Reviews and Ratings for Schrade Bolo Machete 14" 3Cr13 Stainless Blade, Safe-T-Grip Handle, Ferro Fire Steel and Sharpening Stone - SCHBOLO

Schrade Bolo Machete 14" 3Cr13 Stainless Blade, Safe-T-Grip Handle, Ferro Fire Steel and Sharpening Stonerated 4.704 stars out of 5 (27 reviews)
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
22
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Schrade Bolo Machete 14 inch 3Cr13 Stainless Blade, Safe-T-Grip Handle, Ferro Fire Steel and Sharpening Stone

 

Price: $43.95

Save $30.04 (41%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Schrade Bolo Machete 14" 3Cr13 Stainless Blade, Safe-T-Grip Handle, Ferro Fire Steel and Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Vet.
Ga.
Jan 02, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
very strong
this knife is very sturdy. should last a lifetime. no rust. one rivet was missing from the sheath but I have some, will probably put a lot more in it.
Schrade Bolo Machete 14" 3Cr13 Stainless Blade, Safe-T-Grip Handle, Ferro Fire Steel and Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Denise
Lothian, MD
Dec 28, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Schrade Bolo Machete
Hubby needed it on his last camping trip. I purchased this for his Christmas present. Was so impressed with the delivery time of the Machete. From time of pushing submit order to the product being at my door was less than the two days guarantee!!!!!! Hubby is very very pleased with the quality of this Machete.
Schrade Bolo Machete 14" 3Cr13 Stainless Blade, Safe-T-Grip Handle, Ferro Fire Steel and Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joel Field
brighton mi
Dec 31, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
very good
i have not used it yet big very sharp out of the box great sheath
Schrade Bolo Machete 14" 3Cr13 Stainless Blade, Safe-T-Grip Handle, Ferro Fire Steel and Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lance
Texas
Dec 13, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Best "machete" you can buy!
I bought this machete for brush clearing and it is built perfectly for it! It goes with me to the ranch every time I go. You won't be disappointed with it.
Schrade Bolo Machete 14" 3Cr13 Stainless Blade, Safe-T-Grip Handle, Ferro Fire Steel and Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael
burnaby canada
Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
buy this
the best machete i have ever used. i limned 500 trees and i was using it like an ax it only took me 5 swings to chop threw 6 inch round trees
Schrade Bolo Machete 14" 3Cr13 Stainless Blade, Safe-T-Grip Handle, Ferro Fire Steel and Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nic H.
Central MN
Sep 17, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Schbolo is in the woods
It is a very comfortable tool to use and is well balanced. The blade could hold an edge a little better but this is a minor point as what it will generally be used for does not require a razor edge. It is much easier to carry or pack than a standard machete due to it size. It is heavier than the standard machete but again this is a minor factor.
Schrade Bolo Machete 14" 3Cr13 Stainless Blade, Safe-T-Grip Handle, Ferro Fire Steel and Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Collin
Permian Basin, Tx
Aug 02, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
One of the Best Blades on the market
There isn't really anything bad I can say about the Schbolo. It was sharp out of the packaging. It has a good weight and feel to it, you can feel the 'forward' weight of it, which is instrumental when using it to chop or hack. The rubberized handle really does help fighting the effects of moisture, be it rain, mud, dirt or sweat. And a testament to it's durability is that after hacking through a pallet(redneck durability trial), nails and all, it only has a few nicks from the nails and didn't really need much sharpening afterwards. Best blade for the price I have ever bought.
Schrade Bolo Machete 14" 3Cr13 Stainless Blade, Safe-T-Grip Handle, Ferro Fire Steel and Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ricky
Panama City, FL
Apr 23, 2013
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Awsome hunk of Steel!
