Reviews and Ratings for Schrade SCHF10 Extreme Survival Fixed 5.3" Black Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath

Schrade SCHF10 Extreme Survival Fixed 5.3" Black Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheathrated 4.712 stars out of 5 (52 reviews)
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
38
4 star
13
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Schrade SCHF10 Extreme Survival Fixed 5.3 inch Black Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath

 

Price: $29.95

Save $37.00 (55%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Schrade SCHF10 Extreme Survival Fixed 5.3" Black Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
John
Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Awesome knife
I just received the knife and tested it out on a few twigs and branches and it's held up. I haven't fully tested it, but with its test run I believe that it will do great. It's got good weight for chopping power. The knife has no problems at all, but the sheath could be better.
Schrade SCHF10 Extreme Survival Fixed 5.3" Black Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jeff
Oregon
Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
A real knife
this is a quality product and is excellent.
Schrade SCHF10 Extreme Survival Fixed 5.3" Black Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Yarramie
New Zealand
Sep 08, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Best value !!
Bought for $39 bucks and didn't know what to expect, just hoping for the best. I was happy with the shipping time to NZ and condition on arrival. The knife itself was a pleasant surprise. It fits my hand well and the overall balance makes it feel lighter than it actually is. It made light work of batoning kindling and shaving a few feather sticks then went on to smash through some larger branches. I don't normally abuse my knives but this knife is one tool that begs to be used hard. The original grind is, I believe, 30 deg. I was unhappy with this so reground to 20 deg. A bit fine, some might say, but the 8cr13mov is good steel and I'm hoping will retain the edge. So far it's holding up well with only minor touch ups to regain the edge. The sheath is average but the knife/sheath sits well on my hip and feels comfortable. The handles are grippy giving good traction. I tied a wrist lanyard to the handle for more support when choking up while hacking at brush and limbs. This works great. I know there are better knives out there with better steel but I'm very happy with this knife so gave it a 5 out of 5 rating based on value for dollar.
Schrade SCHF10 Extreme Survival Fixed 5.3" Black Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lynn L
Alabama
Mar 28, 2014
Pros: Finish, Handle Material, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Materials, Sheath/Scabbard
schf10 knife review
The knife was very sharp out of the box. Overall, the knife is excellent. The sheath could be upgraded a bit tho. I use the schf10 on my outings/camping trips and it performed without dissappointment. Not to mention I could'nt even break the tip! I put the knife to the test and it passed everyone without a hitch. I was so impressed! Thank you for such a multipurpose knife for such an economic price. Schrade, you've done it again! :)
Schrade SCHF10 Extreme Survival Fixed 5.3" Black Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ernie S
West Milford, NJ
Aug 02, 2016
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard
Schrade SCHF 10
Excellent knife! Balance and weight great for heavy work. Knife had a decent sharp blade with all sharpened edges equal. Overall great material! Sheath,decent until I get a new one made. Was so impressed, I ordered 2 more!!
Schrade SCHF10 Extreme Survival Fixed 5.3" Black Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rick
San Diego
May 01, 2014
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Materials, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
5
I wanted a knife for heavy duty use by different people in a hard working environment. I think that the F-10 can handle the demands. It seems a little heavy, but that is much better than too light. Great handle, even when it gets wet. Overall quality is very good, especially for the price.
Schrade SCHF10 Extreme Survival Fixed 5.3" Black Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ivan
San Juan
Aug 08, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Excellent!
Will outmatch many other $200 plus knives
Schrade SCHF10 Extreme Survival Fixed 5.3" Black Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Odellstudios
USA
May 07, 2013
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Schrade SCHF 10
For the money you spend on this, you get a lot of knife and a lot of quality. The fit and finish is excellent, the design is awesome, you just can't go wrong. Hand grip is excellent because of the texture cut into the Micarta and the scales are perfectly blended to the steel. Mine came with a good edge grind and sufficiently sharp, sharp enough that a few passes over the ceramic was enough for hair removal.
