Reviews and Ratings for Kershaw 1670BLK Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3-3/8" Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles

Kershaw 1670BLK Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3-3/8" Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handlesrated 4.583 stars out of 5 (24 reviews)
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
17
4 star
5
3 star
1
2 star
1
1 star
0
Kershaw 1670BLK Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3-3/8 inch Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles

 

Price: $64.95

Save $55.04 (46%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Kershaw 1670BLK Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3-3/8" Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brad
Nevada
Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
Ken Onion
Kershaw 1670BLK Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3-3/8" Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Knight Rider
Massachusetts
Aug 20, 2018
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Poor Lock up?
I"m an electrician and i have used this knife for over six months of hard every day use such as stripping cables, cutting ropes, and prying stuff open and even used it to baton cut some fire wood while camping. I have honestly not had the time nor need to even sharpen it yet but it is still very sharp. As for the peeps who claim the lock is week is BS or they simply got a bad knife, it happens even with 200$ and up customs and big run production knifes like ZT's, check Youtube on ZT spine test's. First thing I did with mine after flipping it a hundred times was to wack it on my work bench a dozen times, no fails not ones and after 6 months of HARD use and EDC it still fires open quick and secure every time. weak lock my A-S. If you make a 50 thousand of them your going to put out a bad one and if you spend 4 times the money Bench Made or a ZT you still have the chance of getting a dud that cost you 4 times the cost of a Blur. your call. PS. I just checked it for sharpness and it is dull for paper shaving so it's time to buy a new one and pass this on down to my son so I can teach him how to sharpen knifes. It's only 60 bucks and he loves it so it's win win.
Kershaw 1670BLK Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3-3/8" Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris N.
Charlotte, NC
Jun 11, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Best knife for the cost!
I collect folders. The Blur in any configuration is the best knife you can buy for the modest cost. I used one of this configuration for every imaginable task at a lumber yard and doing environmental field work. It took it all and kept right on going. I do not believe that the Cold Steel type lock test of hitting the knife blade on a 2x4 is a realistic test of anything. That's why they make fixed blade knives! This knife will accomplish any reasonable task given to it. As an almost aside, the torsion bar assisted opening mechanism is faster than some high-dollar autos.
Kershaw 1670BLK Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3-3/8" Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Thad
Knoxville, TN
Feb 04, 2016
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Pocket Clip
Best knife I've ever used!
I've had my knife for more than 10 years now. I've used it for everything from cutting food in the field, cutting limbs, and cutting up game animals. I have used it so much for so long that it has finally started to get loose and not spring open any more...but the blade is still like brand new! I love this knife! I have more than 100 different knives, folding knives, tactical knives, throwing knives, and out of all of them, this is the one I carry with me every day. I have a 17 year old son who shares my affinity for knives and he has taken to stealing my Blur when I set it down. It is his favorite knife as well. The only reason I found this sight is because I was looking to see if there was a warranty so that I can send it in a get the spring tightened up and the belt clip replaced! I will never use another knife as long as this one is still functioning in some way.
Kershaw 1670BLK Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3-3/8" Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ben
TEXAS
May 12, 2015
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
My EDC. Great knife!
I carry this knife every day all day. Don't be put off by the size, it is "just right". Locks up tight with absolutely no slack and opens lightning fast. The Sandvik steel is tough and takes a razor edge and keeps it. I've skinned deer, hogs, and varmints with it and all it needs is a few strokes on a ceramic rod and you're back to hair-popping edge.
Kershaw 1670BLK Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3-3/8" Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ed. H
Selbyville Delaware
Apr 12, 2013
Pros: Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
I Lost the first knife and I immediately ordered a new knife. I own Kershaw knifes and carry one every day.
Kershaw 1670BLK Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3-3/8" Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ed H.
LA
Mar 23, 2018
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Lock Type
Cons: None
This is a warranty testament as well as a review
I bought a Kershaw 1670BLK a couple of years ago. I loved the knife. The blade was shaving sharp out of the box and I carried it frequently. However, I was never really comfortable with the opening action as the the detent was so stiff that it felt a bit dangerous opening the knife one-handed. The real problem was one I didn't notice for about a year. When closed, the blade tip protruded slightly from the handle and I managed to cut myself a few times when taking the knife from my pocket. After several of these cuts, I contacted Kershaw's warranty department and sent the knife in for adjustments and sharpening, expecting to see it in about 6 weeks, as they state on their website. Two weeks later a brand new knife arrived that addressed both of my problems. The blade tip is a solid millimeter or so, well inside the handle when closed and the opening action is very comfortable and not at all intimidating. This replacement also arrived shaving sharp out of the box. I am a believer in Kershaw. They make excellent products and stand behind them without equivocation. I have already pre-ordered the Kershaw 1776 Link with the M390 steel blade and anxiously await it's arrival. I recommend Kershaw knives highly. They offer knives that are a great value for the price and, if you do have a problem, they will address it.
