Reviews and Ratings for Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles

Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handlesrated 4.474 stars out of 5 (95 reviews)
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
55
4 star
33
3 star
5
2 star
1
1 star
1
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1 inch Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles

 

Price: $23.95

Save $22.24 (48%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
J.R. S
California
Jan 12, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

A dandy!

I carry this baby everywhere. Lightweight, great action, razor sharp. This is my go-to, all-purpose blade.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bick
CA
Oct 29, 2020
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Pocket Clip, None

Almost perfect (and awesome deal!)

This EDC is a helluva deal, a snappy, small, and useful knife. It does all I want it to and more. The single issue was the poor pocket clip and screw quality. When I was shifting the clip around to try out different carry options, I stripped the screw and it wouldn't go back into the holes. So, I got some replacements from Kershaw (excellent customer service BTW!) and it is back to being great. This is a perfect EDC and an entry level knife that is in my rotation regularly. Love this and it lives up to the name!
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Beerpilot57
Florida
Sep 21, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Weight, Pocket Clip
Cons: None

Great knife

This was a replacement for a larger knife that I had carried for quite awhile. Being a bit smaller it is lighter and less obtrusive to carry and use. I have larger hands and it has taken some adjustment, but I love the opening mechanism and the blade lock system; I do occasionally use it for none cutting "activities", tightening small screws on aviator headsets, and it works like a champ! Ala in all I'm very pleased with this knife and will be giving one to both my sons for the holidays, i.e. Christmas for the non PC.😉
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Drew
Virginia
Jan 15, 2017
Pros: Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None

very nice EDC knife!

I really like the light weight and the way it fits very well in my hand. The cost and quality are great.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Evan
Massachusetts
Jul 15, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None

Nice one handed flipper

This knife is a great deal for the money. It really pops and it came very sharp.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Leonard S
TEXAS
Dec 23, 2016
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: None
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Pacman
Illinois
Apr 10, 2018
Pros: Handle Material, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Lock Type, None

Great knife

Great easy open knife for pocket carry. Frame lock is not my favorite tho.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Grindking
Marissa, IL
Feb 03, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Lock Type

Excellent Value!

Oso Sweet is an excellent value for the money , and in my opinion opens faster than an automatic.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Roger
Hilton, NY
Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None

Great Value

Fast and hard opener. Handle feels good in hand. Blade is tough. Best bang for the buck.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sharptactics
Gig Harbor, WA
Oct 29, 2009
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Cons: None

Great little assisted work knife

This really is a well done little folder for the price. It has a cool looking short little clip that places it tip-down in the pocket, and as some others have said, a nice scale texture on the zytel handle. I have large hands, but as small as it is, it still fits nicely and is quite comfortable. Kershaw uses a less-pricey steel, but I have found that it sharpens up well on diamond hones and ceramics. Regardless of the economy-price, it's still backed by Kershaw's awesome warranty. I also like the fact that it doesn't look overly tactical or weaponized, so it's a good choice for a work knife to use around people/situations where a big black Benchmade will draw unwanted attention. Well done Kerhsaw!
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jeff T
Monterey
Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Great Knife

I only have great things to say about this knife. The one-handed opening is huge. Several times a week I find myself holding something, or in a position that I cannot easily reorient, being able to open the knife one-handed is so incredibly convenient. I use this knife pretty hard, cutting different materials on the jib site, it just takes it and keeps going. Maintains the edge well. It's slim, easily fits in the pocket. I love this knife. Thinking about getting another one, just because!
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Luke
Virginia
May 21, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
Nice light weight knife. Opens super fast and is very sharp. Good knife at a great price.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Firemarshall
metairie,la.
Apr 12, 2010
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None

good for edc

great for light chores wish blade and clip was subdued.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Allensan
Crownsville, MD
Apr 27, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness

Real Nice

Very smooth and fast. Index finger opening is the way to go!
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Patricia
Oregon
Nov 04, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Love the oso swete

Keeps a great edge, it's durable. And a nice size that doesn't take up your pocket
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mjh4
Michigan
Dec 25, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None

