Reviews and Ratings for Kershaw 1870OLBLK Knockout Assisted 3.25" Black Plain Blade, Olive Drab Aluminum Handles

Kershaw 1870OLBLK Knockout Assisted 3.25" Black Plain Blade, Olive Drab Aluminum Handlesrated 4.727 stars out of 5 (11 reviews)
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Kershaw 1870OLBLK Knockout Assisted 3.25 inch Black Plain Blade, Olive Drab Aluminum Handles

 

Price: $79.95

Save $45.04 (36%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Kershaw 1870OLBLK Knockout Assisted 3.25" Black Plain Blade, Olive Drab Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Vinny
Florida
Nov 06, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Lock Type, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material, Handle Feel
Great EDC and good tactical blade
For the money it is a good buy. I want an EDC for EDC tasks but I also legally carry a gun and want something I can use to perhaps persuade a gun grabber from taking my gun away from my hand or holster. Maybe just for places where I cannot or do not carry a gun out of respect for my hosts and children. I want a knife that can be both a lap dog and an attack dog. My only con was that the knife is slippery which is not good for tactical use. Ask someone in ER about what they see the most on people who used a knife to defend themselves and they will tell you that it is the hand sliding off the frame and onto the blade. Those who never took knife fighting lessons will not know how important a good grip is. I solved this problem very easily and wish it was an option. I filled all of those pretty groves with rubberized grip tape from Talon Grips. It not only glues your hand to the knife when you grip it but also looks fantastic on the Green/Black model. It just accents the knife beautifully while giving you a great grip not even found on my very expensive knifes. Hate to say it but sweat and blood can make holding onto a knife very difficult as I learned in combat and it does not have to be in a human to human self defense situation. You can cut yourself, work on a bleeding friend to cut away clothes, or skinning an animal to eat until help arrives. I live in the tropics so my hands are sweaty all the time so I use this rubberized grip tape and sometimes their skateboard gritting type too. Skateboard tape also works but I prefer the rubberized as it does not rub my hand raw. Even my wife likes how the knife looks and she is usually unmoved by how my knives look. So with a little grip tape, Xacto knife and patience, I filled the grooves in with rubberized grip tape and the knife is even more beautiful and more functional too.
Kershaw 1870OLBLK Knockout Assisted 3.25" Black Plain Blade, Olive Drab Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Morgan
Marathon, FL.
Mar 16, 2019
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Awesome!!!
AWESOME! Right out of the box I knew this knife was amazing, solid, accurate, real attention to detail, rivaling or better than many more expensive knives. The frame lock, Speedsafe opening assist; plus thumb studs, Sandvik 14C28N steel blade and its Made in the USA; make this the best value and possibly the best all around EDC or folding survival knife available today. Its size, which is just kissing large for EDC, is offset by the light weight...brilliant design to use aluminum for the handles; light weight and integrate a stainless steel plate into the frame for the lock for strength. The blade is razor sharp, make that surgical sharp and its shape is all around ready to be accurate for detailed use or large enough for some more challenging, survival tasks. All these amazing features in a knife under $100 dollars make this Kershaw Knockout a real "Knockout". Slapped a Buffaloworx lanyard on it, clipped it to my jeans and it’s my new go to everyday carry knife.
Kershaw 1870OLBLK Knockout Assisted 3.25" Black Plain Blade, Olive Drab Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Erik
Ellensburg
Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Pocket Clip
A must buy
The shape of the blade makes this knife able to do simple jobs like opening boxes to more specialized ones like cutting meat or skinning an animal. The large flat blade makes me feel comfortable for strength and durability, despite how lite this knife feels overall in the hand. The quick opening allows fast deployment for the task needed and kershaw has the single best customer service/product warranty I've ever experienced! I own at least half a dozen kershaw knives and have not been disappointed yet. Finally, this particular model was made in the USA. If you don't own a kershaw I strongly suggest you buy one and this knife is a great one to start with. The only con is I prefer the clip to be at the top of the blade not the bottom. This is a personal preference but still didn't stop me from buying.
Kershaw 1870OLBLK Knockout Assisted 3.25" Black Plain Blade, Olive Drab Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Andy
Perth, Western Australia
Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great EDC knife
Extremely thin handle and light weight make this knife perfect for edc. Handle is smooth with little grip but the shape of the handle and flipper acting as a finger guard make it easy to hang on to. Feels comfortable in the hand. Great blade shape and great looking knife in general. Blade material keeps an edge well but can be harder than some of my other knives to resharpen. Competes with my blurs for my favourite edc!