Great value and service
Schrade Bolo Machete 14" 3Cr13 Stainless Blade, Safe-T-Grip Handle, Ferro Fire Steel and Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Phil N Htc/Dv1 Usn/Ret
CT
Apr 10, 2013
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Handle Material, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, None
WHATA WACKER
OKAY, THAT SAID, I REALLY DO LIKE THIS BOLO. THE UPS GUY CAME WHILE MY WIFE AND I WERE WORKING ON A BRUSH PILE IN THE YARD. DID I SAY I LOVE KNIFE CENTER'S PROMPT SERVICE, YOU GUYS ROCK! I OPENED THE BOX AND EVEN MY WIFE WAS IMPRESSED. I REDRESSED THE EDGE (FORCE OF HABIT) AND PUT IT TO WORK. SINGLE STROKE FOR 1" TO I 1/2" BRANCHES. THE GRIP IS WHAT I LOVE ABOUT IT. IT'S BIG. I HAVE BIG HANDS. IT'S ALSO RUBBER LIKE, UNLIKE THOSE POLYPRO OR WOOD GRIPS. VERY SECURE AS I WASN'T WEARING GLOVES. I HAVE AN OLD COLD STEEL LTC, I LOVE IT BECAUSE IT HAS A KRATON GRIP. I USED THEM HEAD TO HEAD AND THE COLD STEEL BARELY EDGED OUT THE SCHBOLO. A NEW CS KUKRI MACHETE WOULD HAVE LOST, BECAUSE OF THE GRIP. I LIKE THE MULTI ATTACHABLE SHEATH , I HOPE IT WEARS WELL. I WILL GO TO LEATHER WHEN IT WEARS OUT. IT IS A HEAVY BOLO AND I WISH THEY RAN THE BEVEL ALL THE WAY ACROSS THE BLADE, BUT THAT WOULD COST MORE. MY CS LTC IS A LITTLE QUICKER AND LIGHTER. ALL IN ALL FOR THE PRICE IT IS A GREAT DEAL FROM A TOP NOTCH SELLER.
Schrade Bolo Machete 14" 3Cr13 Stainless Blade, Safe-T-Grip Handle, Ferro Fire Steel and Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lancem762
Texas
Aug 03, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
I love this thing!
All those who say negative things about this sch-bolo are crazy. I love this thing and beat the crud out of it. Chopping extremely hard mesquite and everything else. Cleared lots of brush with it. I would take this thing anywhere to clear a path. Handle is awesome, it absorbs all impact shocks. I have really abused this thing and it has taken it all. It’s thick and has a nice Scandy grind type edge. After chopping everything with it for about a year now, it has no chips or dents. Sheath is pretty good. No complaints. I am going to buy these as Christmas presents for a couple of friends. Don’t hesitate, just buy it.
Schrade Bolo Machete 14" 3Cr13 Stainless Blade, Safe-T-Grip Handle, Ferro Fire Steel and Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Todd
Richmond
Oct 09, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Weight
WOW !
We go 4 wheeling alot on trails and take this MONSTER Machete every time. This thing has been fantastic. Its heavy for sure but Im a big guy and thats a bonus for me. It lops through branches like butter. Love the over the shoulder case.
Schrade Bolo Machete 14" 3Cr13 Stainless Blade, Safe-T-Grip Handle, Ferro Fire Steel and Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kurt
fishers,in
Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
schrade bolo
This bolo is a lot more than I thought it would be. Excellent weight to be able to handle any kind of job that I give it. The sheath is made very well and is a great fit, not sloppy as some are. The handle is ok, makes you feel like you are not going to lose control of the knife. Overall I give it a 10, you wont go wrong with this!!!
Schrade Bolo Machete 14" 3Cr13 Stainless Blade, Safe-T-Grip Handle, Ferro Fire Steel and Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bill S
Muskego, WI
Sep 16, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Schbolo (barong) Review
Excellent Product. Blade thickness and weight far better then expected. Cuts as well as a standard 18" GI machete. Has a useful point should one become necessary. Back sheath may look cool but is not a practical way to carry it. A "D" ring easily attaches it go a standard belt for conventional carry. Came sharp enough for use but could be touched up is desired. I'd recommend it highly.
Schrade Bolo Machete 14" 3Cr13 Stainless Blade, Safe-T-Grip Handle, Ferro Fire Steel and Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joel B
Saginaw, Tx
Dec 23, 2015
Pros: Weight, Handle Material, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Good buy !
