Reviews and Ratings for Kershaw 3870 Amplitude 2.5 Assisted Flipper Knife 2.5" Satin Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles

Kershaw 3870 Amplitude 2.5 Assisted Flipper Knife 2.5" Satin Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handlesrated 4.533 stars out of 5 (15 reviews)
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Kershaw 3870 Amplitude 2.5 Assisted Flipper Knife 2.5 inch Satin Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles

 

Price: $26.95

Save $15.04 (36%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Kershaw 3870 Amplitude 2.5 Assisted Flipper Knife 2.5" Satin Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve D
ohio
Aug 04, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Weight, Pocket Clip
Cons: Handle Feel, None
very nice little knife
Kershaw 3870 Amplitude 2.5 Assisted Flipper Knife 2.5" Satin Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Pk
Alberta, Canada
Jan 27, 2015
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
My Idea of a Good Every Day Carry/Use Pocket Knife
Well designed EDC pocket knife. Solid, nice size, useful blade shape, good choice of materials, good workmanship, snappy action, solid lock-up ... moderately easy to do maintenance when/if needed ... perhaps a bit heavy for some tastes, I'm okay with it.
Kershaw 3870 Amplitude 2.5 Assisted Flipper Knife 2.5" Satin Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Larry D
Phoenix, Az
Dec 09, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Cool knife!
Nice sized sharp blade for my pocket! It's my new EDC carry for general use. The knife feels comfortable in the hand, it's slim, light and quick blade deployment is possible! It appears that it's well designed and well made....I'm sold!
Kershaw 3870 Amplitude 2.5 Assisted Flipper Knife 2.5" Satin Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steven K
Diamondhead, MS
Nov 06, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: None
A Great Little EDC
I recently decided to downsize my EDC from the Spyderco Tenacious to the Kershaw Amplitude 2.5. I found the Tenacious a tad too big for the small tasks I encounter in my office workplace. The Amplitude has exceeded expectations thus far. I've heard other reviews mention blade play, but mine has none whatsoever. It fits my hand very well--my hands are on the small side, though. Most folks won't have room for their pinky finger. Deploying the blade takes far more pressure than I expected--it takes some time getting used to, but I like that I don't have to worry about it deploying in my pocket. The weight feels hefty in hand (probably because of it's size), but I don't notice the weight when it's clipped to my pocket. Speaking of which, the clip is very strong, so I typically hold my pocket lining taut with my other hand when I clip it on. That could be annoying to some people, but I like knowing it's not going anywhere I don't want it to. It came decently sharp and has kept its edge in the light tasks I use it for. Finally, I absolutely love the sleek and modern design.
Kershaw 3870 Amplitude 2.5 Assisted Flipper Knife 2.5" Satin Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Fredg
Lecompton, KS
Apr 29, 2017
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Compact Flipper
I wanted a small flipper that I could use to open and close with one hand. This knife does that well. For the times I need to use the blade for a quick cut, it's in and out of my pocket easily. Its small size lets you pocket carry without using the clip if you prefer. The shape of the grip and the quality of the blade make using this knife a pleasure whether you are opening letters or boxes. It is a very handy tool.
Kershaw 3870 Amplitude 2.5 Assisted Flipper Knife 2.5" Satin Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Harry S
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Dec 09, 2014
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Cons: None
Kershaw 3870 Pocket Knife
The knife is comfortable, sharp and easy to use.
Kershaw 3870 Amplitude 2.5 Assisted Flipper Knife 2.5" Satin Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Karl S
Hanna City, Il
Jan 28, 2016
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
A really great knife for the money
I've had my Kershaw 3870 for a month, and it has become my everyday carry knife. It's short enough, thin enough, and light enough for comfortable pocket carry. I'm not a clip carry fan, so I removed the pocket clip from my knife to make it more comfortable in my hand. The knife requires just a bit of effort to open, enough to make it safe but not enough to be objectionable. The blade locks securely when it's opens, and it is very stable in the frame. The locking tab also requires just a bit of effort to disengage, but this also adds to the knife's safety, The knife easily takes a very sharp edge, and it holds the edge quite well. Based on my experience during the first month with this knife, I am confident and comfortable recommending it to others.
