Reviews and Ratings for Ontario Blackbird SK-5 Wilderness Survival Knife 5" Satin Blade, Black G10 Handles - 7500

Ontario Blackbird SK-5 Wilderness Survival Knife 5" Satin Blade, Black G10 Handlesrated 4.714 stars out of 5 (21 reviews)
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
17
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Ontario Blackbird SK-5 Wilderness Survival Knife 5 inch Satin Blade, Black G10 Handles

 

Price: $166.25

Save $69.25 (29%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Ontario Blackbird SK-5 Wilderness Survival Knife 5" Satin Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Winston
Blue Ridge Mtns.
Apr 17, 2016
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Versatile blade design made from a good steel.
I've had my BlackBird since the fall of 2014 and consider it the best mid size(4-6 inch) bushcraft/survival fixed blade i've used or owned for the price.I'm not saying it's the best available at any price,but i am saying i consider it the best for what KC has it priced($128) and under.The Horace Kephart designed blade is a versatile design that works well doing woodwork(carving,feathersticks,whittling etc.) as well as cleaning game and for real life,common everyday cutting chores,it's one of the few truly versatile
Ontario Blackbird SK-5 Wilderness Survival Knife 5" Satin Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brad Flynn
Juneau, Alaska
Apr 28, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Materials, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Great Knife!
The Blackbird SK-5 is an excellent survival/general purpose knife. Since it is made of 154CM, you don't need to worry as much about corrosion as you do with most survival knives made of your typical 1095 steel. The micarta handle is comfortable and should fit most people even if they have large hands. I have large palms and short fingers, and I find it quite comfortable. As it came from the factory the edge wasn't perfect, but I was easily able to make it hair-popping sharp with just a little bit of work on a JRE strop-bat. Although it came with a conventional beveled edge, continued use of the strop-bat should eventually convert it to a true convex edge. Although I would prefer a kydex sheath, the nylon sheath that came with the knife is well thought out, works well, and is attractive. It has a good belt loop and will also work with molle attachments. As usual, KnifeCenter's service was A-1! After my order, the knife arrived in just a very few days, even though I live in Alaska.
Ontario Blackbird SK-5 Wilderness Survival Knife 5" Satin Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matthew H.
Albuquerque, NM
Aug 06, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
First Impressions.
Just got this knife, so I haven't brutalized it with batoning tests, accidentally dropping it on rocks or New Mexico compressed sand, etc. I did carve a pine block into a rough sphere, rinse it, and cut up a ribeye. Then whittled the bone down to a toothpick, lol. No problems whatsoever so far. I'm impressed with how you can go delicate with it, despite its length. I gotta say, it's a wonderful knife. Aesthetically pleasing to the eye and hand. Reasonably sharp out of the box, but I did use my finest grit stone on it, and now it shaves hairs. Only about 2-3 minutes of gentle honing. My only initial beef/complaint is that it doesn't have a hammer pommel. The weight is awesome. My decision came down to 3 knives: this one, A Condor, and the well known BK2. The BK2 is too heavy. 1/4" thick is overkill for my needs. Plus I didn't like the stock handle scales. The condor 5" bushcraft was nice, but the wood handle worried me (it's dry where I live. Wood doesn't last in the sun without oiling/waxing and such. Plus, like the BK2, also a corrosion-prone blade. Even though I live and hike in the desert, NM is not the Empty Quarter. I'm always by rivers and creeks, dealing with damp wood, and sweating too much. I actually researched a hike/camp/bushcraft knife more than I researched the laptop I recently purchased, lol. I settled on this one, as it's ~$100. I didn't want to spend more, for obvious (to me, at least) reasons. My only experience with this type of knife previously is owning (and destroying) a few Moras. I still love the >$20 Moras. Great beaters. And you don't care if you ruin it on a backpacking trip. But, I did want more. Something a little longer, full tang, and /quality/ SS. Oiling blades is fine, but I don't want to worry about corrosion. Especially when away from 'civilization' for more than 3 days. On the sheath: too many people have complained about it. I own a bunch of Maxpedition molle packs/pouches, and it's on that level of quality. I like it. I like how I can attach a secondary sheath to it, for a flashlight, my phone, a Leatherman, or my fav. small fixed blade: a CRKT Folts Minimalist (wharncliffe). As a left handed person, I really love how the sheath is ambidextrous. That's an issue for us lefties. You'd be surprised how many stock sheathes are right handed only. Hint: 99% of them. Anyway, sorry for the TL;DR. I might update next month, when I get some time off to really test this guy out.
