2 Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ken F
Illinois
Oct 27, 2020
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Outstanding every day carry choice

I am 76 years of age and have been a buyer and user of fine knives since I was old enough to use them. The Kershaw Leek is among my favorite EDC choices and one I carry most. I like everything about the Leek. The design, the speed safe feature, the wharncliff blade, everything. I gave two of my early Leeks to my son. The model I carry is the 1660G10. I like G10 handle material because it wears well. The blade steel is S30V. I also have the 1660CF model with a CPM154 blade. The pocket clip is moveable allowing for tip up or top down carry-users choice. I highly recommend this knife. I blade shape serves well for anything I have needed on a daily basis. For me it's all PRO and no CON.
Kershaw 1660CB Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Composite D2 Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lloyd Mercado
Gurabo, PR
Jun 23, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Beautiful knife and razor sharp

This knife looks super cool and have great quality in the construction and materials.
Kershaw 1660CB Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Composite D2 Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jeff
Princeton, NJ
Sep 17, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Sheath, None

Great pocket knife

This is my favorite pocket knife. it has a slim profile when closed and is unobtrusive in a pocket. I use the clip to hold it at the top of my pocket on the inside. I have carried a Leek for the last year or so, but recently upgraded to the Composite Blade. This blade is razer sharp and holds its edge nicely with regular use.
Kershaw 1660CB Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Composite D2 Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mary H
Wetumpka, AL
Jan 11, 2012
Pros: Pocket Clip, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Kershaw Ken Onion Leek

I bought my husband one for Christmas in 2010 and my son-in-law liked the feel and the blade so much that he asked for one for Christmas 2011.
Kershaw 1660CB Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Composite D2 Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sean L
Saint Louis
Feb 10, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Lock Type, None

Great knife

Very sharp, assist is unique and well weighted
Kershaw 1660CB Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Composite D2 Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Thomas O'd
Golden Valley, AZ
Aug 24, 2015
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Kershaw 1660CB Leek Assisted 3" Composite knife

I had ordered the same basic knife about 10-years ago, and wanted the newer version of the same knife minus the serrated edge. Now I keep one in my work uniform pants while on-duty and one in my jeans at home. As an emergency responder I've used this knife in multiple emergency situations as well, the last cutting a woman who rolled her vehicle on I-40 and was hanging upside down from her seat-belt. It's easy to carry & delploy. I love the way if fits in my pocket without being in the way because I HATE things in my pockets. The blade is as sharp as a razor blade & if it lasts like my other one, I'll use it for years to come as well.
Kershaw 1660CB Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Composite D2 Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wife Of Owner
Wetumpka, AL
Dec 27, 2010
Pros: Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: None

Great Purchase

There is a lock on the knife so that a small child would have a hard time opening it. Liked the look of the knife.
Kershaw 1660CB Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Composite D2 Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jennifer W
Surrey, B.C. Canada
Jan 03, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None

KK Onion Leek Composite

Use it to cut open boxes and packages. It's very convenient and a good size. If you spill liquid on it, it's hard to clean is the only con.
Kershaw 1660CB Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Composite D2 Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dai Manju
Bellevue, Wa
Jan 26, 2010
Pros: Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Handle Material

slick & slick

beautiful knife. handle is a bit too smooth, and should have a ribbed or some sort of non-slick surface just behind top screw where you thumb rests when opening. yes, I know there is another knife which is non-glare and non-slick, but then that has its own special nook and for this particular knife for a thumb rest, wouldn't fit. I own four of these and an assortment of other kershaw knives. of these four knives, two of them have they brake-pin which prevents accidential opening----have broken off on the inside. not a deal breaker, but so much for Taiwan. and finally, this composite knife is not sharp at all. take a piece of paper and try to slice it from the top down----won't work. once you have sharpened the knife it holds its sharpness very nicely and becomes very very sharp---refer back to brake-pin for the weak of heart. all in all, I would buy this knife, but then four is enough for each pocket.
Kershaw 1660CB Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Composite D2 Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Walt
Utah
Oct 01, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Very nice knife

This is a pretty and very useful knife. It is a large blade in a compact package and has a very comfortable feel about it. This knife has a lot of features that I like and people who notice detail notice this knife.
Kershaw 1660CB Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Composite D2 Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
880374
Towson, Maryland
Mar 25, 2008
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, None

Composite Leek

The blade steel of this knife makes me a believer in at least sharing my attraction to VG-10 layered Damascus with this new steel. Sharpens very quickly and nicely with the Spyderco Sharp-Maker, which I would recommend to everyone, and help sell on the corner next to the blind man and the three-legged German Sheppard with the pencils. GREAT machine! Sadly, Kershaw has been sporadic in quality. I have two other Leeks which work fine. Sadly, I have to exchange this one due to opening and locking problems. However, if one persists, this is an awesome knife to add to the inventory, and I predict the steel alone will make it a favorite.
Kershaw 1660CB Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Composite D2 Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ray R
Wickliffe Ohio
Aug 19, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Very Nice!