Sweet knife

Excellent kershaw knife I own a couple dozen kershaw knives, all I like but I always tend to grab the OSO SWEET I use it for all kinds of cutting tasks. The blade holds a good edge and the handle feels perfect in my hand. Doesn't take up much room in the pocket but still has a blade a tad over 3inches. Great knife at any price.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael W
Mabank TX
Mar 08, 2017
Pros: Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Oso Sweet

I use the knife at work we are opening boxes frequently, and the compact size makes it easy to carry in your pocket. When you need to cut the packing tape to open the box quick reach in your pocket and hit the assisted open tab a bam your cutting tape.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sebbyd
Maryland
Apr 26, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Pocket Clip, None

she really is Oso Sweet

i don't think i have ever seen a knife as great as this, for this price. the oso sweet is just as sharp as the leek. its very durable. best knife you can get for the price.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Scott S
Suffolk Va.
Oct 26, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Ease of Opening, Blade Material
Cons: None

unbelievable value

I bought this for a friend but had to check it out before I gave it to him. I was sure the knife was going to be a great knife but as with all Kershaw knives the it far out did the statement of " you get what you pay for" . I wish all products lived up to Kershaw value. The knife has a crisp and fast opening movement and fits well in hand. I'm having to get one for myself now .
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve Smith
Tamworth UK
Jul 13, 2011
Pros: Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Handle Material

Such a sweet Knife

I use this knife as part of an EDC rotation and it is great. The assisted opening is crisp but not frightening for non-knife people. The scales are grippy without being aggressive, the weight and balance are perfect for me. It arrived sharp out of the box, but after a few minutes on my strop it's like a laser. A great package.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dave
md
Oct 02, 2011
Pros: Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Feel, None

just oso sweet

best edc for 15 bucks. long blade for short handle.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tracker
IL
Oct 08, 2011
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

lives up to its name

This little knife is just great! Optimum size for free (without clip) carry in pocket. Nice out of box edge. And the flipper just makes the thumb studs obsolete. With its phenomenally low price, this is the one to choose for gifts, especially for folks who are not familiar with assisted opening/flipper activation.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Britt J.
Lost in the Texas Hill Country
Dec 27, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Great Knife....Awesome Price! Makes a great gift too!!!

I carry an Oso Sweet occasionally but most of all I keep a couple on hand to give as gifts. Especially to people that have never carried a pocket knife. I ask them to carry it every day for a month and use it when the need arises to open mail, boxes, cut rope, twine zip ties or whatever. At the end of the month, most have said they never knew a pocket knife was so useful.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Casey
Oklahoma
Sep 30, 2015
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Everything I expected

This knife is an excellent working man's knife. It operates flawlessly. Smooth, lightning quick opening and a solid lock. Really has a nice "snap". I use a pocket knife almost daily and it's nice to have one in your pocket you can count on. Holds an edge too. I just barely had to "touch it up" to be razor sharp. Very economical and solid knife.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Alan1sc
Loris, SC
Aug 03, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Possibly the best “cheap” knife I’ve ever owned.

I own some much finer and more expensive knives from Benchmade, ZT, etc., and always will. But, on our acreage here, there are everyday tasks that about kill my knives (and have ruined many) so I always carry an inexpensive knife for them. I honestly can’t kill this little Chinese Kershaw! The blade is scratched to bits, etched from acid, and is plain old ugly. Yet, it still takes a great edge, the handles look new, the assisted-opening is still flawless. It’s tough, light, and an incredible value. I’ll be ordering a couple more so that I always own one, when the inevitable happens and I finally kill this.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Knucklehead
Midwest
Jul 10, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None

Best Damn Knife Around.

