Reviews and Ratings for Kershaw 1760 Skyline Flipper Knife 3-1/8" Plain Blade, G10 Handles

Kershaw 1760 Skyline Flipper Knife 3-1/8" Plain Blade, G10 Handlesrated 4.444 stars out of 5 (36 reviews)
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
22
4 star
9
3 star
4
2 star
1
1 star
0
Kershaw 1760 Skyline Flipper Knife 3-1/8 inch Plain Blade, G10 Handles

 

Price: $47.95

Save $37.04 (44%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Kershaw 1760 Skyline Flipper Knife 3-1/8" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matthew B
Wellington,
Jul 17, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Kershaw Skyline
super sharp hollow grind, super sharp! first flipper style knife I've had but easy to get used to. very lightweight and great to carry in the pocket or by the clip if thats what you want to do
Kershaw 1760 Skyline Flipper Knife 3-1/8" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nomagios
Greece
Mar 12, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Handle Material, Lock Type
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
kershaw skyline 1760
I use it every day. Came razor sharp out of the box. Great ergonomics and balance! The clip is a bit hard but not a big concern.
Kershaw 1760 Skyline Flipper Knife 3-1/8" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Craneman
Oregon coast
Jun 29, 2010
Pros: Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
My EDC!
I own over 50 pocket knives and by far this is one of my favorites. Opens smooth as silk. Edge is very very easy to keep extremely sharp. I use this as my everyday knife and I love the feel of it. No cons- best knife for the price hands down.
Kershaw 1760 Skyline Flipper Knife 3-1/8" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Silentsoundz
Dec 14, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Amazing EDC knife
Great knife overall.
Kershaw 1760 Skyline Flipper Knife 3-1/8" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Flugzeit
Frankfurt, Germany
Mar 20, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
Beautiful and uncompromised light use EDC
I bought this purely due to the universally good reviews the knife has received, and keeping in mind its purpose (a lightweight, unassuming, easy to carry, and value for money blade) it hits the mark, almost perfectly. I'll be honest, this is not the knife I will carry... I have no end of knives that live in my pocket and I bought the Skyline purely out of interest. However, for anyone looking for a great little EDC, then this is it. Here are a few brief reasons: - perfect overall size and balance - good non-tactical profile for everyday carry - very usable drop-point blade shape - no nonsense G10 handle scales - nice clip (and could be easily modded for more carry positions) - lightweight - I like the 14C28N steel, easy to sharpen and good edge retention - fantastic overall design and flips open easily, locking is solid, no blade movement and liner lock at about 50%. The blade studs are "blade stops" but can also be used for opening (although it is a little bit difficult to use them for primary deployment). I'm not a fan of bead blasted finishes and this would be my only negative, however, its perfectly in keeping with achieving a brilliantly conceived and executed knife at this quality and price. This was an international order and I've been very happy and impressed with the KnifeCenter. I actually opted to purchase the knife here (although it is available for a few bucks less in other places) because of the ease of ordering and payment (absolutely no problems for international customers). This is a huge plus, because its easy to complete transactions like this and I'm sick of all the complaints from other sellers who are hesitant to offer international orders (they just don't try or care). So thanks KnifeCenter! I already have three more items on order and I receive weekly emails about their status. Highly recommended!
Kershaw 1760 Skyline Flipper Knife 3-1/8" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
J Le Roux
South Africa
Sep 01, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Very light edc
One of the lightest well built knives i have ever seen an used great all round edc. Blade shape works well for every day task lock up is good and nice and early no blade play up and down or side to side feels great in hand and the blade just flys out when using the thumb stud almost looks like it is assisted opening. Great blade and a must have
Kershaw 1760 Skyline Flipper Knife 3-1/8" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Charles H.
Mason, Tn.
Jan 11, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great EDC
Probably the best EDC for the money out there. Great steel in a light, slim package. Its a flipper design but does not have the Kershaw assisted speed safe opening...It still deploys easily and im sure would add more weight. If you want a very good knife that is lightweight with good blade size, then this knife is the one you want.
Kershaw 1760 Skyline Flipper Knife 3-1/8" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
John B
falls church, va
Dec 07, 2016
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Skyline A+++
I get one for my brother every birthday. He teares them up on the job/farm.