When I opened the box to this knife it felt like Christmas. The design of this knife is incredible especially the blade. It came with a very sharp edge. I thought the idea of combining the three metals was the coolest part of the knife. It has a nice locking mechanism is easy to use and can not unlock accidentally in your pocket. Overall it's a very sweet knife and i can't wait to show it off. Thanks Knife Center for bringing these quality American made products to us!
Kershaw 1660CB Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Composite D2 Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ryan
FL
Jan 20, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Handle Feel, None

Great EDC

I've used this knife as my EDC for the last 2 months, mostly breaking down boxes and cutting plastic straps at work. The blade came hair whittling sharp, and the D2 still has a decent working edge after 2 months without sharpening. The knife is easy to deploy with the flipper, and opens with a satisfying thwak, though the assist is light enough that it is still easy to close 1 handed. The frame lock secures the blade... securely, there's no play in any direction. The only negative thing I could say about the knife is that the handles aren't very grippy, and the jimping is pretty much there for decoration, it really doesn't give much purchase.
Kershaw 1660CB Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Composite D2 Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Richard
Costa Mesa, Ca
Oct 25, 2020
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None

If I had only one knife, This one would be it!

The best Flipper I own! Cannot go wrong with this knife. Super high quality for the price. Snappy,sharp and large assortment of styles. A timeless design.
Kershaw 1660CB Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Composite D2 Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
John V.
Fond du Lac,
Apr 16, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: Pocket Clip, None

The Kershaw is the best pocket knife I have ever owned!

The Kershaw Leek feels good in your hand, is almost un-noticable in your pocket and has outstanding operation.
Kershaw 1660CB Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Composite D2 Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Eric
California
Jun 24, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Material, None

Great EDC

This is one of my favorite knives. Leeks are great to begin with (safe and easy to open and close one-handed), but this one is my favorite by far due to the added utility of a more reliable cutting edge. Though the steel isn't quite as good as S30V for general use, it's close, the entire knife is less expensive, and the handle on this one is far easier on your clothing. The main downside is that the D2 portion will get some light surface rust like the 13C26 portion of the blade. It holds an edge very well for the usual daily purposes and doesn't scare people as much as blades of the same length with normal profiles (it is a cross between a wharncliffe and a drop point). The bonded composite blade is also visually appealing on top of the model's design, if you're into appearances. I've been carrying and brutalizing one as my EDC for about a year now. About two months ago the torsion bar finally broke, but other than that it's been a very solid knife. Kershaw knives always come razor sharp from the factory, too.
Kershaw 1660CB Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Composite D2 Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jim
Baton Rouge, LA
Oct 20, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip, Lock Type
Cons: None

Nice Knife

I've carried the smaller version for years. When I saw the composite steel blade I had to have one.
Kershaw 1660CB Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Composite D2 Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Js
Boston
Jan 20, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Sheath, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Handle Feel, Handle Material

Fair price, decent product

Small EDC. Decent for most tasks and razor sharp....seems as though quality has gone down a bit with the leeks. Handle seems like cheaper steel...good for price but one of very few American made folders...
Kershaw 1660CB Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Composite D2 Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Joe
MA
Jun 30, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Feel, Handle Material, None

Good everyday carry, but has a few bugs

This is my 2nd Kershaw Leek with the assisted opening. I lost my first, a 1st-generation with G10 scales. Put off by the price of a replacement, I opted for the bi-metal CPM-D2 version, which is a generation 2 or 3 version of the Leek. The locking mechanism has been improved and is a lot beefier/less delicate feeling than the first generation. The blade is really cool - I can't figure out if the two metals were joined using copper or if the copper accent is just an aesthetic thing. Regardless, the CPM-D2 holds a great edge and seems to be holding up pretty well to daily use. A word about the handle. While I love the grippyness of G10, it cuts up pants. The burnished steel scales on the Composite don't do this, but they also don't have a lot of grip. I wish that Kershaw would find some happy medium - maybe a smoothed-out diamond pattern pressed into the scale - which would be pants-friendly as well as gripable. I also have had to keep playing with the sensitivity adjustment of the assisted opening. The first thing I had to do upon receiving the knife was to disassemble it and lubricate the pivots, since the assist consistently would not open and lock the knife. Not sure if this was a fluke or if it is indicative of a slip in Kershaw quality assurance... Overall, a good knife in the Kershaw line.
Kershaw 1660CB Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Composite D2 Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Clint
Harlingen, tx
Mar 22, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, None

Great buy

The blade shape snd unique composite steel blade design.
Kershaw 1660CB Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Composite D2 Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ryan
UT
Feb 27, 2012
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Nice knife for the money

nice sharp tip you dont have to start at the edge of somthing to cut it you can just push down and cut just like a square razer but this knife stays sharp alot longer than a desposable razor i scrape gasket residue off of motors and it keeps a desent edge for considering i push it metal on metal hard steel you probably need a stone to sharpen though its tough to sharpen with a file or steel rod sharpener
Kershaw 1660CB Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Composite D2 Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Richard L. B
Lawrence, KsLawrence, KsLawrence, KsLawrence, Ks
Sep 26, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Weight, Handle Feel, Overall Quality

Maybe got a bad one?

Pros: I like the knife. Came shaving sharp. Cons: Didn't open as fast or as positive as the red.smoke Leek I bought with it at the same time. Handle is very slick. Heavier then I expected for a small knife. This one came out of the box with all the handle & blade screws loose. NOt a sign of lock-tight on anything When tightened just a little snug, it wouldn't open. One pocket screw stripped and clip is loose. Then 1 1/2 weeks later, the torsion bar broke! Out of service waiting on parts now.