Reviews and Ratings for Schrade SCHF37 Frontier Fixed 7" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone

Schrade SCHF37 Frontier Fixed 7" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stonerated 4.0 stars out of 5 (40 reviews)
4 out of 5 stars
5 star
19
4 star
11
3 star
4
2 star
3
1 star
3
Schrade SCHF37 Frontier Fixed 7 inch Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone

 

Price: $31.95

Save $22.04 (41%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Schrade SCHF37 Frontier Fixed 7" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rodney
Bernie,mo.
May 02, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Materials, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish

schrade schf37 frontier

For the money,you get a whole lot of knife! very strong yet feels good in the hand.
Schrade SCHF37 Frontier Fixed 7" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brian K
Michigan
May 18, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
I took it straight from the box and immediately split a pile of wood with a baton. We made a camp and split more wood then chopped down a bunch of dead small trees. After a couple hours of hard use and the majority of the finish wore off and lots of bare steel showing I feathered some sticks. After several hours of working it had a better than a working edge, it could still do fine work. That was on the factory edge that I didn't even check for sharpness until after all that work. Was still more sharp than many come from the box. The knife you get for the price is amazing.
Schrade SCHF37 Frontier Fixed 7" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rd N
Las Vegas, NV
Jan 26, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Awesome blade + Awesome price

The KnifeCenter didn't have my items in stock so they had to order them and it took about ten days longer than I would have liked, but I ended up saving about 35% from what I would have paid at the local store that had my items, and a good 25% under what they were going for on Amazon. The savings plus the customer service was what made me happy and I will be back. The knife is worth 3x what I paid for it and I'll be ordering a few more for friends and family. If you want to get an idea of the blade you'll be getting, just go to YouTube and see the videos on this knife, you'll be back and putting your order within minutes.
Schrade SCHF37 Frontier Fixed 7" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dan
North Carolina
Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material
Cons: None

Beefy

This thing can take what ever you can dish out. A real survival knife.
Schrade SCHF37 Frontier Fixed 7" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Morgan
Montana
Jun 20, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Materials, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness

Solid value

First impression, it's ruggedly sexy, and looks like it wants abuse. Second, love the blade shape, size and thickness, however once it gets to the handle beware. I have medium sized hands, and the handle just fits. With gloves it borders on too small. I also own the sch9 and it's handle was criticized for being to long, so it seems they over shortened this oNE in response. Like I say, it fits me, and the shape/thickness make very easy to hold securely. I love the finger grove at the base of the blade. It really makes the knife feel much smaller when doing fine work. The blade is pretty simple, and in my opinion ground poorly at the edge. It's never going to be sharp enough to do fine work well. I love the knife, so I'm planning on changing it to suit me. As it comes, it will chop and baton like a beaver whacked out on crack. The sheath is a nylon unit with a plastic liner, velcro latch, and small pocket loaded with a sharpener and a fire starter with striker. I ditched the sharpener for a diamond rod. I ditched the striker, and simply sanded the coating off the spine of my blade to use as a striker. With that extra room, a small fishing kit and streamlight also fit in the pouch. I also ditched the lace at the bottom and sewed on a strap. As configured, I have no worries carring it anywhere. No part feels weak. As a result, this is my second schrade survival knife, and I plan on buying my wife the one with the slingshot. I trust their product
Schrade SCHF37 Frontier Fixed 7" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jonathan B
germany
Jan 12, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Materials
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None

excellent

i just love this knife nothing more to say
Schrade SCHF37 Frontier Fixed 7" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
J
USA
Apr 02, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None