I've had this knife for a while. I bought a smith & wesson M&P knife because I thought I'd lost it, but it miraculously resurfaced today. The first thing I notice when reappraising this knife is the weight - it's perfect. The M&P weighs seven ounces, a noticeable difference. It also opens easier despite having been run through the washer, compared to the M&P's heavy action. The overall quality is stunning as well - It's streamlined, light, and locked, whereas the M&P is bulky, heavy, and has noticeable blade wiggle after one good use. The finish is great as well - no chance of it wearing off if I put it to good use. Put simply, this is the best and most practical blade on the market. The only downside is the rather tight pocket clip.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jason
Livingston,MT
Apr 27, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: Pocket Clip, None

Great Little EDC!!!

I love this knife!!! Have the red handled version. Nice shape of the blade and fits well in the hand. Use it all the time at work for cutting down carboard boxes and such. Had it for a couple years now and maybe touched up the blade twice? Wicked sharp, and keeps an edge. Only con I find on this oso sweet is the pocket clip. One, it looks kinda chintzy to me and two, it is not a deep carry clip. But other than that.....for the price-GET IT!!!
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Iws124
Golden Pond KY
Aug 19, 2009
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Outstanding value!!!

VERY SHARP!!! Love the assisted opening feature. It rides in my front shirt uniform pocket for accessibility and gets used often. Only $25.00? Hard to believe. Only wish it was made in USA, but I will order more USA knives made by Kershaw to redeem myself on that point. I wanted a "cheap" knife for everyday cutting and am amazed at the quality, and utility of this knife.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gabe C.
Houston, TX
Sep 18, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Lock Type, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use

Fantastic EDC knife

I use this as my Every Day Carry knife (EDC). It is so light weight that it is forgotten in my back pocket until I have something to cut. This knife is a great value.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Terrence
Johannesburg South africa
Apr 22, 2013
Pros: Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Blade Material

Budget folder EDC

Nice small EDC blade with assisted opening. Love the scales on this model very nice pattern. Pocket clip is very comfortable . Size and wait maes this a very nice EDC that easily can be deployed and even closed and also put away with one hand.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dozier
Winchester, TN
Jul 27, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Handle Material
Cons: None

It is Oso sweet

This knife is a great buy. The blade is razor sharp and the scales make it easy to hold and handle. It opens so smoothly and positively that I can see how it got it's name.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matt
Louisiana
Aug 20, 2016
Pros: Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

How sweet it is!

I'm kinda new to knives, don't know to much about them but I love this knife! I love the look, I live the feel, and I love the action! The people I've shown it to guessed it cost a lot more then I payed for it. It looks like a high quality knife! The action was a little stiff at first, but the more I use it the easier it gets.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dstownes
Woodstock, GA
Jul 09, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None

As Advertised

As expected from Kershaw, an excellent blade for the price. Smooth and easy assisted open, solid lock-up, no blade play, and sharp. This is my new EDC. Next pay check, I'll be ordering my third speed-safe Kershaw.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kb
Denver
Nov 03, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Pocket Clip

Oso Sweet...

Great lightweight pocket carry. Good quality and holds an edge. Pocket clip is a little stiff.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Donald P M
Oklahoma City,OK
Jan 02, 2013
Pros: Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Lock Type, None

A gift for my son in law.

I use my left arm to walk with a cane. The one handed opening is especially handy for me to use. I normally carry a Kershaw "needs work" but I have found that I need more of a point than the "needs work," so I went with the Oso Sweet. I like that I can adjust the tension because the new one is a bit stiff. I use my knife for everything and it gets steady wear but not heavy wear.This is my second one of these and Is a present for my son in law. If something happens, I'll buy a third one.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Samuel D
Charleston
Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Weight, None

This Knife Though

This is my first flipper knife and I love it, its so quick and sexy. super sharp and sleek. Everything was expected. wish it was little wider and heavier, but still feels good in the hand.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ewh
new York
Jan 04, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

I love this knife. for the money no one beats this knife

I carry this nice constantly and use it for everything. the knife came razor sharp locks up tight like a vault.I couldn't ask for a better knife.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Britt J.
Texas Hill Country
Jan 25, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Nice, compact and light weight. Great little knife.

