Reviews and Ratings for Schrade SCH112 Shasta McNasty Karambit Fixed 5.21" Double Edged Hawkbill Blade, Thermoplastic Elastomer Handles, Thermoplastic Sheath

Schrade SCH112 Shasta McNasty Karambit Fixed 5.21" Double Edged Hawkbill Blade, Thermoplastic Elastomer Handles, Thermoplastic Sheathrated 3.882 stars out of 5 (17 reviews)
3.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
3
3 star
5
2 star
2
1 star
0
Schrade SCH112 Shasta McNasty Karambit Fixed 5.21 inch Double Edged Hawkbill Blade, Thermoplastic Elastomer Handles, Thermoplastic Sheath

 

Price: $35.95

Save $23.04 (39%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Schrade SCH112 Shasta McNasty Karambit Fixed 5.21" Double Edged Hawkbill Blade, Thermoplastic Elastomer Handles, Thermoplastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Old School
Norman , Oklahoma
Dec 11, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Serious Business
This knife is well made and is a serious piece of business. Schrade evidently put some serious thought into this design. The weapon is well balanced , well constructed , aesthetically simple , and purposeful. I purchased this item as a home defense back up piece and find it more than adequate for the purpose. If one has had edged weapons training / experience then this might well be a nice addition to the collection. For the uninitiated , the immature , or the less than agile , then this may not be your best choice. I put quite a bit of product research into this knife before purchasing as well as reading reviews. I am very pleased with the product , Knifecenter.com , and the more than reasonable price.
Schrade SCH112 Shasta McNasty Karambit Fixed 5.21" Double Edged Hawkbill Blade, Thermoplastic Elastomer Handles, Thermoplastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jimbo
Houston
Apr 11, 2017
Pros: None
Cons: None
Excellent large karambit
Excellent large bladed karambit sheath would be better if it was kydex
Schrade SCH112 Shasta McNasty Karambit Fixed 5.21" Double Edged Hawkbill Blade, Thermoplastic Elastomer Handles, Thermoplastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Blade
Indianapolis
Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Just what I was looking for!!!
This karambit turned out better than I thought it would. The weight and feel are spot on and feels very comfortable in my hand. I was wanting a good usable double edge blade that was sharp and this fit the bill - both edges are razor sharp with no need to touch it up on the sharpening rods. Easy to carry I just slip my belt through the slot and over the sheath and it holds it very secure. I'm used to karambits so pulling it out of the sheath and resheathing it is not a problem for me. This is every bit as good as the expensive karambits that I own - $300.00 and up. I highly recommend this to anyone that is looking for a top notch double edge karambit, It is part of my EDC.
Schrade SCH112 Shasta McNasty Karambit Fixed 5.21" Double Edged Hawkbill Blade, Thermoplastic Elastomer Handles, Thermoplastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jerod
TX
Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Great knife!
The knife is very sharp of the box. It holds an edge very well and is quite durable. For the price, it is an excellent product. I use it mainly for self defense and the thing scary looking and definitely turns heads with it on your belt. The sheath is a bit tricky as you have to pull it out and put it back in at the right angle or it won't go in properly. Overall, a quality knife that will serve you well in case you ever need to defend yourself.
Schrade SCH112 Shasta McNasty Karambit Fixed 5.21" Double Edged Hawkbill Blade, Thermoplastic Elastomer Handles, Thermoplastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Freddy-P
Arizona
Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Finish, None
Cons: Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard
Perfect
The first double edged karambit I have found without going full custom. Excellent balance and craftsmanship. If you have large hands, this knife might not be for you as space is limited in the grip even though the knife is large. Small to medium hands will like it fine. The plastic sheath is odd in how its arranged to place on the belt. I will have it replaced by a kydex made to my draw. However, the sheath is good to leave on for practice. Dont know why Shrade keeps appearing and disappearing. They always made good knives and this one is no different.gummy grip gives great hold but Im curious to see over time how it holds up. Worth the money easily. A serious fighting tool.
Schrade SCH112 Shasta McNasty Karambit Fixed 5.21" Double Edged Hawkbill Blade, Thermoplastic Elastomer Handles, Thermoplastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tasha
San Antonio, Tx
Jan 18, 2018
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Best ever
I have many Karambits and this one is a monster of a war blade. Super sharp out the box well balanced and the price is perfect for such a blade getting another...
Schrade SCH112 Shasta McNasty Karambit Fixed 5.21" Double Edged Hawkbill Blade, Thermoplastic Elastomer Handles, Thermoplastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jezzebel
California
May 28, 2018
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Finish, Blade Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Gift for husband
Price was more than great for quality of the knives I purchased. The man is obsessed with guns and knives and their quality. He and I were very impressed with both. The krambit was very sharp on both edges. The only cons were that he thought the hole at the end was a bit big, the sheath wasn't very sturdy and even though the beginnings of both sides were crazy sharp the bottom half of the knife wasn't quite that sharp at all. Overall he and I LOVE IT. Over two weeks later and still won't stop playing with it. It was huge. Price was awesome and I will definitely be buying from here again for him and probably myself too. Haha
