Reviews and Ratings for Kershaw 1660DAMBK Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Damascus Plain Blade, Black Stainless Steel Handles - KS1660DAMBK

Kershaw 1660DAMBK Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Damascus Plain Blade, Black Stainless Steel Handlesrated 4.588 stars out of 5 (17 reviews)
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
14
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
2
1 star
0
Kershaw 1660DAMBK Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3 inch Damascus Plain Blade, Black Stainless Steel Handles

 

Price: $88.16

Save $46.83 (35%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Kershaw 1660DAMBK Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Damascus Plain Blade, Black Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Barry D
Florence, Kentucky
Apr 04, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Black Handle Leek - Ken Onion Damascus steel
This is an excellent knife to use for everyday chores around the house ... I plan on buying a Damascus Scallion also with the black handles ...
Kershaw 1660DAMBK Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Damascus Plain Blade, Black Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
James A G
Brown's Park, Utah
Feb 01, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Nice knife
I carry this knife all the time for general purposes. My law enforcement background taught me that I could use it to cut a seat belt, for self protection or for the many things that an old retired guy might need it for, around the place.
Kershaw 1660DAMBK Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Damascus Plain Blade, Black Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tom
EDITOR
College Park, MD
Oct 08, 2010
Pros: None
Cons: None
Response to MB from Logan, UT
To clarify the review made by MB from Logan, UT... the blade is made of real Damascus steel - Here are the specs: Alabama Damascus Steel - Alabama Redneck Skin Pattern. Material = (4) layers 5160, (3) layers 203E, (3) layers 52100, (3) layers 15N20 folded 5 times for 416 Damascus layers.
Kershaw 1660DAMBK Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Damascus Plain Blade, Black Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Scott
Tampa
Jan 04, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Style. Quality. Design.
I've had a Kershaw Leek in one fashion or another as an EDC for years. They're tough serviceable knives that are inherently functional and great looking. The slim design makes it my go-to for daily pocket carry.
Kershaw 1660DAMBK Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Damascus Plain Blade, Black Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cory
Preston , Idaho
Dec 08, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, None
Best!
Best factory folder I've found for every day carry and use in my opinion. I've owned more of this model knife than I care to mention (yes I've lost a few)
Kershaw 1660DAMBK Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Damascus Plain Blade, Black Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Don
New Jersey
Oct 08, 2010
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
Amazing Blade
I e-mailed Kershaw and the blade is made out of REAL Damascus Steel Dear Don it is real Damascus steel- Here are the specs: Alabama Damascus Steel - Alabama Redneck Skin Pattern Material = (4) layers 5160, (3) layers 203E, (3) layers 52100, (3) layers 15N20 folded 5 times for 416 damascus layers Whoever wrote the review either does not know what they are talking about or they have a knock off product. The knife is incredible and is "scary" sharp out of the box...Kudo's to Kershaw for that. The assisted opening mechanism takes a little while to get used to because it takes a decent push of the flipper to deploy the blade. The thumb studs are flush with the scales and useless so don't even try as you might slip and almost cut your thumb unless you have very small hands. Just use the flipper and it is a rewarding experience. The knife is SOLID and very strong for a liner locker. No blade play at all...I also live the back clip that goes into your pocket secure. This is a quality peace of engineering plus Kershaw will sharpen your blade for free forever as long as you just pay postage to the factory so your edge is guaranteed forever.
Kershaw 1660DAMBK Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Damascus Plain Blade, Black Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Richard C
Mount Morris Illinois
Feb 11, 2015
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
This is the best pocket knife you can own. It's the perfect size th care daily. It is so sharp it can be scary. Just be careful and use common sense. I have two more of the same style knife. This Damascus steel version is the one I'm going to use for my good Knife.
Kershaw 1660DAMBK Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Damascus Plain Blade, Black Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jason B
Modesto, Ca
Mar 12, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Handle Material, Ease of Opening, Blade Material
Cons: None
For the price there is nothing like it. I have been using one that I purchased in 2010 as an EDC and have yet to have to sharpen it. Not only is the blade still holding an edge it is just as beautiful as the day I bought it. The slim profile, blade and handle thickness, allows me to carry this knife at work in my slacks and on the weekend in my jeans. Big win for me. Overall, the best purchase I have made in quite a while and the reason I ordered 4 more for gifts. Thank you Kershaw for making the knife and thank you Knife Center for making this knife available at the price you do.