Kershaw 1670BLK Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3-3/8" Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jared
spartanburg sc
Apr 03, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
great knife
I don't know how you could say anything bad about this knife. I have owned it for about three years, use it every day, and haven't had the first issue with it. Awesome steel holds a razor edge, coating on blade is pretty tough. Don't listen to those who say the lock is junk. I have tested it and it never budged
Kershaw 1670BLK Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3-3/8" Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Alan
, Coastal SC
Feb 04, 2020
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
An exceptional EDC knife
I own quite a number of Keyshawn knives, and have liked every one. From their cheaper knives made in China, to their US-made ones, they’ve all bee good. And, I’m a big Ken Onion fan. Then I began buying Kershaw’s big brothers, ZT knives. They’re all that they’re cracked up to be - stout, overbuilt, reliable, excellent knives. But, they can be heavy, and I’ve come to like assisted-openers. So I came back to Kershaw, and have bought 5-6 of their assisted-opening knives. And then, I found the Blur. I have a new favorite knife. This fits your hand perfectly, comes razor sharp, good steel. The aluminum handle is strong, and the inserts give a superb grip. I love the blade, the thumb studs, basically everything. I’ve ordered more, and will continue buying this model. If I have one complaint, it’s the pocket clip. It could and should be improved. I carry tip-up, so I began to remove the screws to reverse it. Sadly, one screw has stripped a bit, so until I get a new bit, I’ll leave it for now. Amazing knife. You’ll never regret buying one.
Kershaw 1670BLK Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3-3/8" Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Donald Ch
Henderson, TN
Jan 01, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great knife!
I use this knife daily. It's very well made, sharp and light. I love the Assisted Open feature. I own 2 of them!! Would recommend them highly.
Kershaw 1670BLK Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3-3/8" Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sean G
Davie Florida
Mar 14, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Nice design by Ken Onion
I use my knife everyday, from cutting rope,opening boxes/packaging. The one hand assisted opening is nice when your holding something with your other hand.I read all the details about the knife before I bought it, so there were know surprises.
Kershaw 1670BLK Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3-3/8" Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Barbara
ponafeeder@yahoo.com
Dec 25, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Review of Kershaw 1670 3-38" Knife
Bought this knife a while ago for my husband. He carries it everywhere. Uses it when he goes on his extreme mountain hikes as well as slice apples when we hike together. He has a number of knives but this is his favorite. Just bought the same Kershaw 1670 for my daughters boyfriend for Christmas. They just called to say how much he likes the knife. Service was wonderful. Product great.
Kershaw 1670BLK Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3-3/8" Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bob
Leesburg, VA
Apr 17, 2010
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great Knife
I purchased this knife along with the stone washed Blur, love the whole Blur design. The handle, is a good fit, the blade is well built and the opening device is excellent. These are wonderful knifes and I would not be surprised if i end up buying the whole collection.
Kershaw 1670BLK Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3-3/8" Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joe H
South Australia
Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Got this knife about a year ago, I use it every day. Hasn't lost any quality from the amount of use. Easy to open and close in a hurry. I work in a waste disposal room so I need it to be quick and easy to pull out and put back. Definitely the best pocket knife I own.
Kershaw 1670BLK Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3-3/8" Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brian
NJ
Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: None
Ken Onion Blur
love the knife - easy to use - holds an edge well - I hooked the pocket clip and bent it - need to find a replacement clip - anyone know where.
Kershaw 1670BLK Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3-3/8" Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sgt R. Scott
USMC
Jul 11, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
One of the Best knives I own hands down!
I’ve used some of the best knives from all over the world while I was in service, including the “original black knife” by OX & many others, but I’ll be honest with you this Kershaw 1670BLK is way up there. In fact the Kershaw I like much better, it has better size and weight compared to the much more expensive knives. I can’t and won’t tell everything this knife has been though, but if only this knife could talk! I own several Kershaw knives however the 1670BLK I really got lucky on.