Bought this knife as a spare for myself/spontaneous gift to a family member or friend. Overall good feel and handling. It is pretty sharp but could be sharper from the factory.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
John S
Fannin County Georgia
Sep 16, 2018
Pros: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use
Cons: None

Very nice

It opens pretty damn quick . Locks up solid . The GFN feels fine to me and has a light texture which is good . Its pretty typical damn good Kershaw quality . The thing I like best about it is the size and shape/weight . I dont carry this knife every day because I generally carry are larger stouter folder at work and a fixed blade around the property and woods . But when not at work or in the woods [ out and about town ] , its perfect . It clips comfortably and disappears . It fits the hand well , even though its a bit smaller than I'm used to . The size of the blade is not too large or too small . If I didnt work construction and had a " mellower " job ... I'd carry this about all the time . The shape of the blade along with the steel is good
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Santos
Pinetop, AZ
May 30, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None

slick and light

have only carried it a few days really like it nice fit and finish the action is nice and smooth blade snaps out with authority feels solid. nice edc will handle most every day cutting tasks with ease. pocket clip is a little small but works pretty well. my girlfriend likes it alot might give it to her would make a great ladys knife.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tom H
Illinois
Nov 08, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Great Christmas Gift – I Guarantee They’ll Love It

My son, who has worked in sporting goods for many years, turned me on to this knife some years ago. I have gifted them to many friends and relatives. They, in turn, have gifted them to their friends and relatives, and last year a friend gifted one back to me, coming full circle. Perhaps, the most popular EDC assisted folder in the USA. >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Well made, great value, good steel, versatile blade style, grippy handle scales, perfect size for pocket carry, fast as an auto, and fun to flick. Probably, the most popular EDC in Illinois, where any knife carried concealed with a blade over 3”, is illegal (a dangerous weapon, > Insert eye roll here <, support KnifeRights.org). I keep mine on my desk. It is just, so, satisfying to flick. OSO Sweet makes a great stocking stuffer, or exchange gift that they’ll actually like and use.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Klassend
Seminole, TX
Dec 21, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None

I love Kershaw!

As a hunter I use this knife to gut and skin deer and wild pigs. I love the ease with which this knife can be sharpened to a razor edge, it's slender shape fits in anywhere, and ease of opening it with one hand!
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Troy
california
Dec 02, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None

fine value

The 1830 Oso Sweet is a good knife well worth the money. Glad I bought it.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Slimnine
Erwin Nc
Dec 31, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Great price, razor sharp, will actually shave hair.

Everyday carry utility,self defense
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Larry
Metairie La.
Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

love it

This is my everyday knife and I love it. Razor sharp and very fast opening and the small size doesn't draw attention. Good grip too
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Anonymous, Knife Enthusiast
denton TX
Mar 12, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Lock Type, None

O so sweet, great knife!

I got this knife for christmas and ever since, I've been wearing it. all together great knife, but the liner lock is a little combersum. also the blade gets a lot of finger prints an other junk on it, so it has to be cleaned often.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kevin
Indiana
May 01, 2020
Pros: Handle Material, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

I love this knife!

Before this knife, my favorite knife was the Leek. This knife is the same perfect size but with the following things I like better: About half the price. It feels better in my hand with grippy scales on both sides. I like its clip better. The blade is wider and sturdier with a better profile. I also prefer the liner lock to the frame lock.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mjh4
Michigan
Dec 28, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Sweet knife

Excellent knife one of my favorite kershaws. Use it all the time on boxes and packages. It holds a good edge and rides nice in the pocket.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Alfredo G
Mexico, Other
Mar 30, 2015
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Blade Material

Great inexpensive EDC knife

Lightweight knife for all purpose tasks. Easy to open with good blade length. High price to value relationship.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Leonard
California
Nov 20, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Cons: Weight, None

Excellent buy

This knife make a wonderful addition to my work bench ease of opening,was a excellent edge,left or right hand opening with ease
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jack M
NY
Aug 27, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

just what I needed

This is my new every day knife... The reviews and descriptions from Knife Center are always accurate which is so helpful in making purchase decisions. Knife feels nice in hand, very sharp, great size
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Drole
UK
Jan 09, 2018
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None