Ontario Blackbird SK-5 Wilderness Survival Knife 5" Satin Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bob
Kentucky
Sep 14, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Ontario Blackbird SK-5 Wilderness Survival Knife 5" Blade,
It will be used for hunting, fishing and survival. Well built knife. looking for another sheath right now.
Ontario Blackbird SK-5 Wilderness Survival Knife 5" Satin Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
M Cook
Lexington KY
Feb 28, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Outstanding valur
I bought this as a general purpose knife for camping and hunting. The blade is thick enough for heavier use but not as thick as others which allows it to be used for more precise work. The sheath isn't bad. I would like to purchase one from hedgehog leatherworks but not thrilled about spending twice what the knife costs me. I wouldn't hesitate to compare this knife to those that cost twice as much.
Ontario Blackbird SK-5 Wilderness Survival Knife 5" Satin Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Radagast
California
May 31, 2013
Pros:
Cons:
Truly Best Buy
The Blackbird deserves its accolades. The blade is a perfect, no-nonsense shape, with a full tang, good thickness, great steel, great edge. The handle scales are comfy, very secure, and easy to clean (I've never removed them, but I'm glad I have the option to do so). I love the sheath. A snap closure secures the knife (read and learn, TOPS). MOLLE straps on the front of the sheath allow me to add various military pouches--or not. There's some kind of soft lining inside the throat of the sheath; this lining keeps the blade from moving, rattling, and scraping against kydex. Nice touch. I put a few drops of Sentry Solutions on this throat lining to maintain the blade (though the 154CM doesn't really need it). This is a go-to outdoors knife. I've had mine since Ontario first issued the knife, and it's still going strong. I'll buy another one eventually, just to have a back-up piece. I'm a little dismayed to read that other buyers have received flawed Blackbirds: I hope such incidents are very few and far between.
Ontario Blackbird SK-5 Wilderness Survival Knife 5" Satin Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Creamofyeet
OH
Jan 24, 2020
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
My go to!
This knife replaced the use of my esse 6. The OKC blackbird has seen vigorous military, hotshot, bushcraft, and general camping/overlanding use. I honestly can't say enough about the knife. The Kephart blade profile makes for an excellent jack of all trades knife and is a packing essential for me now.
Ontario Blackbird SK-5 Wilderness Survival Knife 5" Satin Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brendan G.
Suffern, NY
Sep 04, 2012
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Great knife!
I personally love this knife it has held up to hell and back and keeps on kicking. I am an avid camper and this knife is always on my side whenever I decide to take a trip. I plan on purchasing a second one for my brother as well.
Ontario Blackbird SK-5 Wilderness Survival Knife 5" Satin Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris
Clay, michigan
Nov 18, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Awesome knife
Ontario Blackbird SK-5 Wilderness Survival Knife 5" Satin Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Vicooooo
Singapore
Jan 13, 2013
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
It's a really good knife, I bought it from a knife store in singapore, and feels like this knife is very suitable for me, handle is fit my hand, and it's very sharp when I got it.
Ontario Blackbird SK-5 Wilderness Survival Knife 5" Satin Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wad
Missouri
Sep 14, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Blackbird SK 5
This is a great camping knife. It can chop, whittle and spark a stick better than anything I ever owned. The blade holds a great edge and a little bit of sharpening puts it right back on the mark. I love this knife.
Ontario Blackbird SK-5 Wilderness Survival Knife 5" Satin Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steven D
Monroe, Mi
Aug 03, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Upgraded Sk-5
Just received my SK-5. A letter was included informing me that they have switched from micarta scales to black G10 scales. I love the G10 handle. The knife itself is as expected, perfect.
Ontario Blackbird SK-5 Wilderness Survival Knife 5" Satin Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
B
Northern California
May 31, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
Righteous!
After reading numerous reviews and watching several videos courtesy of youtube I really went out and gave this bird a beating and was thoroughly impressed to say the least. Putting it to use in the many tasks described in the videos was a breeze. Great blade, comfortable, dependable, reliable. One of my favorite things about it to is that its is not too long or too short as compared to carrying say a 7" blade like the larger RAT series. The Blackbird SK-5 just really gets in there and handles business!
Ontario Blackbird SK-5 Wilderness Survival Knife 5" Satin Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Todd H
Poplar Bluff,Mo
Dec 18, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Blade Material
Cons: None
better than i thought it would
I love this knife. I like it better than benchmade bush craft knife. Very high quality knife,and it will shave, right out of the box. I have other knifes with 154cm, very good steel easy to sharpen and holdes a sharp edge very well. I also have knifes with cpm s110 steel, hard to sharpen. I personally like 154 cm better. sk5 is a bargain at that price. A must have knife.
