Reviews and Ratings for Schrade Uncle Henry Pro Hunter Fixed 5.375" Satin Blade, Delrin Stag Handles, Brown Leather Sheath - 171UH

Schrade Uncle Henry Pro Hunter Fixed 5.375" Satin Blade, Delrin Stag Handles, Brown Leather Sheathrated 4.2860000000000005 stars out of 5 (7 reviews)
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Schrade Uncle Henry Pro Hunter Fixed 5.375 inch Satin Blade, Delrin Stag Handles, Brown Leather Sheath

 

Price: $32.95

Save $22.04 (40%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Schrade Uncle Henry Pro Hunter Fixed 5.375" Satin Blade, Delrin Stag Handles, Brown Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Glen.
(rural) Wyoming
Sep 10, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Excellent knife..

I to have another one I bought in the early '80's while livng in Alaska. Just bought this other one a few months ago to check it out. The fit and overall finish of this one is actually superior to my first one. I can't find anything wrong with it just because it was assembled in China, except that now it dosen't cost as much. Came to me as sharp as a damn razor blade and hold's the edge very very well.Easy to razor back up to. Just pass it lightly a couple of times over a piece of good honing steel and you're right back in business. I'vd not tried the sharpening stone that come's with it but I have examined it and I know it'll work if the knife ever get's dull enough to need it. I'vd skinned several deer with it, cleaned several catfish, several squirrels and rabbits, operated on my dog's foot with it and removed a bad briar, sliced steaks off of a couple of aligator tails, and also have used it in my kitchen working with vegetables. (raw celery, raw potatoes, raw carrots, etc etc). It is a well balanced tool, and I am damn proud to own it...Glen..
Schrade Uncle Henry Pro Hunter Fixed 5.375" Satin Blade, Delrin Stag Handles, Brown Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jafd
Sherwood Park Alberta
Feb 22, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

A real PRO

I have the first one I bought able 33 years ago. I bought a replace because I was stupid enough to put it away wet. The blade had pitted so I blue the blade and don't put it away wet any more.
Schrade Uncle Henry Pro Hunter Fixed 5.375" Satin Blade, Delrin Stag Handles, Brown Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Woody
noble,okla
Dec 12, 2010
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Finish, None

schrade pro hunter

1-uses is multipurpose 2-great feel,rugged/tough personality 3-beautiful for looks and very functional
Schrade Uncle Henry Pro Hunter Fixed 5.375" Satin Blade, Delrin Stag Handles, Brown Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Charles
, Ms.
Feb 02, 2020
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Weight, Finish
Cons: Handle Material, None

Schrade Uncle Henry Pro Hunter Fixed 5.375"

Bought as a replacement for the same knife I bought for my Dad back in the 70's. It was stolen couple of yrs. later and couldn't find one anywhere! He loved that knife. Like most things now days it's made in China...so we'll see how it does. Very sharp out of the box, for the price looks to be a sound purchase.
Schrade Uncle Henry Pro Hunter Fixed 5.375" Satin Blade, Delrin Stag Handles, Brown Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chip
Mississippi
Jun 07, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Like it

Reminds me of a similar Shrade I had when I was young.
Schrade Uncle Henry Pro Hunter Fixed 5.375" Satin Blade, Delrin Stag Handles, Brown Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Brett B
NC
Jul 21, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Handle Material, None

Good choice for a budget knife

I just got this knife and am looking forward to testing it out. I don't know much about this 7cr17 steel but from what I have heard it preforms well for a budget steel. Pros: knife came very sharp out of box,strong blade design for hunting and other outdoors activities.Excellent brass guard, also my knife came very tight - no loose play at all - solid construction. Leather sheath is also well made, I have no complaints on the sheath. The old school aesthetics of the knife are pleasing Cons: Only one, the huge fat handle - if you have medium size hands you probably won't get much grip on the handle. I am able to grip the knife because I have large hands, but my fingers don't meet my palm. If the handle was one third thinner it would be much better. One other note: I'm not sure how the rat tail tang construction of this knife will preform after it has been used hard. Still a very usable knife for a budget price
Schrade Uncle Henry Pro Hunter Fixed 5.375" Satin Blade, Delrin Stag Handles, Brown Leather Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Michael S
Goose Creek, SC
Dec 14, 2011
Pros: None
Cons: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Materials

POOR !!! WARNING !!!

This is a poor excuse for the original knife my father owns. This plastic handle and monkey metal parts are pooly put together. My brass end with the screw on the handle fell apart as soon as I took it out of the package. The plastic handle was loose and the hand guard was moving. My dads knife that is just like this has a real antler handle. These new model has crap for the handle. I am shocked that these people have wrote such great reviews. DO NOT BUY THIS !!! TRUST ME CHEAP CHEAP CHEAP !!!