Your Third Hand

Ease of use of this flip knife literally gives you a third hand; being able to open it one handed. And it is safe to use with confidence.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kelly F
Hillsboro, Or
Jul 21, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Perfect EDC

I very rarely rate a 5 on a knife at this price but after carrying it for the better part of 4 weeks as my EDC I would call this a perfect knife at the cost..to me a knife much have weight limits and balance to preform as a EDC knife and a added cost factor. This knife fits all weight, handle feel, ease of deployment one handed, sharpness out of the box and overall quality. this knife would be hard to beat.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Alex
Maryland
Aug 19, 2008
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Impressive

I'm surprised that Kershaw is able to offer an assisted-opener of this quality at this price. I know it's an import, but it's still pretty impressive. This knife is a great size and shape for an EDC, and a utility knife. Its got an almost completely flat grind from the spine, and a very sharp edge and point. The blade steel is very good for a knife this price, and seems to be heat treated well. The "Speed Safe" mechanism works as well as it does on my Leek, very smooth and very fast. I also like the shape of the 'flipper' as it makes it easy to deploy the blade, and serves as a guard for the fingers. The handle has a very ergonomic shape, and is contained entirely in the palm. Even the pocket clip on this knife looks premium.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Natural-Outlaw
Northern Wisconsin
Jun 14, 2012
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Nice Light Weight Kuh-nife

Very nice light-weight pocket knife. I hardly notice it in my pocket. Sharp and ready when I need it. Snaps open and closes easily; a great EDC. I also have the Brawler, Compound, PackRat and Tremor. I'm kinda sold on Kershaw. They temper the steel themselves to 58-60 RC. I have no problem with this steel. Keeps and takes a good edge.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Rene
Hesperia, CA
Sep 02, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
Cool, inexpensive knife. Sharp out of the box.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
John B
New York
Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Ease of Opening, Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Material, Pocket Clip, None
I always carry a knife for misc. situations and I don't like them to be heavy in pocket and this one seems perfect after I removed the clip held on bt 2 hex screws. I am much more careful what I use this knife for because it is new and I don't want to ruin it . It is very sharp,opens like lightning and is light. Perfect for me
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Shendog
whitefield, ME
Dec 03, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: Pocket Clip, Handle Material, None

Review of Kershaw Oso Sweet knife.

Another good, everyday working knife from Kershaw. They never fail to please. The only suggestion for maybe a slight improvement might be to put some "soft" inserts in the scales to aid in holding the knife when your hands get wet. Other than that, leave it alone. regards bob
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jeff
Victoria British Columbia Canada
Jan 04, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Handle Material, Handle Feel

Decent for the price

This is a pretty good little knife, the only con is the Handel feels kind of cheap. Other than that it's a pretty good .
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Malcolm C
surrey england
Jul 26, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type
Cons: None

very sturdy ,havnt used as yet

yet to use
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jake M
Massachusettes
Nov 10, 2012
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Great knive

I'm a diesel mechanic and avid sportsman great little knife to have clipped to your pocket
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Frank
NY
Jul 09, 2009
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Nice Little Knife

This is one of the smoothest self openers that I have seen. Blade is very sharp and one of the best Chinese made knifes I have seen. I guess the Chinese have finally figured out how to make a good sharp knife.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ninjapig
salt lake city, ut
Dec 13, 2010
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None

great EDC blade so far

Kershaw has always delivered quality and this knife did not disappoint. it's lightweight, has a great strong lock-up, deploys quickly, and was razor sharp out of the box. so far, it's great.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
T
Illinois
May 26, 2017
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Solid Choice For EDC

I bought this knife because of the reasonable pricing and Kershaw name to carry every day. The knife rides well in your pocket, opens easily, and so far looks like it holds an edge well. The knife opens easily. However, I wish the flipper had been made just slightly larger. This is a very minor criticism and would not keep me from purchasing another.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Drew
CT
Sep 04, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None

kershaw classic

The Kershaw 1830 is a good addition to any Kershaw collector/ knife collector. IT has great feel to the handles and a quick blade deployment. Good for small cutting tasks, or package opening.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Brian
Dublin, CA
Dec 05, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Feel, Handle Material, None