Kershaw 1870OLBLK Knockout Assisted 3.25" Black Plain Blade, Olive Drab Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tim
Georgia
Jan 24, 2015
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
Best Transferable Pocket Clip
An absolutely knockout of a knife. Please note, the previous review from Eric regarding the clip was incorrect and misleading. In my opinion, the fully changeable clip sends this EDC over the top. Left, Right, tip down, tip up, minimal design and deep carry; and I've only reviewed the clip so far. Kershaw got this one right. Perfect blade centering, no blade play up down or side to side, solid lock up, very light and slim. Knockout is a literal meaning as well. Hold the closed knife in the palm of your hand and curl your fingers around the back of the knife. Place your thumb on the top slanted end of the knife and use the butt end as an option for hand to hand self defense. The only draw back is the lack of traction. It is a slick knife.
Kershaw 1870OLBLK Knockout Assisted 3.25" Black Plain Blade, Olive Drab Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Clinton
South Dakota
Feb 12, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
All around great knife from a reliable company.
I had done some fairly extensive research into the ideal knife for myself and after a while I came to the conclusion that the Kershaw Knockout would do wonderfully. I first attempted to buy it on Amazon but there were some issues with the seller so I came here instead. The knife itself was a bit more expensive but shipping was much lower so I actually saved money by coming here. As for shipping, I ordered the knife around noon on a thursday and it arrived at about 9:00 the following monday morning. It was well packaged with more than enough material to keep the product safe. Now for the knife itself. It really is everything I wanted and more. The spring assist is extremely quick and responsive, the blade came sharp enough to shave the hair off my arm, and the aluminum handles make it deceptively light while still giving it a decent balance. The pocket clip was too tight so I had to spend about 30 sec stretching it to my desired tension. Overall the knife was well worth the money and KnifeCenter.com made my life much simpler than it could have been.
Kershaw 1870OLBLK Knockout Assisted 3.25" Black Plain Blade, Olive Drab Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
James A.
Las Cruces, NM
May 09, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great for an EDC
I like the design and OD color. It is flat but with a large blade, Great for an EDC.
Kershaw 1870OLBLK Knockout Assisted 3.25" Black Plain Blade, Olive Drab Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
David V
Woodstock, Ga
Oct 23, 2016
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
NICE KNIFE FROM KERSHAW USA!
While I own quite a few Kershaw knives, this is only the second USA built knife I have. The difference is noticeable. Not that there is any thing wrong with the imports, but the USA built knives just seem to have "more" quality. Nice slim design with enough heft to it to make it feel durable. Decent grip from the smooth aluminum handles. Shaving sharp out of the box. About twenty percent lockup. No blade play in any direction. Opens easily with either the thumb studs or flipper. Like the sub-frame lock. Reminds me of the Zero Tolerance 777. Balance is great in the hand, pretty neutral. Not blade or handle heavy. Feels smaller than it is. Kershaw USA seems to be building knives similar in quality to ZT at a lower price point. Maybe the ZT knives will be a bit more durable, but for most of us, we probably won't notice the difference. This is a great knife, no matter the price. I also own five ZT's, and love every one, but I can't find anything that much better from them to this one. ZT's are overbuilt just like the advertising says. But if you don't need that, Kershaw USA can give you everything you need at a lower cost. Like I said, I love my ZT's, but Kershaw USA is right up there with them as far as quality goes. Check them out. You may be surprised. Thanks to Knife Center for their usual excellent selection and service.
Kershaw 1870OLBLK Knockout Assisted 3.25" Black Plain Blade, Olive Drab Aluminum Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Eric
Northeast
Apr 06, 2015
Pros: Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great feel, big blade
Great do all knife. The blade is a bit wide for delicate tasks, but overall a grea EDC. The movable pocket clip is a big bonus as well.
Kershaw 1870OLBLK Knockout Assisted 3.25" Black Plain Blade, Olive Drab Aluminum Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Paul
,
Dec 09, 2019
Pros: Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Good knife
Handle coating comes off to easy.
Kershaw 1870OLBLK Knockout Assisted 3.25" Black Plain Blade, Olive Drab Aluminum Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Corey
MI
Jul 28, 2016
Pros: Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Good EDC
Good solid EDC flipper. Great looking knife. Feels good in the hand. Aluminum handles are smooth and not grippy. Overall, this knife is put together very well.