Reviews and Ratings for Opinel N08 Folding Knife 3.25" X90 Carbon Plain Blade, Beechwood Handle - OP13080

Opinel N08 Folding Knife 3.25" X90 Carbon Plain Blade, Beechwood Handlerated 4.625 stars out of 5 (40 reviews)
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
32
4 star
4
3 star
2
2 star
1
1 star
1
Opinel N08 Folding Knife 3.25 inch X90 Carbon Plain Blade, Beechwood Handle

 

Price: $15.00

View Product Details
Opinel N08 Folding Knife 3.25" X90 Carbon Plain Blade, Beechwood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Otta Larry
Sumter, SC
Mar 25, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Opinel purchase
The most useful, all-around pocket knife I've owned. Very appropriate for skinning and cutting up such large game as deer and moose. Since it is such a special knife, I often give them to outdoor-inclined friends associated with my guiding business.
Opinel N08 Folding Knife 3.25" X90 Carbon Plain Blade, Beechwood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Df
South Florida
Jan 02, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great knife
Not much to add to what everybody else has said. This is my first Opinel and it is terrific. The size is just about perfect for EDC. The carbon steel blade takes a wicked sharp edge. I initially thought the locking collar was something of a quaint obsolete mechanism but on further reflection it is elegantly designed. Low tech but very positive. A simple solution that needs no improvement. Viva La Opinel!
Opinel N08 Folding Knife 3.25" X90 Carbon Plain Blade, Beechwood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Interslice
Maryland
Apr 26, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Blade Material
Simple and useful
I haven't used it very hard yet, but I'm impressed with it's simplicity. It comes quite sharp, but needs a little touch-up to be hair-popping sharp. Being carbon steel, be sure to keep it clean and oiled to prevent corrosion. It's slow to open, but at least it locks both open and closed with the collar. It's certainly a classic, useful design that will do about anything you need a pocketknife to do.
Opinel N08 Folding Knife 3.25" X90 Carbon Plain Blade, Beechwood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Seth
Taylors,sc
Jul 08, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Lock Type, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Lock Type, Pocket Clip
Great all around knife for tool box or pocket
Great all around knife for tool box or pocket
Opinel N08 Folding Knife 3.25" X90 Carbon Plain Blade, Beechwood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Runs With Knives
Manhattan Beach, CA
Jul 06, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Lock Type, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Blade Material, Ease of Opening
Years of service. A pleasure to hold.
I have owned a dozen of these over the years. I love the pear handle (now beechwood) and the "stainless" blade, being more hi carbon than stainless, holds an edge fairly well. They feel warm and well balanced in the hand and I almost always have one in my pocket, as well as 6 or more in the drawer for use as steak knives. Some care is necessary, as wet wood swells and hampers opening and closing--mostly opening, when you don't have leverage. The "stainless" will stain, so wash and dry promptly. Opinel has made these since forever, and probably will continue to produce the same, simple, great little knife for generations.
Opinel N08 Folding Knife 3.25" X90 Carbon Plain Blade, Beechwood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jeremy H.
DE
Apr 04, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Lock Type
Cons: None
Great knife for camping
This is just an overall great knife. Durable and easy to use. Nothing fancy to it. I own several Opinel knives and they never fail to live up to their reputation.
Opinel N08 Folding Knife 3.25" X90 Carbon Plain Blade, Beechwood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael S Duffy
Denver, Co
Jun 10, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Owned a lot of these
General everyday carry and have them in the bags, vehicles and utilize them for steak knives during BBQ's
Opinel N08 Folding Knife 3.25" X90 Carbon Plain Blade, Beechwood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
None
Fairview, N.C.
Aug 18, 2009
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Opinel #8
I can't believe the quality for such a low price. Holds an edge well and when dull only a few whacks across a butchers steel and it's razor sharp again - evidence of good steel, proper carbon content.
Opinel N08 Folding Knife 3.25" X90 Carbon Plain Blade, Beechwood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Phillip J
Atlanta GA
May 11, 2012
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Cons: None
great knife.
I ordered the # 12 and the #10 and they both were a little too big to carry. But this #8 is perfect. I love this knife and the lock design is unique. It also fits perfectly in a mini mag lite holder.
