Reviews and Ratings for Kershaw 1870 Knockout USA Made Assisted 3-1/4" Plain Blade, Aluminum Handles

Kershaw 1870 Knockout USA Made Assisted 3-1/4" Plain Blade, Aluminum Handlesrated 4.471 stars out of 5 (17 reviews)
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
3
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
0
Kershaw 1870 Knockout USA Made Assisted 3-1/4 inch Plain Blade, Aluminum Handles

 

Price: $59.95

Save $65.04 (52%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Kershaw 1870 Knockout USA Made Assisted 3-1/4" Plain Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike
Binghamton
Aug 19, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Best EDC out therr

The perfect EDC knife. Very thin it carires easily in a pocket. Very light weight. Holds an edge very well. My favorite go to folder. Has the same looks as a Zero Tolerance but half the price but still incredible quality.
Kershaw 1870 Knockout USA Made Assisted 3-1/4" Plain Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Knucklehead
Pennsylvania
Aug 31, 2019
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

EXCELLENT KNIFE

Bought this blade a few years ago. Probably one of the best flippers out there. Unfortunately, mine got lost in my couch for at least two years. Recently found it. It was like finding a buried treasure.
Kershaw 1870 Knockout USA Made Assisted 3-1/4" Plain Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Albert
Winchester, TN
Jun 15, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Pocket Clip

Awesome knife

As usual the Kershaw delivered. I've seen some previous comments complaining about poor deploy. Mine snaps open like a rocket. Overall great EDC knife
Kershaw 1870 Knockout USA Made Assisted 3-1/4" Plain Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tony U
Bakersfield CA
Dec 16, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Sheath

Nice knife

I really like the way it opens. When open, the blade has a solid feel and doesn't wobble. It is a little big for pocket.
Kershaw 1870 Knockout USA Made Assisted 3-1/4" Plain Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joe B
Wisconsin
Nov 27, 2015
Pros: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Keisha's Knockout

I recently purchased a Kershaw Knockout. I had a Leech that I liked, but the tip was very thin and broke. The Knockout is considerably beefier and still carries well. It opens and closes quickly and easily with one hand, which makes it very useful at work. Kershaw gives you a quality product at a reasonable price.
Kershaw 1870 Knockout USA Made Assisted 3-1/4" Plain Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ed
Bay Area
Oct 26, 2012
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Impressive

I have been using this knife for a week now and cannot be more impressed by its performance, appearance, fit, and finish. The aluminum handles are amazing and give this knife a military grade feel. The two options for opening this speed assist knife work very well, though with the thumb you have to take care not to catch the blade because of its width. The knocked out style lock system works flawlessly and has a very solid hold. The clip is a 4 way adjustable and the knife sits low in the pocket so as not to advertise you are carrying it (the clip is very simple and black). Very well balanced in the hand, the grip is perfect for my medium sized hands and the low profile clip doesn't get in the way when gripping. I was concerned about the blade appearance as I'm not a big fan of "stone washed" type blades, but this one is not and looks awesome. Been getting a ton of compliments on the blade design too. Worth every penny as this has become my new EDC and I don't see that changing for years to come.
Kershaw 1870 Knockout USA Made Assisted 3-1/4" Plain Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Big Daddy
LA
May 16, 2020
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None

Best New knife

Easy open and close. It fits perfectly deep in the pocket with easy release. Lightweight, versatile. The weight is a perfect balance for ease of use. The blade angle allows minimal wrist movement and less effort. My favorite new knife.
Kershaw 1870 Knockout USA Made Assisted 3-1/4" Plain Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gps
West Melbourne, Fl
Dec 27, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

strong

a good well made solid knife.comfortable in the hand,good solid fast lockup.kershaw quality throughout.a great multy purpose carry,large but not to heavy.able to take heavy use without fear of failure. MADE IN THE USA 1111111111
Kershaw 1870 Knockout USA Made Assisted 3-1/4" Plain Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Alan
, Coastal SC
Feb 12, 2020
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

My new favorite US-made Kershaw

I haven’t found anything about the Knockout that I don’t love. I could end my review there, and feel okay about it. But, I love to read reviews, so here’s some detail. It’s light, as I most often carry ZT’s. The aluminum handle feels amazing, and the stamped pattern gives a surprisingly secure grip. As with all Kershaw assisted-opening flippers, it’s fast. Very fast. It reminds me of a lighter ZT Hinderer, where all of the components are slightly-lesser quality. But that’s not a knock on the Knockout. For the money, as a knife lover who owns many, this is THE best value of any knife I own. Incredibly sharp out of the box, the liner lock is nearly like a frame lock, (I love this!) and good, strong materials in a fairly light package. I’ll be ordering a couple more. And, as with every transaction with KnifeCenter, delivery was quick and perfect.
Kershaw 1870 Knockout USA Made Assisted 3-1/4" Plain Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Trace
Cal
May 02, 2020
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Great edc.

