Reviews and Ratings for Kershaw 7100BW Launch 1 AUTO Folder 3.4" CPM-154 Blackwash Plain Blade, Aluminum Handles

Kershaw 7100BW Launch 1 AUTO Folder 3.4" CPM-154 Blackwash Plain Blade, Aluminum Handlesrated 4.388999999999999 stars out of 5 (18 reviews)
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
1
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
1
Kershaw 7100BW Launch 1 AUTO Folder 3.4 inch CPM-154 Blackwash Plain Blade, Aluminum Handles

 

Price: $99.95

Save $60.04 (38%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Kershaw 7100BW Launch 1 AUTO Folder 3.4" CPM-154 Blackwash Plain Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Skiracer
New Jersey
Oct 30, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None

Kershaw Launch 1 Automatic

I bought the Kershaw Launch 1 this past week. I'm always amazed at how fast my orders are filled and delivered by Knifecenter.com. I am an avid knife enthusiast and collecter since my early teens and this knife is not my first automatic but it is by far the one that I like the most from the sharpness of the blade right out of the box to how well it feels in my hand. Great balance, no blade wobble, lightweight, hit the button and get a crisp automatic open, and ease of closing. It's a great knife. I would not hesitate in taking this knife into any type of situation I might encounter other than the normal use I will subject it to. Another great knife from Knifecenter and Kershaw. And this one is made in America!
Kershaw 7100BW Launch 1 AUTO Folder 3.4" CPM-154 Blackwash Plain Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ng
Ne pa
Jan 06, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: Handle Feel, None

Excellent

Why is there confusion about the lock? It does lock (very solidly ). Its a push button or " plunge" lock. The same button that opens the blade is depressed again to close it. Zero blade play. Sharp as anyone could need from the factory. Fairly thin and light overall. And i dare you to find an auto this well made for under 100$ especially with a 154cm steel blade. Overall its better than most of my 150-200$ autos. Dont hesitate on this one.
Kershaw 7100BW Launch 1 AUTO Folder 3.4" CPM-154 Blackwash Plain Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cam
AK
Apr 23, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great Knife

This is my first automatic knife. I must say for the price, Kershaw has out done themselves. There isn't anything not to like about this knife. It has a lighting fast opening, the blade locks with NO blade play, and the blade quality is fantastic! This will be my EDC for a very long time. The only thing I wish they would have added was a textured inlay into the handle, similar to the Blur. This is only because it opens with such speed and snap. I could see it being a bit slippery when wet. I've been to excited to test that theory!
Kershaw 7100BW Launch 1 AUTO Folder 3.4" CPM-154 Blackwash Plain Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jim
Columbus
Apr 04, 2018
Pros: Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Blade Material
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None

Kershaw 7100BW Launch

Hiking and hunting use; well made at a good price point.
Kershaw 7100BW Launch 1 AUTO Folder 3.4" CPM-154 Blackwash Plain Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chuck G
Jonesborough, Tn
Apr 28, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Handle Feel, None

Great Knife

great knife super fast and no blade play.
Kershaw 7100BW Launch 1 AUTO Folder 3.4" CPM-154 Blackwash Plain Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ssg Ward
USA
Apr 02, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

American functionality...

Instant single handed deployment (snappy and firm lock out) combined with rugged, not scared to use it good looks...scary sharp from Kershaw factory. I like the contemporary lines and design emphasis Team Kershaw produced with this auto-folder. In short...attractive and subtle utility blade that opens fast and assertively. Born in the USA, great edc and utility/pricepoint. Will buy another as a backup! Win/win knife imho.
Kershaw 7100BW Launch 1 AUTO Folder 3.4" CPM-154 Blackwash Plain Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike M
Moorestown, Nj
Dec 10, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None

Very nice

This knife opens pretty quickly it comes very sharp feels good in hand and feels solid
Kershaw 7100BW Launch 1 AUTO Folder 3.4" CPM-154 Blackwash Plain Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bria W
Texas
Dec 10, 2016
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None

The best knife I've ever had

I use this thing every day wouldn't trade it for the world
Kershaw 7100BW Launch 1 AUTO Folder 3.4" CPM-154 Blackwash Plain Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jordan
North Carolina
Jan 18, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, None

Good knife.

