Reviews and Ratings for Schrade SCHF43 Frontier "Jessica X" Fixed Blade Knife 9" Black Modified Tanto, Black TPE Handle, Nylon Belt Sheath

Schrade SCHF43 Frontier "Jessica X" Fixed Blade Knife 9" Black Modified Tanto, Black TPE Handle, Nylon Belt Sheathrated 2.412 stars out of 5 (17 reviews)
2.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
2
1 star
9
Schrade SCHF43 Frontier  inchJessica X inch Fixed Blade Knife 9 inch Black Modified Tanto, Black TPE Handle, Nylon Belt Sheath

 

Price: $29.95

Save $62.63 (68%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Schrade SCHF43 Frontier "Jessica X" Fixed Blade Knife 9" Black Modified Tanto, Black TPE Handle, Nylon Belt Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve K
Florida
Nov 15, 2019
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
So far so good
The example I received recently is not hollow ground. The edge seems to be factory ground at about 30-35° per side and was paper cutting sharp. We used it on a big tree we had to cut down recently for almost all the de-limbing and she held up fine. It's slightly heavier than my big knife from Verusteleka and that helped in this particular task. She almost passed the paper test afterward but was not quite cutting clean-nothing would have. It does not have Chris's sig but for the price it's a good deal IMHO.
Schrade SCHF43 Frontier "Jessica X" Fixed Blade Knife 9" Black Modified Tanto, Black TPE Handle, Nylon Belt Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gregory M
Minneapolis, Mn.
Oct 07, 2016
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard
SCHF 43 Wood processing took
This is a very fun, well designed tool, and the angles of the handle or perfect for the designed purpose. It is a woods processing tool, although I have used it in food prep by slicing tomatoes, potato, watermelon, avocado, cubbing meet ect. the primary design is heavy use. As with almost all knives under $100.00 the factory edge will work in a pinch but, putting a good edge on this knife turns it in to an Extreme chopper that will also do well at feather sticking and other menial tasks, and with slight modification to the spine, it works great with several different Fire rods, but this is a huge knife to use safely for striking a fire rod and you also get bragging rights.
Schrade SCHF43 Frontier "Jessica X" Fixed Blade Knife 9" Black Modified Tanto, Black TPE Handle, Nylon Belt Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Doc
Deep South
Jan 17, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Materials, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Worth the wait!
Finally, Jessica X. Once you hold it you'll love it. If not, at least you'll respect it. It's a knife, a tool, and a weapon all in one. As with any new knife, the owner will add their own modifications. I'll give credit where credit is due, awesome design Chris.
Schrade SCHF43 Frontier "Jessica X" Fixed Blade Knife 9" Black Modified Tanto, Black TPE Handle, Nylon Belt Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Robert Y
Moncton, NB, Canada
May 15, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials
My new arm!
When you weild the Jessica X, you immediately become enamoured with the perfect balance of weight and strength. 24 hours in the bush of Canada was all it took to convince me that this was what was missing from the bushcraft world. Primitive shelter build, fire prep, wood processing and food prep... I was even able to make maple chopsticks for eating! This tool is no gimmick... this tool just replaced my knife and hunters axe without remorse! Then there is the sheath... oh how I wish there had been kydex instead of Cordura. That's what I expect to be on a Coghlans machete, not what I would expect to be dressing my Jessica X in!
Schrade SCHF43 Frontier "Jessica X" Fixed Blade Knife 9" Black Modified Tanto, Black TPE Handle, Nylon Belt Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Warren
Portland,Oregon
Jun 28, 2020
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Finish
Tried my luck
I tried ordering one to see if I could get lucky. I received hollow grind. It has Chris's symbol and name on back(sorry Chris). I drove the tip into a dry stump and bent it over...nothing... tried again.... multiple times... nothing... beat the tar out of it... blade is dull but it didnt brake. I drove it half inch into stump and bent it 90. Blade didn't snap... its the wrong grind but the metal seems to be fixed... I'll keep you up to date if this changes. Compares to blades at this price. Really needs saber grind.
