Reviews and Ratings for DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles - DPHSF005

DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handlesrated 4.267 stars out of 5 (60 reviews)
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
36
4 star
15
3 star
3
2 star
1
1 star
5
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25 inch D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles

 

Price: $175.00

Save $43.75 (20%) Off Retail

View Product Details
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Orville De C
nova lima brasil
Jul 25, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
nice knife
edc and colection
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Andy S.
VA
Nov 01, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Material, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use
Great Knife
This is a great knife. Well made, very solid and feels great in your hand. Took awhile to break it in. The locking mechanism was very tight and stuck for awhile but seems to have broken in. Also very nice that it comes with the monkey tool to make quick adjustments.
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Burly 82Nd
NY NY
Oct 19, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Locks up tight, solid utility knife
Using this as my edc for two weeks now. Stropped the edge a couple times (it was already sharp but I wanted to see how difficult the D2 steel edge was to work with). Though still sharp after 10 days I was able to take it up a bit with little effort. Other than that been giving it a pretty good workout with nothing bad to say. It's a bit chunky. It's not a thin spyderco or kershaw but it feels like something you can . Grip is very solid and the clip is tight without being difficult to clip onto your pocket or top of pants. . I would prefer the clip to be a little more subdued as opposed to the shiny steel color it comes but thats just me. Oh yeah the bottle opener is cool too
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Granville M
Wall, New Jersey
Jun 28, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
This is my new favorite EDC knife. I'm totally impressed with the quality of construction and the ergonomics of the product. This is not a sissy knife. Some people may have an issue with the frame lock and the initial stiffness, however, for the design of the knife it is a pure safety function. The Lionsteel RotoBlock system locks the knife into a fixed position -- you could penetrate a car door with this stout knife. I have always been a fan of the Emerson ™Wave system, but the HEST's rapid deployment feature works flawlessly and is more stylish than the Wave. It can be also used as a bottle opener. The other features such as the hex wrench and wire strippers are a nice added touch. The framelock design allows for super easy cleaning as well. And I like the glass breaker that can be removed as some others sometimes can knick your hand. This one made of the hard plastic is great. This knife clearly lives up to its name as the "Hostile Environment Survival Tool." Yes, it is a "tool" and more than fits that definition. If you're looking for a solid, stout, sharp, safe knife, that absolutely feels incredible in your hand, buy it. I was more impressed when I held this knife than what I had expected. Usually the pictures look
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Andy
Burke, VA
Aug 15, 2014
Pros: None
Cons: None
I can understand the polarising view this knife has on a lot of people, people are expecting a civilised everyday carry and what they get instead is a miniaturised tactical knife which is more rugged than practical. A knife which can split split wood and slice through cans but can't do fine paper cuts and be casually flicked open for hours. I've read all the reviews good and bad and decided to try this knife myself, in my opinion this thing is incredible, a tank like product which is ultra rugged and yet actually has some good luxe touches ( reminds me of ST Dupont lighters ), the design and materials are beautiful, it reminds me of a ruggedised and more unpolished Sebenza. The blade steel out of the box pushes paper easily and I've already used it as a pry bar, yes I get it, the blade lock is sticky and tough and compared to a Spyderco it doesn't slice paper as easily, but this wasn't what this nice was designed for, it has a hand in the EDC world but two feet firmly planted in the tactical world and it should be judged along those lines. This knife is exceptional in it's finish and construction and can't take more of a beating than a ton of "tactical" knives out there.
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Franck
tahiti
Jun 24, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Handle Material
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
I work as a paramedic in emergency mobile unit. Great model with glass breaker and excellent grip. Polyvalent knife. Just need to check the blade which open when i take out the knife from my pocket
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
J. S
Los Angeles
Nov 09, 2012
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality, Lock Type
Cons: None
Very good build quality
I've owned many folding edc's over the years. I'm blown away by the quality vs price of this knife. You can't go wrong and certainly won't be disappointed. I am possibly slightly biased as I also own a dpx fixed blade as well that I find extremely handy in size and utility. Worth every penny
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris D
Germany
Oct 04, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
All you need
I bought it for my collection but the HEST folder is an working/ survival tool at it best. Strong and sharp blade, lightweighted and durable design. It would be my favorite folder in case of emergency situations...
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jr
Potomac, MD
Apr 02, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, None
Cons: Weight
Excellent knife
This is a sturdy, tough knife. While it weighs a couple ounces more than my other EDC, I find myself choosing the HEST if I'm in casual clothes. Fantastic blade, and a solid buy at its price point.