Kershaw 1760 Skyline Flipper Knife 3-1/8" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bowiecat
CA
Oct 18, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Superb EDC
Pro - excellent design - fast deploying - tip up or down carry - great handle material - light - near perfect blade shape and size for edc - rare - US Made for import price Con - stiff pocket clip - handle is compact, extra large hands? If you need a new knife for edc, you will enjoy this knife. If you need something bigger which is also lightweight, the Spyderco Endura in the new color FRN handles is probably the best overall choice. Need something under $30, the Ka Bar Dozier knives are ultra light and fantastically designed at around $20.
Kershaw 1760 Skyline Flipper Knife 3-1/8" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Travis B.
asheville nc
Feb 21, 2012
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use
Cons: None
Great knife
I use my skyline for odd jobs such as cutting rubber, cardboard and whatever else i need to. It holds an edge very well. Very easy to sharpen also. Other than the fact it comes razor sharp out of the box, it flips opens really easy and its made in the USA. Easily my favorite pocket knife. Don't really have any complaints about it.
Kershaw 1760 Skyline Flipper Knife 3-1/8" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bigman
Pennsylvania
May 27, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
First Rate EDC.
I own and carry a lot of knives. Been collecting and honing for many yrs now about 44 yrs I think. I can tell you with certainty this is a great all round knife.I have and do use it from both tactical to everyday practical.From the tactical viewpoint it makes a very good discreet knife. No one ever bats an eye or looks twice at it. As being to big or objectionable looking like a weapon. I find it fits the discreet carry niche very well indeed. I use it when I'm just going to be lightly armed with a snub-nose.From the practical viewpoint it is one of my most used knives ever. I don't see the need to carry a bigger bulker knife when this knife can do everything I can throw at it. It's one tough smaller knife. I recently lost my original one and just had to replace it.The fit and finish are first rate and is second to no ones in a factory knife. The materials are also very well chosen for it.14c28n is a much under rated steel I believe. It's very chip and stain resistant. I can make it as sharp as any other steel I own very easily. Edge retention is very very expectable to me and serves very well in an EDC knife.I actually prefer it over v10 or aus8 as in my experience Sandvik's 14c28n is a tougher and retains it's edge better.It's even better in edge holding than my all time favourite all purpose steel 440c.Which I own both custom made and factory knives in.This knife is equal knives that I've paid 3 and four times as much for. It also fits my hand very nicely and the g10 is very non slip. The flipper just makes it all that more convenient to use and carry. It flies open as fast as most of my assisted knives do. Another plus is there's no spring to break or worry about doing so. Making it more reliable and simpler overall.So if you want a very well made inexpensive USA made knife I'd recommend taking a good look at buying one of these.You'd be hard pressed to find a better all round knife at this price point.Kershaw has made a winner that hard to beat here.
Kershaw 1760 Skyline Flipper Knife 3-1/8" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nick The Enforcer
Illinois
Jan 07, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
This is the knife other makers wish they had made first!
It is just enough knife for nearly every basic EDC need. I have bigger heftier blades/folders I carry but when I am carrying a firearm and dont need a hefty knife, dressed up or wearing light summer shorts this is just the ideal knife to carry.
Kershaw 1760 Skyline Flipper Knife 3-1/8" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
John Smith
UK, England
Jun 06, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use
kershaw skyline
Brilliant knife for the money,easy to open. great quality.
Kershaw 1760 Skyline Flipper Knife 3-1/8" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Carterupnorth
upstate New York
May 24, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
this is my every day care knife, and it is the best I have ever owned. Of the three major folding brands I have found american made Kershaws to be the best. just ordered a second one when i saw they stopped making them. thin handle, strong clip, elegand design, great feel, good blade.
Kershaw 1760 Skyline Flipper Knife 3-1/8" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ruiz
texas
Dec 31, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
more than i expected
i bought this knife almost a year ago for edc, with time it served me for more than edc. i used it to skin a deer, a javelina, and several cottontails and jackrabbits. it is slim, strong, lite, and sharp. the spear shape makes me feel comfortable to carry in the city. i suggest to buy it only if you going to use it! it's worth it. i almost forgot... it's really fast to open and is not assisted.
Kershaw 1760 Skyline Flipper Knife 3-1/8" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kevin
Austin, TX
Feb 28, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great knife, great price
Every day pocket knife - really good weight, easy opening, good quality, sharp blade.
Kershaw 1760 Skyline Flipper Knife 3-1/8" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bpstalker
Budapest, Hungary
Feb 22, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Ease of Opening
A great EDC
I think if you look for a blade to carry everyday, than this is the one. Very sharp, has very good blade material, holds in the hand very smoothly. The only con for me is the thumb stud which does not fit for me very well. I had to get used to the flipper. Highly recommended.
