Reviews and Ratings for Schrade 152OT Old Timer Sharpfinger Fixed 3.5" Blade, Delrin Handles

Schrade 152OT Old Timer Sharpfinger Fixed 3.5" Blade, Delrin Handlesrated 4.682 stars out of 5 (22 reviews)
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
18
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
1
1 star
0
Schrade 152OT Old Timer Sharpfinger Fixed 3.5 inch Blade, Delrin Handles

 

Price: $17.95

Save $10.04 (36%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Schrade 152OT Old Timer Sharpfinger Fixed 3.5" Blade, Delrin Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Don S
Langley, BC, Cdn
Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
a real "Old Timer"
Bought my Old Timer 42 years ago in 1974 and still use it today. Very light weight. Great for doing finicky skinning. Always sharp. Easy to hold. Great memories every time I pull it out to use.
Schrade 152OT Old Timer Sharpfinger Fixed 3.5" Blade, Delrin Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ak
Indiana
Feb 19, 2020
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Awesome Affordable EDC blade
This is a excellent knife in general. I use it as my EDC fixed blade. Blade is ideal length for carry. Not to long but short enough to conceal under a shirt tail if needed. Edge hair popping sharp. Great for hunting general use or self defense. Yes they are made in China now but so what they work. The Cr17 high carbon stainless steel holds its edge. I bought 2 just in case I lose 1. Very happy with this blade and the sheath.
Schrade 152OT Old Timer Sharpfinger Fixed 3.5" Blade, Delrin Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matt
MTTA OHIO
Feb 19, 2014
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Finish, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
MY NEW 152OT BLACK CAMO
MY DAD BOUGHT A FRIEND AND I A SCHRADE OLD TIMER 152 OTBC BLACK CAMO VERSION WITH BLACK COATED FINISH BLADE. NOT SURE WHERE MY DAD BOUGHT THEM AT BUT THEY ARE PRETTY NICE LOOKING AND HAS THE TAN LEATHER SHEATH THAT FITS THE KNIFE VERY SNUG AND TIGHT FIT DOES NOT MOVE AROUND IN SHEATH AT ALL. MY FRIEND AND I CARRIED THEM SQUIRRL HUNTING BUT NEVER GOT A CHANCE TO TRY THEM OUT. THE WAY THE KNIFE IS DESIGNED IT WOULD BE TWO HARD TO USE ON A DEER DUE TO SHAPE OF BLADE THE KNIFE IS MORE SUITED FOR SQUIRRL AND RABBIT HUNTING. NICE KNIFE TO BAD DID NOT GET TO USE IT THIS PAST HUNTING SEASON BUT OH WELL MABE NEXT SEASON I HOPE. THIS IS THE ONLY NEWER SERIES SCHRADE KNIFE THAT I OWN. ALL THE REST OF MY HUNTING KNIVES ARE THE BUCK BRAND MY VERY FIRST HUNTING KNIFE WAS A BUCK 110 MADE IN 1974.
Schrade 152OT Old Timer Sharpfinger Fixed 3.5" Blade, Delrin Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kevin A
Indianapolis, IN
Feb 01, 2016
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Weight, Finish, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
review on Schrade 152OT
I have several Old Timer knives. I use this when I run my trap line it is with me. The way the tip is that the tip works it makes skinning in the field easy. I like it so much I bought 3 more as Christmas. It comes with a nice sheath, I make my own, I just like the tooling I can make for it.
Schrade 152OT Old Timer Sharpfinger Fixed 3.5" Blade, Delrin Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike
Jacksonville florida
Jul 12, 2015
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great knife
Great knife awesome blade holds a great edge after a litte time on the diamond stone love the handle ive skinned probably half a dozen deer with this knife. Love this knife highly recommend this knife to everyone
Schrade 152OT Old Timer Sharpfinger Fixed 3.5" Blade, Delrin Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sake'
OC Calif
May 23, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Great little knife
...Great for cutting steak.
