Reviews and Ratings for Schrade SCHF37M Frontier Fixed 7" Black 8Cr13MoV Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone

Schrade SCHF37M Frontier Fixed 7" Black 8Cr13MoV Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stonerated 4.250 stars out of 5 (8 reviews)
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
3
4 star
4
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Schrade SCHF37M Frontier Fixed 7 inch Black 8Cr13MoV Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone

 

Price: $48.95

Save $33.04 (40%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Schrade SCHF37M Frontier Fixed 7" Black 8Cr13MoV Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Erich J
Prattville Alabama
Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Materials, None
bad to the bone
I bought this knife to start processing fat wood with it.what can I say? The knife works perfectly in all aspects of wood working.The only small problem I had was the handles became lose while chopping up pine branches. But that was an easy fix by tightening up the screws. You will not be sorry if you but this knife.
Schrade SCHF37M Frontier Fixed 7" Black 8Cr13MoV Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mad G
St. Louis
Apr 16, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Best Survival Knife, hands down.
I use at least 2 weekends a month. And by use I mean abuse. The ONLY downfall is the black coating is starting to chip off after 2 months, and yes, the sheath is garbage. Perfect length for splitting wood for fire. Have done everything with it from gutting and cleaning fish, cutting branches for shelter, shaving bark, all the way to creating notches for a hearthboard. Extremely sharp out of the box, perfect weight, its actually extremely light for how large it is ! Perfect knife, has been through hell and back with me.
Schrade SCHF37M Frontier Fixed 7" Black 8Cr13MoV Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Darryl
canada
Jan 20, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
it comes real sharp out of the box a real nice heavy knife
Schrade SCHF37M Frontier Fixed 7" Black 8Cr13MoV Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 4 stars out of 5
David F
Oxnard, Ca
Apr 07, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, None
Cons: Finish
SCHF37M
I have to start with the cons because I had to modify this one before use. Jimping overly aggressive had to grind them down and the coating was thick like non-skid so had to take all that off. Sheath is decent compared to others and steel not sure why people hate on this steel but it holds an edge as good as 1095 defiantly better then 1075. Been abusing this knife in ways I wouldn't with others because I do have the 1095 version on backorder so fully testing this one batoning, chopping, stabbing, and throwing. Been destroying my wood supply on my side yard processing wood that I would normally use an axe or saw for and it has held up great no issues it's been so fun I am running out of wood. No issues chopping even 3' diameter wood, batoning for long periods hand my left hand hurting especially because I was going through knots and anything from 3.5' diameter and down, tried 4' but a bit to much and didn't want to waste my time on that. Can do fine work but the blade thickness makes it a pain wouldn't recommend for the small tasks but can be done if u had to. For the price especially the 1095 versions they can't be beat.
Schrade SCHF37M Frontier Fixed 7" Black 8Cr13MoV Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 4 stars out of 5
Paulsladek
paulsladek5113@comcast.net
Aug 16, 2015
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
my ferro fod was used up please send another paul sladek
my knives have not been sharp x ferro rod used up please send another paul sladek haven't used it yet fully
Schrade SCHF37M Frontier Fixed 7" Black 8Cr13MoV Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mike
California
May 18, 2015
Pros: Handle Material
Cons: None
great
Feels great in hand.
Schrade SCHF37M Frontier Fixed 7" Black 8Cr13MoV Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 4 stars out of 5
Angus C
Hawthorne, Ca
Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material
Cons: Finish, None
Hollow grind
The only review I could find that covered the grind (rather than regurgitating readily found "specs") said flat grind. But it is not, it is hollow ground. Why? What a stupid choice design decision for a jack-of-all-trades survival knife. Great value for money... but I would not have purchased this had I known. Putting that aside, the handle shape feels good for medium to large glove size hands, the balance is good, and the choil/handle is comfortable and locks up nice and secure in a choked hold. But... the black coating is thick, uneven crud. I bought the stainless version for my coastal environment with every expectation of removing it. The sole purpose seems to be for hiding tooling marks from machining the blade, it provides no advantage for the user. It's a high line sabre grind, but if it was flat grind rather than hollow grind this would be a winner. As it is hollow grind I won't be keeping it.
Schrade SCHF37M Frontier Fixed 7" Black 8Cr13MoV Blade, Micarta Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 3 stars out of 5
Arne
Germany
Sep 08, 2017
Pros: Weight, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
A big companion
It's a heavy duty knive, no doubt, but it has some flaws: -I chopped a tree with it(15cm diameter; some lightweight conifer wood) and a small(1cm) bit of the blade broke off. I sharpened it and am still using the knife, but I did not expect the knife to not be able to handle such a task. -The handles are badly designed; they thin out towards the end of the knife. Not much, but enough to make one's hand to slip off the end while whaking something with it. -The sheath was totally broken after ca. 4 months, but I expected that to happen. -The sharpening tool is useful, but only approx. 10 times, after that it is used up. -The fire rod is okay. I mean, it's a fire rod. What could be wrong with a fire rod? If I had enough money I'd bought the BK9 instead but for this price the knife is more than alright, because if you really want to, you could easily fit your own handles to it, and sewing a selfmade sheath is nothing big of a task. It is friggin sharp out of the box and can easily be sharpened again, while still holding the edge for quite long.