Kershaw 1760 Skyline Flipper Knife 3-1/8" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Travis T
Athens, Ga
Feb 12, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
The last folding knife I'll ever buy!!!
I bought this knife a few months ago, and have been thoroughly satisfied with it. It has a great belly on the blade with no recurve, so it's easy to sharpen. Also none of that assisted opening crap that always makes me nervous with flipper knives. the flipper itself is adequate size to sling the knife open with minimal "flick of the wrist" effort. For those of you worried about cutting yourself when operating the liner lock release, the flipper is also big enough to catch your thumb long before the blade has a chance to. There are only two cons that I've experienced on this knife(mostly inconsequential). One is that the thumbstuds are the blade's method of lockup. I havent had any blade play due to this, but I imagine that if I abused it some, I would. The other problem I have is with the pocket clip. It seems to be too tight to fit onto the pocket of my favorite pair of pants without applying force with both hands. Overall, this knife is well worth the $40 I paid for it, and if i ever break it, I'd buy another in a heartbeat!!!
Kershaw 1760 Skyline Flipper Knife 3-1/8" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nathanael
Indianapolis, IN
Nov 30, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Great Knife
One of my favorites to carry. Someone else commented that it does not sharpen easily, but I have to disagree. The Sandvik 14C28N is awesome. It does not hold an edge as long as CPM S30V, but is soft enough that it has not chipped and takes a really nice edge. I can always get it to shaving sharp. I have also modified my quite a bit to address some of its shortcomings. I added jimping to it (not necessary for this light duty of a knife but I really like), changed out the pocket clip to a clip that lets the knife carry deeper. I also drilled out holes in the liner while I had it apart to tap new holes for the new pocket clip. I ended up putting a little money (the donor knife for the clip was an $8 Sanrenmu), but it is now one of my absolute favorites.
Kershaw 1760 Skyline Flipper Knife 3-1/8" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
808 Dude
Kaneohe, Hi
Jul 31, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Excellent EDC knife
I use this knife to cut boxes and wrapping. Also i did use it for carpet. Light weight, compact and good feel on my hand. The flipper open mechanism is so easy to operate and fast. Easy to sharpen. The Edge Hold quite well. Never have problem with the liner lock. I use this knife for EDC and Self Defense. Great product.
Kershaw 1760 Skyline Flipper Knife 3-1/8" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Huff
Arkansas
May 17, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
outstanding value
best 30 dollar knife I own. Hard to find a better value. Knife came razor sharp, which is a big plus. Great handle material. No cons, as far as I can tell. This would be my everyday carry if I didn't own a Leek that is already beat up from carry. If you are considering this, don't hesitate.
Kershaw 1760 Skyline Flipper Knife 3-1/8" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Graham L
North Yorkshire, England.
Jan 12, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Superlative for EDC
Light, slim and low profile. Great fit and finish for a knife at this price point. Blade perfectly centred with no play. Scales give good friction for grip. Very smooth flipper action and a solid lock up. Deep finger choil gives a really secure hold in a variety of different grips. Modest blade thickness and hollow grind give excellent slicing ability. General ergonomics and design make this knife a joy to carry and use. Buy one ! First time Knifecenter customer and impressed at the service. No problems with delivery to the UK and cheaper than anywhere in Europe with P+P included.
Kershaw 1760 Skyline Flipper Knife 3-1/8" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
John M.
Harrisburg, Pa
May 26, 2016
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Would love to see Speedsafe added to this model
Overall an excellent knife. Blade came razor sharp. Very lightweight and fits easy in pocket. Cannot go wrong with this knife. Just had 1 recommendation. If Kershaw would have added the Speedsafe mechanism it would make it perfect for me. I don't know if its me but when I hold the knife I feel like the handle is smaller/thinner than the blade.
Kershaw 1760 Skyline Flipper Knife 3-1/8" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Rob G
Toronto
Aug 09, 2017
Pros: Weight, Pocket Clip, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great small knife
Bought this primarily to use at work (I work as an AV installer). So far so good on this after using it for a couple of weeks. Nice sharp blade made with good steel. Well balanced and pocket sized.
Kershaw 1760 Skyline Flipper Knife 3-1/8" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Chewwie
NC
Sep 03, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Handle Material
For around $20 you really can't complain.
