Reviews and Ratings for Kershaw Emerson 6074OLBLK CQC-5K Folding Knife 3" Black Blade, OD Green G10 Handles

Kershaw Emerson 6074OLBLK CQC-5K Folding Knife 3" Black Blade, OD Green G10 Handlesrated 4.216 stars out of 5 (37 reviews)
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
16
4 star
15
3 star
4
2 star
2
1 star
0
Kershaw Emerson 6074OLBLK CQC-5K Folding Knife 3 inch Black Blade, OD Green G10 Handles

 

Price: $36.95

Save $20.79 (36%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Kershaw Emerson 6074OLBLK CQC-5K Folding Knife 3" Black Blade, OD Green G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brentq
Nevada
Jul 26, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Kershaw Emerson 6074OLBLK CQC-5K Folding Knife 3"
Great value for the money Cons: None Great Knife This is a great EDC knife. Very smooth action and razor sharp. For the price it is unbeatable.
Kershaw Emerson 6074OLBLK CQC-5K Folding Knife 3" Black Blade, OD Green G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tracy
Sacramento, Ca
Apr 27, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great Knife for the Money
Knife came very sharp. Is easy to open rides in pocket nicely.
Kershaw Emerson 6074OLBLK CQC-5K Folding Knife 3" Black Blade, OD Green G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ray T
Canada
Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Awesome Knife
Awesome little knife. Carry it everywhere. The "wave" feature is a great addition. Didn't realize what it was for until I did a little research. Very cool feature. Very sharp out of the box.
Kershaw Emerson 6074OLBLK CQC-5K Folding Knife 3" Black Blade, OD Green G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tim
Connecticut
Apr 06, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Knife looks and feels great, easy to open and comes sharp. Handle feels good and is pretty slip resistant and overall size is perfect to fit in front pocket but still actually use as an every day knife.
Kershaw Emerson 6074OLBLK CQC-5K Folding Knife 3" Black Blade, OD Green G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mb
Tucson, Az
Apr 06, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Handle Feel, None
value Emerson
The handle is a bit chunky for the size of the knife - takes up a bit more space in the pocket than I would like, but it's tolerable. I'll probably try another one from the 60xx series that doesn't have scales on both sides - usually I prefer scales on both sides, but I've had a couple CRKT knives recently without scales that I've liked, so worth giving a shot. Back to this knife: hard to go wrong for the price - tough, practical, well designed.
Kershaw Emerson 6074OLBLK CQC-5K Folding Knife 3" Black Blade, OD Green G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bob
California
Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great knife / unbeatable price
The wave feature is genius and while deploying it is an it of a learning curve it is certainly quick to learn and just awesome - ready in an instant. The handle's a bit on the small side but manageable. Fine product for so little. Now if only Emerson could tone down his prices a bit
Kershaw Emerson 6074OLBLK CQC-5K Folding Knife 3" Black Blade, OD Green G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brian
Gettysburg
Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, None
Great Bargain for the money
I own a vacuum repair shop so I use my knives to cut hair of rollers, trim wire casings, open boxes and cutting plastic. This knife did all that plus cut the sh*t out of me several times. It's not the same quality as my old Emerson CQC but it is a darned good copy for about 1/10th what I paid for the Emerson. A bit thicker than I hoped but overall a nice feel and size.
Kershaw Emerson 6074OLBLK CQC-5K Folding Knife 3" Black Blade, OD Green G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Terry C
Largo, florida
Jan 12, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Great product
Use this knife as a defense unit with my Glock. It performs and fit nicely in my hand.
Kershaw Emerson 6074OLBLK CQC-5K Folding Knife 3" Black Blade, OD Green G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike
Alabama
Jul 08, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
Great Value Knife
This knife is a 5 out of 5 compared to other knives in this price range. It is incredibly smooth and locks up great.
Kershaw Emerson 6074OLBLK CQC-5K Folding Knife 3" Black Blade, OD Green G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Albert
North Carolina
Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Handy ,well made knife.
I carry this when a large knife is not convenient. Holds an edge well.Fits my hand.
Kershaw Emerson 6074OLBLK CQC-5K Folding Knife 3" Black Blade, OD Green G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wes
Florida
Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: None
My new EDC
Great knife! Came very sharp and ready to work. The handle scales are great and won't destroy your pockets. Nice thick grip that feels like you're holding a much larger knife, but still thin enough to carry everyday comfortably. The blade length is just right and doesn't draw any undue attention. Kershaw and Emerson did it right on this one.
