Reviews and Ratings for Olamic Cutlery Mid-Tech Wayfarer 247 Flipper 3.45" Satin M390 Blade, Light Blasted Titanium Handles

Olamic Cutlery Mid-Tech Wayfarer 247 Flipper 3.45" Satin M390 Blade, Light Blasted Titanium Handlesrated 4.875 stars out of 5 (8 reviews)
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Olamic Cutlery Mid-Tech Wayfarer 247 Flipper 3.45 inch Satin M390 Blade, Light Blasted Titanium Handles

 

Price: $395.00

View Product Details
Olamic Cutlery Mid-Tech Wayfarer 247 Flipper 3.45" Satin M390 Blade, Light Blasted Titanium Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Contrarian Libertarian
SC
Aug 14, 2017
Pros: Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Weight, None

Best knife on the market for under $400

When I first received the 247 I considered sending it back because the action seemed a little too stiff and the blade was dull compared to much less expensive knives I have out of the box. I'm really glad I didn't. The M390 takes a very sharp edge and holds it well. The action smooths out beautifully after a quick cleaning and applying some lube (and lots of opening and closing of course). The Olamic guys are really putting out a great knife with this offering. Very solid build quality, top notch materials, and a beautiful design make this the midtech to have in your collection. It is a bit heavy but carries like a dream and the heft is a result of the solid build of this knife. If you're even close to being on the fence about picking one up, just do it you won't regret it.
Olamic Cutlery Mid-Tech Wayfarer 247 Flipper 3.45" Satin M390 Blade, Light Blasted Titanium Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Iam_Dannyb
NJ
Dec 14, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Get It Now !

This Olamic Wayfarer 247 is terrific in every way, come very sharp straight out of the box. Does include a pivot tool so that a bonus, because let face it soon or later you got to disassemble the knife to clean it up and put some oil in it. The ergonomic feel very comfortable in the hand, even it look heavy but it only slightly heavier than the zt 0452cf. If you can't afford this I would recommend the zt 0450, but be ready to open that thing up for adjusting the so heavy detent (don't say I didn't warn you). Overall I really like this EDC for a knife, I could even use it as self defense but hopefully it won't come down to that. Ohh did I mention the blade steel is M390 on this mid-tech. And thank you knifecenter for they excellent services, all way a pleasure.
Olamic Cutlery Mid-Tech Wayfarer 247 Flipper 3.45" Satin M390 Blade, Light Blasted Titanium Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cos911
Colorado
Jun 20, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Handle Material, Weight

Get this knife! You'll love it.

A very nice design, excellent execution. Workmanship is absolutely top notch, the flipping action better than knives double the cost, and the fit and finish couldn't be improved upon on mine. Action, quality, and blade all nicer than Hinderer, in my opinion, for less money meeting the same niche. The only suggestion I would offer them for change is to consider making the non lock side scale from G10 or carbon fiber to lighten it a touch. The knife is more than strong enough that this could be done easily to make it an even better edc. But an excellent knife as it is, highly recommended.
Olamic Cutlery Mid-Tech Wayfarer 247 Flipper 3.45" Satin M390 Blade, Light Blasted Titanium Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kiyomaro
Chiba, Japan
Dec 09, 2016
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None

A mid-tech perfection

Boy, I am glad that I waited and got the M390 version instead of the first production run with Elmax blade.
Olamic Cutlery Mid-Tech Wayfarer 247 Flipper 3.45" Satin M390 Blade, Light Blasted Titanium Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sun K
Laredo, Tx
Jan 19, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

The Perfect EDC

It's all about personal preference and for me, this the perfect EDC. I opted for the bare-bones version (which could be misleading because it's nothing short of spectacular), if I want prettier, I'll get another Wayfarer Compact. The profile, other than the frame lock vs Liner is nearly identical to the Compact, but perhaps 1/3 thinner. The ergonomics based on my fairly large hands are fantastic. I'm becoming a bigger fan of Olamic Tactical by the day. When in doubt I, whip it out..
Olamic Cutlery Mid-Tech Wayfarer 247 Flipper 3.45" Satin M390 Blade, Light Blasted Titanium Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Greg
Riverton, UT
May 03, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None

Worthy of the Wayfarer Name

Olamic's Wayfarer has always been a favorite design of mine. The original with the 4" blade was always a bit large for me, so I had been looking at purchasing a Compact when I found out about the Wayfarer 247. I have owned one for a few weeks now, and I love the thinner profile of the handle, as well as the ceramic ball on the new pocket clip. The feel of the 247 is very similar to the Compact, only a bit thinner with a very solid feel. The blade deploys both smoothly and firmly without having an overly aggressive detent. The blade to handle ratio is excellent and it has perfect balance. The handle shape fits my hands very well, giving it a very confident, yet comfortable grip. The build quality is what you would expect from Olamic, which is very high quality, and knowing that Olamic backs the blade with their excellent customer service, is confidence inspiring. The flipper is more of a lightswitch than a push button deployment, and does not have any texture to it, but the shape makes it hard to miss when opening. There is just enough softening of the edges to prevent it from being uncomfortable without making it slippery. About the only thing I could find that I thought could be improved was the cutout for the frame lock was a bit wide. That is getting very nit picky, though, as it does not hinder the performance or the comfort of the blade at all. I felt I needed to point out something in order to be objective, so that is my one area for improvement. I would highly recommend this mid-tech option as a very nice tactical and useful knife for daily carry. I liked it so much I actually purchased a Compact a couple of weeks after. Great materials, great steel, great design, and execution. Overall I am extremely satisfied!
Olamic Cutlery Mid-Tech Wayfarer 247 Flipper 3.45" Satin M390 Blade, Light Blasted Titanium Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mitchell D
NJ
Jul 21, 2016
Pros: Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Bang for buck

Honestly, having bought this knife with high expectations (since it's not inexpensive), it has impressed. You'd be hard-pressed to find a knife at this price point that is as smooth, well-designed and possesses a similar level of build quality. In fact, you could spend far more and not get an appreciably better knife. Very well done. Simply put, you can't go wrong with this one.
Olamic Cutlery Mid-Tech Wayfarer 247 Flipper 3.45" Satin M390 Blade, Light Blasted Titanium Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Chenz105
NJ
Jun 23, 2017
Pros: Pocket Clip, Lock Type, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, None

Olamic wayfarer 247

I need to start by saying this knife is outstanding! The Handel blade steel action all excellent. The only negative to this blade is the lock Interface. geometry it's very sloped not flat make me a little nervous. other then that the pocket clip works great. Very easy access and this knife will not slip out of your hands.