It has a nice blade and it sit excellent in the hand. It has a very snug pocket clip. The only downfall I found was that it doesn't have a full metal liner. The liner-lock runs the full length of the handle but there is no liner on the other side. The blade holds a good edge and when I had to use it to dig, it was easy to sharpen it back up. For around $20 you really can't complain. If I break it I would just replace it.
Kershaw 1760 Skyline Flipper Knife 3-1/8" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
David
Olney, Md
Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Weight, None
Cons: Pocket Clip
EDC
This knife is a good EDC due to the light weight and then blade. Will be fine for light duty tasks, food prep. Blade came centered and the flipping action was a little stiff till it was broken in. Only thing that would improve is a deep pocket carry clip. I wish Kershaw would have done that and then you wouldn’t have to look for after market clips.
Kershaw 1760 Skyline Flipper Knife 3-1/8" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jeff
chicago
Nov 08, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
very nice,in a subtle way
This knife is sort of like a slightly larger Kershaw Chill, but with a better steel and more formidable size. Opens well, locks solid, G-10 checkering very nice. tip up/tip down pocket clip. Flips open better than using thumb stud, which might be a little small. Not a significant problem, though.
Kershaw 1760 Skyline Flipper Knife 3-1/8" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Lee
S.E. Asia
Apr 08, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Ease of Opening
Good EDC knife
Nice lightweight drop-point folder. The handles are grippy and comfortable for extended use. The 14C28N steel blade is fairly easy to sharpen - took me all of 5 minutes to get it razor sharp. Used it to shred cardboard boxes - decent performance. The Flipper opening system takes some getting used to, though.
Kershaw 1760 Skyline Flipper Knife 3-1/8" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Kelly F
Hillsboro, Or
Jul 21, 2013
Pros: Weight, None
Cons: Pocket Clip
good for the price
This was one of my first EDC knifes I carried for about 3 years. For the price its hard to beat. its weight was light and simple and balanced well in the hand. Nice smooth deployment. and kept a nice sharp edge. I would place this knife in my top 5 of EDC knifes I have personally owned. Only problem I have had with it was the clip screws became loose and it was hard to find a Allen to fit them and they eventually fell out. I will likely send it to Kershaw for replacement
Kershaw 1760 Skyline Flipper Knife 3-1/8" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Rob
Sacto, Ca
Apr 17, 2011
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, Lock Type, None
great knife
After looking at this knife for awhile i was pretty skeptical if i would like it or not... So when my edc knife finally broke it was a toss up between the Skyline, Buck Vantage, Spyderco Tenacious, and Ontario Rat 1... i decided to go with the cheapest knife first and if i didnt like it.. work my way up the list, 6 months later i am in love with the Skyline... Only thing i dislike about this knife is the clip is too low... i wish it had a deep carry clip like the vantage or sog flash series
Kershaw 1760 Skyline Flipper Knife 3-1/8" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Matt N
Los Angeles , Ca
Dec 08, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Awesome Knife
Very excellent folding knife. Really the only thing I don't like about this knife is the generic goofy pocket clip kershaw chose to use. It requires tip down carry, because if you switch the pocket clip to a tip up position a large amount of the knife handle sticks out of your pocket and it becomes easy to lose the knife. Really is a very excellent knife despite that, totally recommended.
Kershaw 1760 Skyline Flipper Knife 3-1/8" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Anonymous
USA
Mar 19, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Lock Type
Cons: Handle Feel, None
It's an OKAY model but..
This knife is nice, but not what I was expecting. It's a neat design, but blade size doesn't match the size of the handle. The handle should be bigger or the blade smaller, either or. The knife feels off balance too. It also doesn't have jimping on the spine or the flipper like it should. The G10 scales don't grab your hands as much as previous models they've made (PackRat, Turbulence). It's fair when it comes to opening it with the flipper. It can be done, but takes more effort than others I've held before. It is sharp and has a decent figure choil but, I was a bit disappointed when I purchased it. Truthfully I should have returned it and bought a different model. I consider myself a fair grader when rating knives; I'm a big Kershaw fan, but this really doesn't cut it.