This knife is awesome. I use it as an EDC blade. It is light, attractive, and it compares favorably to knives nearly twice its price. The blade is very sharp as shipped and deploys with confidence. My only gripes for the knife are that 1) it lacks texturing of any kind so it could get quite slippery and 2) I'm not a fan of the pocket clip design. It is perfectly functional but doesn't look good on the knife. Neither of these detract from the launch 1 enough for me not to love the knife. I also want to say that knife center was very helpful and super fast about getting my order processed. Another satisfied customer.
Kershaw 7100BW Launch 1 AUTO Folder 3.4" CPM-154 Blackwash Plain Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
William C
Oregon City, Or
Mar 21, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Very solid

I was really excited when I saw that Kershaw was making autos again, I missed out on the breakout when they were still being made. I ordered the knife on Friday and received it on Monday, super happy with the quick processing and shipping from Knifecenter. The knife is built extremely well, especially for $96. The aluminum handle is well crafted and anodized perfectly, although it has a few sharp edges on the back of the handle. It is completely solid on lockup with absolutely no play in the blade. Easy to use and operate one-handed, and it isn't too bad to use with your left hand. I am very happy with the knife and it is now my newest edc.
Kershaw 7100BW Launch 1 AUTO Folder 3.4" CPM-154 Blackwash Plain Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ereklet
Tbilisi, Georgia
Jul 09, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None

დიდებული დანაა, არაჩვეულებრივი დიზაინი

დიდებული დანაა, არაჩვეულებრივი დიზაინი, ხაზები ტარსა და პირზე საოცრად ჰარმონიულად გადადის ერთიანობაში. პირის ფოლადი კარგია. დანა კარგად არის გალესილი ქარხნულად. ნორმალურად უჭირავს ფხა. თხელია და მსუბუქი, ქალაქში სატარებლად მაგარია. პირი ბრტყელია და ფართო. "კლიპსა" ნორმალური, მოხერხებული და ზომიერად რბილი. საერთოდ დიდებული დანაა. გირჩევთ!!! Great knife, unusual design , the lines in Tarsus and the person goes into a surprisingly harmonious unity . The steel is good . Knife is sharp factory . Normally occupies affected . Thin and light , it's cool to carry around the city . Person is flat and wide . " Clips " normal , comfortable and moderately soft . Generally a great knife. Recommended !!!
Kershaw 7100BW Launch 1 AUTO Folder 3.4" CPM-154 Blackwash Plain Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
George Y
Alaska
Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Kershaw 7100BW Launch 1 AUTO Folder 3.4"

Nice Blackwash finish.... good strong opening, positive lock. It's nice to see Kershaw making autos again and these are Made In the USA!!
Kershaw 7100BW Launch 1 AUTO Folder 3.4" CPM-154 Blackwash Plain Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Patrick H
New Jersey
Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Almost perfect

I love this knife all aspects .dont want to on about the pro's cause its awesmoe.first lets talk about "slippery handle?" kershaw made this nive as a slicer and cutter.not a stabber.proof is in the blade profile.if you want a stabving blade get a clippoint or dagger grind.if you need this to be a"tactical"'blade you can go to dicks wer they sell skateboards and buy griptape.this easy setup make this knife glue into youre hands.and it is removable.just make sure you clean area with windex for proper stick.cheap verry efective.you can also do any designe on handle.unless you are military or police uou are not going to use it to stab.
Kershaw 7100BW Launch 1 AUTO Folder 3.4" CPM-154 Blackwash Plain Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Dart
Slidell,La.
May 13, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, None

Great Knife

Great Knife, but would be a lot better if it had a lock
Kershaw 7100BW Launch 1 AUTO Folder 3.4" CPM-154 Blackwash Plain Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Texmon
Austown
Apr 17, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Pocket Clip