Schrade SCHF10 Extreme Survival Fixed 5.3" Black Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
R L Diehl
AZ
Nov 03, 2018
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Bought on spec
I bought this because it seemed to be a very good, practical design by a respected company for a very reasonable price. Correct on all counts! It is very well made with clean and well-fitted parts.Top quality, well made and designed. Just a couple very minor things I would change: Any knife that might ever be used outdoors should have two divots in the handle for a socket of a bow drill, one on each side-why not? Easily fixed with a large drill bit and 2 minutes of your time. The sheath will only accept the knife one way because of the slant of the guard. It wouldn't hurt to have the top of the sheath only go half way across and slant down on the other side so the knife could be oriented for right or left hand carry. The last thing is the top of the tip of the blade isn't sharpened-probably to suit municipalities with double-edged laws. Again, easily fixed. Get one.
Schrade SCHF10 Extreme Survival Fixed 5.3" Black Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Franklin Dumas
Round Rock, Tx
Sep 19, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
perfect...
This is a very good knife it has become my primary knife. Fixin to get another one
Schrade SCHF10 Extreme Survival Fixed 5.3" Black Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mark C
Sharpsville,in
Dec 01, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Just what I wanted
Seems to be all that I am looking for, I like the feel in my hand seems balanced,using for camping.
Schrade SCHF10 Extreme Survival Fixed 5.3" Black Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
W H Jackson
NEW HAMPSHIRE
Aug 25, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Schrade SCHF10...An excellent knife at a super-fine price
This is a quarter-inch+plus thick, 5.3 inch (mine measures 5 5/8"), full tang, hollow ground, very nicely shaped and very well sharpened and black-coated s/s blade, with some coarse but much-appreciated jimping on top of the blade above the lower attaching screw AND (still on top of the blade) just beyond the lower extremity of the grip AND on the bottom of the handle-steel, where the ring finger and little finger fall when gripping the knife. This, plus the excellent rough-feel micarta grip scales, plus the outstanding grip shape, make this relatively small but unusually hefty knife very secure in the hand. I have very large hands and, for me at least, this grip rocks. The balance point is just beyond the lower scales-attachment screw. Very nice and greatly appreciated in a knife this heavy. The sheath is a heavily constructed nylon, pouch-on-the-front, hard polymer liner affair that strikes me as the best nylon sheath I've ever received with a new knife---and I've received a bunch of 'em. A good many years ago I bought one of those chunky/heavy/ five-inch Beckers. I kept it a few years. . .in a drawer, and then sold it cheap in a yard sale. It just didn't ring my bell. This Schrade strikes me as exactly what I wished the Becker had been. It's definitely a "keeper". This is not a hunting knife or a kitchen knife. For a five-inch knife it is a real brute, a survival/bush-craft bladet, yet with a remarkable level of sophistication suggesting any number of uses for which it would do just fine. Last but not least, I bought this beauty on sale, at KnifeCenter, for about 20 bucks. As far as I'm concerned that made it my knife deal of the century. Strongly recommended!
Schrade SCHF10 Extreme Survival Fixed 5.3" Black Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dino
Hellas
Jul 22, 2013
Pros: Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
this is some serious knifes!!!
Perfect grip!!! Don't slip! Strong and heavy!
Schrade SCHF10 Extreme Survival Fixed 5.3" Black Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Alex
Fontana
Jun 18, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
Knife is a beast
Schrade SCHF10 Extreme Survival Fixed 5.3" Black Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Shrade Owner
California
Aug 14, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Schrade Quality
I purchased the knife on sale (thanks Knifecenter) shipping was fast the knife is well made and factory sharp the sheath is well made but not fancy I'd recommend this knife to others
Schrade SCHF10 Extreme Survival Fixed 5.3" Black Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Seagull69
Indiana
Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Meant to use!!!
Very well made, sharp right out of the box. Knife has very good "feel" and fit to the hand! Will be a good addition to my "go" bag! Sheath is a down side! Velcro strap to hold knife in sheath is a very poor addition. A good all Kydex sheath is what a knife like this needs!!!!