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Russell
Texas
May 11, 2013
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
EDC Tank, dead reliable
I own many knives and was a loyal Emerson owner. I purchased Emersons latest tan-scaled, tanto-edged, CQC, wonder knife for $175 and was so mad I couldn't get it back in the box fast enough. The fit and finish had gone to crap, not surprised. So, I looked for a D2 knife and found this one. Is it the end all, be all of folding knives?? Nah, no serrations, but dang, it is just rock solid. Everything lines up perfectly. I don't know what these clowns are doing to these knives to have a loose blade and a broken glass breaker, but they are some real..... Ahem, anyway. I am a service tech and I use this knife EVERY day. Two of my buddies now own this knife. The cap opener is worth $150 by itself!! Yes, you can stick the lock and yes it takes some break in. Beats the heck out of those skinny liner locks that people have to watch for wear. I removed the rotor lock device as I don't need it with such a solid lockup. If you want a skinny bladed, razor edged, finger nail cleaner.. this isn't for you.
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tim
Tampa, FL
May 23, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Solid knife
I use this knife as my EDC, I was looking for a knife that is built solid enough to handle anything yet still be a good EDC. This knife does it, the blade is thick solid and sharp. The handle is nice, the G10 if extremely grippy, some have complained about the clip being in the way when griping the knife but I have large hands and did not even notice it. My main concern is with the clip though, it has a rather high profile and slides fairly easy in the pocket. I fixed this by ruffing up the material that makes contact with the pants and bent the tip of the clip slightly down. It no longer catches on anything or slides in my pocket. The company will back there warranty under almost any conditions, they truly stand behind there product. I am very happy with this knife and plan to carry it for a long time. p.s. This knife can be deployed is the same manner as the emmerson knifes.
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Patrick
CT
Dec 16, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Graet knife, excellent customer service!
Ordered and received this knife this month, Jason at customer service was excellent as usual! The knife came extreamly sharp and all these talks about how hard it was to open and close were all none sense! If you can operate a simple folder, you can operate this! The ease of opening and closing the blade is just like all my Spyderco, but the blade is twice as thick and the lock-up is SOLID! The weight of the knife is good, what's wrong with carrying a blade that has some weight to it?? What's a few more oz in your pocket going to be problem? I usually carry 2 knives and 2 guns...no big deal! In all, this is a great knife for the price, you have to handle one to really appreciate the quality!
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Diggitt
Northwest
Oct 29, 2012
Pros: Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Heavy use EDC
I've carried the original H.E.S.T. folder since it first came out & absolutely loved it. I saw the updates to the 2.0 with some interest, but was not convinced to buy one until they blacked it out. This edition is so overwhelmingly beautiful that I almost don't like carrying it. I do not yet have any experience with the new steel, but like the serrations on the blade. The only thing I lked better before was the holes in the pocket clip for a lanyard. Overall I love this knife & carry it daily. I use the tool as a necklace. The compas is legit, but the tool I'm not so sure about. At least it looks cool.
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joe S.
New Orleans LA
Oct 21, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
SOLID!
While the blade wasn't that sharp as i like out of the box, a few swipes of a fine diamond stone and sugar cane is no match for it. This knife is solid; smooth action. This is now my daily carry all around "go to" blade!
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Frank
san diego
Oct 19, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
tough
this is a great knife its light enough but still thick and strong feeling the d2 holds and edge well and can be brought back eaisly with just a steel much eaiser to sharpen thens30v and holds edge almost as well bottle opener works very well too
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joseph Ng
Vancouver, Canada
Oct 24, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great knife!
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Burly 82Nd
NY NY
Oct 19, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Locks up tight, solid utility knife
Using this as my edc for two weeks now. Stropped the edge a couple times (it was already sharp but I wanted to see how difficult the D2 steel edge was to work with). Though still sharp after 10 days I was able to take it up a bit with little effort. Other than that been giving it a pretty good workout with nothing bad to say. It's a bit chunky. It's not a thin spyderco or kershaw but it feels like something you can . Grip is very solid and the clip is tight without being difficult to clip onto your pocket or top of pants. . I would prefer the clip to be a little more subdued as opposed to the shiny steel color it comes but thats just me. Oh yeah the bottle opener is cool too
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
3Mmm
North Carolina
Dec 03, 2012
Pros: Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Weight, None
Rock Solid ECD/SHTF/Duty or Collector's Knife
I purchased this knife to use as my ECD and the HEST/F 2.0 T3 has turned out to be an awesome choice, practical and built like a tank. After a few week's it deploys instantly, very smooth mechanism and maintains an edge extremely well. It is a bit heavy for chino pockets, some may want to consider a sheath but jeans and BDU's are substantial enough to carry the weight.