Kershaw Emerson 6074OLBLK CQC-5K Folding Knife 3" Black Blade, OD Green G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Scott
Frackville, Pa
Feb 21, 2018
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Must have!
This is the second Emerson/Kershaw design I've purchased. I love the 6034 but this one is sooo much better for my EDC uses...Lighter, smaller, and better looking. I like the same handle material on both sides as compared to the 6034...not that that matters that much...Love the green color now that I've seen it..Razor sharp out of the box and the Emerson opening design works perfectly...I'm a big Kershaw fan and for those people out there who "snob" on the 8cr13mov stuff they use, remember, it's all about the heat treat, and Kershaw does it right..Thanks so much to my awesome wife for the KnifeCenter gift certificate, and as always, the GREAT service KnifeCenter gives..
Kershaw Emerson 6074OLBLK CQC-5K Folding Knife 3" Black Blade, OD Green G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike C.
Florida
Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
My EDC
I use this knife as my EDC, cutting boxes, wire and strapping. I the enjoy the solid feel in the hand and have no complaints!
Kershaw Emerson 6074OLBLK CQC-5K Folding Knife 3" Black Blade, OD Green G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Larry
Illinois
Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Good EDC
I've become a fan of the Emerson Wave, but prefer less expensive knives for EDC. I think the Zero Tolerance Emerson designs are great, but a bit large for 'office carry.' This Kershaw is small, sheeple-friendly but still opens on pulling from the pocket, and it's also lighter than the similarly sized, frame-lock, Kershaws. Kershaw manages to maintain excellent quality of their inexpensive knives; each one I've bought has been well-centered, well-edged and quite sharp out of the box.For the money, and exceptional value.
Kershaw Emerson 6074OLBLK CQC-5K Folding Knife 3" Black Blade, OD Green G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve M
PA
Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Excellent value for a working knife
The Emerson Wave design and materials in this knife are an excellent value for the price. This knife will be my EDC for working outdoors. If it becomes lost or stolen, I won't lose any sleep, just order a new one!
Kershaw Emerson 6074OLBLK CQC-5K Folding Knife 3" Black Blade, OD Green G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sarg1969
Perry,GA
Jan 06, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: Sheath, None
Nice Knife
Knives arrived in time for Christmas and everyone loved them. No blade play. A little smaller then I’m used to but well made and sharp. I prefer a standard blade for ease of sharpening over a compound angle like this knife. Should last a lifetime with general care and responsible use.
Kershaw Emerson 6074OLBLK CQC-5K Folding Knife 3" Black Blade, OD Green G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
John
Minnesota
Mar 05, 2018
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Great EDC for the price
I’m a huge fan of the Emerson knife line. This knife is a great deal for the price you pay for it. Especially considering most Emerson’s go for $200+. The only con I found was that the pocket clips was real stiff. That combined with the G10 handles makes for a lot of damage done to the pocked of my jeans. Once I loosened the clip and use some sandpaper to tame the grip on the handle that problem was completely solved.
Kershaw Emerson 6074OLBLK CQC-5K Folding Knife 3" Black Blade, OD Green G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mike
Central Mass
Apr 05, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
Useful EDC knife
Holds an edge fairly well. For the price, a well constructed knife useful for everyday chores around the house and yard.
Kershaw Emerson 6074OLBLK CQC-5K Folding Knife 3" Black Blade, OD Green G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Todd W
Colorado
Jul 02, 2014
Pros: Ease of Opening
Cons: None
Good Knife, edge could be better
I wanted to try Emerson knives, but $200. The wave feature kick butt! Thanks to all for the great way to experience a Great design. I will be buying the Emerson, and using both! The only con is the blade sharpness.
Kershaw Emerson 6074OLBLK CQC-5K Folding Knife 3" Black Blade, OD Green G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Dave
Va
Apr 30, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Handle Material, None
Cons: Ease of Opening
Good knife for the price
Bought this because of the design (Emerson) and am pleased with it. A good deal for the sale price. I would buy this again.
Kershaw Emerson 6074OLBLK CQC-5K Folding Knife 3" Black Blade, OD Green G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Kevin J.