Schrade SCHF10 Extreme Survival Fixed 5.3" Black Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Thomas
Kirkland, Wa
Mar 26, 2018
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Quality Knife
This knife is a winner! Great quality and even better value. Comfortable in the hand and a great look.
Schrade SCHF10 Extreme Survival Fixed 5.3" Black Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Phoenix
Germany
Jun 27, 2013
Pros: Materials, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Great al round Survival knife. Beats ESEE 5 and Becker BK2 hegemony.
Spec Ops, Gives ESEE 5 and Becker BK 2 a run for their money. Battoning, general camp use, survival. On all 4 continents and in warm, cold, wet and salt conditions.
Schrade SCHF10 Extreme Survival Fixed 5.3" Black Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jared
New York
Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Sweet blade
Really good weight, very sharp, sharades are always very reliable, big knife
Schrade SCHF10 Extreme Survival Fixed 5.3" Black Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Hb Cycles
Connecticut
Mar 28, 2018
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
Shrade Extreme Survival 5.3”
Serious steel. Carry this thing anywhere and you are set. Will make kindling if used judiciously. And the sheath is fine, no issues.
Schrade SCHF10 Extreme Survival Fixed 5.3" Black Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Randy
Dallas Texas
Jul 24, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Materials, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
SCHF10 SCHRADE EXYREAM SURVIVAL
This knife is a great camp knife and is very hardly. It is a great size and weight. Great for any use .it came sharp and ready to go out of the box great for any task you could need.
Schrade SCHF10 Extreme Survival Fixed 5.3" Black Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Harry
, Maryland
May 12, 2019
Pros: Materials, Finish, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
schrade schf10
This knife is a beast. Spine measures I/4 inch wide with a nearly full tank. They did go maybe a little overboard on the jimping but if it comes loose from your hand it'll be your own fault. There is a one inch length of jimping on top of the blade just ahead of the scales, a 1-1/4 length on top of the tang at the beginning of the scales, and a 1-1/4 length of jimping under the tang in front of the pommel. I did notice a little wiggle on the scales when handling it and I did tighten down the hex screws and it was gtg. I will add some lock tight to the threads at some point. This knife will definitely be my go to chopper and campfire wood processor. The sheath is ok for now (nylon) but that'll change as the weight of the knife on a belt is definitely a factor. The knife did come through with a very good edge on it.
Schrade SCHF10 Extreme Survival Fixed 5.3" Black Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
J.T. G
kansas
Jun 28, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
schrade schf10
The schrade schf10 is an excellent knife. It fits very comfortably in my hand and is very well balanced. Comes razor sharp too unlike some brands. This is a very well built knife, very durable. This should be a knife I can pass down with pride and know it will always be ready for the next task.
Schrade SCHF10 Extreme Survival Fixed 5.3" Black Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Peter
Aylmer Ontario
Aug 12, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Amazing Knife
I was not 100% sure what I was expecting, but as soon as I got my package I was like "this is awesome". It's a sweet looking knife and I love the weight of it and overall just the quality of it and the look. Especially love the micarta handle.
Schrade SCHF10 Extreme Survival Fixed 5.3" Black Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
John
Saratoga, NY
Oct 08, 2013
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
Heavy duty performance
I bought this knife as a survival tool. The blade is very thick with a false edge. The recurve shape of the blade aids in chopping and cutting. The blade needed a little touch up, which is tricky with the curve of the blade. The micarta grip has a nice look and feel...good grip with the checkering. My hands are not huge, so the slightly smaller, contoured grip is perfect for me. There is a lanyard hole at the end of the tang(full) that can be used as a glass breaker but too small to use for hammering. The sheath is ballistic nylon, decent but basic. The knife fits the sheath snugly. There is a small pouch on the outside that will fit my fire steel and a length of para cord, maybe a smaller knife for fine work. Over all I like this knife a lot. I like the weight, although some people might find it too heavy. (I am replacing an Ontario RD 6, which was just a bit too large for me to use effectively.) And the price is outstanding. You won't find an equal product at this price.