Not to be considered as a serious tactical folder

Great looking folder from the aesthetic point. The deployment is authoritative and the fit and finish is well executed. The blade size and shape makes the knife to be an excellent slicer. I like how the clip can be positioned left or right tip up only option. Those are the positives. Having said all that, this folder should not to be confused as a serious tactical knife despite the militaristic marketing ploy being an auto and complete with the reverse U.S. flag representation. This is due to the smoothness of the aluminum handle. There is no grippy traction or even a jimping anywhere on this knife or even a decent finger guard, all are necessary for a tactical defensive folder. I have other folders more suitable as a defensive or tactical use like the Blackhawk Be-Wharned or the Spyderco Paramilitry 2. Neither of the two is the assisted type yet deploys just as fast and even easier to close one handed compared to the Launch 1 or any of the Launch series of knives for that matter. I also wish the clip can be carried deeper like the way Spyderco does their wire clip design. It's nice looking knife and will see some limited use in the rotation. Decent edc folder. It is sharp right of the box.
Kershaw 7100BW Launch 1 AUTO Folder 3.4" CPM-154 Blackwash Plain Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Jason
Rockledge , Fl
Apr 05, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Handle Feel

Great knife but could be perfect with just a few changes

I love the blade no room for improvement there. It is extremely sharp and beautiful. But the handle could be improved. First thing is that the grip is quite slippery and I would be concerned if used tactically with gloves. Second be careful with the paint on the handle chips easily you cannot have anything else in your pocket like keys or money clip. The first day I had it clipped in my pocket the paint got chipped up bad by my keys. I am very disappointed it now looks like I have EDC for years. I wish they sold touch up paint for it. The best thing about this knife is made in the USA! I not support buying anything from countries that do not like us. I have not bought other Kershaw knives because they were made in China. I am so happy they're making some of their knives here. Overall this is a great auto knife. With just a couple changes to the handle it would be perfect. Even with the issues I listed I would still buy this knife again and recommend that others buy it. This is a great deal at this price and I have paid a lot more with less quality in other automatic knives.
Kershaw 7100BW Launch 1 AUTO Folder 3.4" CPM-154 Blackwash Plain Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
William A.
Middlesboro, Ky
May 06, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Handle Feel, Handle Material

Good but short of great.

Nice weight and construction. Angle of handle to blade is perfect if you are going to have to use it hard as it gives you several degrees of leverage. Finish is good, deployment is crisp and the lock up has no play. Zero. Sharp as a razor out of the box. As a former soldier, what it lacks is handle checkering or materials to keep it from slipping in your hand, though the handle design and the angle makes it slip out our your hand in the direction that keeps you hand off the blade. Put a great handle on it and it's a classic. As is, it's a fair weather blade, and harder to hold than a Spyderco Tenacious, which is half the price.
Kershaw 7100BW Launch 1 AUTO Folder 3.4" CPM-154 Blackwash Plain Blade, Aluminum Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Rusty
Texas
Apr 27, 2019
Pros:
Cons:

Serious design flaw

This knife has a serious design flaw and is a danger if carried as it is designed. First off I own 2 of the auto folders. The 7200(launch 2) and the 7100bw(launch 1). I purchased the launch 1 because i loved my launch 2 so much which i still carry. Problem is the launch 1 WILL come open in your pocket and possibly cut the crap out of you. I carried it for about 2 weeks casually and while remodeling a bathroom. It didnt seem to matter what i was doing. The launch 1 repeatedly came open in my pocket. Destroyed a pair of my nice pants and cut my thumb. Luckily only bad enough to require a Band-Aid. I talked to Kershaw on the phone they couldn't make any recommendations that I hadn't already tried. The thing is though.... Is that I have been carrying the launch 2 for almost a year and it has never not even one time come open in my pocket regardless of what I was doing. And that includes working 24 hour shifts on a 911 Response Ambulance to crawling around under my pier and beam house Plumbing a bathroom remodel. The button is much more protected on the launch 2 vs the launch 1. Do not buy this knife. I can definitely recommend the launch 2. I tell you what would be nice, is that if they had a lock.