Opinel N08 Folding Knife 3.25" X90 Carbon Plain Blade, Beechwood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joseph Borkowski
MA
Jun 17, 2009
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great knife at a good value!
Opinel N08 Folding Knife 3.25" X90 Carbon Plain Blade, Beechwood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
6Thtexas
Boerne, Texas
Feb 21, 2010
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Material, None
Neat, simple knife
Great slicer and easy to get scary sharp. I did refinish the wood, as when it got wet the wood would swell
Opinel N08 Folding Knife 3.25" X90 Carbon Plain Blade, Beechwood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Vince
Mississippi
May 28, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Ease of Opening
Great knife, needs oil
Great knife, very easy to keep sharp. However it must stay dry or will be hard to open and close until fully dry. A drop of oil seems to help.
Opinel N08 Folding Knife 3.25" X90 Carbon Plain Blade, Beechwood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Leon Wilderness
Illinois
May 20, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None
Best Budget Knife
Super Sharp, great handle. You have to use an Opinel to understand what an Opinel can do.
Opinel N08 Folding Knife 3.25" X90 Carbon Plain Blade, Beechwood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Otta Larry
Sumter, SC
Mar 25, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Opinel purchase
The most useful, all-around pocket knife I've owned. Very appropriate for skinning and cutting up such large game as deer and moose. Since it is such a special knife, I often give them to outdoor-inclined friends associated with my guiding business.
Opinel N08 Folding Knife 3.25" X90 Carbon Plain Blade, Beechwood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kevin
Washington
Nov 03, 2016
Pros: Handle Feel, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
KC
Been looking to get an opinel for a while. I couldn't decide between the No 8 or No 9, Carbon or Stainless. With the prices on here I was able to get one of each. The No 8 Carbon came shaving sharp except for the belly of the bend which rubs on the inside of the handle. The rubbing caused a noticeable burr to form on the blade. A little bit of sharpening and some sanding inside the handle fixed that though.
Opinel N08 Folding Knife 3.25" X90 Carbon Plain Blade, Beechwood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kenneth
Mountainair, NM
Apr 14, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Material, Lock Type
Cons: None
A classic is a classic for a reason
What can I say about the Opinel No. 8 that hasn't been said before? Nothing, I'm sure. So I'll just reiterate. This is a design classic, it is simple and practical and functional. She is a plain Jane that makes up for her lack of outside beauty by being a no nonsense and hard working blue collar gal. You need to slice an apple? She can do that. Cut cordage? Yup. Open a box? Of course. Sharpen a pencil, prepare a campfire meal, clean a trout, open a letter, trim frayed pant leggings? Well, yes. Duh, it's a knife. A pokey stabby cutty kind. Good simple and sharp carbon steal that grandpappy would approve of, a safe and effective lock up that mom would appreciate, and an honest wooden handle that Jesus himself would approve of. This is a tool. A tool for utilitarian purposes. It is not for killing zombies. It is not for prying open crates of military surplus ammo (get a crowbar doomsday preppers!) It is not tactical (whatever the f*@%! that means in real life) and it is not the newest, hottest, knife sluts wet dream. It is a knife, and it is a thing of beauty. Just get it.
Opinel N08 Folding Knife 3.25" X90 Carbon Plain Blade, Beechwood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Pat
St. Louis, MO
Apr 22, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Ease of Opening
High Value
The knife is great, especially for the price. It's very thin, and full flat ground, so it cuts incredibly well. No complaints about the steel or fit/finish. Mine was a little tight when I got it, but it loosened up with use. This size is just about perfect for my hands, but it may be a little big to carry around every day. One small complaint is that the blade did not come very sharp. When it arrived it had a huge burr still on the blade. Not a big deal, as the steel is easy to sharpen, but worth mentioning.
Opinel N08 Folding Knife 3.25" X90 Carbon Plain Blade, Beechwood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lionel J.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Sep 06, 2011
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Cons: None
One heck of a deal!
When I got these knives in(I ordered 2), I had to take one and try it out right away. First thing I noticed is that I ordered #7's, I got #8's. Not a bad thing by any means! They came pretty sharp out of the box, nice overall construction, and the locking collars are not as flimsy as I have read in a few reviews about Opinels. For the price, these are extremely well made knives. I did a little whittling, cut some warm bacon, cut some veggies, and threw a final edge on it. I love it. The other one I bought for my son as his first knife. He has shown that he is responsible enough and is now rewarded with his first knife. The same (almost) knife I got from my grandfather. Just a great knife.
