Reviews and Ratings for Kershaw 3880 Thermite Assisted 3-1/2" Stonewash Plain Blade, G10 and Steel Handles

Kershaw 3880 Thermite Assisted 3-1/2" Stonewash Plain Blade, G10 and Steel Handlesrated 4.565 stars out of 5 (23 reviews)
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
16
4 star
6
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Kershaw 3880 Thermite Assisted 3-1/2 inch Stonewash  Plain Blade, G10 and Steel Handles

 

Price: $20.95

Save $36.04 (63%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Kershaw 3880 Thermite Assisted 3-1/2" Stonewash Plain Blade, G10 and Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Andres R
Dracula, GA.
Nov 22, 2013
Pros: Pocket Clip, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness

Kershaw 3880

I use it everyday for work at a web hosting company. I love the design of the handle. This is a good size pocket knife so if people are use to a small carry knife this is not the one for them.
Kershaw 3880 Thermite Assisted 3-1/2" Stonewash Plain Blade, G10 and Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sgt1372
San Francisco Bay Area
Oct 16, 2018
Pros: Handle Material, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

My New EDC

I usually carry a Kershaw Shallot or Blur but I am now going to start carrying the Thermite instead. Still love my Shallot but it's mainly a light cutting blade and the reason I like it so much is mainly because of it's shape and style. The Blur has a larger blade than the Shallot but I prefer a flipper to using a thumbstud to deploy the blade. The Thermite has a larger and much thicker blade than both the Shallot and Blur and also has the spanto tip that looks like it could penetrate sheet metal of comparable thickness but the blade is still thin enough for normal slicing duties. The Thermite blade can be used and abused in a way that I wouldn't even consider using the Shallot or the Blur and I think doubt there is little I would need a knife for that the Thermite blade can't handle, even w/o serrations. The etched handle provides a nice grip and the plain metal backing allows the knife to slip easily into my front pocket and the deep clip entirely hides the body of the knife from view. The knife frame is long but thin and does not feel too bulky and is not noticeable in my pocket. Opening w/the flipper is a breeze and the knife comes w/the blade facing up (when closed) which puts the flipper in immediate contact w/your index finger as you remove it from your pocket for the fastest method of deployment. The are also thumbstuds on the blade that you can use w/SpeedSafe spring assist to open the blade but why use the thumbstud when using the flipper is so much faster and easier? I currently own over 35 Kershaw knives of various sizes and types and IMO the Thermite is the best of the lot for use as an EDC knife. Doesn't mean that the other knives can't be used as an EDC but while they have various pros & cons, the Thermite's cons are limited only to its size (which I do not consider a disadvantage) and it is not so heavy that I can feel it clipped to my pocket, unlike my Cryo II us feels like a lead weight. So, if you like larger folding knifes (as I do) and want a knife that you can use for normal as well as "tactical" purposes, I'd highly recommend you consider the Thermite, which has been discontinued, and may be difficult to find in the future.
Kershaw 3880 Thermite Assisted 3-1/2" Stonewash Plain Blade, G10 and Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bud B
Niceville, Fl
Sep 24, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

One of my favorite EDC Knives

I use this knife for pretty much anything, at work or around the house. The best thing about it is how quickly I can deploy it and how comfortable it is in my hand. One of the better things about this knife is the spanto tip, I'd like to see more knives with that tip style (in my price range). Another thing I'd like to say is how much I appreciate Knifecenter.com's customer service. The questions I've had were nicely answered almost immediately by a real person from Knifecenter.com.
Kershaw 3880 Thermite Assisted 3-1/2" Stonewash Plain Blade, G10 and Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Geri
Texas
Feb 02, 2016
Pros: None
Cons: None

A Present

I don't know knives, go bey looks and size, but do pick them out well. My Son in Law has yet to be disappointed with any knife he's gotten for Christmas. It's traditions now. Year before last when I got a Kershaw, for the first time he was really pleased. So that brought him another 2015. And I already have one for this year's gift! Thank you for the great selection at affordable prices and service. Hope you have a great and blessed year.
Kershaw 3880 Thermite Assisted 3-1/2" Stonewash Plain Blade, G10 and Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Samuel G
Lebanon, Pa
Jun 19, 2015
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: None

One of the best values out there.