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve S
Tamworth, UK
Jan 01, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
Very solid knife
I have this knife as part of my collection of interesting and unusual folders. I may include it in my EDC rotation if the situation demands a VERY strong knife with other capabilities as well. A bit stiff to open at times. Once open, I like the rotolock system from Lion Steel Knives and there logo can be found on the inside of the liners as the knife was out-sourced to them in Italy. The use of Titanium for the frame lock and other high end materials throughout make this a top quality, reliable and above all strong as an Ox knife. I love it!!!!
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Shrek
Iceland
Mar 13, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great EDC and more
The handle is perfect in shape and size for my hands (I have big hands), I really like that the G10 is on side and the titanium on the other. I love the shape of the blade. I think it is perfect as EDC. I use it every day for different task and take it with me on SAR missions as well.
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Fred S
Parker, Arizona
Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Gets the Job done
A couple of comments. This is a great folder. Very durable. One error in the literature is....the Titanium is noted as 6A14v. The correct designation is 6Al4V......Titanium composition is 90% with 6% Aluminum and 4% Vanadium. Hence the correct designation is 6Al4V Titanium. I'm a retired Boeing engineer and a picky bastard. I wish the designer made a point of explaining the tool.
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cormac
San Francisco
Oct 20, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Ease of Opening
Great Beefy Knife with bells and whistles
This is a solidly built folder with some great additional features. The pivot screw is set way too tight from the factory. I loosened it with the enclosed tool and added a few drops of lubrican to the pivot which improved things a bit. The "pry" is really just a fancy way of calling it a bottle opener. Still, a great knife.
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jeff
Phoenix AZ
Feb 07, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, None
How does DPx Gear make a folder like this for $175?
This knife is better than a Sebenza or Strider. The ergonomics are also unique and the quality is flawless. A beefy Ti frame folder with a razor sharp D2 blade and well thought out things the other knife makers haven't quite figured out yet. 1) You can lock the knife if you are doing heavy work. A simple idea that can save your fingers. 2) You can deploy the blade instantly from your pocket. It's faster than an auto, legal and has nothing to do with the "hook" method Emerson used. Plus the notch doubles as an opener. 3) Sits deep in your pocket. Couldnt sit any deeper. Nicely thought out. 4) Has glass breaker, hex driver, wire stripper, opener and frame lock. No bells and whistles, just smart functional use of the knife. 5) Puts the money where it should be. This knife was not designed to be a safe queen or a show off knife. Like the DPx HEST Original fixed blade, its look like a pair of jeans or cowboy boots. The pickup truck of folders. 6) DPx customer service. Legendary. They take care of you. Cruise the internet for how fast they replace or repair products. It's nice to see real people taking care of customers. 7) LionSteel normally makes $350 - $450 dollar knives. The HEST is a US design, using US Titanium and G10. The blade is German steel. You get Ferrari quality in a Ford product. 8) Tool. I didn't expect the tool but there is a cool skull adjustment, tool in there that looks like it would cast about $50 by itself. 9) Sharp, I mean sharp. And mine stays sharp. Probably the main reason you buy a knife. The tool steel blade is thick but it's as sharp as a razor 10) Tough. You can beat on this knife all day long. It is thick, solid slabs of material. Nothing delicate here. And if you can break it, bam. Lifetime no questions asked warranty kicks in.
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Skidmark
Seattle area
May 08, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, None
I like the knife
It took some getting used to, however, performance is first class. It is thicker than the knife it replaced. Materials are first class and operation is better than expected.
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike D.
Afghanistan
Dec 04, 2011
Pros: Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
Tough EDC
Great EDC knife. Tough design, yet light considering its thickness. The notch on the back of the blade enables prompt, one-handed opening when drawing from a pocket. The clip allows it to be remain quite deep in the pocket. Not certain about the functionality of the "wire strippers." With some slight modification the manufacturer could have turned them into a great edge with which to get a spark from a fire steel.
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Leslie S.