Kershaw 1660DAMBK Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Damascus Plain Blade, Black Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Claes W
Sweden
Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Wonderfull
The blade is very sharp as expected, but the looks of the Damascus steel is magic Also the coating feels good and slim.
Kershaw 1660DAMBK Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Damascus Plain Blade, Black Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rick50
ann arbor, mi
Oct 31, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
splendid knife
perfect for everyday use.
Kershaw 1660DAMBK Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Damascus Plain Blade, Black Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Monica
TX
Nov 27, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
He loves the knife.
Great product! My husband loves his new Kershaw pocket knife.
Kershaw 1660DAMBK Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Damascus Plain Blade, Black Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
C
Washington DC
Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Best EDC!!
I had lost my previous pocket knife, which I had for over a decade...v sad day. Finally got around to checking out new contenders for my EDC, scoured the internet and obv. the informative knifecenter.com reviews, and it came down to a Spyderco, Benchmade, and Kershaw models (duh). At the end of the day, I rationalized that this Kershaw was the best bet for me...and I have ZERO regrets!! I've had this blade for a couple weeks now and I can't find many flaws: Pros - Elegant, simple, stainless steel, framelock design is incredibly solid & balanced...in fact a G10 handle might compromise how this knife handles... - Gorgeous Damascus steel blade and nifty modified drop point design - Really thin, smooth profile makes it the perfect pocket carry and the contours, along with the limited knurls on the blade, provide ample grip (especially if you flip the clip location, then the groove the clip acts as a recessed grip for your finger) - Assisted opening is really bad$ss! Haven't owned one before, so I cannot attest to the longevity/durability of this opening mechanism, but from the looks of the construction, this should be solid Cons (more like reaching/room for improvement) - Add clip mounting holes for left-handed folks (if I were a lefty, I prob wouldn't have gotten this b/c of the lack of mount options) - Would be rad if they integrated a glass breaker to the end of the handle...I believe this could be an easy add, while maintaining a clean look
Kershaw 1660DAMBK Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Damascus Plain Blade, Black Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kershaw
Oregon
Oct 07, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
It is real Damascus!
This knife does include a genuine damascus blade. It is not a finish nor does the color on the blade "scratch off" as mentioned above. Here are the specs on the damascus that Kershaw used in this knife: Alabama Damascus Steel - Alabama Redneck Skin Pattern Material = (4) layers 5160, (3) layers 203E, (3) layers 52100, (3) layers 15N20 folded 5 times for 416 damascus layers The handle is 410 Stainless Steel with a DLC coating which is VERY durable, but so is car paint and I can key a car.
Kershaw 1660DAMBK Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Damascus Plain Blade, Black Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nick
PA
Apr 12, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
2nd Kershaw Leek
This is the 2nd Kershaw Leek I've owned making it the only model knife I've carried for daily use in a period of about 5 yrs. First Leek I had was the all black anodized model which served me exceptionally well for 4.5yrs. I cannot say enough good things about this particular pocket knife. everything about it is perfect for daily use and carry which is why I upgraded on the 2nd one to the Damascus model. Probably has the lowest profile of any knife 3" pocket style knife I've ever used. Construction and design are both beautiful and effective. They take a beating and survive. For the price compared to design and functionality I'd rate this knife right at the top and would highly recommend it to anyone as their dailydriver.
Kershaw 1660DAMBK Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Damascus Plain Blade, Black Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Knifecenterrobut
Russia
Feb 17, 2011
Pros: Weight, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None
Kershaw Ken Onion Black Leek Damascus Steel Blade
Good view!
Kershaw 1660DAMBK Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Damascus Plain Blade, Black Stainless Steel Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Mb
logan, ut
Jul 28, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Handle Feel, Blade Material, Overall Quality
not the finest
I own several kershaw knives and love them, including the standard stainless leek. This damascus seemed like a nice upgrade. However the black finish o the handle is rough and easily scratches. And it appears the "damascus" steel is only a finish not real forged damascus, as it to scrapes off. I love the leek knive--don't like the finish.
Kershaw 1660DAMBK Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Damascus Plain Blade, Black Stainless Steel Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Anthony
Illinois
Mar 08, 2013
Pros: Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Not like in the photo
The tip of the blade was bent. And it doesn't look like real Damascus. The handle is easily scratched and it removes the black on the handle.