Reviews and Ratings for Ontario 499 Sharpening Stone 3" x 7/8" x 3/16" for Sheath - 6151

Ontario 499 Sharpening Stone 3" x 7/8" x 3/16" for Sheath rated 4.727 stars out of 5 (11.0 reviews)
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Ontario 499 Sharpening Stone 3 inch x 7/8 inch x 3/16 inch for Sheath

 

Price: $3.95

View Product Details
Ontario 499 Sharpening Stone 3" x 7/8" x 3/16" for Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Russ R
blythewood, sc
Sep 11, 2015
Pros: Durability, Overall Quality
Cons: None

good quality at a good price

These were meant as replacements for the Norton stones used in the Camillus Jet Pilot Knife sheaths. Unfortunately I ,as I feared, they are about 1/8th inch narrower than the old ones.The quality is just as good and I will use them instead of leaving the pocket empty
Ontario 499 Sharpening Stone 3" x 7/8" x 3/16" for Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
David C
Ada, OK
Mar 18, 2017
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Just what I was looking for.

I have been looking for a replacement stone for my Ontario air force survival knife for ever and now have finally found these to replace my lost stone. What's the good of a stone pouch on a scabbard if you can't find a stone that fits. Grab yours while you can, you won't be disappointed. Ordered a couple of extras just in case.
Ontario 499 Sharpening Stone 3" x 7/8" x 3/16" for Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Al Pino
Apache Junction, AZ 85120
Nov 22, 2011
Pros: Durability, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Unavailable Stones Elswhere

I recondition Camillus, Ontario, Kabar and other military knives whose sheaths require this stone. It's all good nothing bad.
Ontario 499 Sharpening Stone 3" x 7/8" x 3/16" for Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Derek T.
Tehachapi, Calif
Oct 08, 2014
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Ontario 499 Sharpening Stone

Fits in knife sheath, good with keeping knife sharp
Ontario 499 Sharpening Stone 3" x 7/8" x 3/16" for Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
B. J. W.
Texas
May 02, 2014
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None
I have dozens of JPK,s in my collection. This is the only stone I have found that fits the sheath like the orignal stone. I,ve also use it for a quickie sharpener while working in the field, not as good as a larger stone but will put a good fast edge back on my knife.
Ontario 499 Sharpening Stone 3" x 7/8" x 3/16" for Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
B.J. W
Abilene, Tx.
Mar 18, 2013
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
I have collected Jet Pilot knifes for years, ad finally found a perfect replacement stone. I have to shop no more.
Ontario 499 Sharpening Stone 3" x 7/8" x 3/16" for Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Roger D. R.
Falmouth Va.
Oct 03, 2011
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great all around service

An exact replacement for the stone that was missing from my used knife scabbard.
Ontario 499 Sharpening Stone 3" x 7/8" x 3/16" for Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Aaron
PA
Nov 29, 2012
Pros: Durability, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

great product

I use this stone to sharpen my Ontario knife.
Ontario 499 Sharpening Stone 3" x 7/8" x 3/16" for Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bobby W
Abilene, Tx.
Aug 29, 2014
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Stone to fit my JKP sheath

I had hunted this stone for a year, I called Knife Center and explained what i needed. The person I spoke with knew exactly what would fit my sheath and with in a few days it arrived. The stone fit my sheath perfectly works good in the field to restore a quick edge. The Knife Center is now my first online shopping site.
Ontario 499 Sharpening Stone 3" x 7/8" x 3/16" for Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jason
Oklahoma
Apr 01, 2014
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Ease of Use

Good little stone

I have sharpened several knives and it works well. It is a little smaller than I was hoping for.
Ontario 499 Sharpening Stone 3" x 7/8" x 3/16" for Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Sparky42
montana
Oct 05, 2015
Pros:
Cons:

dual grit yeh, oil stone meh

i have an sp1 in a 7" kabar molle sheath, & an sp2 in a 5" ontario molle sheath, this stone works well in sheath pouches on both... i was surprised to find this stone has different grit on each side, did not see that in description or reviews, perhaps it is my imagination, but one side definitely feels coarser than the other, so anyways that is a bonus i did not expect... however, as of yet i haven't used the stone, mainly because there are no specific instructions that come with it, & i'm a relative novice at sharpening knives, so i wasn't sure if an india stone required oil, water, or what? after some research i understand the india stone is specifically formulated as an oil stone... basically, i see the sheath pouch stone as a backup or emergency field sharpener for the knives it accompanies & other cutters that need a touch up in the field, whereas for serious sharpening at home or base camp i would have something larger to make the task easier, so that is why i would think a stone that required oil, would not be very practical for something thats primary use is in an emergency, survival, &/or backup role, most likely in the field... the ontario 499 would get 5 stars today because of it's nice fit in the sheath pouches, adequate size for small to medium sized blades, surprise dual grit bonus, & lovely little price of $3.95 as of this writing... however, the fact this is an oil stone & apparently requires oil to work properly makes me subtract 2 stars because that just seems like a hassle, a stone of this size, & in the role it would most likely be cast, should be good to use dry or with water, but having to lug around a bit of honing oil specifically for this stone that would be paired with a survival knife? perhaps there is some benefit i am not aware of, but it just doesn't make a whole lot of sense to me...