NYC
Oct 20, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Mac truck of a knife
The folks at DPx listened to advice about the first version. This second revision rocks. I like a "tight" knife for EDC, so this was perfect. The clip is well designed and rides low in the pocket. As far as being a "survival" knife, I would never go anywhere I might need one with a folder of ANY sort, I'd carry a heavy fixed blade with a carbon blade (The HEST's blade is D2) for chopping and heavy work. For other evryday and camp chores, the HEST seems perfect. I watched the mostly mixed reviews on YouTube, some loved the knife, others were less enthused. One proclaimed LionSteel's titanium to be "soft" and banged the knife on a rock to prove the point. I looked up the titanium, and found it to be of the perfect type for this application (same stuff jet engine fan blades are made of, and it states clearly that the ti frame is US made, not Italian). The knife locks up tightly and even after a few weeks of heavy outdoor use, there is no vertical or horizontal play or wobble. the German made D2 blade is THICK, and is nice and beefy all the way down to the tip. Razor sharp as well. I have some reservations about the 60-62 RC hardening, but like I said, I ain't goin' anywhere with a folder as my primary survival tool. I love the look of the knife. The stainless "tool" included is a HUGE plus. The G10 scale is grippy as hell. As with any new knife, time will tell the final story, but so far, I love it. As a matter of fact, I'd sooner take this into a hostile environment than my Sebenza. Can't beat the price, either.
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Skidmark
Arizona
Jan 09, 2018
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Durable Folder
I have owned and used this knife for 2 years. The hinge is still tight. I originally considered the knife bulky but no longer have that objection. The G10 is still "grippy" and I see no corrosion. I occasionally use the blade lock. It is more of an insurance policy, and has never folded inadvertently as expected. The D2 material does hold an edge and I added a lanyard.
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Justin D
Spangdahlem Air Base, Germany
Dec 20, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use
Great beefy knife
D2 tool grade steel retains its blade sharpness longer than any other steel I have ran into. I recently purchased a benchmade triage before this one and they are both amazing knifes, but this one is more practical for every day use. It's a solid knife that you can rely on to cut through anything. A little pricey but It's a sweet gadget taboot and it will last forever.
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Frank
san diego
Oct 19, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
tough
this is a great knife its light enough but still thick and strong feeling the d2 holds and edge well and can be brought back eaisly with just a steel much eaiser to sharpen thens30v and holds edge almost as well
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rnsams
Providence, RI
Aug 09, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Excellent update to hest folder
Fantastic update to the hest. The pod coating is great and the serrations work really well Witt the added bonus that they can be sharpened. Unfortunately, it is expensive but I have no buyers remorse and carry it daily. Fit and finish is definitely on par with strider and Emerson. Bottom line, great knife
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve C.
Reading, PA
Jul 07, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Better than a Sebenza!
The title says it all. In my opinion the knife is far more useful and ergonomic than the Sebbie. Locks up like a Swiss bank vault and came scary sharp. Much easier to sharpen than S30V and has far more utility than a Sebbie, for less than half the price. Please note this knife comes with a tool for adjustments to meet the user's needs, such as switching the glass breaker and lightening up the action. Most of the poor reviews are obviously from users who didn't USE the tool. They also seem to have a rather poor command of the English language. There may be a pattern there! The blade is thick, but this is a HARD use knife. Still an excellent slicer out of the box. I use this knife primarily for outdoor work, such as camping with the scouts, around the yard and saltwater fishing. When not in those roles it resides in the trunk of my car as a primary BOB knife. Very secure deep pocket carry. I replaced the factory scale with a blaze orange kryptoglow scale so it is always readily found. Standard ambi studs and reversible clip make this a great knife for lefties, even though they build a specific LH version!
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve C.
Reading, PA
Dec 27, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Obviously James has "issues".
Yes, I've sharpened it, used it sliced with it, cut fuzz sticks, etc. The handle is designed to be grippy, and that shouldn't be considered a "flaw". , it's a titanium composite and is the main Ti alloy used for just about everything. Better than a Sebenza for less than half the price.
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gary
Buford, Ga
Jul 14, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Perfect for EDC
Great for EDC as it's a perfect size for any pocket. Great grip, love the bottle opener and window breaker which just adds to it's function. Good pocket clip. Home run here. Knife Center had a GREAT price on this one. Very pleased.
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Yahdiel
Chicago il
Oct 19, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Awesome knife
I use this knife for everything there is really nothing this knife isnt good for. Great knife. It's now my edc. The only con is that it doesn't have a pry like the original H.E.S.T. But it's still beast!
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ray S.
Los Angeles, Ca
Oct 20, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
DPx Rocks!
This knife is very well built, strong blade, durable case, everything about this knife is awesome!!