This is a great buy ! First thing you will notice when you pull out this bad boy is the size of this bad boy ! The second is the weight ! You feel like you have a piece of steel in your hands and not some flimsey flimflam. The handle although not anything special has a good feel and grip. The fire starter is an extra bonus also. And you can't beat the price. I'm very happy with my purchase, and I'm sure you will be too !
Schrade Bolo Machete 14" 3Cr13 Stainless Blade, Safe-T-Grip Handle, Ferro Fire Steel and Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
D W
Tennessee
Apr 12, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
great knife
I purchased this knife for my nephew to take when he goes hog hunting. He loves it. It is heavy enough to hack through the dense underbrush and agile enough to use in self defense. We were both surprised at how strong this knife is. Razor sharp too. I especially like the sheath design. It's very practical. I would recommend this knife to anyone who wants a bolo or machete that won't let them down.
Schrade Bolo Machete 14" 3Cr13 Stainless Blade, Safe-T-Grip Handle, Ferro Fire Steel and Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rick A
Portland Oregon
Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Machete No SWORD.
Awesome. Much more than expected. HUGE. Not quite shaving sharp but two minutes with my ceramic stone and it is. Came with a separate striker for the fire starter and two leg straps. Unexpected wowed me.
Schrade Bolo Machete 14" 3Cr13 Stainless Blade, Safe-T-Grip Handle, Ferro Fire Steel and Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jeff K.
Elyria, OH
Oct 08, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
This is the perfect bushcraft/camping tool!
I have definitely put this knife through its paces! I used it while walking through deep brush, cut vegetation on the side of my garage, and I have process about a cord of wood for campfires (the weight forward design makes chopping and batoning wood very simple), whittled tent stakes, even cut my larger pieces of meat for grilling at the camp. I used it to butterfly a thick steak with ease, even though it has a wider blade.. The grip is super comfortable for a one OR two-handed grip. The finish of the blade will of course show wear, eventually...but I haven't had to resharpen mine yet...I just use my diamond-steel and it stays sharp! Buy one, take it into the backyard, or camping and use this blade with CONFIDENCE! It will not fail you!
Schrade Bolo Machete 14" 3Cr13 Stainless Blade, Safe-T-Grip Handle, Ferro Fire Steel and Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
T
Nc
Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Finish, None
Love it!
Very strong. Used it to cut up wood while camping, worked fantastic!
Schrade Bolo Machete 14" 3Cr13 Stainless Blade, Safe-T-Grip Handle, Ferro Fire Steel and Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rev. K.T. Locke
Selden, NY
Apr 01, 2013
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
This thing is a brute....
Got my SchBolo last week. Utterly pleased. I've taken it out and cleared up a good deal of brush on my property with it. ZERO problem lopping 3" diameter maple and oak saplings and tree limbs. Took it to a downed oak tree. It cut great, deep bites into the wood. The weight is just right for me, as is the balance. Ergonomics of the handle are superb. My only issue is that the sides of the blade are a bit soft, ending up with scratches in the finish after a day of hacking wood. I'm not fond of the sheath either. It's pretty decent for a nylon sheath, but it IS a nylon sheath. I'll probably make a kydex scabbard for this piece. This is one blade I would DEFINITELY take with me on a trek into the woods.
Schrade Bolo Machete 14" 3Cr13 Stainless Blade, Safe-T-Grip Handle, Ferro Fire Steel and Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve S
Bloomington, Indiana
Mar 10, 2017
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
This thing is a beast!
I bought this for a friend who is a martial artist and a camper so that he could train with it and take it to the woods. As a camping tool, it's outstanding. Tough as nails and capable of chopping through a small tree. As a martial arts weapon it's superb. The balance and weight of it are surprising, and it isn't as point heavy as one might expect. The sheath is okay, but I'd like to see it be a bit more modular for attachment to packs and the like. I'd like to see it in solid black as well, without the highlighted lettering.
Schrade Bolo Machete 14" 3Cr13 Stainless Blade, Safe-T-Grip Handle, Ferro Fire Steel and Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jed S
NC
Mar 26, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Bolo's Rock
This is one of the coolest "Bolo" machetes I have ever purchased. This guy chops great and comes with a really cool sheath, fire striker, and sharpener. Now I just need someone to find me a few Zombies so I can really put it to use!!!!