If you really wanted a ZT but couldn’t convince the wife that any pocket knife was worth over $200, this is a nice alternative. Good materials and construction. Positive opening and solid lockup. Easy on your pocket, but has a comfortable/safe handle shape. Easily worth the KC’s $60 sale price and made in Oregon, USA .
Kershaw 1870 Knockout USA Made Assisted 3-1/4" Plain Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michaelmichael
Pearl River , NyOrange County N.Y.
May 06, 2020
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Kershaw 1870 Knockout made in USA

I am a LE officer. I carry this knife week side everyday. It was sharp right out of the box .I can easily deploy it and use it left handed. I have cut seatbelts , para cord & rope with no problem. What’s great about this knife is the action is so smooth and the blade is very sharp right out of the box & the handle is very good.The knife takes a beating and keeps working. The price was great I got it on sale but I plan to get one for my brother . He is a LE officer in NYC. I highly recommend this knife that’s why I am getting one for my brother. 🇺🇸
Kershaw 1870 Knockout USA Made Assisted 3-1/4" Plain Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Kodiak Pa
Kodiak, Ak
Nov 29, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Handle Material, None

Awesome Blade Excellent Fit & Finish

Kershaw "knocked" this one "out" of the park. Very well designed knife. The speedsafe is fast and dependable, the blade style and shape is very useful. Carries low in the pocket and is 4-way adjustable. The only down side is that the aluminum scales are very slick thus this is more a utility knife than a tactical knife. I fixed that problem by just applying a bit of skateboard tape to the left side of the scale and it solved the problem. I also catch my finger on the blade when I deploy via the thumb studs so basically I just use the flipper. Deploying this knife is adicting! I think their new Piston model may be worth a look too since it has G-10 and seems to have the same locking system. The locking system on this knife works very well. Overall this is an excellent knife.
Kershaw 1870 Knockout USA Made Assisted 3-1/4" Plain Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Todd
Spottswood, Va
Dec 18, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Pocket Clip, None

Nice AO EDC Knife but not as advertised

This is a nice assisted opening made in the USA knife that arrived very sharp. Operation was very smooth with a solid lockup. Flipper is great, thumb studs not so great. The only downside that I can find is that it is not drilled and tapped for 4 position carry as advertised here in the description as well as the video, only 3 position. Kershaw's website shows it drilled and tapped for 3 position. I assume Kershaw changed sometime and the information was not updated. It is not a deal breaker but as I bought this for my left handed daughter to use on our farm cutting open hay bales in the winter and to edc, it would have been nice to know. If she wants to carry it in her left pocket she can only carry tip up. I personally prefer tip down. Overall a nice edc knife, just would have been nice if all the information would have been correct.
Kershaw 1870 Knockout USA Made Assisted 3-1/4" Plain Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
The Outlawyer
SWVA
Feb 20, 2020
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, None

Really nice assisted heavy edc

I use this knife for edc, for opening letters and packages, for cutting string out of the vacuum cleaner, and for cleaning my nails. It opens very smoothly and easily and carries well in the pocket on the clip. It is a surprising value that opens EVERY TIME! Maybe a little heavy but it is a really superb value. Locks up very tight after some serious prying.
Kershaw 1870 Knockout USA Made Assisted 3-1/4" Plain Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Aaron
Salem OR
Dec 30, 2013
Pros: Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Ease of Opening, None

Meh

I'm a huge fan of Kershaw, I own about a dozen Kershaws from different pricepoints, & I own 8 ZT knives. My Knockout looks & feels great...but it suffers from the same issue as my Kershaw "Needs Work" model. The blade deployment feels a bit sluggish. The flipper is fine but when using the studs there's a lack of snap & the blade doesn't deploy & lock all the way open. I'm hoping this is a simple issue of new=stiff & the action will smooth out with use. I've applied some high quality weapons-grade oil & it seems to be helping. Otherwise a very clean design i know i'll be happy with.
Kershaw 1870 Knockout USA Made Assisted 3-1/4" Plain Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Lloyd
So. Nevada
May 17, 2020
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Handle Feel, Handle Material

Not a favorite

I went on a knife-buying tangent recently. I wanted to add some EDC blades to my small Kershaw inventory, the Blur and the Leek, both great knives and worthy of 5 stars. Based on the glowing reviews, I picked up a Knockout and was immediately underwhelmed. The problem, for me, is the handle. "Hate" is perhaps too strong, but I dislike it pretty intensely. Too thin, not comfortable in my hands which are medium-large (I wear a size L glove), and rather cheesy-looking. No complaints about the blade steel, the blade shape or the flipper; the blade deploys easily. But how a knife feels in one's hand is a big part or the joy of use and this Knockout leaves me joyless. Nor do I feel that 60 bucks is a good deal for this knife. For not much more than $60 you can buy a Blur, which is the better knife by far.
Kershaw 1870 Knockout USA Made Assisted 3-1/4" Plain Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Dan
Michigan
Jan 19, 2015
Pros: Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness

loved it except for the blade steel.

Love the weight, pocket clip and the fact that it doesn't have flipper studs on the blade.Iwas disappointed with the blade steel (Maybe I'm becoming a steel snob) I decided to get the camber instead (v 30 steel).