For $40 this knife is worth the price. At the current Knifecenter sale price of $25 you'd be a fool not to pick one up as a spare work/beater knife, because you can't beat that deal. It's a quality design, and a whole lot of knife for that price. With great assisted flipper action to boot.
Kershaw 3880 Thermite Assisted 3-1/2" Stonewash Plain Blade, G10 and Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Terry H
65203
Nov 22, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use

very nice product

Easy opener. Good overall quality.
Kershaw 3880 Thermite Assisted 3-1/2" Stonewash Plain Blade, G10 and Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Robert C
12570 james madison hwy. Palmyra Va. 22963
Dec 09, 2016
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None

Kershaw 3880

In my work, cutting rope, stripping wire, opening boxes. It works as stated. You covered everything.
Kershaw 3880 Thermite Assisted 3-1/2" Stonewash Plain Blade, G10 and Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jim T
Missouri
Nov 25, 2016
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Kershaw knife review

Nice design, we'll made, good function, very concealable.
Kershaw 3880 Thermite Assisted 3-1/2" Stonewash Plain Blade, G10 and Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael S
Weaverville, Ca
Jun 02, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Kershaw 3880 Thermite Assisted 3-1/2" Stonewash Plain Blade

I just recieved the Kershaw 3880 Thermite. The edge is very sharp, and the blade flips out with a nice snap, locking solid until released. It is a sizable blade, and will be my EDC. The flat-ground tip seems to be very strong, and this blade has more than just slashing as it's purpose. The above mentioned tip makes it a very tool-like blade, and the thickness of the spine combined with the design of the hollow grind makes for excellent strength. I haven't purchased a "pocket-knife" for many yuears, and I was not disappointed by this product; it is a great Hinderer design.
Kershaw 3880 Thermite Assisted 3-1/2" Stonewash Plain Blade, G10 and Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rob D
Philadelphia
Dec 09, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Kershaw is the best bang for your buck

Great EDC blade. Decent steel, great ergonomics and a solid lock up. Nothing like a convenience store knife. I own many premium knives including a few customs, but this will be one that I will carry and use.
Kershaw 3880 Thermite Assisted 3-1/2" Stonewash Plain Blade, G10 and Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
David A
Texas
Oct 27, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material, None
Cons: Weight, Handle Feel
Very sharp out of the box. Have two of them!
Kershaw 3880 Thermite Assisted 3-1/2" Stonewash Plain Blade, G10 and Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ray
Nevada
Aug 11, 2015
Pros: Handle Material, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Excellent knife

Excellent knife you can carry this knife blade up or down, right or left side. Fast opening. Perfect for every day carry .
Kershaw 3880 Thermite Assisted 3-1/2" Stonewash Plain Blade, G10 and Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Salty
East Coast, USA
Apr 24, 2015
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: None

Kershaw Thermite

One of the best values out there in a folder! Great ergonomics, effective yet comfortable jimping. The pocket clip is deep carry design and I found it easier to draw with a small lanyard/fob. Great quality for the price.
Kershaw 3880 Thermite Assisted 3-1/2" Stonewash Plain Blade, G10 and Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jeremiah
New York
May 22, 2015
Pros: Handle Material, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Kershaw 3880 Thermite

One of the nicest $30 knives I have purchased so far. Has a lot of features that other expensive EDC knives have for a fraction of the cost. Sharp blade, great locking mechanism, and the g10 handles give you a firm grip.
Kershaw 3880 Thermite Assisted 3-1/2" Stonewash Plain Blade, G10 and Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dane
Cincinnati
Jan 27, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

pinnacle of value

This little, and I use the term loosely, knife has been my go to blade for nearly a year now. I keep a few knives in my edc rotation but the thermite leaves the house with me the majority of the time. It has an awesome full sized handle that is both slim in pocket and filling in hand. I wear xl gloves and it's just perfect for me. I really like the blade shape for my everyday tasks and occasional prying. It came hair popping sharp and with a little stropping on some leather or cardboard it's 8cr13mov steel blade is easy to maintain. Yeah, yeah, yeah it's made in China. So is that big American flag you wave around in front of your friends. This isn't 10 years ago kershaw and others have really stepped it up on quality control and precision. Compared to some of my other knives made in the USA, I can't tell the difference in fit, form or function. That's all I have to say about that. If you're looking for a dependable hard-working knife that won't break the bank and leave you eating ramen the rest of the week, this is the one for you.
Kershaw 3880 Thermite Assisted 3-1/2" Stonewash Plain Blade, G10 and Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Alton L
Gulfport, Ms
Aug 21, 2015
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

FANTASTIC!!!