Great quality, excellent value

The Oso Sweet is a fantastic knife I take with me on a daily basis. The speed and safety of the assisted opening razor sharp blade make it great for a variety of applications such as opening boxes to cutting tags off of iteems. The only thing that isn't so great is the feel of the handle (less premium); however, overall it is an excellent value for the money.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Eric
S.E. Arizona
Feb 13, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Blade Material, None
Cons: Pocket Clip

Pretty good knife for general use

Very nice knife; opening action is swift and predictable; it's a bit thicker than I figured it would be, and it would be good if the knife came with a tool to remove the pocket clip (tiny Torx screws)
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bri
Detroit, MI
Sep 08, 2017
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None

I Ordered Another Oso Sweet After Giving One Away Some Time Ago

I gave my first one to my sister so I decided to order another one for my collection but anyway, for me it's a useful knife as it's small enough for my hands and I use it to cut down cardboard boxes. The flipper still bothers me a bit and I wished it was slightly bigger or some kind of change in the design of it. At first was difficult to open because the screw was pretty tight which a simple half turn of the screw holding the blade solved the problem, no big deal. It took about a week for me to get the knife, and I love how Kershaw gives you the option for left or right handed pocket clip carry and the knife comes sharp.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Texaspride
Spring, TX
Feb 21, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Handle Material, None
Cons: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality

Great Workhorse

This knife is a great all around workhorse. The blade is VERY sharp out of the box. The feel of the scales are very ergo friendly. The speed safe option as well as the liner lock are quick and easy to operate, which is very handy when you're working with your other hand - very fast deployment. The ONLY con about this knife is the fit & finish. Obviously you're getting a Chinese made production knife, so expect some imperfections in the product. As far as I am concerned, this is a great buy.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Kevin C
Greensboro, NC
Feb 21, 2013
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Cons: Pocket Clip, None

Kershaw "oso sweet"

This one, I fell in love with...:) Really solid lock-up, considering the price, material, etc. I carry this one every day!
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Vick
Austin, TX
Dec 15, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: Handle Material, None

Sweet Knife

quick opening, smooth action, solid feel for a good price.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Dan Moody
Jacksonville, FL
Apr 14, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Not a toy

The size of this knife is perfect for my EDC. I bought another brand of the same size & loved it, except for the blade material. The Oso Sweet is the same size but has a much better blade. It is heavy for its size but I like that; It says, "This is a tool, not a toy". The handle is plastic(wish it were carbon fiber or G10)with a "gator" type embossing. The blade is thick & hollow ground to a nice edge. The blade material is CRMOV13 which is the same as AUS8, a good steel.The knife is well constructed and the blade centered. It opens very fast with the flipper(spring assisted) but you can open it less aggressively using two hands, also. I gave the blade a couple of swipes on a ceramic rod and shaved hair off my arm easily. The pocket clip is fine and is movable or tip up or down. It has a lanyard hole. It is a good purchase for the price. Kershaw makes good knives. I have a high end knife of theirs as well.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Knife Enthusiast
TX
Apr 01, 2013
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None

"Sweet" Knife

First off, I got this for my brother at last year's Christmas. He told me that after toying with it for a brief time, he came to this conclusion: this knife is a wonderful light/medium use knife. The spring is FREAKISHLY powerful! Beautiful design by Ken Onion. I found this description to be true, but found a drawback: it feels insanely tiny in a larger person's hands. Mine for instance.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Thomas H
Stephenville, Nf
Jun 20, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None

Great Knife

This is a great EDC knife. Very smooth action and razor sharp. For the price it is unbeatable.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Papabravo
CA
Jun 25, 2019
Pros: None
Cons: None

Sharing

This knife is not easy to sharpen! Must let you know. But I must say great value! Don’t over look this knif!
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
El Conquistador
Colorado Springs, Co
Oct 13, 2019
Pros: None
Cons: None

You want it sharp?

