Reviews and Ratings for Marble's Machete 18" Orange Finish Blade, Natural Wood Handles - 12718

Marble's Machete 18" Orange Finish Blade, Natural Wood Handlesrated 4.556 stars out of 5 (9 reviews)
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Marble's Machete 18 inch Orange Finish Blade, Natural Wood Handles

 

Price: $13.95

Save $2.00 (13%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Marble's Machete 18" Orange Finish Blade, Natural Wood Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Burbsquirter
NY
May 30, 2017
Pros: Materials, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
best of the best at any price
I have more blades than I can count call it an obsession... this blade is well worth 10x the price I have had mine for over 9 years and use it at least once a week, I prefer it over using my wetterlings axe for felling saplings and can handle full blown tree felling. you wont be disappointed with the purchase
Marble's Machete 18" Orange Finish Blade, Natural Wood Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike
Philadelphia
Apr 23, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, None
Cons: Handle Material
Great tool for the price!
The best machetes are still made in South America (where people use them every day) and this is no exception. Very well balanced and well proportioned. A hard working and fast machete, best for light to medium clearing. Resharpens easily as well.
Marble's Machete 18" Orange Finish Blade, Natural Wood Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve H
CLARK LAKE, MI
Apr 05, 2017
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material
TRADITION CONTINUES
Purchased to use in clearing a wooded lot. Very sharp and cut up to about 3/4". Very good value for the price. I added some tape to smooth out and for better grip.
Marble's Machete 18" Orange Finish Blade, Natural Wood Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
A Day
United States
Dec 16, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
cool
This thing is well worth the $. The finish is nice the bevel was smoth it didnt have any grind lines in the blade it's not razor.sharp but its nice out the box the handle is big for me but that can be sanded down i have a cs pos bolo which needed some work an you have both of em side by side you can see the quality of a marbles also i bet the people that make these blades actually make them for hard use unlike some cs junk thats for playay time zombie apocalypse, i can see marbles blades being used this is a work horse also the sheath is the coolest machete sheath i have over owned for a machete its a good system
Marble's Machete 18" Orange Finish Blade, Natural Wood Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matt
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 03, 2015
Pros: Weight, Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Light and sharp it outperforms more expensive machetes
I bought this machete about three years ago. It was my first machete and since then I have bought a tramontina, four or five Condor machetes, a martindale, and two cold steel machetes. As much as I love my Condor machetes (and hate the Cold steel machetes), I keep coming back to this model because it cuts further and faster than any of the other machetes I have hands down. This weekend I was cutting a few branches from a tree in my yard and this machete was cleanly slicing through 1 1/2" branches with one stroke and larger branches in two or three strokes. It does get dull with heavy use, but I have resharpened this several times with my worksharp, and it always sharpens up nice. Because it is so light, it remains comfortable in your hand after prolonged use and allows you to swing faster with less effort. I still use my other machetes for certain tasks because I like the variety and to try to get used to them, but honestly this works so well for small brush and larger branches that I really could use this machete for all my yard work. The drop in sheath is great as well!
Marble's Machete 18" Orange Finish Blade, Natural Wood Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
David
Norcal
Feb 08, 2017
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material
Great light machete
I bought this and a scouting machete to clear some heavy overgrowth of weeds in my backyard and it works well for this. For 15$ you get a quality machete made by imicasa that comes with an edge and a bonus sheath & sharpening stone, unlike a standard imicasa marked machetes for about the same price or a few bux less. I won't be going out in the woods with it, but I love the orange coating and would sure appreciate it if I was to set it on the Forrest floor. The wood handles are soft, oversized , and rough, but so are the renowned tramontina machetes. You have to keep in mind that this is a light machete with a thin and flexible distally tapered blade, a clearing tool and not a wood processing tool.
Marble's Machete 18" Orange Finish Blade, Natural Wood Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Joseph K
Trafalgar, In
Dec 30, 2014
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Materials
I don't hate it.
Nowhere near as good as a CS machete, but it's priced right. it can hold a ridiculously sharp edge, but just feels cheap in the hand. I'd still recommend the purchase, however. It's a good blade for light chores where other machetes are overkill. The potential versatility of the blade is diminished due to how cheap it is, and will bend and break where others won't. I rated it a four just because of how stupidly sharp I got it after just a few seconds of grinding. It'll definitely cut! It just won't cut everything.
Marble's Machete 18" Orange Finish Blade, Natural Wood Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Foursevenzero
Wisconsin
Aug 24, 2009
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material, None
Cons: Weight
well worth the price!
could be a little heavier, but well worth the cost.
Marble's Machete 18" Orange Finish Blade, Natural Wood Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Tim
Eastern Virginia
May 06, 2010
Pros: Finish, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Materials, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material
I purchased my workhorse recently and it came in one week. The first thing that was off with it was that the tang was not aligned flush with the wood handle slats. It just looks like nobody cared to make it look pretty. The pine handle is good but being soft wood it will ding easily. The next thing I did was lightly sand the handle's rough spots and linseed oil the wood. Then I went to work. It was dull so I sharpened it good and it worked fine. Anything up to sapling trees is about right for this machete. However, with use the handle soon became loose and didn't have the sure feel when swinging it anymore. I poured some super-glue between the handle and tang and it solved the problem (for now). Marble's (and other companies) uses phrases like: "Fire hardend CARBON (OMG! reAL CARBON!)steel! flexible temper grooves! wood handle! free sharpening stone!" to make this sound like a big deal. The price says a lot. I think the sheath is worth half or more of the price! I do like the orange finish it's nice to see a machete that doesn't look like it just broke out of hell. This machete looks remotely civilized and grown-up. Not like those all black/monster one's that geeks play zombie wars with and talk about like it'll protect them when the next mutant aliens invade the world. If you wanna be older than that get this machete. -And now for the good points: The sheath is great. The quality and weight looks like the Ka-bar or Cold Steel logo could be on it instead of Marble's. The pouches are great for little things like matched, lighters, cell-phone?, compass, string, etc. The rivets ensure the durability. The only problem is the belt loop is pretty flimsy unlike the rest of the sheath. But it's just a bad idea to put something this big on your belt anyway. -My previous machete (which I still have) was an el-cheapo one from wal-mart (you've probably seen them under ozark trail/coghlans/or coleman names). I had it for many many years and I have used and abused it. I bought the Marble's because I felt I had out grown the other and needed a more sophisticated one. It was less than I expected but I did graduate to the next level of machetes. So if your on a budget and need/want an attractive machete go for it. I'm sure I'll have mine for many years it's just not made to be the best. However, if you use a machete for your work or something go for a Ka-bar or Cold Steel or maybe even Gerber. Don't be afraid to pay $50 it will most likely be worth it. You get what you pay for! All in all, this machete works and works well enough I give it 3 stars for good sheath, good looks, and good performance. Be your own judge!