Kershaw 1760 Skyline Flipper Knife 3-1/8" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Outdoors Nut
Montana
Apr 17, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Handle Material, None
Cons: Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Fancy Letter & Box Opener
Don't get me wrong, this is a good knife, but considering what seems a somewhat high price against the background of its shortcomings & size, I'm giving a 3 instead of a 4. I would give it a 4 if it were a bit cheaper or a bit more well-made. For comparison, look at the Spyderco Persistence, Tenacious, or Resilience; you'll see what I mean. A flat bellied, drop-point/spear-point, high-hollow-grind, almost full-swedge, Sandvik 13C26 blade makes this an excellent little slicer for mundane tasks such as opening packages, opening mail, opening purchases/presents etc. A very good knife for the office if your company lawyers will let you carry it. It's not much good for much other than those mundane tasks. Arrived sharp from the manufacturer. The steel appears to be better for edges than an AUS 8, for example, but with "average" (read: not great) corrosion resistance. So, it is really a "blue-collared gentleman's blade" due to its usefulness and its construction materials. The G-10 handle is incredibly ergonomic, but also incredibly small. I have small-medium hands, and it feels small to me (!) as my hand runs off the rear end of the handle. If you have large hands, this knife is probably a no-go. It has low tactility/traction, and this is definitely not a tactical knife, although it does look like a miniature clone of one. The finger choil blends perfectly with the blade's flipper, with also perfectly redundant jimping in the choil that provides an appearance of traction only, and no jimping anywhere else on the knife (which makes sense, it doesn't need any). The handle has a steel liner only on the side of the liner lock, and is not skeletonized at all, which is a plus for easy cleaning. The handle is not strong, but this is not a strong-usage knife by any means. Torx screws are used, for easy disassembly/cleaning. The thumb-studs on the blade are so close to the handle when closed, and so small, that they are practically incapable of opening the knife without seriously hurting one's finger. They are really only blade-stops disguised as thumb studs. Very poor design on that point. The flipper does a good job opening the knife 3/4 way, and some momentum of the wrist is necessary to complete the action, which is typical across most brands/makes with flippers. The action is smooth, and there is a very very small/almost unnoticeable amount of blade play when open, which is actually normal across brands/makes. Blade centering is good with no abrasion in opening/closing. The pocket clip is good, and is about half the size of the knife, and roughly the same color/reflectivity of the blade. It is not reversible for southpaws, which is another definite design minus, as most manufacturers are becoming more adaptable to multiple carry positions these days. However, the clip is reversible between tip-down (arrives as such) or tip-up carry. The tip-up option is entirely redundant as this is no tactical knife, the blade detente (hold in handle) is uniform, and it would at best offer a negligible difference in deployment speed. The best features of this knife are its edge, its simplicity, and its size. The edge arrives sharp, and is easy to resharpen. The design, minus a couple crucial flaws, is elegantly simple. The size is perfect for carry in polite company/at work, or in environments where weak-spirited folk are likely to faint at the sight of a toothpick. As a ratio* to the entire length of the knife, the cutting edge (slightly larger than Spyderco's Manix 2!) is *quite large.* However, the narrow design makes the knife look particularly polite and tame. It is very light, very easy to use as an EDC, and you might even forget you have it with you. I would only recommend this knife in a couple circumstances. First is if you'd like to make it a "first pocketknife" gift towards a young child, boyscout or girlscout perhaps, who enjoys the outdoors, but who is not old/mature enough yet to carry a larger blade. Second is if you need a knife for use at work/in polite company for occasional usage, as this is definitely not a hard-use/workhorse knife. Othewise, save your money and buy something better. ; D
Kershaw 1760 Skyline Flipper Knife 3-1/8" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Brad
Wilmington, NC
Dec 05, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Cons: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, None
its ok
this is a ok knife. i bought it for a EDC knife. i like the weight, G10 handles, and the index finger "flip". the blade comes very sharp. how ever, i would not buy this knife again. the blade will rust, only after a month or two, i had rust on the blade around the top back where the handle is. i have never had this knife in water, idk. for $10 less, i would buy a "byrd", i did and it is 100% better, and less money. go figure.
Kershaw 1760 Skyline Flipper Knife 3-1/8" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Gerald S
Hammond,LA
Oct 27, 2011
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, Blade Material
Kershaw Skyline
Use at work. Knife was sharp when purchased but doesn.t sharpen well and does not hold a good edge. Like spear point blade and light weight and slimness.
Kershaw 1760 Skyline Flipper Knife 3-1/8" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Kevin C
Greensboro, NC
Feb 21, 2013
Pros: Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness
Kershaw "sky line"
Little disappointed in this model. Feels "cheap"...I know it's not that expensive, just compared to the other models in Kershaw's "economy class" of Knives, this one lived up to the moniker:(