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
David
HK
Mar 19, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Lock Type
Cons: Blade Material, None
Solid
the blade should bit longer, and the D2 will be rust, but the knife is solid,the lock up is tide.
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mrrampro
Georgia
Apr 10, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
A real tank
This blade is a beast. The blade stock is thick and lock is solid. If the blade had two slabs of titanium instead of G10 I would be in complete love. I carry mine often and love the handle shape. I definitely put it in my top 5. I have several high blades (CRK, Emerson and Several Customs) and this hangs with them for half to a third of the price.
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Nyappleguy
NYC
Oct 05, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Ease of Opening, None
Can't be beat for the money.
Got mine yesterday and this will definitely be my EDC for years to come. The knife is the perfect size for just about any task you may encounter. The whole package is appealing; it just FEELS right, the blade rotates open with a solid click that is satisfying, the blade is thick and beefy, yet tapers to a hair-shaving edge. The build quality is superb, no rough edges, etc, that you would expect in a production folder. The only reason the fifth star is missing is that the knife is TIGHT, to the point of being difficult to open with the studs, and even more difficult to close. I tried the pivot screw tool, but even when extremely loose, it seemed to have no real effect. I've read reviews that talk about the same problem, and the solution seems to involve disassembly and bending, two operations that I am not going to even attempt, as I am not any sort of a knifesmith. Maybe I'll give DPx a call, or someone will post a video. Any rate, this is a minor quibble regarding a terrific second edition of a fantastic knife at a price that can't be beat.
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
B.S.
Boston MA
Oct 21, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
Seems great so far....
I like the ergonomics and the rotolock feature. Overall this is an improvement over the first version, lighter and better. However time will tell if the locking mechanism continues to stay solid; I hope so! If It does then I'll give it a 5++!
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Disparatedan
Issaquah, Wa
Jul 11, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use
Light-weight, heavy duty
This is a good working folder and it clearly begs some hard use. It's just okay value for the money - feels solid and well-engineered, rather than premium to me. It is small and light enough to EDC - providing you can legally EDC a 3-inch-plus blade of course! - and it riders fairly deep in the pocket. However, I leave mine in the garage and grab it whenever I head out to do some yard work or on a hike. Ergonomics are good. Deployment is fast and smooth, and convenient in one hand or another. Its also easily adjustable via the provided tool. I find the handle very comfortable for my medium-large hands, no worries about sliding onto the blade because of the generous finger groove - gimping in the blade is a bit extreme though, because it doubles as wire strippers. Blade shape is excellent, with a generous belly for slicing/cutting, a serious point for piercing, and it is very sharp straight from the factory. I like the D2 steel so far, though I haven't tried to sharpen it. The uncoated parts of the blade tend to show rust spots - D2 is not a stainless steel, AFAIK, so it pays to keep the blade coated in a little machine oil or something similar. Where this knife loses a star is in the operation of the lock. It's an industry standard frame lock built with a titanium scale, but it tends to stick on occasion and needs prying open. Plus, although there is jimping on the part of the scale which forms the lock, it is not very ergonomic, and difficult to operate with one hand even when it doesn't stick. This is not a blade I want closing on my fingers accidentally.
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Carter C.
Clinton, UT
Jul 20, 2012
Pros: Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
Great EDC blade
Very nice Ti Frame Lock for the money. Don't worry about the drama or the hype behind this knife. Judging it only on being a small/medium sized folder this is an excellent blade
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Steve J
Rancho Santa Margarita, Ca
Oct 09, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, Pocket Clip, None
durable looking knife at an affordable price
I've edc'd several different kinds of knives but most of them were very practical ones and not as tactical or beefy. I decided to buy the Dpx Hest a try since it's like a Strider or Hinderer at a lower price and i have to say that i'm happy that i did. I have a Strider SNG and i know that the overall fit and finish isn't as good as the SNG but i have to say that i like all the features on this knife, especially the bottle opener. I know a lot of people don't like it and it does have controversy about it being a wave feature without paying credit but i really didn't buy it for the wave feature which it does decent but not as well as say a real Emerson or Spyderco wave. The only thing i really didn't like but was easily fixable was the pocket clip tension. It was way too loose. For that, and the fact that and the wave controversy i deducted one star.
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Billy L
Millington, Tn
Nov 22, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Pocket Clip
great EDC folder
love the knife. but not a fan of the rotoblock. love the serrations. a bit expensive. keep the tool on my keychain. could have replaced the g10 for another handle slab of titanium for the price i think. all in all a great knife.