Schrade SCHF10 Extreme Survival Fixed 5.3" Black Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
K. L
Mo.
Nov 04, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
nice HD knife
Heavy duty well made didn't take much to sharpen up a little. Good deal for the money...right in the bug out bag..or camping.
Schrade SCHF10 Extreme Survival Fixed 5.3" Black Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Trevor
Columbus- Ohio
Dec 16, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Schrade F10
Worth every penny- although it does not cost that much. My opinion- best long, full tang, fixed blade out there for the money- needs a better sheath though..
Schrade SCHF10 Extreme Survival Fixed 5.3" Black Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
A C
Texas
Dec 31, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material, None
Cons: Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
schf 10 review
This is a ton of knife for the money. Everything you love about the schf9 in a more compact package. It easily holds up to knives 2 to 3 times its price. Micarta Handles are less forgiving than the rubber handles of the schf 10 but are great. I wish they would make these in the US but then the price would be a good deal higher. All in all you can't go wrong with this knife for the money. Sheath is cheep and poor though. I would pay 10 or 15 bucks more if it came with a decent sheath. Sheath it comes with will work and for the price you can buy or make a custom sheath for it.
Schrade SCHF10 Extreme Survival Fixed 5.3" Black Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mr G Crump
United Kingdom
Dec 13, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Quality and extremely good value for money!
Firstly, I have to admit that it was the sale price that motivated my purchase of this knife, but I have other Schrade products and they have all been good so I thought it was a good bet. Man was I surprised when I unboxed it! Very good quality in all aspects, I notice the sheath has been criticised but for an included item it is perfectly good. Hard liner in a ballistic nylon outer, with a small accessory pocket. It is a heavy weight bush survival knife that isn't going to break when used for chopping, or struck to split wood. Sharp enough out of the box, with a robust point, excellent grips, very well shaped handle which suits my hand, (XL apparently!). All well finished, which considering it is obviously a mass produced item, is good. Lanyard hole on the tip of tang just beyond where the grips finish, great for preventing it dropping somewhere it can't be recovered. You would have to spend much more to significantly better this knife, and by the law of diminishing returns it's unlikely it would prove to be that much better in practice. Even at it's full price I think it represents very good value for money. It gets a strong recommendation from me.
Schrade SCHF10 Extreme Survival Fixed 5.3" Black Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Je
FLORIDA
May 15, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Materials, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
SCHF10
Excellent all around knife for price! Nothing negative to share. Schrade has always put out quality knives for low prices and this knife is no different.
Schrade SCHF10 Extreme Survival Fixed 5.3" Black Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jeremiah H
Alaska
Jan 09, 2017
Pros: Materials, Finish, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great camp knives
These knives are well built with quality materials. I purchased one for myselfas a camp knife a year ago. After last year's camping and hunting trips I purchased several for my father, brothers and friends for Christmas and birthday presents as they consistently asked to use mine around camp. It's a stout knife and would be hard to beat the price for equal quality.
Schrade SCHF10 Extreme Survival Fixed 5.3" Black Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Scotland42
Ohio
Jul 26, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Schf10
I use the schf10 for buschcrafting. Excellent knife. And knifecenter was awesome to deal with.
Schrade SCHF10 Extreme Survival Fixed 5.3" Black Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jared
New york
Feb 06, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Sweet knife
Really nice weight to it, very very sharp.
Schrade SCHF10 Extreme Survival Fixed 5.3" Black Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dell T
Byron Georgia
Apr 17, 2013
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
This knife fits my hand comfortably. I plan on using it in all my outdoor activity. The blade is fixed and very sturdy also the blade is full tang going all the way through the handle and very thick. The sheath isn't the greatest but is functional.
Schrade SCHF10 Extreme Survival Fixed 5.3" Black Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mark
indy
Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Materials, Finish, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
schrade schf 10
great knife and great price and service!