Kershaw 3870 Amplitude 2.5 Assisted Flipper Knife 2.5" Satin Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Scott
texas
Jul 07, 2015
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
great little knife
this is the perfect size knife for EDC. its not too big, opens quick, and has zero blade play.overall great knife
Kershaw 3870 Amplitude 2.5 Assisted Flipper Knife 2.5" Satin Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Les
VA
Dec 21, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
A little gem
I have always carried a larger folder. I bought the Amplitude about two months ago due to some venues I attend enacting a blade length rule of no more than 2.5". Honestly, even reading the reviews of the Amplitude I didn't expect a lot and only intended on carrying it once in a while. I was wrong! This little folder exceeded my expectations. It has replaced my larger knives because it can do anything they could do that I need in a smaller, lighter package. I now carry it everyday. I use it for any job a blade is needed for - opening packages, trimming, slicing... I even used it to skin and dress squirrels for dinner. It was as sharp at the end as at the beginning. A few swipes on a steel keeps it shaving sharp. I did have to bend the pocket clip out a bit since it was so tight. I would have preferred it not have been made in China, but I have no issues with its quality or performance. Great folder and a bargain at the selling price.
Kershaw 3870 Amplitude 2.5 Assisted Flipper Knife 2.5" Satin Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Drew The Knife Guy.
CT
Jan 17, 2019
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
kershaw classic
This Amplitude knife is a great cutter, nice and tight with easy deployment and good fit and finish. A good addition to the Kershaw EDC collection.
Kershaw 3870 Amplitude 2.5 Assisted Flipper Knife 2.5" Satin Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
John
California
Dec 11, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material, None
Cons: Weight, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness
Kershaw 3870 Knife
Well made. Everything is tight and works properly. It was not as sharp as I have come to expect from a Kershaw knife. I have a number of Kershaw's and up to this one all arrived razor sharp. This one did not and required sharpening right away. The pocket clip is also very stiff and hard to use. Also, for a EDC pocketknife it's a bit on the heavy side although that is somewhat offset by having a pocket clip and not just loose in the pocket.
Kershaw 3870 Amplitude 2.5 Assisted Flipper Knife 2.5" Satin Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Shane
Alabama
Jan 01, 2016
Pros: Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Great little knife
If you are looking for a small, unobtrusive folder for opening mail, opening boxes, cutting string, or peeling an apple or pear, this is worth looking into. Opening was a little stiff at first, but it smoothed out. It was reasonably sharp from the box, but it quickly took a shaving edge. It is pointy, the blade tip is like a needle. It's stout, built well, and is a little heavier than you would think. It feels solid without feeling bulky. Plus, it looks nice, very sleek, decidedly non-tactical. The only thing that I can say against it is that the pocket clip is very stiff and it was hard to clip it to my pocket. Not a big deal and can be fixed with a little judicious bending.
Kershaw 3870 Amplitude 2.5 Assisted Flipper Knife 2.5" Satin Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Seth
Fairport, NY
Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Kershaw
great knife! Only negative is the pocket clip is too tight when I want to place or remove from my pocket.
Kershaw 3870 Amplitude 2.5 Assisted Flipper Knife 2.5" Satin Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
John A
INDIANA
Oct 28, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Feel, Handle Material
nice edc
it is now my go to edc, smaller than my blur, the 8Cr13MoV steel blade stays sharp for mundane tasks like opening boxes, cutting ropes and string, trimming stems of plants, ect. much smaller, lighter, easy to open one handed. Don't like the fact that it isn' t made in America as I thought, but can't complain about the quality. Drop point plain blade is very nice.
Kershaw 3870 Amplitude 2.5 Assisted Flipper Knife 2.5" Satin Plain Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
James S.
Grand Prairie, Texas
Nov 18, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material, None
Cons: Weight, Handle Material
HANDLE MATERIAL
This is about the perfect every day carry knife that I have been looking for. I HAVE NOT PURCHASED THIS KNIFE. If the handle material was pure titanium, I would buy the knife in a heart beat. Even if the price was $15.00 or $20.00 more. A higher price for a super light weight knife life this would then be PERFECT. What a shame that Kershaw did not see that there are those of us who would buy this knife in a titanium handle configuration.