Reviews and Ratings for Schrade SCHF38 Frontier Fixed 5.77" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone

Schrade SCHF38 Frontier Fixed 5.77" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stonerated 4.455 stars out of 5 (11 reviews)
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
2
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Schrade SCHF38 Frontier Fixed 5.77 inch Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone

 

Price: $31.95

Save $22.04 (41%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Schrade SCHF38 Frontier Fixed 5.77" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Aaron
Missouri
Feb 07, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Finish, Blade Sharpness
#1 in my books, knifecenter!
I now have a new knife source for all my knife needs. Knifecenter is the best in my books, I messed up my ordering info and one call to knifecenter and they cleared it all up and still had the knife to my door in 2 days, I got the schrade schf 38 from them and I'll tell you what, everybody else that has this knife in stock is price gouging the heck out of it but knifecenter still has them reasonably priced. I would recommend this knife to anyone starting out in bushcraft survival like myself and as soon as the schf36 and schf37 are available from knifecenter I'm ordering both of them. Knifecenter just earned a spot at the top of my favorites list.
Schrade SCHF38 Frontier Fixed 5.77" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tammy
Baton Rouge, LA
Jan 28, 2016
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
Love the knife
Bought it as a gift for my oldest son. He absolutely loves the knife. He brings it to the hunting camp on the weekends.
Schrade SCHF38 Frontier Fixed 5.77" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Turk
Mastic NY.
Jan 23, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
It's a slab.
Solid as a brick, and sharp as hell right out of the box. Excellent ergonomics. I've purchased a couple of the newer Schrade pieces, and continue to be astonished at the value for money. Even the sheath is nice!! Can't wait to bo a bit of bush crafting with this puppy.
Schrade SCHF38 Frontier Fixed 5.77" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bob W
penn yan ny
Mar 20, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
durabillty
with the full shank this knife is great for outdoors survival ,with the use of a small hand held log this knife becomes an essential chopping machine for fire wood, as heavy as it is in strength it is lite enough to handle,but most of all the price,the same knife or one that is comparable , cost 3x as much so my feelings are that this knife stands up to any high priced knife out there
Schrade SCHF38 Frontier Fixed 5.77" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sokanha N
2690 Mt Baker Hwy, Bellingham WA 98226
Mar 02, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Schrade SCHF38
It's a great tool for camping, for starting the fire, fishing...My husband loves it.
Schrade SCHF38 Frontier Fixed 5.77" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Richard R
Orient , Oh
May 06, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
This thing is a tank!
This knife is a beast, I use it for camping/bushcraft and there is nothing I wouldn't do with it. For a knife this size, it handles well for smaller jobs, and really steps up to the plate when you want to chop/carve/hammer the things that a big knife can. Its also heavy enough to make a hand hatchet optional. :-)
Schrade SCHF38 Frontier Fixed 5.77" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kc Ho
Malaysia
Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
好刀一把,重量称手均衝,塗層厚實,實而不华。刀套结實、(如有K鞘能多样化更好)鎖緊后刀具不会滑动。砍三吋树枝以下非常適用。切割锋利还行(粗体物)因求生刀刃大厚不及小折般细致。如要求粗用和防身(刀尖刺穿力比schf 37省力)重要是性价比超值。bk款杀手!不滿意的是刀柄跟刀身有些地方有细缝,不知日后会变形吗?中间没钢纸,希望日后有手抦配件(米加搭或實木)自己Diy也不錯!磨石易伤刃不用最好。这样價錢買了不会后悔。👍👍👍👍
Schrade SCHF38 Frontier Fixed 5.77" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 4 stars out of 5
Some Ol' Guy
Here
May 04, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: Finish, None
Good Knife for the Price
I use the knife for some average chopping and batoning and the knife handles the job great. I've really put a beating on it and have had no problems other than the coating. It chips really easily and just doesn't do much to protect the metal. Overall I am very pleased with the quality of the knife for the price.
Schrade SCHF38 Frontier Fixed 5.77" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 4 stars out of 5
Dan
U.S.
Jan 09, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: None
Excellent value
Excellent value for money. The SCHF38 fits the bill for a tough, all-around belt knife. Handle is comfortable with good traction, blade is sturdy with an easy to maintain edge grind and thick rust-resistant coating. Sheath is simple, sturdy, and well designed, and the included sharpening card and fire steel are serviceable and fit well into the sheath's pouch. Basic, affordable bug-out and camping gear that will serve well for years. My only complaints are matters of personal preference. The knife is a bit blade heavy for me -- I prefer the balance to be a bit more back in the handle. And I would have liked the jimping on the top of the handle to extend a bit out onto the back of the blade instead of ending at the front of the handle. Also, the plastic collar in the sheath requires the knife to be inserted one way only... can't be reversed for a left-handed carry or draw. No deal breaker for me, but something for lefties to consider.
Schrade SCHF38 Frontier Fixed 5.77" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 3 stars out of 5
Martin Y
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Feb 03, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Finish
Product Review
I like the knife. I see it as more of a tactical knife than a bush craft knife. My original knife that I received had a sight curvature to the blade. I informed Taylor Brands and they said to send it to them for inspection. The concurred and said there was a slight curvature in the blade. Unusual for this knife. They shipped me a new one, but where the scales meet at the spine, there is a slight separation between the scales and the spine, where water can get in and rust. I will let them know this. Everything is great except for three things: 1. get rid of the asphalt finish on the blade; 2. get rid of the gimping on the underneath part of the handle; 3. minimize the gimping on the top and move it forward to where the scales end and the spine begins. Do not make the gimping long on the top part. Also, reduce the heighth of the gimping. It is too aggressive and just flat out unnecessary. Would like to see a 6.25" blade. Also, thank then for not putting a choil on this blade.
Schrade SCHF38 Frontier Fixed 5.77" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 3 stars out of 5
Denny
Ohio
Mar 16, 2015
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: Finish, None
Nice knife for the price
Seems to be a pretty hefty knife.