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Td In Buffalo
Buffalo, NY
Nov 11, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
Good everyday carry knife
Purchased this knife to use as an every day front pocket carry knife. It fits this application well, the left handle is made to provide an effective non slip grip while the right side is smooth steel with a clip. It different and I like the way it works. Easy to draw and comfortable in the hand. I like this knife.
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Adam
Millersville, MD
Oct 04, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Handle Material, Ease of Opening, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great knife for the money
I just got this today and I have to say it looks like a great knife. The one thing you don't realize in the pictures is that the D2 blade is THICK. This is a knife you could abuse without fear of chipping...if you had to. I think this somewhat hinders the slicing capability of the blade, but that is a trade-off with any blade. The rest of the knife is G10/Titanium, so the overall weight is relatively light. The frame lock is solid, and I like that you can lock it into a fixed blade if needed. Pocket clip looks like it will hold up well.
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Reverend Schmidt
Dripping Springs, TX
Nov 22, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Pocket Clip, Lock Type
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, None
VG Stout Tactical Folder
Robust Blade Perfect Size Excellent Steel Real Glass Breaker Bottle Opener! G10 Scales on one side only Blade can stay locked open inadvertently
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Curt T.
Wichita, KS
Oct 03, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Very Nice
The only reason I didn't give this Knife a 5 out of 5 is because everything has something about it I don't like. This knife has just about everything you could want and is nearly perfect as far as I can tell thus far. I plan on this being my EDC knife and the fact that it converts easily from a folder to a fixed is exactly what I was looking for as utilizing a fixed as an EDC can pose its own problems. I'm very happy with this knife and for the price, I'm glad I am....it ain't cheap but so far I believe it is worth the money.
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bob L
Arizona
Aug 12, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
Good knife. I use for cutting up boxes during daily carry. Fit and finish are superior. A really high quality product. Would have liked examples of uses for skull tool prior to purchase.
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Trevor N
St Louis, Mo
Oct 15, 2011
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Pocket Clip
Good blade with a good price for the features
A good price point for a knife with it's features. I was pleasantly pleased at how small and light this knife is and how easy it is to pocket carry. For comparison it is a bit smaller and thinner than the ZT 350 and very comparable in size/weight to the to Buck Vantage large. The knife feels good in the hand, despite a pocket clip that is larger than it needs to be, and the G10 handle is nice and gripy. The blade opens smoothly with one hand and locks up solid as a bank vault with no blade blade, vertical or horizontal. Comes with the glass breaker on the butt end of the knife and ships with another more rounded stud if you wanted to change it out. D2 blade is a good steal and has a bottle opener on the spine for those of you who like to drink and play with sharp objects. Now this blade is not without some imperfections. First is the rotoblock, it rotates a bit too loosely and can engage sometimes when you are repositioning the knife in your hand. Not a huge problem and more of an inconvenience to closing the blade but a pain none the less. Next, the lockup is very tight, so tight that sometime I check to see if the rotoblock is engaged because it sticks that bad. Now that's better than a loose lockup and it has been getting better with use and wear but that can be a bit of a pain when trying to close the blade. Hopefully with wear and use this will get better. Third is the pocket clip that I mentioned earlier, too big in my opinion. I have a ZT 300 that is a beast of a knife that uses a pocket clip half the size so I have to believe that the pocket clip could be made smaller. If I could redesign the knife I would ditch the rotoblock for a lockbar stabilizer, have a smaller clip and smooth out that closing. That would make this an outstanding knife instead of a good knife. Knife came semi sharp but I never understand why folks get mad when a knife comes dull. I can understand if the grind is messed up but if it's just dull and you plan on using it then it's going to need to be sharpened at some point anyway. All in all I'm happy with knife and have heard that DPX has very good customer service to make things right if you have any issues with the knife.
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Chih Chien Lee
san francisco, ca
Oct 20, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
almost excellent
* for edc use * this knife is strong and can be trust! * weight is on heavy side * when open the knife is not smooth enough
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Justin S W
Las Vegas, Nv
Dec 30, 2011
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Handle Material, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use
Not very user friendly.
This knife is a tough piece of equipment. That said, the somewhat difficult break in period is probably worth it. I know there are a lot of good quality knives out there which have virtually no break in period. I'm sure this knife will be a sweet every day carry when it becomes easier to unlock and close. Right now my thumb hurts!!