Kershaw 1670BLK Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3-3/8" Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Alex
Maryland
Aug 19, 2008
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
This is likely the best knife I have ever purchased
This is likely the best knife I have ever purchased in overall quality (and I have purchased quite a few). The fit and finish on this knife is outstanding. The assisted opening mechanism functions as flawlessly today as when I got this knife a year ago, and it sees daily use. The blade opens very fast, but smoothly, and locks securely with a liner lock. The handle is the most comfortable I have ever experienced, and the grip is the most secure. The textured inserts make holding the knife with wet, or even oily hands easy. The blade is a great shape for all kinds of work. The steel is well hardened, giving it excellent edge-holding properties. This allows the edge bevel to be fairly narrow, which I have come to like as it yields a strong edge and point The black coating Kershaw uses on the blade is very durable, and even after cutting wood, hard plastic, dense fabric, and steel tape I still have yet to leave a scuff on it that I couldn't wash off. I highly recommend this knife. The only thing I have needed to do in terms of servicing is to tighten the pivot pin to eliminate blade play. This is very easy, all you need is a Torx wrench.
Kershaw 1670BLK Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3-3/8" Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Nico
South Africa
Feb 01, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip, Sheath, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None
Good knife
I got this from my wife as a gift, i have big hands and thick fingers so the knife is a bit small for me, but thats not a big issue i have heard of the blur having lock failure but i have not had this problem with mine (did the spine wack on some pine and with force) never failed on me been using it on and off for about 2 years now, blade steel is fine its not my manix 2 xl, but for what it gets used for its a nice blade steel and holds an edge well, only thing i want on this knife is a cut out at the end of the blade so i can sharpen it to the back of the blade with a rond ceramic stone. Final word is get it u will like it and it will be a good tool.
Kershaw 1670BLK Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3-3/8" Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
J Johnson
Traverse city, MI
Jul 11, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Great blade
Perfectly opens when I need it plus has a great handle. Would recommend to anyone. Seems like it could handle your tuffest task whatevever that may be:)
Kershaw 1670BLK Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3-3/8" Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
K. E. A.
Woodland. Washington
Oct 23, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Handle Material, None
Cons: Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Black Blur Knife
Very Quick opening, strong blade, general use. not so good,easily jammed by coins in pocket. noisy very distinct loud click when opened, liner lock
Kershaw 1670BLK Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3-3/8" Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Timothy
Singapore,
Jul 21, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, None
Very sharp out of the box
This is the first and probably the last assisted opening folder I will own. Not because I have any gripes with the knife itself, but because assisted openers are somewhat of a grey area where I'am from. (The local distributer for SOG disables the assisted opening feeature for their knives before sale.) Ok, about the knife itself. Its light, feels good in your hands when you're using it, the blade is VERY sharp out of the box and the SpeedSafe assisted opening is a blast to play with. My only problem with the Blur is with opening it initially, rubbed my thumbs raw on the thumbstuds which are a little sharp/rough around the edges and also because I wasn't used to them yet. The pocket clip is slightly stiff and difficult to get to clip on your pants pocket initiallt but it gets better over time. Though I think the end of the clip can be made to protrude out less as it caught on and tore a small tear in the side bolsters of the driver side bucket seat in my car. Other than that, its a great knife!
Kershaw 1670BLK Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3-3/8" Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Old Cuss
Western Missouri
Jan 13, 2016
Pros: Handle Material, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
No Too Shabby ! ! !
Got this " Blur " for a surprise X-Mas present from youngest Son. Never truly thought I'd ever want any carry knife other than a Full Auto, but this Kershaw Blur has flat fool changed my mind. I quite frankly ENJOY the ' flipping out ' of the blade with my thumb. The knife has good heft to it and the pocket clip is SUPER rugged and TIGHT !!! !!! I like the Hell out of this Blur.
Kershaw 1670BLK Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3-3/8" Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Bryan Mc
Atlanta
Jul 01, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Lock Type
mediocre knife
Bought this as an edc. Didn't much care for the way it locked up.Seemed kinda weak and flimsy to me. Opens up quick and easy enough.
Kershaw 1670BLK Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3-3/8" Black Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Larry Jordan
Valley of the Sun
Apr 14, 2011
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Weight, None
Strong look, weak lock
This is a cool looking knife and the assisted opening is fast and positive. The handle has great ergonomics and the Trac-Tec inserts make for secure gripping. However, the knife's single and greatest failing is the weak liner lock. Do the Cold Steel lock test--strike back of locked blade on a piece of pine--and the blade begins to close! Any kind of stress on the back of the blade, say during an armed encounter, may cause the lock to fail. I would NOT dare use as a tactical folder. Fundamentally flawed.