Opinel N08 Folding Knife 3.25" X90 Carbon Plain Blade, Beechwood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Otta Larry
Sumter, SC
Mar 25, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Opinel purchase
The most useful, all-around pocket knife I've owned. Very appropriate for skinning and cutting up such large game as deer and moose. Since it is such a special knife, I often give them to outdoor-inclined friends associated with my guiding business.
Opinel N08 Folding Knife 3.25" X90 Carbon Plain Blade, Beechwood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tuffthumbz
pendell PA
Jun 16, 2010
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
old world perfection
use it at the dinner table and on the lake. great all around plain old knife
Opinel N08 Folding Knife 3.25" X90 Carbon Plain Blade, Beechwood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jon Doe
Arizona
Sep 11, 2009
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Good and sharp and well made.
This is a very nice knife and sharpens razor sharp. I put it to use in my first aid kit as you need a knife to pull out stingers, thorns and cut bandages to shape. It is excellent for that use. Small sharp and clean… You can’t hammer nails or cut rebar with this knife as it is not that strong but for general use you can’t beat it. It sleeps in my first aid kit till the day it is needed….
Opinel N08 Folding Knife 3.25" X90 Carbon Plain Blade, Beechwood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Abe Q.
Bandon, OR
Oct 17, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Cons: None
Quality far exceeds price
I love this knife and carry it everywhere. It is elegant in its simplicity. It's not a lazy persons knife. You have to clean it and keep it dry. Blade is thin, but strong enough for the work it's meant for.
Opinel N08 Folding Knife 3.25" X90 Carbon Plain Blade, Beechwood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Starkey
Maine
Sep 29, 2008
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, Ease of Opening
Opinel No. 8 pocket knife
Opinel folders are simple, inexpensive and just great knives. The carbon steel blade is very hard and, if treated badly, can chip easily. But it is incredibly easy to put a razor edge on the blade and you can carve a bust out of a ripe tomato with it. Properly sharpened, the knife can't safely be opened with one hand, and the lock mechanism takes a little practice to work smoothly, but for the price, I don't think you can find a better quality knife anywhere. The No. 8 is just under 4 1/2" closed, and is light enough to carry easily in a pocket without wearing a hole in it. The size fits perfectly in the hand and works well as a general paring and food prep knife. It's inexpensive enough that folks who don't want to carry a knife all the time can leave one in the glove compartment and another in the picnic basket or the tackle box. I usually carry a Victorinox Swiss Army knife in a belt sheath (I really like the corkscrew and screwdrivers), but when I have to wear a suit, the Opinel No. 8's in my pocket.
Opinel N08 Folding Knife 3.25" X90 Carbon Plain Blade, Beechwood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Connie
Victoria, Tx
Jan 24, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: None
I bought the knife for a present. I have one and I knew that my son would like it also.
Opinel N08 Folding Knife 3.25" X90 Carbon Plain Blade, Beechwood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Forrest
Asheville, NC
Nov 03, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Material, Lock Type
Cons: None
favorite pocket knife
This knife is my favorite. It's excellent for everyday use. It's cheap, simple, solid, and easy to sharpen. The blade sharpens well, I can shave with mine, and it holds the edge surprisingly well if it's treated right. As a firefighter, I rely on my knife, and it's nice to have one that I know isn't going to fall apart when the screws that hold the handle together strip or the blade becomes wobbly. The collar lock is a bit clumsy at times, but it's reliable and strong.
Opinel N08 Folding Knife 3.25" X90 Carbon Plain Blade, Beechwood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jo
El Paso, TX
Nov 23, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Weight, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Sheath, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None
Excellent Product - Third time I have ordered over the years
I use this knife almost exclusively - have given many for gifts, take it with me everywhere -- and just learned it will sharpen and keep on going.... a must have for me, and for my daughter!