I was frustrated with this knife for a while. I couldn’t get it sharp. Then I started getting familiar with secondary bevels on hollow ground blades. I got rid of the hollow grind in favor of a partial flat grind on a Buck, a Case, an Ontario, and now my Oso Sweet, just using sandpaper. They are all now very sharp, and easy to sharpen. Not a fan of Hollow grind
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ayn Hollander
Stanthorpe,Qld. Australia
Dec 28, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Weight, Handle Material, None
Cons: Handle Feel, Lock Ease of Use

Oso useful

This knife lives up to it's promise of easy opening,you won't go back to conventional folders once you've tried this one. I carry it all the time on the farm and the opening and closing technique(either hand)can be learned in 5 minutes. Having big hands I would like a slightly wider handle.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mayhem
texas
Sep 19, 2013
Pros: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Cons: None
This is a very nice little knife. Fits good in the pocket and the hand. Being the knife person I am there are few knives that I don't sharpen myself. This is one of them its really sharp
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
James
Memphis, Tn
Jul 31, 2020
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Sheath

No Artificial Sweeteners

Since I own this and have held and used it, I would buy one or two at this price if I did not own one. Or two. I don't think that I have three.. The opening and lock up are good. There is no blade play. Centering is spot on. I think it was reasonably sharp. It was a lot sharper after I worked on it.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Matt N
Los Angeles , Ca
Dec 08, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening
Cons: Pocket Clip, None

Very Functional Knife

I've had this knife for about two years now. It is by far my most carried and most used knife. I personally don't really like the looks of it, just aesthetically speaking but you cannot deny the oso sweets functionality. It has a very functional blade shape, made of reasonably good steel. It stays sharp for awhile and it's not too hard to resharpen. The only downside I would say about this knife is that the pocket clip leaves a lot of the knife sticking out of your pocket. I've never lost the knife, but it can be a little conspicuous with the little silver pocket clip. Overall excellent knife for the price, totally recommended if you just need a cheap but very high quality knife for everyday tasks.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Tracy
cincinnati, oh
Mar 03, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None

Great knife to market to female buyers

my daughter is in the Army National guard and works in my store where we sell knives. When I first tried the knife out it was awkward for me to open and it didnt fit my hand. My daughter tried it and absolutely fell in love with it, claimed it as hers and now carries it everywhere including when she goes to drill. We both now go straight to this knife if we have a female buyer. Obviously any smaller handed male will also love this knife.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mike
Central Virginia
Oct 26, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Feel, Handle Material, None

Well worth the price

I've owned this knife for a few years and it hasn't ever disappointed. The extremely sharp hollow-ground blade slices through darned near everything with little effort. With normal use (paper, cloth, plastic, rope) it stays pretty darned sharp. It isn't difficult to maintain a nice edge. My only complaint is that the handles are a little slick. The fish svale pattern dors provide some friction, but not a whole lot. If the knife was scaled-up to a slightly larger size (it is small), and a grippier set of handles installed, it would be better. But then again that's how the can sell this excellent knife for such a low price. Overall it is an excellent buy and a very good knife.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Nathan S
North Mississippi
Dec 01, 2011
Pros: Ease of Opening, Weight, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel

Good knife for the price

Can't beat the price
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ashley D.
Maryland
May 06, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Sweet is the word

This is a great little knife. (just the right size) The handle fits well in my hand with a neat Fish scale texture for an easy grip. Quick and sharp is this blade. Impressive, but I expect nothing less from an Onion Design. Great knife great price
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
B. L. Wagner
Gettysburg, PA
Apr 13, 2012
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Nice little utility knife

These little Ken Onion knives represent a really good bargain for an assisted opening every day carry knife. The fact they are made in China probably accounts for the low price, but I find it to be very well made and it's a great little knife for a very modest price!
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Michael
Alabama
Nov 18, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, None