Schrade SCHF10 Extreme Survival Fixed 5.3" Black Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Denver G.
Mountains of Westvirgina
Jun 06, 2013
Pros:
Cons:
Smaller version of the Schrade Extreme Survival F 9
This knife is a smaller version of the Schrade Extreme Survival F 9. It has a better steel in the blade also. Its 1/4 inch thick ,lighter, and a much handier size to carry.I have beat this knife with hammers into wood, and put in a vise trying to break it and it still looks great .This is one knife you can depend on in any situation.My Grand kids will be using and passing this knife on.
Schrade SCHF10 Extreme Survival Fixed 5.3" Black Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jason
KANSAS
Jul 02, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
SCHRADE SCHF10
AWESOME KNIFE! FEELS GREAT IN HAND AND WELL BALANCED. CAME RAZOR SHARP. THIS IS MY NEW EDC. THIS WILL LAST A LIFETIME AND I WILL BE HONORED TO PASS IT DOWN TO MY KIDS. CANT GET ANY BETTER THAN THIS.
Schrade SCHF10 Extreme Survival Fixed 5.3" Black Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Warren R
Milton, Fl
Oct 04, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Finish
My, What a Knife!
This was purchased for my Go To bag. Not quite a bugout bag but one I carry in my truck at all times. It will share space with my Kimber .45, my Kershaw OSO Sweet knife, my Cold Steel Master San Mai Tanto and my Surefire Defender flashlight. I chose this knife because sometimes you want to scream I HAVE A BIG KNIFE. This one will do the job. As always, I feel if you stick with a good brand and of course a good place to buy, you can not go wrong.
Schrade SCHF10 Extreme Survival Fixed 5.3" Black Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Widdle M
Alberta Canada
Dec 13, 2016
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
My new favorite knife!
I'm a knife collector, outdoorsmen and bushcraft master and I have had a knife in my hand since cub scouts. Everything about this knife just jives with me right down to the blade contour and feel in my hand. The knife holds a wicked edge and came nice and sharp out of the box. This is probably the best low end high quality knife I've ran across in a very long time. I suggest looking on YouTube for reviews, you will absolutely fall in love with this knife. I'm giving it only four stars only becuase of the sheath. The sheath is well made but I would have liked a tighter fit so it wasn't necessary to have it buttoned up. As it stands I'd have paid alot more for this knife. I'm up here in Canada and have made several purchases through the knife center and I'm very pleased with the service and shipping. Top notch!
Schrade SCHF10 Extreme Survival Fixed 5.3" Black Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Gavin Van Dyk
Kitchener, On
Aug 04, 2013
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard
Great! not the sheath,
amazing knife! wish it came with a kydex though but for the money its an amazing buy! i would recommend it to all!
Schrade SCHF10 Extreme Survival Fixed 5.3" Black Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Phillip
Anderson Al.
Apr 08, 2014
Pros: Materials, Finish, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Love the knife. Sheath is not that bad (material is a little cheap) would have liked it better if it had included a sharpening stone but overall this is a great knife.
Schrade SCHF10 Extreme Survival Fixed 5.3" Black Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Js
Georgia
Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
a lot of bang for the buck
great value. cuts well sticks even better
Schrade SCHF10 Extreme Survival Fixed 5.3" Black Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Rj Ii
Southeastern USA
Aug 03, 2014
Pros: Finish, Handle Material, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Materials, Sheath/Scabbard
Knife=awesome Sheath=garbage
The knife is of good quality. The sheath is a joke. I will have to get a sheath made for it if I'm going to carry it.