For $30 I don't see how you can beat this

I'm giving this knife 5 stars for the value of it and comparing it against what I'd expect for $30 and not going to compare it to a high end knife. As with anything, you get what you pay for. PLUS this knife comes with a ferro rod and steel as well as a sharpening "stone" (which I think is the lowest quality part about this package) Some of the reviews here are complaining about some finish issues and defects. To them I would say if you get a knife with a defect or missing accessories then return it for an exchange. But for $30 it's not going to be the same quality as a high end knife so expect it not to be "perfect". It's going to have some minor imperfections (however the 2 I bought were nicer than I expected with no real issues and apparently came from the newest lot imported). The blades were straight, handles solid, finish was consistent, blades were as sharp as I'd expect (but I got them much better in short amount of time). The sheath is ok but I don't see it lasting under really hard use, I'd rather have kydex for it. Bottom line is for $30 this knife is a no brainer.
Schrade SCHF37 Frontier Fixed 7" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bill S
Valdosta, Ga.
Jun 18, 2015
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Finish, None
Just the ticket for Bushcraft. Great weight. I removed the coating with paint remover after removing the scales. Took about 45min. Cleaned up with mineral sprits and buffed on a cloth wheel loaded with torment paste. Gotta work on the cutting edge a little and make it just a little more narrow. A great knife for the outdoors. Knew all about the knife before buying it. I did leave the coating under the scales.
Schrade SCHF37 Frontier Fixed 7" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael M
Chesterfield, Missouri
Feb 02, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Rugged knife at a good price. I would like to see the sheath made of kydex even if the price has to be increased.
Schrade SCHF37 Frontier Fixed 7" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jim
Missouri
Dec 28, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None

Amazing for $

Have not beat on it yet but impressed so far. its not heavy for size. And at 10% cost of my busse so not afraid to. Very well designed. Much much more knife than kbar and cold steel at this price. Buying more!
Schrade SCHF37 Frontier Fixed 7" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Blane P
Virginia
May 04, 2016
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard

schf36,37,38

I bought the schf36,37,38 very pleased with these knives, im a avid outdoorsman,and collector, the weight is perfect, they came very sharp,looking forward to using in the woods,nice knives,looking to buy more of the extreme models,the sheath could be leather but it will do.
Schrade SCHF37 Frontier Fixed 7" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gary D
Ste Anne, MB, Canada
Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Nice Knife

Received my new Schrade SCHF37 knife today. Looks and feels nice. Super sharp too. I plan on using it for camping and I specificalloy selected it because I plan to use it for batoning.
Schrade SCHF37 Frontier Fixed 7" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
John
California
Apr 26, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish

Great knife for the price.

I waited for this knife to be come available for a couple of months but it was well worth the wait. It came in very sharp, holds it's edge good and very easy to sharpen. The only 2 cons about his product is the sheath is pretty cheep and I didn't really like the finish on the knife.
Schrade SCHF37 Frontier Fixed 7" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brazile
Denver
Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

awesome reliable and beautiful

I have the SCHF37 beautiful beautiful weapon. 37 goes through the rigors of the 82 Airborne Division no problems, chopping, hacking, starting fires, the weight and handle are great I have big hands. If you are in the market for a survival knife that works and your team will envy check out Schrader series
Schrade SCHF37 Frontier Fixed 7" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Eric J
Virginia
May 02, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Finish

So glad I decided to get this..

First, it comes nice and sharp - if that matters to you. I dont care about a pristine super sharp factory edge on big fixed blades when I will probably sharpen and re-profile them anyway. What I do care about is that this is a thick (1/4 inch thick) solidly built survival/multi-purpose camp knife. This is not my ideal camp chopper, not is it my ideal utility knife, or my skinner, or my filet knife. This is that jack of all trades last ditch survival knife, that is just fun to use, does a lot of tasks really well, and is great to keep in a car or truck. The 1095 blade is very solid, the kraton handle feels nice, the blade to handle ratio is good, and I like that the grind is not full flat in this case, as it keeps the weight in the blade for chopping. This look and feels much better than my schf9, has a better edge grind and is easier without that stupid recurve. This chops better than my Bk7 ( although, yes its a bit heavier) and feels almost as good in hand, the ergos arent quite as good but the blade feels so nice and solid. I would have liked a skeletonized handle tang like in a becker, but hey those are 80-100 bucks. The only negative is the black coating - which I stripped. It also comes with a sharpening diamond stone thing (eh) and a ferro rod (awesome). The ferro rod is actually, big suprise, also super good quality. I thought it would be junk thrown in and just bought this cause of the knife. The rod is noticeably good quality with big sparks that stay burning much longer than other cheap rods. This is one of those things I had to review (usually too lazy) because its such a great deal. Awesome knife, awesome striker.
Schrade SCHF37 Frontier Fixed 7" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Hiway
North Carolina
Feb 13, 2020
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Materials, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness

1 awesome blade

I've used this knife for a long time now. It's never failed me. I will recommend this knife to anyone. 1 awesome blade
Schrade SCHF37 Frontier Fixed 7" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Merle S
illinois
Apr 26, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

sweet knife

nice knife .. good quality fit and finish .. and of course schrade sharp!!
Schrade SCHF37 Frontier Fixed 7" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jamie S
Devon, England
May 08, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Finish, Sheath/Scabbard

excellent. the best value for money!