Schrade 152OT Old Timer Sharpfinger Fixed 3.5" Blade, Delrin Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Longshadow
WA
Jun 06, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Blade for Real World Use
Though it is not the 152 Sharpfinger of older days and USA manufacture, the design of the 152OT, 152T, and others numbers given to the camo and the various handle versions now made in Taiwan are all great knives for quick and fine work. I have used the 1095 carbon steel version for years and dealt with the corrosion prevention that is essential. I have two of these older ones, one in the truck kit and one in the motorcycle kit, and have used them frequently over the past 50 years for daily tasks requiring a sharp, precise and nimble blade. When tramping rain forests or fishing coastal waters though I'll swap those for the newer 7CR17 stainless versions that work just as well and are easier to keep clean & bright. Just rinse with fresh water and wipe them dry. No oiling/waxing required. These stainless ones serve like a wash & wear, non-wrinkling shirt in comparison to the 152's older though higher quality button down business shirt that requires ironing after the washing is done. I have the stainless versions from Taiwan too, so I know they work just as well if you know how to use them. They don't hold the edge as long as the older 1095 versions, but they sharpen very quickly. Understand that the Sharpfinger is not going to be used with batons to build an overnight shelter like the bigger Shrade SCHF series . It is not the "One Tool" EOTWAWKI survival blade. But for real world work in the wild places just pack a hatchet along and the Sharpfinger is the only knife you're going to need. It'll make light work of fuzz sticks, delicately slit open skin to surgically remove a deep sliver, and breeze through any fish/game processing. Splitting bones, of course, is one of those tasks reserved for the hatchet you're hauling around. Yeah, maybe a big SCHF can do the bone splitting too. But then, imagine getting that deep splinter out with a big Bowie knife. That wouldn't work out well for most of us. As for sharpening, I keep a razor's edge on stainless and on carbon steel Sharpfingers by setting the edge angle at about 25 degrees and finishing the stainless ones with a simple dog-bone style ceramic triangle hone. For the carbon steel ones I'll finish with a razor strop. The stainless ones, like advertised above, don't need the strop. The stainless ones get hair-shaving sharp with a fine grit ceramic. In response to a previous comment on the factory cutting edge that flattens uselessly as you get close to the hilt/handle end, I agree with the observation. For fine cuts, even slicing a fishing line, the instinctive motion is to cut close to the hilt/handle of the blade. With the factory edge it's like you're trying to cut with the spine of the knife. But it can be fixed with an hour or so of careful filing. A few minutes on the right machine might do it, but I do this stuff by hand, just as if I were off-grid. I've extended the cutting edge all the way to the curve that sweeps down from the spine on all my Sharpfinger models. It makes detailed carving like trap triggers much less work since you get the leverage and control closer to your grip/power point. Cutting rope/twine is instinctive because you can hold the blade in the strong hand, hold the rope/twine in the weak hand, and hook the rope/twine with the thumb of the strong hand as a means to work the rope/twine across the cutting edge. Here's the bottom line: $20 or so for a Sharpfinger as your cutting tool in the real world + $30 or so for a small hatchet as your hacking tool in the real world + $40 or so for your EOTWAWKI SCHF 36/37/38 that stays in the truck until you walk away from its useless carcass, and you've got your bases pretty well covered. And it's a long way from the $300 - $400, or more, that some people spend for their hyped-up One Tool Option. The Sharpfinger works, and works well. But, that's just my opinion. Your call from here.
Schrade 152OT Old Timer Sharpfinger Fixed 3.5" Blade, Delrin Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Corey K
estevan saskatchewan canada
Feb 16, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
schrade old timer
great knife it is light and handles well. I use this knife every day it has to many uses to name
Schrade 152OT Old Timer Sharpfinger Fixed 3.5" Blade, Delrin Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Robert Clark
west haven,ct
Dec 03, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Weight, Finish, Sheath/Scabbard, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Materials
everyday use
Schrade 152OT Old Timer Sharpfinger Fixed 3.5" Blade, Delrin Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gary
Mathews County, Virginia
Mar 31, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Wonderful Knife by SCHRADE
I have purchased many of these Sharpfinger Knifes by Schrade over the years. Although they are manufactured in China now, the quality has remained the same. Excellent hunting & Skinning Kinife in a small package. I give these knifes away as gifts. many of my friends use these knifes.
Schrade 152OT Old Timer Sharpfinger Fixed 3.5" Blade, Delrin Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Andy
Middle TN
Sep 09, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Materials, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Only knife I hunt with
I started hunting deer 30 years ago with a Sharpfinger, (152OT). Now I have my second one. Thirty years ago, they were carbon blades, and I was a little hesitant about the 7cr17MoV blade steel. I have to say that out of the box it was razor sharp, and after opening week of dove season, it is holding an edge with just light stopping. The size and shape of the blade is perfect for both small game, and field dressing larger game. I have hunted with a Sharpfinger for 30 Years, with a few other knives here and there, but I keep coming back to the Sharpfinger. The 152OT, and a folder will be all that goes into the hunting field with me from here on out. I just can't beat the ease of use of that blade, and the size of the knife. This one I can wear in the truck on the way to the woods, without it getting in the way.
Schrade 152OT Old Timer Sharpfinger Fixed 3.5" Blade, Delrin Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike
Jacksonville florida
Jul 12, 2015
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great knife
Great knife awesome blade holds a great edge after a litte time on the diamond stone love the handle ive skinned probably half a dozen deer with this knife. Love this knife, highly recommend this knife to everyone.
Schrade 152OT Old Timer Sharpfinger Fixed 3.5" Blade, Delrin Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Paul A.
Salt Lake City
Dec 29, 2011
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
My new favorite knife.
