Reviews and Ratings for Old Hickory Hunting Knife 5.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Leather Sheath - 7026

Old Hickory Hunting Knife 5.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Leather Sheathrated 4.455 stars out of 5 (11 reviews)
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Old Hickory Hunting Knife 5.5 inch Carbon Steel Blade, Leather Sheath

 

Price: $23.70

Save $6.25 (21%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Old Hickory Hunting Knife 5.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wolfmanmsu84
Michigan
Jun 29, 2019
Pros: Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material
Cons: None

Excellent Value

Very pleased with this knife and sheath for my field kitchen. I am glad they made one with thicker steel, a much nicer handle, and a sheath compared to the original OH kitchen knife. This is a much better field product. The communication was very good as this is a new product and just started shipping.
Old Hickory Hunting Knife 5.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
#53
WI
Jul 12, 2019
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None

Great Knife , poor sheath.

The knife is great. Perfect size and very sharp. The sheath is terrible, I had it on my belt less then 5 times and the stitching on the belt strap already failed. I found a different sheath that fit the blade and problem solved.
Old Hickory Hunting Knife 5.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jt
Tennessee
Nov 25, 2019
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Very impressive.

I have owned many old hickory knives. When l opened the box to this knife I was immediately happy to see that the handle was finished nicely. I am very happy with this knife and plan to carry it for many years to come. It is very light and well made for the price. It's a very good value. The blade is thinner than I would like, but I knew it would be. It makes an excellent food prep and camp knife but not something to pound through a log. I love the history and tradition that this knife carries. Don't change a thing.
Old Hickory Hunting Knife 5.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
George
Fort Scott, Ks
Nov 02, 2019
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None

As Expected

I bought three for gifts. Excellent blade and sheath for camp and grill. I am pleased.
Old Hickory Hunting Knife 5.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Aaron
Burke VA
Oct 07, 2019
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Finish, None

Best Value Dollar for Dollar

At $20 it's very hard to think of a better knife for the money. The 1095 steel is very good and I can get a wickedly sharp edge on this knife no problem. It also developed a cool patina over time and as long and you clean and dry the knife correctly rust shouldn't be much of an issue. The hardwood handles give plenty of room for grip and the natural wood feel is very nice. There are knives on the market that at 10x more expensive while only being maybe 10% better which really goes to show how excellent this value is. The only gripe i have with the knife is that i wish the heal of the blade was a little more scooped out to make it more comfortable to choke up. However that helps illustrate another strong suit and that's modification. If you want to get into knife making or modification in your garage this knife is perfect for getting started at a low price. It's not quite a blank canvas but it's definitely an great starting point. Think of it as the Harley Sportster of the knife world.
Old Hickory Hunting Knife 5.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tater
GA
Jun 27, 2019
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None

Old Hickory hunting knife

Received the knife yesterday..really nice everything. Boxed if buying for a gift. Totally satisfied...tks
Old Hickory Hunting Knife 5.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gary
Muldrow, Ok
Jun 27, 2019
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Hair shaving sharp

Just received my knife and am very pleased with the look and balance, size and leather sheath, this one will be on my belt daily, love the wood handle and the old hickory look of a bygone day and woodsman tool for all knife chores on the farm, ranch or around the home too.
Old Hickory Hunting Knife 5.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
James
Cedar Bluff, Va
Oct 14, 2019
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None

Great knife

I had one I tried to make from the 7" knife, this one is so much better. lol It took a long time to get it, almost 4 months but worth the wait. This will be used as my camp knife, light duty, not batoning. It was sharp, but not as sharp as most Old hickory's I've bought. Didn't take much, a few strokes on the ceramic rod and strop fixed it. Overall very pleased with the purchase.
Old Hickory Hunting Knife 5.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jeremy
Southaven, MS
Jun 25, 2019
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None

Great value

Received this knife and was not disappointed. very sharp out of the box. Leather sheath is decent for the price. Already have used it cooking on the grill and for some light bushcraft. I highly recommend this knife.
Old Hickory Hunting Knife 5.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Winstonthepatriot
Indiana
Nov 14, 2019
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Common Sense

Simple, practical, good quality, affordable tool. Unless you're a mall ninja, or have more money than common sense.... nothing else is required.
Old Hickory Hunting Knife 5.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Leather Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Bobby
Jackson TN
Apr 07, 2020
Pros: Handle Material, Finish, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Blade Material, Materials

1075???

The 1095 was fantastic. After switching to 1075 notice they put "carbon steel" as the blade material. The knife does NOT hold an edge well at all.