Opinel N08 Folding Knife 3.25" X90 Carbon Plain Blade, Beechwood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tom B
Space Coast, Florida USA
Nov 12, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, Lock Type
Cons: None
Tactile and Unique
Opinels come in all sizes and the girths change along with the lengths. The #8 is a general purpose, medium duty, adult size knife. Bear in mind this isn't a multi hundred dollar folding pry bar and you have to know how to use it and know it's quirks. That said it has more than enough going for it. There's no reason not to have 1/2 dozen of these in different sizes and configurations floating around. Spend the extra $ and get the choice wood handles too.
Opinel N08 Folding Knife 3.25" X90 Carbon Plain Blade, Beechwood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
George Huebschman
Maryland, US
Mar 30, 2009
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, Sheath, None
Opinel rating
For the money, Opinels are one of the sweetest general use pocket knives I have ever had...several times. A friend lost my first on on a fishing trip. He was amazed at how well it performed a fillet knife's work...not as well, but much better that the fishing knives he was accustomed to. Seemingly it floated a bit too. You can pay a lot more money for a piece of steel that sharpens as well. They have an elegant simplicity and a simple beauty. I have had three of these...or four...I keep losing track. (I lose everything sooner or later.) No, they are not monstrously strong, but I use mine for day to day utility, and even at restaurants...which shocks some diners and amuses others. My only complaint is that they do not lock CLOSED. I have carelessly reached into a loose pocket on several occasions with a reward of a sharp clean cut on a finger. Someone provides lovely leather sheaths for them, but the only one I owned I gave away. I can't tell you how functional it was or was not. They have been making the same model for generations on generations, they are that good.
Opinel N08 Folding Knife 3.25" X90 Carbon Plain Blade, Beechwood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Hunter63
SE Wisconsin
Apr 09, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Blade Material, None
Cons: Lock Type
Good value for the bucks
Wanted a good back up knife for my hunting bag, acts like a fixed blade, but folds. Very nice
Opinel N08 Folding Knife 3.25" X90 Carbon Plain Blade, Beechwood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
The Natural-Outlaw
Hartford, WI
Jan 31, 2010
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great Knife for Price
I use this knife as a edc pocket knife. The high carbon steel blade holds and takes an edge very well. The blade geometry is excellent for use and has an appeal to the eye. The newer Opinel's also LOCK CLOSED so as not to accidently cut yourself reaching into your pocket. An excellent, traditional knife. Will not stand up to batoning etc, but is a great slicer and general utility knife. I find myself reaching into my pocket for it while preparing meals.
Opinel N08 Folding Knife 3.25" X90 Carbon Plain Blade, Beechwood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Stefan
Clearwater FL
Nov 11, 2010
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Perfection
Perfect
Opinel N08 Folding Knife 3.25" X90 Carbon Plain Blade, Beechwood Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dennis M
St.Louis, MO.
Apr 01, 2015
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Rock solid and razor sharp!
The Opinel No.8 folder has been my favorite folding knife for years. It is used for just about everything I do from backpacking, fishing, camping, kayaking, etc. I've cut boxes , rope, skinned squirrels, cordage of all types, whittled wood, you name it. I carry it everyday in all situations from work to play. The thin convex grind makes it a breeze to sharpen (razor sharp). It's simple in design yet distinctive in looks. A must have for anyone who uses a knife on a daily basis. Keep it well oiled as it is a high carbon steel and it will be there for you when you need it. This is my second No.8 in 6 years only because my last one was offered up to the great fishing god in 30 foot of water when I was wrestling with a monster channel cat from my kayak, and my No.8 was sitting on the ridge of the kayak's cockpit cowl. When the pole took off, it carried my Opinel down to the depths of Lincoln Lake. If it ever happens again I'm diving in after it! Get yourself one. Oh yeah, and KnifeCenter's service was par excellence! super fast delivery. Thanks KnifeCenter.
Opinel N08 Folding Knife 3.25" X90 Carbon Plain Blade, Beechwood Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Spencer
Rappahannock Academy, VA
Aug 15, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
Low price, but certainly not cheap!
