Reviews and Ratings for Microtech 122-1 Ultratech AUTO OTF Knife 3.46" Black Plain Double Edge Dagger Blade, Black Aluminum Handle

Microtech 122-1 Ultratech AUTO OTF Knife 3.46" Black Plain Double Edge Dagger Blade, Black Aluminum Handlerated 4.692 stars out of 5 (13 reviews)
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Microtech 122-1 Ultratech AUTO OTF Knife 3.46 inch Black Plain Double Edge Dagger Blade, Black Aluminum Handle

 

Price: $290.00

View Product Details
Microtech 122-1 Ultratech AUTO OTF Knife 3.46" Black Plain Double Edge Dagger Blade, Black Aluminum Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nathansands
atlanta, ga
Sep 21, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Sheath, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None
phenomenal knife, phenomenal service
Wonderful knife, sturdy activation lever to prevent accidental discharge, perfect holster, fits right on sam browne belt. High-quality, reliable knife, I trust my life to it.
Microtech 122-1 Ultratech AUTO OTF Knife 3.46" Black Plain Double Edge Dagger Blade, Black Aluminum Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Frank S.
Austin, Texas
Mar 08, 2018
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Lock Type
Cons: None
Best OTF Knife I ever owned!
Excellent Knife that keeps a very sharp edge. The automatic mechanism is extremely smooth. I bought this knife based on a friend that has one. His was 5 yrs old. The OTF mechanism and blade is still as smooth, tight as the one I just bought. Well worth the money I. I highly recommend this OTF from Microtech. I'm so impressed, I ordered another one.
Microtech 122-1 Ultratech AUTO OTF Knife 3.46" Black Plain Double Edge Dagger Blade, Black Aluminum Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Anthony M.
Los Angeles, California
Sep 03, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
BEAUTIFUL KNIFE
This is my first Microtech knife and i could not be happier. The quality is amazing! You can feel the workmanship. The blade is razor sharp!, pocket clip is perfect, nylon case is perfect for the knife. I never thought i would buy a $ 200.00 knife, but know i am trying to figure out which other Microtech knife i am going to buy. Also, first time dealing with Knifecenter and it was a PLEASURE! i will be a repeat customer. i will be using this knife daily as a LEO in California
Microtech 122-1 Ultratech AUTO OTF Knife 3.46" Black Plain Double Edge Dagger Blade, Black Aluminum Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Philip
perth australia
Nov 09, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Handle Material, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Great knife,period.....the best
absolutely wonderful EDC knife,very impressive quality
Microtech 122-1 Ultratech AUTO OTF Knife 3.46" Black Plain Double Edge Dagger Blade, Black Aluminum Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kevin H
Louisville, KY
Jul 17, 2018
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Most Popular Microtech OTF
I have owned several of the Ultratech models over the years and cannot say enough about how great of a knife they are! I have been collecting Microtech knives since 2001 and can say firsthand that the quality of every one of these knives is second to none! Microtech is quickly approaching the 100,000 serial number mark on the Ultratech model which in itself says something. They have made more and sold more of this model over any other model they have ever put out not to mention it’s there most popular OTF. And in my honest opinion I think a lot of the reason for this is the price alone. This model is very modestly priced in comparison to most all their other models they offer. I bought my very first Ultratech back in 2001 and it had the exact same blade style as this current one being the D/E black blade but back then they cost $500.00 so the price has dropped significantly since those days for this particular model. This hasn’t been the case on other models like – The Halo, Nemesis, Troodon, Combat Troodon, Cypher, and so on. The fit and finish on these knives are second to none with an extremely smooth action and very tight lock up! I can’t say enough about the fine craftsmanship that shows in each and every one of them!! Also Microtech offers a lifetime guarantee on all their knives which actually I had to use once many years ago. The mainspring on one of my Ultratechs back then broke and so I sent it back to them and they fixed it with no issues whatsoever and the total turnaround time was around 9-10 days. I couldn’t ask for any better service than that. So needless to say I am a very firm believer in the Microtech brand and would highly recommend any Microtech knife to anyone interested in buying a high quality piece of precision craftsmanship that will serve them long and well!!
Microtech 122-1 Ultratech AUTO OTF Knife 3.46" Black Plain Double Edge Dagger Blade, Black Aluminum Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Spt
TX
Oct 16, 2009
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great Knife
Top quality I expected. Very nice weak side back-up weapon.
Microtech 122-1 Ultratech AUTO OTF Knife 3.46" Black Plain Double Edge Dagger Blade, Black Aluminum Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jay
south east
Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Awesome Blade!
great quality, spring over all a great knife
Microtech 122-1 Ultratech AUTO OTF Knife 3.46" Black Plain Double Edge Dagger Blade, Black Aluminum Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve
Tulsa, OK
Oct 16, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Handle Feel, None
Great knife!
Everything about this knife is top notch. Except, the anodized outer surface is too smooth. Not much grip.
Microtech 122-1 Ultratech AUTO OTF Knife 3.46" Black Plain Double Edge Dagger Blade, Black Aluminum Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Randy
ARIZONA
Mar 13, 2018
Pros: None
Cons: None
Awesome otf
This otf is solid everything is tight no slipping or shifting opens every time
Microtech 122-1 Ultratech AUTO OTF Knife 3.46" Black Plain Double Edge Dagger Blade, Black Aluminum Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Crewchief
Afghanistan
May 04, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Microtech- the highest quality as always.
This is an everyday carry knife and to be un-politically correct, for defensive purposes if ever required. (I am in the military). It has a quick, solid lock-up, double edge to cut quickly in either direction, and a good feel, design, and weight. The only change I would make is to have the blade 1.5" longer (it's currently 3.5").
Microtech 122-1 Ultratech AUTO OTF Knife 3.46" Black Plain Double Edge Dagger Blade, Black Aluminum Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike E
San Diego
Oct 30, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
I have always wanted a microtech OTF so I saved up and got one... I am glad I did .even though it is not something I would carry on a daily basis I have carried it fairly often. The only problem I have had is the skull crusher is so incrediblely sharp that it hurts my hand and digs into my side when carried in my pocket. Mine did not come with a sheath like the ones I have seen on line over the years but that isn't a big deal for me. Man what a gorgeous knife... Well done Microtech
Microtech 122-1 Ultratech AUTO OTF Knife 3.46" Black Plain Double Edge Dagger Blade, Black Aluminum Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Arlo
Tucson
May 23, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip
Great double-action OTF knife
Great double-action OTF knife. Elmax blade is beautiful. Mechanism is very stout. Comes very sharp, and easily manually honed to razor sharpness. The thumb slide is very stiff. Too stiff. A great deal of thumb pressure is required to open it. And so stiff to close that I need both hands to do it. Likewise the pocket clip is so stiff that it's very difficult clip it to a pocket. Otherwise perfect!
Microtech 122-1 Ultratech AUTO OTF Knife 3.46" Black Plain Double Edge Dagger Blade, Black Aluminum Handle
rated 2 stars out of 5
Michael
n.c.
Dec 09, 2015
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
disappointing, had potential
Firstly, i did not buy this knife through knifecenter. It was purchased from the hollow grind, and the fellow there (dave i think?) Was a great guy to deal with, offering me support he really didnt have to, nothing but positive things to say about that. However, the knife itself has been a huge headache. Arrived with one black screw. Really surprising and annoying, but i rubbed the black finish off the head and you really couldnt tell so i was fine with that. Screws began to loosen immediately, and within a few days, one fell out, and since i was in the woods it was hopelessly lost. Dealer sent me a replacement screw no problem. Within a week, the spring broke at the little hook that mates it to carrier slide. Repair required a special bit to disassemble. The need for constant tightening of the screws, even after the application of blue loctite, and repeated disassembly to fix the spring which broke three more times, caused every screw to eventually strip the very fine threads of the t6 aluminum they screwed into to secure the faceplate. After that, with not much else to lose i coated some black sewing thread around the handle where i could without impeding the trigger slide. Actually worked fine. Lasted that way for about a year, then the glass breaker screw that held on the pocket clip stripped. Two weeks later and the spring broke again. I really liked the design and materials used for this knife, especially the s35vn blade which i favor over any other steel i have yet to try, and the tight tolerances it is made to but it has broken in almost every way it can from the very start despite me babying it. I wanted a microtech for years and years and to have this experience at this price point is truly ridiculous. Hopefully mine was a "lemon" but i felt i should make other potential buyers aware. My ultratech was also ridiculously stiff to fire and even harder to to retract. Very frustrating, especially considering the lightning otf i paid 20 bucks for for my coworker last christmas has seen nothing but abuse (we work construction and its nice to have an otf when youre at the top of an extension ladder with a nail gun in your other hand) and is none the worse for wear except for paint chips on the handle. The machining isnt anywhere near as nice and precise, and there is a good bit more play in the blade but at least it works.