Ontario Blackbird SK-5 Wilderness Survival Knife 5" Satin Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Terry
Charlotte, North Carolina
Aug 06, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Simple, Elegant Design Destined to Become a Classic.
After several weeks of on-line research, combing through countless user reviews and lurking through survivalist’s forums, I selected the Ontario Blackbird SK-5 knife as an addition to my Bug Out Bag and camping gear. The Blackbird SK-5 is a very well designed bushcraft survival knife designed to perform a variety tasks in most any survival situation. A simple but elegant design destined to become a classic, those seeking Klingon Warrior/Zombie-Hunter movie props, may be disappointed in the Blackbird’s lack of demon logos, terrifying “teeth” and day-glow lip gloss. The Blackbird SK-5 excels as a solid working tool that feels natural in hand. The Micarta scales are precisely contoured, comfortable and well fitted. The knife’s light weight and balance are just about perfect for delicate slicing to moderate chopping while the premium grade 154CM blade steel retains a keen edge and is rust resistant. This knife could probably field-dress a Buick! The included sheath is above and beyond the average, as well, offering multiple MOLLE (Modular Lightweight Load-carrying Equipment) attachment options, an internal plastic blade liner and heavy-duty retention straps. The materials, stitching and color compliment the knife’s simple, utilitarian design. I’m very pleased with this purchase from KnifeCenter.com.
Ontario Blackbird SK-5 Wilderness Survival Knife 5" Satin Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Z. Hawkins
Winston Salem, NC
May 20, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Great Addition to the B.O.B. Kit!
Useful in a variety of ways. The squared off spine allows wonderful shower of sparks when striking your fero rod. Centered point allows great control and rapid carving when making a fire-bow base, the handle is comfortable, the sheen of the knife could be used as a mirror in a survival situation, the paracord loop is large enough to accommodate looping in a piece without having to tie it of and all that. perfect sized knife. The sheath isn't bad either, better than most, but nothing to write home about. Completely MOLLE compatible though.
Ontario Blackbird SK-5 Wilderness Survival Knife 5" Satin Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nick D.
New York
Mar 22, 2013
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
All the Knife You'll Ever Need!
I truly believe that this may be the "ultimate survival knife"! The 154cm blade is strong, will hold an edge and is highly rust resistant. The bird's beak handle locks my hand in for a secure grip and the roughed micarta slabs add more purchase when batoning or pounding. The knife comes with a molly adaptable sheath which can easily be attached to your pack. The Blackbird is a tough knife, capable of handling any survival or emergency scenario.You can bang on this knife all day without weakening it a bit.
Ontario Blackbird SK-5 Wilderness Survival Knife 5" Satin Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Norsman
Detroit, MI
May 09, 2011
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Blade Sharpness
Great knife so far
Great steel, sharpens easily, micarta handle is nice and grips well even when wet. The blade shape and handle size are good for large hands. I wish it had a more sturdy sheath; kydex or a more robust cordura with a pocket for a sharpening stone and a firesteel loop (not sure why these types of knives don't come with those features anymore??). The finish was less than to be desired; I had to scrub the handle and spine around the handle with steel wool to remove factory burn marks and to properly profile the spine of the blade around the handle. The blade was sharpened funny with more metal removed from one side of the blade; I had to re-profile the blade. Despite the few cosmetic flaws, I enjoying using the blade on camping trips for preparing fires and food prep.
Ontario Blackbird SK-5 Wilderness Survival Knife 5" Satin Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Rich
PGH, PA
Oct 21, 2014
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard
I like it a lot.
Upon receiving my Ontario Blackbird SK-5 the first thing I noticed is it was not sharp. It quickly took an edge with a hard stone. The knife is well made, very basic and light. This is a no frills, not afraid to use it kind of knife. I can’t wait to put it to good use.
Ontario Blackbird SK-5 Wilderness Survival Knife 5" Satin Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bruce H
fLORIDA
Sep 12, 2015
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
THE BLACKBIRD
I love all most everything . The knife could have and should have been sharper. I use the knife for making snares and skinning. whats great about the knife it's made made in the GREAT US OF A !!!!
Ontario Blackbird SK-5 Wilderness Survival Knife 5" Satin Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Don B
Beloit, WI
Jan 06, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: Blade Sharpness
Dull
I bought this knife as a gift for my son and the first thing I noticed was the knife was so dull that I don't think I could have cut my finger with it. Is this usually the way they ship a hundred and some dollar knife?