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Chris D
Denton, TX
Oct 21, 2011
Pros: Pocket Clip, Handle Material, Blade Material
Cons: Overall Quality, None
Great Material but don't use as an EDC
The material used are top quality and so is the manufacturer. Unfortunately, only after 50 openings one of the mechnisms holding the blade came off. I didn't notice this later and as of now I'm afraid the blade will eventually come off as well.
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Joev
Houston, TX
Oct 25, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, Lock Type
Cons: Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, None
Not Bad after some tweaking
This is my current EDC. Great carry, feel, and quality. I love the clip that allows it to carry deep in the pocket. The blade wasn't that sharp out of the box, but fixed it up on my Spyderco Sharpmaker (it took a while with the D2). Initially, the blade was extremely hard/slow to open. it felt like there was grit or something in the pivot. Also once the blade was locked out, it was near impossible to disengage the framelock. I had to use something strong to pry the lock bar open. I also had to tighten the screw that holds the little spinning lock out mechanism because it would always inadvertently engage/disengage. I took the knife apart and low and behold the pivot was completely dry and it actually had some sort of fibers caught up in the pivot and screws. After cleaning sharpening, cleaning, lubricating, and trying to bend the framelock just a bit to loosen it's tension, the knife works great.
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
J.R.Rollins
Orland PK Il
Oct 12, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, None
Cons: Lock Type, Handle Material, Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
not happy
Well I took the knife out of the box and opened and closed it and cliped it on my pocket and the screw that holds the clip broke.Not 5 min out of the box.It was the glass breaker one.It took me some time to get the broke threads out so i could put the other screw in. The other things I thought would be cool about this knife arnt.The wire stripers dont work .The 1/4 inch socket hole is in the G10 handle .Its like plastic and wont hold up to any force.The other side is coverd by the clip so if you use the metal side the clip has to be taken off. One side of the knife is steel the othes side is only the G10 handle.No metal for any support. The blade sticks in the open position and the special lock for the blade makes no sence to me.The only thng I like is the thick blade every thing else is a waste off money.
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
J.Rollins
Orland PK Il
Oct 29, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, None
Cons: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
sent it back
Right out of the box the glass breaker screw that holds the clip broke. I had to dig out the broke part and put the other screw in.All the tool on the knife arnt well thought out. The wire stripers dont work the 1/4 inch socket you have to remove the clip to use the metal side of it.The other side is G10 plastic.Theres no metal on one side of the knife the screws go into plastic.The blade is hard to open and if you try to adjust it it gos from hard to open to way loose.No inbetween.The blade is nice and thick I do like that but would be afraid that with only plastic for one side it wouldent hold up to hard work.This is why I sent it back.I wrote a review when i first got it but its not on this page?
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Jake
California
Jun 25, 2012
Pros: None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Not worth the money
I got this knife thinking it would be awesome and and epic knife. I was wrong... You can get very similar knives from buck, kershaw, and benchmade. Not totally similar but just as good...the construction is pretty solid but unless you are in the military or some guy who thinks he is, then you don't need the super thick steel. Nearly 200 bucks for this knife is a rip off. In my opinion it doesnt meet the fit an finish for that kind of cash. Not easy to open and very stiff. If I drop some dough on a blade there shouldn't be a "break in period" that is just laziness on the part of the manufacturer and their praying on knife nuts to want "awesome stuff" that we really don't need.
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Bernardo A.
Santiago, Other
Oct 12, 2011
Pros: None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
save your money
This knife looks great, but blade comes very dull and very thick. When I open it, blade rattles, because lock system don´t work well. Finally is hard to open and hard to release lock. Please save your money and get a ka-bar and spyderco folder for the same money amount and you will not regret.
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Kodiak Pa
Kodiak Ak
Feb 10, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality, Lock Type
Lock stock, Galling, Sticky Lock
Very disappointed. The stickiest lock I ever had even after using graphite. Tried breaking it in by opening & closing a few hundred times & then it developed rock lock. Never even cut anything with it. Sending it back to DPx. Well see how their customer service is. Overall I can't recommend this knife or company.
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
James
Aberdeen, WA
Jun 28, 2013
Pros: Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Soft Ti - Bad Blade Geomerty. Too many "features" Not a good KNIFE.