Arizona
Apr 09, 2017
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Great EDC knife
Great little knife for every day carry.Handles daily chores with ease.The only cons for me were the Wave feature (which I ground off ) and the pocket clip is too low on the scale to allow the knife to sit deeper in the pocket.Both cons are personal preference and may not bother others. Aside of that,very happy with this knife for the price.
Kershaw Emerson 6074OLBLK CQC-5K Folding Knife 3" Black Blade, OD Green G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Dave57
Collegeville, PA
Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Weight, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Amazing knife for the price!
It's an Emerson design alright. Wave feature worked perfectly. I expect it will operate a little smoother with some use. Overall, I'm very happy with the purchase.
Kershaw Emerson 6074OLBLK CQC-5K Folding Knife 3" Black Blade, OD Green G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
John N.
Overseas
Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Weight, Pocket Clip, Lock Type
Cons: None
Straightforward and honest knife
Of the three Emerson designed Kershaws that I bought pre-release, the CQC-5K is the most lightweight. The handle is a little thick, but the G10 on both sides provides good control and grip. 8Cr14MoV is a good steel, similar to AUS-8: from stone to strop to work in hand, I feel the two steels are equal. I'm not sure the wave-shaped feature is really my thing, but that's Emerson's trademark. It provides a nice thumb rest, even though the pocket-snag opening concept is a little shady from a safety standpoint. The disc is no substitute for a thumb stud, but that's also a matter of opinion. A drop of oil and a fine-tune with a Torx bit makes the pivot solid and smooth. All in all, this is a great carry knife, well-made, and way easy on the wallet.
Kershaw Emerson 6074OLBLK CQC-5K Folding Knife 3" Black Blade, OD Green G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Sam
Newark, DE
May 04, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Weight, Blade Sharpness
Value for money
everything are good on this price level edc except a bit heavy with this size
Kershaw Emerson 6074OLBLK CQC-5K Folding Knife 3" Black Blade, OD Green G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Vd
California
Feb 23, 2016
Pros: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great Knife
I got this as a gift for a friend who is active duty military. (So I never actually handled it.) He loves it. Says it's super sharp out of the box and perfect for carrying every day.
Kershaw Emerson 6074OLBLK CQC-5K Folding Knife 3" Black Blade, OD Green G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bighar
OK
Jul 20, 2017
Pros: Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Kershaw/Emerson great combination
Great knife for the price. Good size and handles well. Emerson knows how to design knives. Looking forward to getting another for my son.
Kershaw Emerson 6074OLBLK CQC-5K Folding Knife 3" Black Blade, OD Green G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Matthew B.
Texarkana
Sep 05, 2017
Pros: Pocket Clip, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
FAST
I've bought many Kershaw knives and this one is by far the fastest out of your pocket. I personally prefere a little bigger blade but this jewel makes up for size with speed.
Kershaw Emerson 6074OLBLK CQC-5K Folding Knife 3" Black Blade, OD Green G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Luther
MD
Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Weight, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, None
Kershaw Emerson 6074OLBLK CQC-5K Folding Knife 3" Black Blade, OD Gree
Kershaw Emerson 6074OLBLK CQC-5K Folding Knife 3" Black Blade, OD Green G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ruddy
France
Nov 16, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use
Top for the price
Perfect size for an edc
Kershaw Emerson 6074OLBLK CQC-5K Folding Knife 3" Black Blade, OD Green G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
David V
Woodstock, Ga
Nov 12, 2016
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
GOOD SMALLER KNIFE.
I've been thinking about this one for a while and finally decided to give it a try. Not a bad knife. Handles are a little short for my taste, but not too bad. It is after all a smaller knife. Had to tighten the pivot a bit to remove a small amount of side to side play, but now it's good and tight and still opens and closes smoothly. Lockup is at about fifty percent. Wasn't quite as sharp as some of my other Kershaw's out of the box, but a few minutes with a fine diamond hone and a strop fixed that. Handle texture doesn't have the grip as a real Emerson, but is decent. Should be a lot easier on your pocket though. Overall fit and finish is good for this price. Like the O.D. handles I'm kind of a sucker for O.D. , which is one reason I was looking at this one. While there are some things I would change on this knife, I'd still buy it again. Would have given it a five if I hadn't had to tighten the pivot and sharpen it. Thanks Knife Center for your great service.
Kershaw Emerson 6074OLBLK CQC-5K Folding Knife 3" Black Blade, OD Green G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Rankman
Alberta
Jan 03, 2018
Pros: Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Blade Material, None
This is a great value knife
This is a perfect size and function for EDC.