What a great knife. Will take anything you throw at it! A must for anyone!
Schrade SCHF37 Frontier Fixed 7" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Noel I
Buena Park, CA
Jan 04, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
I'm an outdoor person and knives are one of the most needed tools out there. This knife answers all the needs for survival in the wild. It has a fire starter and a sharpener attached to a sturdy sheath. It is from 1090 steel and I like the thickness of the razor-sharp blade.
Schrade SCHF37 Frontier Fixed 7" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 4 stars out of 5
Joshua B.
Bainbridge, In
Feb 06, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish

Must have tool!

First off this knife is amazing! It's a perfect addition to this company's line up! I have nothing but great things to say about schrade knives and this is no exception! Thickness of the blade is great! Weight is great! Although the jury is out on the blade coating. I have never been to find of the sheaths sent with their knives. You have this awesome beast of a knife and crap to carry it in! Although a bit of redeeming is that it does come with a ferro rod and sharpening stone! All perks in my book that your going to add anyway and they give them at no additional charge! If you have the option to get micarta handles they are the way to go! These aren't bad handle scales. I just think a blades of this caliber it should just be standard! If your on the fence just but it because your not going to regret it and Knifecenter has the best prices and customer service around!
Schrade SCHF37 Frontier Fixed 7" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 4 stars out of 5
Garrett
austin
Feb 15, 2016
Pros: Materials, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Finish

$weet Hunk of 1095!

Bought 3 of these for a contest - no blade is allowed to remain stock - contestants must change finish/handle/grind/profile/whatever. Coolest knife wins. Contest to be judged by the rest of the family at year-end. Huge hunk of 1095 for 30 bucks??? C'mon, you know you need another tac-t-kewl/zombie-decapitatin'/paul bunion wood-craftin'/neighborhood nuclear superiority blade. And for this price, fuhgeddaboudit! Now I'm wondering if I can cut/grind in some fullers on a hardened blade without massacring the temper? Hmmm.
Schrade SCHF37 Frontier Fixed 7" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 4 stars out of 5
Aucklandknifeyspoony
Auckland, NZ
Oct 30, 2017
Pros:
Cons:

Good piece of kit. Jimping not that bad

This is a big, sturdy piece of steel. Out of the box the blade was visually straight and could shave arm hairs with light pressure. The ferro rod and sharpened fit into the sheath well. The sheath itself took some manipulation to buckle close. The jimping a lot of reviewers talk about didn't seem that excessive, though I haven't used it for sustained work yet. The black coating isn't visually appealing (particularly dull) but that's a minor issue. Hand feel is good
Schrade SCHF37 Frontier Fixed 7" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 4 stars out of 5
Antonio
Long Island,NY
May 13, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Materials, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Finish, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard

Schrade schf37.

The handle ergonomic wasn't comfortable because the jinping in hard on the hands.
Schrade SCHF37 Frontier Fixed 7" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 4 stars out of 5
South Texan
South Texas
Apr 21, 2015
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None

A fine survival knife

This is a very useful knife for survival kits
Schrade SCHF37 Frontier Fixed 7" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 4 stars out of 5
Gordon N
Fall River, Ma
May 17, 2015
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Finish

SCHF37, Is there a quality control hiccup?

First off I would like to commend Knife Center for the speedy delivery of my order, it was fast! I have always been fond of Schrade knives for a number of years now. So after looking over the newer product lines, I invested in the SFHF37, 36, and 38. I prefer carbon steel blades that are workers and the 1095 steel was right up my alley. When properly heat treated, it is one tough steel that can take the abuse, yet is easy to restore the edge on. However I'm not a fan of the powder coatings on blades, so I removed it from all of them. What I found was that the steel underneath was not final finished. I also found the spine of the schf37 bent to the right and the grind angles were not even. At this price range, this was not a deal breaker for me. It is after all designed to be used as a working knife. I found that the grind bevels on the schf38 were also off the mark and uneven and made it difficult to sharpen. I'm sure this is a quality control issue and these blades would probably have never left the factory when they were manufactured back in the day. Schrade is a name that has a rich history and will continue if they can get the current foreign manufacturer's to maintain final product quality standards that we remember and they pay attention to the feedback from the field of users out there. All this being said, I've put these knives through some tough stuff and they seem to be holding their own. So I guess they won't end up in my give away pile yet, lol.
Schrade SCHF37 Frontier Fixed 7" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 4 stars out of 5
Glen
Texad
May 27, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: Finish

poor finish

The only con I have with this knife is the grind is not even on the spine at the tip of the knife.
Schrade SCHF37 Frontier Fixed 7" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 4 stars out of 5
Gordon N
Fall River, Ma
May 27, 2015
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Finish, Blade Sharpness