Lightweight Champion

This knife was a gift from my daughter and it quickly became my favorite for EDC. The blade is acceptably sharp out of the boxing it opens easily. The magic comes when you open the knife and begin to use it as it was intended, for light to medium duty cutting. The blade is thin but deceptively strong and never failed me for the 2 years it was my every day companion. It bent but would spring back in every instance. I am ordering another as a replacement I was so impressed. A word of advice, remove the clip prior to it coming loose and causes problems for you and just carry loose in your pocket. It is weak, the screws are poorly secured and the clip was loose and gone within 2 weeks. Thus I award the grade of 4 instead of a 5. Great knife, crappy clip.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
B.L.W
PA
May 02, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Great little knife for price

This is a very nice little knife, especially given it's rather modest cost. Handle is quite ergonomically friendly, opens quick, and holds a good edge. This is probably one of Kershaws best bargains for a nice little user friendly every day carry utility knife!
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Shane
Alabama
Jan 01, 2016
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

I love this knife

I have owned two of these, the first one was lost in the woods and had a flat grind and not the current hollow grind. I wish they would either offer these in a full flat or high saber grind. These are light, tough, and hold a good edge. The clip is not too stiff. The flipper is easy to open while offering enough resistance to keep it from accidentally opening. The handle is comfortable and it balances well. I like the spear point on knives like this as it gets into envelopes easily and will work for self defense. It's big enough to be able to do some work but it's not a huge, uber tactical looking knife. If you need a general use folder for an urban environment, this would be a fantastic choice.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Tjp
New Mexico
Mar 07, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Material, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality

oso sweet kershaw 1830

knife is a little hard to open. has a screw on the handle not counter sink into the handle like the others and looks odd but does not impair knife function. have used very little but appears to be well constructed. blade is sharp and will be used more during the summer cleaning fish and outdoor carry. time will tell on durability.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Timothy D
Wichita, Ks
Mar 16, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Handle Material, Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel

Feels cheap!

The blade was very sharp and holds the edge well. The flipper works good, the blade opens smooth, fast and locks up solid with very little play when open. The blade lock is hard to release. The handle looks good but feels light and cheap in hand. It needs a system to lock the blade closed when needed, I had a folding knife open in my pocket and it cost my 8 stitches VERY close to my....well u get it. All in all it's worth the little money it cost!
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Ed
MA
Jan 26, 2015
Pros: Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Blade Material

Nice EDC but made in China

I really fell in love with it when I first opened the box. After playing with it for a while saw the blade was made in China. For the price you cannot beat it - not too concerned if I loose it now. Fits well in the hand an opens really fast.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
John M.
Harrisburg, PA
May 19, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Weight, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Lock Type, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Ease of Opening

For th price its good

U cannot beat the price for the blade. it feels great in hand and the blade design is fantastic. I had very hard time flipping it open though. Tried loosening the pivet but then the blade wobbles from side to side. Additionally i prefer frame locks but wanted to try it. Also bought the S30V Blur at same time and u can realllly feel the difference in both opening and closing the blade.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
David A.M
kissimmee fl.34744
Jul 28, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Material

review from begginner

again I am a beginner so excuse me for dumb or mistakes but will get better in the future
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Jimbob
Moorestown, NJ
Mar 23, 2010
Pros: Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Material

NOT MADE IN USA

Its a good EDC knife, big blade, really cheap so if it gets lost you wont be upset. Not very high quality. I opened it once and the tip of the blade hit something and the tip bent in toward the blade...BOO Its not a bad cheap assisted knife but not nearly the quality of Kershaw's other items. I have a Leek too and would much recommend it over this knife in terms of blade quality and overall quality. The one thing i do like about this knife is the handle...its comfortable in my hand.
Kershaw 1830 Oso Sweet Assisted Flipper Knife 3.1" Satin Plain Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Strong Bow
Musella, Ga.
Dec 02, 2009
Pros: Weight, Sheath, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Lock Type

Poor Quality

Not the quality I'm used to in a Kershaw.