I had heard good things about the quality of Opinel knives and when I retired my previous folder I decided I wanted to try one. Its not a matter of good for the price, this is a quality knife no matter what! Everything is fit well, the handle is smooth and comfortable and finished, no rough edges or marks. The steel is excellent, it came shaving sharp and after almost a month of farm use, cutting lots of hay twine and alot of carving hardwood I gave it a couple passes on my leather belt and its still takes hair off cleanly. When I first got it the blade was a little stiff to come out, obviously its fit into hardwood so it needs to wear in and also when its 100 degrees and 80% + humidity wood tends to swell no matter what it is. after a couple weeks it wore in and now its snug but not stiff or sticky. My only issue, and given that this knife was under $13 I expected it, if the blade isnt polished. Basically there are faint vertical lines on the blade from the grind, they arent glaringly obvious or anything, but they do make cleaning the knife rather difficult as they hold onto alot of substances. They are shallow enough to polish out with some high grit sandpaper if necessary. Overall, excellent classy knife, great for carving and fine bushcrafty things, with some polishing it would make an excellent skinning knife. The steel quality is comparable to knives in a far higher price range. The simple but effective design allows for the knife to be low priced but not at the cost of quality. I highly recommend this knife!
Opinel N08 Folding Knife 3.25" X90 Carbon Plain Blade, Beechwood Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Alex
NC
Dec 07, 2015
Pros: Handle Feel
Cons: None
Nice knife
I have a few of the Opinels. I really like them for the price. This was my first carbon steel. They vary in terms of build quality. For instance the one I received had a very tight collar. I popped it off and worked it a little with some pliers and now it's perfect. I like using Opinels for eating food and everyday tasks. It has a very friendly, old school look. So far I don't see a big advantage with carbon steel model in terms of edge retention, and it's a little higher maintenance, so I'll probably be sticking with the stainless steel Opinels.
Opinel N08 Folding Knife 3.25" X90 Carbon Plain Blade, Beechwood Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Wiremonkey
Mechanicsburg, PA
Aug 06, 2009
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Interesting knife
I seen these many times but have never had one. Great knife for the price. I used it for a steak knife at a picnic and it worked just great. Able to slice the steak into very thin pieces. This is a good thing when one wears dentures!!!
Opinel N08 Folding Knife 3.25" X90 Carbon Plain Blade, Beechwood Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Chris
Indiana
Apr 25, 2013
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Blade Collar Locking
Very neat knife
Opinel N08 Folding Knife 3.25" X90 Carbon Plain Blade, Beechwood Handle
rated 3 stars out of 5
Harold
Rhode Island
May 24, 2015
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Blade Material
Go Opinel Stainless
Opinel's carbon does not hold an edge. It loses its edge in minutes. I have gone through ten of them in twenty years (I know, I keep hoping things will improve). The Opinel stainless knives, however, are rather surprising in their capacity to stay sharp under normal use for a blade this thin. The Opinel garden knife I had I did not sharpen for five months at a time, if it was only used in the yard and the kitchen. It was also good for leather work. Go stainless in this knife.
Opinel N08 Folding Knife 3.25" X90 Carbon Plain Blade, Beechwood Handle
rated 3 stars out of 5
Gg
nj
Apr 03, 2018
Pros: Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
good serviceable knife with no frills
The knife is fine, size good, weigh good. The only thing i miss on it is the safety feature of a blade lock so that it doesn't close unexpectedly.
Opinel N08 Folding Knife 3.25" X90 Carbon Plain Blade, Beechwood Handle
rated 2 stars out of 5
Darrell
Seattle
Nov 30, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: Blade Material, None
Too thin and weak
The blade is too thin, I bent the tip opening a can. If it used the same thickness blade as my number 10 Opinel I would have given it a much better rating. As a pure slicer it works just fine and holds an edge for a decent amount of time and it's really easy to sharpen.
Opinel N08 Folding Knife 3.25" X90 Carbon Plain Blade, Beechwood Handle
rated 1 stars out of 5
Justin V
Chicago
Jan 05, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, None
4 out of 10 were defective
I purchased 10 of these as gifts for Christmas, as the people opened them on Christmas morning 4 of the people took me aside and asked how they could return them because the locking mechanism was malfunctioning. 3 of them were not set right and would not budge, 1 was way to loose. Of the other 6 only 3 were set what i would call properly, the other 3 were passable but the recievers said they would keep them. Anyway i was embarrassed and disappointed by 7 out of the knives i recieved. The 3 that did work seemed to be pretty good, sharp out of the box with a smooth open, and proper locking. I would reccomend this knife only if purchasing it in person so you can make sure you have a functioning one.