I own a lot of different kinds of knives and this may be my favorite knife ever. It's hard to describe how versatile this knife is, but I use it for everything from opening packages to hiking to cutting my steak. I don't hunt, so I don't skin animals, but this knife is far more useful than performing that task. The full-tang blade is thick and the handle scales are satisfying to handle. The grind on the blade gradually converges to a cutting edge from the base (it isn't sharpened near the lowest point). The blade length is just about perfect for general use. My only complaint with the Sharpfinger is the difficulty with sharpening. I own a USA-made knife (pre-2004) and getting a razor sharp edge on this knife is exasperating, but the 90% edge I am able to put on it is very durable and gets most every job done with style. Maybe the new ones are better in this regard. In any case, I highly recommend this knife. It is not just a "skinning knife". It is a fine tool from a great company. I expect to use mine for the rest of my long life.
Schrade 152OT Old Timer Sharpfinger Fixed 3.5" Blade, Delrin Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Skott H
Jamestown, Tn
Mar 23, 2016
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material
A piece of history.
I've been using one of these in the process of putting food on my table for over 20 years now. It was my father's. He used it for the same purpose for as long as I can remember. I field dressed my first buck with it under his supervision, as did my older brother. My brother doesn't hunt for food anymore so when dad passed away I got the "meat knife". I don't know when or where my father bought it, or how much he paid. It just says Schrade USA 152 at the base of the blade, it came in a good quality leather sheath that holds it very well, out of the way, but quickly accessible. The handle doesn't get too slippery when bloody to hinder the accuracy of the blade and it's plenty sturdy for tough cuts while still being light enough to work through an elk or a bear without getting heavy in your hand. There are newer handle materials that definately give you a better grip when wet/bloody, but this trusty ol' workhorse has never failed me. I honestly couldn't tell you how many fish, rabbit, squirrel, dove, quail, grouse, duck, geese, deer, elk or bear this knife has helped put on my families dinner tables over the years, but I can tell you it takes and holds an edge today as well as it did all those years ago. And if they're using better steel now, well..... You just can't go wrong. At least, that's the plain and simple truth about the knife in my humble opinion.
Schrade 152OT Old Timer Sharpfinger Fixed 3.5" Blade, Delrin Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dino
Fairfield, Illinois
Dec 28, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Christmas gift, I don't use.
Schrade 152OT Old Timer Sharpfinger Fixed 3.5" Blade, Delrin Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Modernblacksmith
Kansas
Oct 19, 2009
Pros: Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Wow!
I have an old timers knife like this that was my grandfathers and i received it about 4 years ago and don't know how old it is but i sharpened it one time and it holds a blade like nothing i ever seen Mine says made in the USA. and has a number 152 on it. and it must be really old.
Schrade 152OT Old Timer Sharpfinger Fixed 3.5" Blade, Delrin Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Paul A.
Salt Lake City
Dec 29, 2011
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
Every day carry. Hiking. Camping. Daily chores.
Schrade 152OT Old Timer Sharpfinger Fixed 3.5" Blade, Delrin Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mason
Shady cove OR.
Aug 16, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Old timer
Got this awhile ago and am totally happy with it. I am a man who cares about quality. Yes it may 15 buck's but that doesn't mean its junk it means your getting a steal. My dad got the original Old timer 34 almost 35 years ago and its still in fantastic condition and it hasent been sitting in a drawer somewhere it has processed many deer in its day and been abused regularly. You wont find another deal like this so dont pass this up.
Schrade 152OT Old Timer Sharpfinger Fixed 3.5" Blade, Delrin Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Halfslam
Utah
Aug 04, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
I bought this for gift to my son
Schrade 152OT Old Timer Sharpfinger Fixed 3.5" Blade, Delrin Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
John S
Blue Ridge , Georgia
Dec 30, 2012
Pros: Weight, Handle Material, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great all pourpose knife
I own an old Carbon steel Sharp Finger and have purchased the newer China made stainless steel sharp fingers for friends as gifts . The shape of the blade is fantastic for just about everything . The newer china made knives are made very well and everyone I've given one to has really enjoyed working with it . The blade is thick enough to do some work and it fits the hand in a few positions that feel near perfect . A great utilitarian knife of medium duty
Schrade 152OT Old Timer Sharpfinger Fixed 3.5" Blade, Delrin Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Matunaagah
The northeastern forests
Oct 06, 2009
Pros: Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness
Good knife if you have a large double cut file.
This knife comes with pretty much no edge. Think hardware store hatchet. Yep. So I put an edge on it myself. Luckily, I am good enough at this to not ruin it. Once this was done, the knife held a pretty good edge through some basic tests. In my opinion, it is a field dressing knife and little else. I love the sheath. I would have payed $15 for the sheath alone.
Schrade 152OT Old Timer Sharpfinger Fixed 3.5" Blade, Delrin Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Joe
Portland
Apr 24, 2014
Pros: None
Cons: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cheap Plastic Handle-Not What They Used To Be
Just bought one of these at a local B&M store in order to get the sheath for my old real Sharpfinger (American made carbon steel). The handles are not delrin, but a cheaper lightweight plastic. The balance is horrible compared to the real Sharpfinder, the handle feels and sounds like it's hollow molded plastic, rather than machined delrin. I bought it for the sheath though, which is what you'd expect with a $15 knife. Functional, but nothing special.