Schrade Bolo Machete 14" 3Cr13 Stainless Blade, Safe-T-Grip Handle, Ferro Fire Steel and Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Albert
Winchester, TN
Jun 18, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
Wrong name, great machete
this is not a bolo. It's barong, nonetheless awesome machete
Schrade Bolo Machete 14" 3Cr13 Stainless Blade, Safe-T-Grip Handle, Ferro Fire Steel and Sharpening Stone
rated 4 stars out of 5
Matt
Capital District, New York
May 18, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
Great... But not a Bolo
I received this awesome cutting tool very quickly... Well done knife center. I was expecting the blade to be thinner and lighter but was pleasantly surprised by the stocky heft it has. I'm not sure about the sheath yet... I think they could have done better there. I will say I like how quietly it draws... No tell tale rasp sound that hard polymer sheaths produce. The handle is very grippy and will easily accommodate large hands. I think the knife was misidentified though. It's definitely a Barong pattern... Not a Bolo. A Bolo is much more similar in appearance to a Kukri... But then a rose by any other name...blah blah blah. Call it whatever you like. I call it a nearly perfect tool. I would have preferred the blade to be 18 in. In length but other than that I am very happy with it. A true value for the price.
Schrade Bolo Machete 14" 3Cr13 Stainless Blade, Safe-T-Grip Handle, Ferro Fire Steel and Sharpening Stone
rated 4 stars out of 5
C L
Utah
Jan 08, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Materials, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Evaluation of Shrade Bolo Machete
This Machete has a good feel overall. It has a nice balance to it. Blade is thick and seems to be able to handle its purpose well. It has a full tang and the handle has a very nice feel. I do not know how well the handle is attached and how long it will work if used a lot . It also has a lanyard hole, which is nice. It is a great tool for the price.
Schrade Bolo Machete 14" 3Cr13 Stainless Blade, Safe-T-Grip Handle, Ferro Fire Steel and Sharpening Stone
rated 4 stars out of 5
Axeguy
Boreal forest, Canadian Shield.
Jul 16, 2019
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Schbolo? You are Ba(w)rong!
Schrades are never lightweight pieces: you get a lot of steel for the money. 3Cr13 is nothing you'd like in a nice pocket knife but is a good, cheap way to get a chopper with appropriate weight. (This is a compliment: I am no fan of this steel but it was a great choice for this piece.) One minor point of contention is that this 'bolo' really has more of a barong profile. If I was buying this expecting a bolo, I might have been confused but that's what pictures and KnifeCenter is for; right? Handle is grippy and secure in my XL hands and absorbs shock admirably. In the end, this is working tool not a 'safe queen'. Does it chop like a Bark River Barong? No. Did it cost one eigth of a Bark River Barong? Yes. Will I cry if I chip this blade? No, not unless I chipped it on my kneecap or skull.
Schrade Bolo Machete 14" 3Cr13 Stainless Blade, Safe-T-Grip Handle, Ferro Fire Steel and Sharpening Stone
rated 4 stars out of 5
Big Z
Pennsylvania
Jul 15, 2015
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Material
Cons: None
excellent very sharp
Excellent very sharp. Only down fall is I reprofiled the blades edge to be a convex edge so it will be better in the field.
Schrade Bolo Machete 14" 3Cr13 Stainless Blade, Safe-T-Grip Handle, Ferro Fire Steel and Sharpening Stone
rated 1 stars out of 5
Deuce
Brockville, ontario
Jul 22, 2017
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Weight, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
All show no go
Bought this bolo machete thinking it would be good at clearing away small saplings and trimming small over hanging branches at the father in laws. Soft maple and small oak are taking chips out of the blade and the blade will not hold an edge. What a major disappointment. I chose a bolo for strength and chopping power, this will be the last scharde product I ever buy. I also have a small schrade folding knife it does not hold an edge either. As my Irish friend could say what a piece of Shite.