SCHF37 Frontier 7" Blade

Having owned Schrade products since being a little boy many decades ago, I looked forward to owning this substantial working knife to help me in my bush crafting and Native activities, especially when dealing with fire and camp chores. I especially liked the fact that it was a carbon steel 1/4" thick blade that has good chopping/splitting potential, good ergonomics in the hand and the weight to get the job done. However, I found that the one I received had a very noticeable bend in the spine of the blade and that this caused the grind lines to be uneven. After removing the black coating (which I don't like) I found that the blade had not been ground or buffed well. The blade was not as sharp as I am used to and it took me awhile to correct the grind imperfections and put a decent edge on the blade. For me, this is a working knife which now does the job for me. However, quality control at the Chinese plant is poor I think and covering it with a black coating kind of added insult to the prestigious Schrade name and quality I remember from times past. I still have a healthy respect for the work this blade has done so far and it's holding up well. She may not be a 10 and neither am I, but we are both hard workers.
Schrade SCHF37 Frontier Fixed 7" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 4 stars out of 5
Thomas
Austria
Feb 26, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: Finish, None

sharp, durable, small quality issues

Right out of the box this knife was really sharp and felt very nice. The second day I had it I realized two things: 1: the black coating of the blade is not 100 percent accurate; there seems to be a bit 'missing' close to the edge 2: the handle was not fixed properly; there was a gap between the tang and the handle grips which could be closed by tightening the two screws that fix the handle Overall for the price a very good and durable knife; defininitely no knife for showing off, but a good tool.
Schrade SCHF37 Frontier Fixed 7" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 4 stars out of 5
Zack
Australia
Aug 06, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Great but blade is bent

Overall this knife is great, the hollow ground blade is fantastic at chopping, slicing and other small tasks, the sheath is well made and comes with a ferro rod and sharpening stone which represents great value and comes razor sharp out of box. The 1095 steel is also a fantastic steel choice and overall you really get your monies worth. The only issue and this is one commonly found among the internets is that the bloody thing comes bent. Not sure how this happens but it is an issue that is found among the shcrade line. Thankfully it does not affect performance.
Schrade SCHF37 Frontier Fixed 7" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 4 stars out of 5
Charles C
Lake Stevens, Wa
Dec 18, 2015
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None

Fantastic Value if you are a bit handy with tools

Okay, first, fantastic value. VERY solid construction and a really comfortable grip once you do a bit of work... so here are the cons, and the only cons, 1st) the jimping. Both the upper and lower jimping is EXTREMELY pronounced and aggressive... to the point of being painful. A bit of work with a medium or small half-round file will solve that however. Use the rounded side to round the upper and lower jimping surfaces and the flat side to round the outer edges and you are in business. Alternatively, you can do what I did and just make some G10/Micart grip panels that aren't recessed to expose the jimping. With the jimping even with the top edge of the panel what was once painful is now simply handy. 2nd) the finish. The finish, or blade coating, is as rough as sandpaper and REALLY gets in the way when cutting. While working on the jimping I used a paint stripper to completely remove the coating. Cuts like a dream and it only took about 45min-1hr to get all the coating off. If you are willing to do even a little work this knife is a steal. Oh, and the sheath/scabbard is okay but nothing special... pretty good for something to hold the knife until you can make or get something better. BUT, Schrade throws in a pretty good diamond sharpening stone and a good firesteel with a striker. Super plus in my book.
Schrade SCHF37 Frontier Fixed 7" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 3 stars out of 5
Snipes
Guelph, On
Mar 16, 2015
Pros: Materials, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Finish