Too thick of a blade left @ the cutting edge - forcing the manufacture to use a steep angle to make is 'sharp'. The cutting edge is too obtuse. I shouldn't have to re-profile the cutting edge on a $175 knife. I've tried 3 of these now - all turds. Starting with the V1.0 that was REALLY bad. People that mention it is sharp out of the box could be right - but wait until they try to resharpen it and find the angle inaccuracy. BTW it's not the steel - the D2 is nice - it just wasn't prepared correctly to be a good slicer - THAT is what D2 steel shines at is slicing - but in order to slice you have to have a symmetrical edge not a crooked sharpened wedge. I also think that people's level of SHARP are subjective - Any dime-store Chinese junker can be made 'sharp' but that doesn't mean it has the right geometry to be a good cutter. Lawnmower blades come "sharp" but I don't carry one of those in my pocket either. The Titanium is much softer than the other 6Al4V Titanium used in most folders in this price range - Why is that a problem? Because the the Ti is very soft compared to the hardened D2 steel blade - and the Ti wears quickly forcing the frame lock to become STICKY and go too deep. So this can be ignored as the lock get deeper and harder to unlock or you can Carbidize the Ti lockface - ANOTHER thing that I should not have to do. How about making it a nice knife from the beginning? The fit & finish are OK but not great - I.E. the scales and the spacers are not aligned properly. The G10 has a rough finish with uneven rounding that looks like it was just ignored or decided to be "good enough" To me - not good enough for the price. The gadget appeal is there for the ALL IN ONE guys - but for real - every gadget part is poorly done besides the bottle opener. The 1/4" drive is a joke. The wire-strippers don't work well vs just shaving the sheathing off of the wire (any knife can do this) The Glass breaker is not hardened enough to actually break glass without rounding - tested this 2 times and the second time it DID break but ruined the "glass breaker" I think I could have punched ANY handle through the window that hard & the glass would have broken. Everything I've mentioned is ONLY about the KNIFE - I did have the chance to meet the "designer" RYP 2 times & he is the best advertisement NOT to buy this knife there is. He is egotistical & denies anything could be wrong with his design or product - Not cool. That enough should have steered me away - but despite that - I've still lined his pockets too many times. I just want a good knife for the money - I have hundreds of knives - I'm a collector & a user. This one is a for-sure pass. Overall there are a ton of better knives out there for the money. This being my 3rd attempt to like one - 1- V1.0 & 2- V2.0s I doubt I got all the bad ones each time.
DPx Gear HEST 2.0 Right Handed Folder 3.25" D2 Black Plain Blade, Titanium and OD G10 Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
James
Aberdeen, WA
Jul 01, 2013
Pros: Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Soft Ti - Bad Blade Geomerty. Too many "features" Not a good KNIFE.
Too thick of a blade left @ the cutting edge - forcing the manufacture to use a steep angle to make is 'sharp'. The cutting edge is too obtuse. I shouldn't have to re-profile the cutting edge on a $175 knife. I've tried 3 of these now - all turds. Starting with the V1.0 that was REALLY bad. People that mention it is sharp out of the box could be right - but wait until they try to resharpen it and find the angle inaccuracy. BTW it's not the steel - the D2 is nice - it just wasn't prepared correctly to be a good slicer - THAT is what D2 steel shines at is slicing - but in order to slice you have to have a symmetrical edge not a crooked sharpened wedge. I also think that people's level of SHARP are subjective - Any dime-store Chinese junker can be made 'sharp' but that doesn't mean it has the right geometry to be a good cutter. Lawnmower blades come "sharp" but I don't carry one of those in my pocket either. The Titanium is much softer than the other 6Al4V Titanium used in most folders in this price range - Why is that a problem? Because the the Ti is very soft compared to the hardened D2 steel blade - and the Ti wears quickly forcing the frame lock to become STICKY and go too deep. So this can be ignored as the lock get deeper and harder to unlock or you can Carbidize the Ti lockface - ANOTHER thing that I should not have to do. How about making it a nice knife from the beginning? The fit & finish are OK but not great - I.E. the scales and the spacers are not aligned properly. The G10 has a rough finish with uneven rounding that looks like it was just ignored or decided to be "good enough" To me - not good enough for the price. The gadget appeal is there for the ALL IN ONE guys - but for real - every gadget part is poorly done besides the bottle opener. The 1/4" drive is a joke. The wire-strippers don't work well vs just shaving the sheathing off of the wire (any knife can do this) The Glass breaker is not hardened enough to actually break glass without rounding - tested this 2 times and the second time it DID break but ruined the "glass breaker" I think I could have punched ANY handle through the window that hard & the glass would have broken. Overall there are a ton of better knives out there for the money. This being my 3rd attempt to like one - 1- V1.0 & 2- V2.0s I doubt I got all the bad ones each time.