Schrade SCH112 Shasta McNasty Karambit Fixed 5.21" Double Edged Hawkbill Blade, Thermoplastic Elastomer Handles, Thermoplastic Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
J
USA
Nov 04, 2019
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Finish
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Great knife, poorly designed and dangerous sheath
This is truly one of my favourite knives. Very large, I'd almost rather call it a war karambit. And considering it's one of the only affordable double edged fixed (as they should be) karambits on the market, it's a no brainer. HOWEVER, as a few others have noted part of the back edge of the sheath is exposed. This is to make the knife easier to extract, but when I first bought it I didn't know about this. Whilst fumbling with the bubble wrap and such I pulled on the sheath and to my surprise I had gotten a very deep gaping laceration on the tip of my middle finger. If I hadn't had a nurse around I likely would've lost a big chunk of it. If you want to continue to have feeling in your finger tips, please be VERY careful with this blade. But still, worth it though. I actually even bought a second one!
Schrade SCH112 Shasta McNasty Karambit Fixed 5.21" Double Edged Hawkbill Blade, Thermoplastic Elastomer Handles, Thermoplastic Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Daniel
North Providence , Ri
Dec 27, 2017
Pros: None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Very big
Blade came sharp as he**. Only complaint is the sheath it came with. Looks like it’s going to fall apart. Very cheap looking. Fits excellent in a under arm holster.
Schrade SCH112 Shasta McNasty Karambit Fixed 5.21" Double Edged Hawkbill Blade, Thermoplastic Elastomer Handles, Thermoplastic Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Joe H
LA
May 22, 2017
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Good knife, poor shesth
Love the knife, but sheath is not user friendly. Requires both hands to remove the knife
Schrade SCH112 Shasta McNasty Karambit Fixed 5.21" Double Edged Hawkbill Blade, Thermoplastic Elastomer Handles, Thermoplastic Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Robbiec
Florida
Sep 05, 2019
Pros: None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Knife great, sheath is dangerous.
The sheath has a long gap on the top edge. Grasping the sheath like you would most sheaths puts your thumb directly over this opening. A fast draw can leave you with a severed artery and severed medial nerve. Ask me how I know.
Schrade SCH112 Shasta McNasty Karambit Fixed 5.21" Double Edged Hawkbill Blade, Thermoplastic Elastomer Handles, Thermoplastic Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Paul
Lewiston, Ny
Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Materials, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness
Knife 5 star - Sheath 1 star
Knife overall is very good. I wish there was a bit more handle as my hand would move onto the blade slightly when grasping tightly. The sheath is almost unusable. Extremely difficult to remove the knife and almost impossible to re-sheath. The blade has quite a curve to it and it must slide precisely between the retaining nubs and into the sheath or the blade cuts into the nubs and prevents insertion.
Schrade SCH112 Shasta McNasty Karambit Fixed 5.21" Double Edged Hawkbill Blade, Thermoplastic Elastomer Handles, Thermoplastic Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
M
Auckland,
Feb 19, 2018
Pros:
Cons:
Good knife bad case
Very good knife, terribly bad case, it will not let u flick out
Schrade SCH112 Shasta McNasty Karambit Fixed 5.21" Double Edged Hawkbill Blade, Thermoplastic Elastomer Handles, Thermoplastic Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Ted R
Virginia Beach, Va
Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Weight, Finish, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Large Karambit
A very interesting design for a large K-bit. However, the handle/grip space is too small and will cramp a large hand and position the hand too close to the sharpened reverse edge. The sheath is awful! It has limited attachment points and is poorly designed; making blade release very difficult.
Schrade SCH112 Shasta McNasty Karambit Fixed 5.21" Double Edged Hawkbill Blade, Thermoplastic Elastomer Handles, Thermoplastic Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Wolfman
Pa
May 11, 2017
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Great blade, Sheath Sucks
This is the 1st Karambit I bought. I'm no expert but I'll give you a first time buyers thoughts. Blade is excellent, very sharp. The handle is a bit small in my XL hands but still functions. The sheath SUCKS. The blade likes to stick. Even drawing and resheathing the blade over and over it still sticks.
Schrade SCH112 Shasta McNasty Karambit Fixed 5.21" Double Edged Hawkbill Blade, Thermoplastic Elastomer Handles, Thermoplastic Sheath
rated 2 stars out of 5
Archerl
Castle Rock, CO
Jan 16, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Finish, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Overall Quality
Not For Everyone
Awkward. That about sums it up. As small as my hands are, I cannot keep them off the blade, due to the very small handle. The ring is way too large to be of any use, without gloves. If your using this as a conceal carry...be careful, as the sheath is open on the back, and the blade becomes exposed as soon as you start taking it out. I will be making a new leather sheath for this immediately. It was INCREDIBLY sharp out of the package. Very impressed. Overall...i think the handle design is horrible, sheath functionakity is worsemaking the knife very unnecessarily dangerous. I dont recommend, unless you plan on modifying, or have the hands of a little kid.
Schrade SCH112 Shasta McNasty Karambit Fixed 5.21" Double Edged Hawkbill Blade, Thermoplastic Elastomer Handles, Thermoplastic Sheath
rated 2 stars out of 5
Harold
WA
Sep 11, 2018
Pros: None
Cons: Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard
Cut Yourself
Sharp blade is right next to your hand. One slip and your have a serious cut. No hand guard or protection at all.