You get what you pay for

My knife came in and it was slightly bent and the spine is not square meaning, if you try to stand the knife on its spine, it sits off to one side because the grind is not even..The choil is also not smooth, very choppy grinding as well as the exposed tang. The exposed tang is has a very choppy grind as well, it looks like the the knife was not finished, and was missed on the final grinding stage..For $30 i prefer the schf26 which is in the same price point, and the knife is flawless! The quality, fit and finish exceeds the $30 price point..For the schf37 you get what you pay for a $30 blade! nothing more nothing less..
Schrade SCHF37 Frontier Fixed 7" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 3 stars out of 5
David F
Paducah ky
Apr 23, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, Finish, None

Bent blade

Received the knife new in package. The knife was noticeably bent to the right maybe due to a bad heat treat. If this was the end of the story, it would have got one star. Called the manufacture and the sent me a new one with a prepaid envelop to send back the old one. New knife is a 4 out of 5. Lost a star due to grind being slightly mismatched. Hair shaving sharp out of the box.
Schrade SCHF37 Frontier Fixed 7" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 3 stars out of 5
John
North carolina
Aug 25, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, None

Schafer 37

For $35 it is a good buy. But needs to be modified. The coating that it comes with is terrible and I removed it immediately with the help of paint stripper. Be sure to remove the handles or you will not have any. I also removed the ripples on the steel handle. Then I polished the whole knife with 400 grit w/d sandpaper. after sanding I cleaned with soapy water. The I cold blues the entire knife to prevent it from rusting. Carbon steel WILL RUST. Yon must blue to prevent rust then a light coat of vegetable oil.
Schrade SCHF37 Frontier Fixed 7" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 3 stars out of 5
Andy
cali
Mar 02, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None

no sheath?

excellent blade for the cost but many tend to ship without the sheath /accessories
Schrade SCHF37 Frontier Fixed 7" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 2 stars out of 5
C. Quijano
NJ
Feb 11, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Weight, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality

Not quite what I expected.

The knife boasts some great features and has a nice heft to it. It is however not the quality level it appeared to be. This product was made in China, and from what Taylor Brands explained to me, the first shipment to the US was below their standard. I sincerely doubt that kept them from selling the lot. As a result my knife has a few visible issues, the most concerning being the blade itself which is partially bent, the other issue is with the handle scales...they are not level and show a slight shift upwards where the scales should line up. Neither appear to affect the overall performance of the blade, but I plan on testing it a bit further this coming week when in in the bush. If it does not disappoint I will order a new one without the flaws.
Schrade SCHF37 Frontier Fixed 7" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 2 stars out of 5
Bill
Pennsylvania
Apr 05, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Overall Quality, Finish, None

KNIFE IS BENT!

Ive read other reviews of this knife when it was first released of the knife being bent and i was really hoping the quality control was better on this round that was released a couple weeks ago but it wasn't, as many others are reporting the knife is bent or warped, its useable but annoying.
Schrade SCHF37 Frontier Fixed 7" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 2 stars out of 5
Matt
Louisianna
Apr 24, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: None
Blade bent on first use with both of these that i ordered. Schrade says they will replace them. They are still in scrades warrentee so that is all that i knkw for now. It is a big beefy knife that gets work done. Jimping too aggressive though
Schrade SCHF37 Frontier Fixed 7" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 1 stars out of 5
Logan S
New York
Mar 07, 2016
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Material, Materials

Cool while it lasted

This knife came very sharp, and was great at executing many tasks. But, after about 3 weeks of having it, only having used it about 10 times, it broke. It broke right where the blade meets the handle and went flying in the air. It's a good knife for a little while, but is overall low quality.
Schrade SCHF37 Frontier Fixed 7" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 1 stars out of 5
William S
mesa az
Apr 22, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: Overall Quality, Finish

purchased two of the schrade schf37

Purchased two of the schf37 knives and both came in bent. One to the left and one to the right. I knew schrade had some quality control issues a while back but watched reviews of this knife and thought those issues were a thing of the past.WRONG! Then i screwed up and stripped the crappy finish without looking at the knives or would have returned them.
Schrade SCHF37 Frontier Fixed 7" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 1 stars out of 5
William S
mesa az
Apr 22, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: Overall Quality, Finish

purchased two of the schrade schf37

Purchased two of the schf37 knives and both came in bent. One to the left anf one to the right. I knew schrade had some quality control issues a while back but watched reviews of this knife and thought those issues were a thing of the past.WRONG! Then i screwed up and stripped the crappy finish without looking at the knives or would have returned them.