ONE OF THE BEST EDC FOLDERS ON THE MARKET. LIKE MANY KERSHAWS, THE CLIP CAN BE PUT IN ANY ONE OF 4 DIFFERENT POSITIONS. SPRING ASSIST/FLIPPER OPENING MAKES THIS A ONE-HAND CAPABLE KNIFE. THE THERMITE IS BIG ENOUGH TO GET MOST JOBS DONE, WITH THE MODIFIED TANTO BLADE SHAPE BEING SUPER-EXTRA USEFUL. THE FRAME LOCK IS QUITE SOLID & SEEMS TO HAVE SOME SELF-TIGHTENING QUALITIES. THE 8-------- CHINESE BLADE STEEL IS INEXPENSIVE, BUT DEFINITELY NOT CHEAP!!! PROPERLY DONE (AS KERSHAW DOES) THIS STEEL SEEMS TO KEEP UP WITH OR NEARLY MANY MORE EXPENSIVE STEELS IN BOTH CORROSION RESISTANCE AND EDGE RETENTION. ADD IN PRICE CONSIDERATION AND THE THERMITE RISES TO BE ONE OF THE VERY BEST EDC KNIVES I HAVE EVER SEEN (I HAVE SEEN MANY) IN ALL OF MY 60+ YEARS! THEY ARE JUST "HOT-DAM GOOD!!!"
Kershaw 3880 Thermite Assisted 3-1/2" Stonewash Plain Blade, G10 and Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Julian Ka
Nora, Sweden
Feb 23, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, Handle Material, None
Cons: Handle Feel

BIG KNIFE

Adding this one to my collection.... Great knife with good quality and a fast and smooth opening... It was bigger than i thought but thats nothing negative in my opinion the handle feels a little too big for me but a big knife is a big knife! Recommended!
Kershaw 3880 Thermite Assisted 3-1/2" Stonewash Plain Blade, G10 and Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Rick
Aurora, Colorado
Apr 26, 2015
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Great knife

You can't go wrong with a Kershaw designed by Hinderer.
Kershaw 3880 Thermite Assisted 3-1/2" Stonewash Plain Blade, G10 and Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Carl S
Elmira N.Y.
Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

I LOVE THIS KNIFE!

I use the termite for EDC carry and it is just about perfect in that role. It came shaving sharp right out of the box and even came with extra screws to change the ambidextrous pocket clip.as it is an assisted opening knife, I was impressed by how well it fired with the flipper on the back and the thumb studs! It is a fairly large knife but is not so big as to take up too much room in the pocket and is very inconspicuous due to pocket clip allowing it to ride deep in the pocket. It's a new favorite in my EDC gear rotation. AWESOME!
Kershaw 3880 Thermite Assisted 3-1/2" Stonewash Plain Blade, G10 and Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jason
Cincinnati
Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use
Cons: None

Jim you're vague

I would love to hear why it's a "1 star knife" other then it was made in China.
Kershaw 3880 Thermite Assisted 3-1/2" Stonewash Plain Blade, G10 and Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Larry
Illinoi
Apr 27, 2015
Pros: Weight, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

A Quality Knife, and an Excellent Value

I purchased two of these, and (as would be expected of Kershaw) they are essentially identical; that's a good initial indicator of quality, IMHO. They are slim in the pocket, but fairly robust in the hand; the steel framelock is surprisingly thin, but certainly strong enough. The overall result is a knife that feels sturdy in use, without being too heavy to carry every day. The Spanto tip, which I thought might be more gimmick than feature, actually works quite well; it remains sharp, but is obviously less vulnerable to common types of tip damage due to use/misuse (the line is different for everyone!) that is common with some blade styles. Overall, excellent value for the money (especially on sale at KC) and a good knife regardless of price.
Kershaw 3880 Thermite Assisted 3-1/2" Stonewash Plain Blade, G10 and Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Konstantin Doul
New Vrasna, Ae
Jan 09, 2014
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality, Lock Type
Cons: None

super every day knife

very nice every day knife, robust and just feels good in the hand, ... wish there would be a serration version too...
Kershaw 3880 Thermite Assisted 3-1/2" Stonewash Plain Blade, G10 and Steel Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Jim
san antonio
Jun 26, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Blade Material, Overall Quality

china strikes again

This knife is no comparison to the American made knives. reminds me of convenience store knives.