Kershaw Emerson 6074OLBLK CQC-5K Folding Knife 3" Black Blade, OD Green G10 Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Chris
Cleve, Oh.
Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Handle Material, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Good EDC
A neat little knife. A pretty decent copy Of Emersons' 'Wave" Needed to get touched up on a ceramic stone..no problem. Still have not mastered the pocket feature opening. Actually I would just rather use the thumb disc. Only con is the bubble package..kind of silly.
Kershaw Emerson 6074OLBLK CQC-5K Folding Knife 3" Black Blade, OD Green G10 Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Indra
Kansas
Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Handle Material, None
Cons: Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness
Pretty good for the price
This is a decent little knife, I should stress the "little", perhaps, because it is a small knife. I find that the handle just barely fits my hand (I have larger hands), but I think it might not just be me, because the jimping is on the *handle*, not the blade. Also, this was advertised with OD Green handles, turns out it is more of a Dark Forest Green instead. That doesn't bother me at all personally, but if you are really wanting that OD color, like in the picture, you might not get it. Blade sharpness straight out of the box is average, it will cut, but is definitely not anywhere close to razor sharpness. I also don't find myself needing to make use of the "wave opening feature", the thumb disk works much better for me and still easily allows one-handed operation. Works fine for basic, every day cutting tasks, definitely does not fit the bill of "tactical" or anything like that and with the size of the liner lock, I wouldn't push it. Operation feels pretty solid, though, no undue play. Overall, I consider this to be more of a pocketknife than any of my other folders, but when I need to carry something small and light, it fits the bill. The $20 pricetag is also reasonable. This knife is a good example of something that I wish I could have inspected or tested out before buying, but that's a luxury that buying online does not afford.
Kershaw Emerson 6074OLBLK CQC-5K Folding Knife 3" Black Blade, OD Green G10 Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Scott
Shorewood, Il
May 01, 2017
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, None
The Perfect Middle Ground
I carry the 5K as a back up self defense blade. Left hand, reverse grip. It feels good in the hand and the wave feature can't be beat. I am not a huge fan of the thumb disc, but it works. The liner lock tends to stick a little, but it has already become easier with use. I can't speak much for the sharpness as it will very rarely, if ever be used for utility purposes. Overall, for the KnifeCenter price, it is a very respectable knife.
Kershaw Emerson 6074OLBLK CQC-5K Folding Knife 3" Black Blade, OD Green G10 Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Arcs
DC
Jun 15, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip
Decent value for 19 bucks
Bought it as a cheap Edc with a legal 3inch blade. The wave feature might work with practice and the right clothes but it seems like a gimmick to me now. Pocket clip is really tight and makes wave feature quite a challenge. Quality is pretty impressive for made in China.
Kershaw Emerson 6074OLBLK CQC-5K Folding Knife 3" Black Blade, OD Green G10 Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Rhino
indiana
Mar 16, 2018
Pros: Weight, None
Cons: Handle Material, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Not all it is cracked up to be.
I was really hoping this would be a great knife. It just did not cut the mustard for me. The Screws used to mount the pocket clip are very soft, a phillips head and the thread engagement into the handle once you switch sides is laughable.Plus, They tighten the screws so tight strip out is inevitable. They tighten the pocket clip down so hard, once it is moved the remaining side is marred. Liner lock could use some knurling or grip so it is easy to find with your thumb. Pivot is sticky at best but with a little work and different materials you can get it to operate coming out of a pocket decently. I guess for the money it is a tackle box knife however I would steer a new buyer into a CRKT. I will mention... Only purchase I have ever made from Knife center that wasn't what I thought it would be. Just an opinion and hope others have had better success with it.
Kershaw Emerson 6074OLBLK CQC-5K Folding Knife 3" Black Blade, OD Green G10 Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Mike
VA
Jun 27, 2018
Pros: Ease of Opening, Weight, Pocket Clip
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, None
Falling Apart
I use(d) this knife for farm use on a daily basis for maybe two months. I'm not the easiest person on my gear but the experience I had with this knife is unacceptable. I have had nothing out of the ordinary happen to it. I use it maybe, at most, once a day. It now is falling apart. The screws on the back of the grip have come loose and fallen out somewhere and is no longer usable. Now, everyday I toss my knife into my key basket, but surely that is not enough to knock the screws loose. I've looked for the screws and can't find them. Either way, I wouldn't recommend this knife.