Reviews and Ratings for Kershaw 1730SS Zing Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles

Kershaw 1730SS Zing Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handlesrated 4.250 stars out of 5 (16 reviews)
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
1
1 star
1
Kershaw 1730SS Zing Assisted Flipper Knife 3 inch Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles

 

Price: $32.95

Save $19.54 (37%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Kershaw 1730SS Zing Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris K
West Palm Beach, Fl
Aug 09, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
GREAT little knife
GREAT bang for the buck- am 71 years old and have owned and used many over the years- This one is a KEEPER !!!!!!
Kershaw 1730SS Zing Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
William W
iggie1549@gmail.com
Sep 25, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
great knive under $100
I use this knive for some any lite cutting .opens smoothest of any modest price knive, less than $75 .i did take off the clip, old school .
Kershaw 1730SS Zing Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
G.O. Gomez
Florida
Mar 28, 2013
Pros: Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Weight, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
i really liked that the clip was shorter and how it worked keeping it secured in my pocket. the weight was lighter which really made it easier to handle
Kershaw 1730SS Zing Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Devin
California
Aug 07, 2013
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
Great Knife for $20!!!
Great little knife. I use it mostly for light use while working such as cutting open boxes, letters, and packages.
Kershaw 1730SS Zing Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ri
Texas
Nov 17, 2015
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Best all around
Best for daily carry. Easy, fast opening. Blade shape makes it easy to sharpen. Like so well I purchased 2 spares in case I lose one and can't find exact replacement.
Kershaw 1730SS Zing Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jim
Winterville Georgia
Aug 07, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
A good medium size folder
It's a nice knife, much in the spirit of the Leek. I like simplicity and this is a good example. I could carry this and be happy.
Kershaw 1730SS Zing Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brian C
Colorado
Apr 02, 2013
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great Knife
This knife replaces the Kershaw Tanto Zing which I wrote a review for. My review will be almost identical except I prefer the Tanto Zing's checkered plastic grip, the new grip on this knife is all metal which doesn't feel quite as stable in my hand. I also wish this knife had a partially serrated tanto edge, that might come in the future. I am a self defense instructor and I encourage all of my students to carry a quick opening legal knife. This one is fantastic. It has a flipper for ambidextrous quick opening plus the flipper acts as a block that prevents your hand from sliding up the knife if you stab or thrust. The knife opens completely and reliably with just a slight pull on the flipper. I'm not sure what the opening mechanism is, I don't believe it has a "spring" assist but I think the lock mechanism is designed to push the blade out, very nice assisted opener design either way. The knife is light weight, slim and small when closed. One of the big pros is that the belt clip is adjustable for 3 positions: 1) Right hand tip up 2) Right hand tip down 3) Left hand tip down Brian C
Kershaw 1730SS Zing Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Marty
South Lake Tahoe
Nov 14, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Weight, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
I bought two
This folding knife has several note worthy qualities. First , I can place the keeper clip so that as I pull the knife from my lower cargo pocket, the opening knob is placed so I can open the knife in one smooth motion. Second the knife holds the factory edge for a long time. It's a good value also.
Kershaw 1730SS Zing Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Marty
South Lake Tahoe
Feb 11, 2016
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great knife, not what I was looking for.
I would have preffered to have purchased the "LEEK" model. However it wasn't listed.
Kershaw 1730SS Zing Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
James
Alabama
Sep 08, 2017
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great knife love it
.
Kershaw 1730SS Zing Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ericb
W. Bloomfield, MI
Mar 20, 2013
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Very Nice for the Price
As it is very well made for the price, also it is very sharp right out of the box. I also like that it is all metal and had a nice weight to it and feels very solid in hand.
Kershaw 1730SS Zing Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Derrick
St. Petersburg, FL
Feb 28, 2013
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great product- fast shipping!
I use this knife as an edc blade at work as an auto tech. Excellent quality for the money! Extremely sharp right out of the box, very slim for every day carry, and is the fastest speedsafe kershaw I own. Very smooth operation. Only downfall I can think of is the tip is a little thin for some heavy duty work compared to, say, my kershaw cryo (which is a workhorse!) Also the pocket clip was a little loose when I got it but a quick tightening of the torx screws and I haven't had it loosen up yet. All in all very satisfied.
Kershaw 1730SS Zing Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mike
Michigan
Aug 07, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great assisted folder for the money
Kershaw 1730SS Zing Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
David
Sizemore
Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Blade Material
Not Made in the USA
Could have misread the description but I was unaware that this knife was made in China. When I received it I noticed it didn't open as easily or quickly as my original Zing, purchased in December. When I started looking and comparing my old one to this one I also noticed the blade was not stainless on the this one. At any rate, I was a little disappointed that the quality of the knife was not the same but I guess that is the $20 price difference. The knife works and I will continue to use it.
Kershaw 1730SS Zing Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Rw
KC, MO
Aug 01, 2013
Pros: Ease of Opening, Weight, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel
First Kershaw disappointment
Love all my Kershaws....then this one came my way. Blade tip was bent, and it was very dull compared to my others. Plus, the smooth finish of the handle seems like it would make handling this blade with gloves or a sweaty hand difficult. I know it's a low-price knife, but I expected better from Kershaw. BTW.....GREAT service form KnifeCenter (as usual) handling my return of this knife. No questions, quick refund.
Kershaw 1730SS Zing Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Bead Blast Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Tim
New Hartford , Ny
Jul 12, 2019
Pros: Weight, None
Cons: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Not good
This knife has to be the worst thing I've ever purchased. It's my fault for getting it because I didn't realize it was made in China. Had I paid more attention to the description I wouldn't have gotten it. I'm not going to bash Kershaw for one bad knife because every one of my others are perfect (Made in the USA)..stay away from this one though.