Schrade SCHF10 Extreme Survival Fixed 5.3" Black Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Kempeneers J.
sint-truiden belgium
Aug 05, 2014
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
good strong knife
Schrade SCHF10 Extreme Survival Fixed 5.3" Black Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Gunnut
Alabama
Jun 06, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Shrade
Great knife I just Wish it had a leather sheath
Schrade SCHF10 Extreme Survival Fixed 5.3" Black Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Gavin V
Kitchener, On
Jan 26, 2015
Pros: Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness
Could be better,
sheath sucks, edge sucks, steel sucks, everything else is good
Schrade SCHF10 Extreme Survival Fixed 5.3" Black Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Tris
NZ
Aug 14, 2017
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
SCHF10
As a general field knife this si hard to beat at the price , has a good forward weight for light chopping , a broad blade for digging out. The blade was sharp out of the box and appears to hold an edge well , although time will tell. The only flaws are in the sheath , the starp for retaining the knife is a small piece of velcroe which wont keep the knife in place once worn in , and the method od attaching to a belt or webbing is very limited and will need to be remade to make it more effective.
Schrade SCHF10 Extreme Survival Fixed 5.3" Black Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Joel
New Delhi
Jul 12, 2016
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Materials
F26 is better
I have the clone with the TPE handles the SCHF 26 and just received this in the mail a couple of days ago. First thing that I noticed was the the TPE scales on the F26 are way comfortable than the "micarta" on the F10. They handle feels more ergonomic than this one on the F10. Also they seemed to have thinned out the blade thickness right around the false edge on the spine behind the tip. The overall tip of the F26 is way better than the F10. This knife is supposed to have gone out of production and this was one of the last batches so maybe they compromised the quality.. not sure. Also the edge was not shaving sharp and inconsistent and unequal angles on the bevel. As always.. the sheath is pathetic!! wish Schrade charges a few more bucks and makes some decent sheaths.
Schrade SCHF10 Extreme Survival Fixed 5.3" Black Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Michal W
Warsaw
Sep 09, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
Excellent "value for money".
Optimal compromise between size, weight and utility of a tool. Perfect grip and reliable blade. Looks solid, so is indeed. Others complain about quality of sheath but when using in the woods, you reach and return with blind accuracy so I'm fine with it. Front pocket will adopt small stone sharpener and a fire starter. One serious complaint - knive should not and cannot leave factory blunt. My fault - I did not check prior to trip; fortunately I had a little axe with me (very sharp) so I could substitute but more attention to sharpness would be appreciated by clients I guess. To summarise - buy one, sharpen it and enjoy :-)
Schrade SCHF10 Extreme Survival Fixed 5.3" Black Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Kolby
Florida
Apr 26, 2018
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
SCHF10
This knife to start is just plain beautiful but its also a beast it is tough as nails my only reason for not giving five stars is it does not come very sharp at all out of the box
Schrade SCHF10 Extreme Survival Fixed 5.3" Black Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bill V.
San Antonio, TX
Aug 27, 2016
Pros: Materials, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Weight
Practical at the right price!
Overall, a strong knife good for heavy work like chopping. Took a good edge and is now razor sharp. Sheath is usable but nothing special, it does do it's job of holding the knife and protecting the user while transporting. Makes a good knife for the "go bag" even though it does add a little weight. Good hefty fell when chopping, a little heavy when using for delicate work. G10 grips give a non slip touch and should wear well. Overall, good knife/sheath for the price. I bought another for a friend!
Schrade SCHF10 Extreme Survival Fixed 5.3" Black Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Joel
Delhi, India
Jun 30, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Weight, Finish, None
Cons: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness
F26 is Better
I have the clone with the TPE handles the SCHF 26 and just received this in the mail a couple of days ago. First thing that I noticed was the the TPE scales on the F26 are way comfortable than the "micarta" on the F10. They handle feels more ergonomic than this one on the F10. Also they seemed to have thinned out the blade thickness right around the false edge on the spine behind the tip. The overall tip of the F26 is way better than the F10. This knife is supposed to have gone out of production and this was one of the last batches so maybe they compromised the quality.. not sure. Also the edge was not shaving sharp and inconsistent and unequal angles on the bevel. As always.. the sheath is pathetic!! wish Schrade charges a few more bucks and makes some decent sheaths.