Schrade SCHF43 Frontier "Jessica X" Fixed Blade Knife 9" Black Modified Tanto, Black TPE Handle, Nylon Belt Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
J. Douglas H.
far northern California
Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material, None
Cons: Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
a very capable, and durrable tool.
I have used this tool for most of the tasks that is was designed for, and I was impressed with it's overall performance at every turn. I have very large hands ( XL leather gloves, and they are tight until the stretch out) so I found the hook at the tail end a little tight, and pinching on my little finger. other than that I can not find anything bad to say about the tool. I do not call this a knife, because even though the blade it's self is knife shaped, this is not a traditional knife, to be used for food prep, or fine tasks. it is a tool to process wood, build structures, clear brush, etc. I am not overly fond of the sheath, for wearing on my person, but that is OK, I have carried it lashed to my pack, much as I do my axe, or bow saw. this is a really big, heavy piece of steel, and it does everything it needs to. after several trips into the woods, and a lot of hard use, I have not found any damage to the blade, or edge, and even the coating has held up better than I expected.
Schrade SCHF43 Frontier "Jessica X" Fixed Blade Knife 9" Black Modified Tanto, Black TPE Handle, Nylon Belt Sheath
rated 2 stars out of 5
Joe
Edmond, OK
May 30, 2020
Pros: Handle Material, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material
The cheap version
This is definitely not the original JessX. This one is made with cheaper materials with a hollow ground edge. The original had a tougher flat grind and better steel. The only good thing about it is the price. Sadly, the original model is no longer in production and for some reason Schrade doesn’t intend to bring it back. If you need a cheap big knife for limited use, go ahead and get it. Just don’t expect this one to last as long or perform as it should.
Schrade SCHF43 Frontier "Jessica X" Fixed Blade Knife 9" Black Modified Tanto, Black TPE Handle, Nylon Belt Sheath
rated 2 stars out of 5
Travis Mac
Charlotte NC
May 17, 2020
Pros:
Cons:
No Longer the 5 star "Jessica X" we all loved....
Schrade changed this from Jessica X to something that has a ton of issues. I beat the ever living hell out of mine, still to this day, and have never had an issue..... however since the change they have had tons of issues with chipping, cracking, tips breaking off, wont hold an edge, etc. Guessing they changed the steel or hardening process....? Used to be 150 % worth it, now I wouldn't waste my money, but it could still function for simple chopping/splitting.
Schrade SCHF43 Frontier "Jessica X" Fixed Blade Knife 9" Black Modified Tanto, Black TPE Handle, Nylon Belt Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Awake
NV
Sep 18, 2018
Pros:
Cons:
hollow grind simply unreliable for bushcraft
Can't trust this anymore.
Schrade SCHF43 Frontier "Jessica X" Fixed Blade Knife 9" Black Modified Tanto, Black TPE Handle, Nylon Belt Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Grant
Texas
May 22, 2016
Pros: None
Cons: Handle Material, Overall Quality
handle material shredded
With a better handle, this might be a tolerable knife. But the handle material shreds so easily and then you really get blisters. No fun!!
Schrade SCHF43 Frontier "Jessica X" Fixed Blade Knife 9" Black Modified Tanto, Black TPE Handle, Nylon Belt Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
John
California
Mar 17, 2019
Pros: None
Cons: Blade Material
Bad Grind
Simply state the GRIND when selling this knife, we all know how bad it went when Schrade changed to a HOLLOW grind from Saber grind. Almost everyone was having their knives break and or chip! I have the older one with the Saber grind and it is excellent and I had the one with the Hollow grind but sent it back when it chipped!
Schrade SCHF43 Frontier "Jessica X" Fixed Blade Knife 9" Black Modified Tanto, Black TPE Handle, Nylon Belt Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Jacob
Louisiana
May 07, 2016
Pros: None
Cons: Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness
don't fooled
This is poorly designed. The handle is full of hotspots that cause blisters. It is better to just get an axe or something if you want to chop. This won't do it.
Schrade SCHF43 Frontier "Jessica X" Fixed Blade Knife 9" Black Modified Tanto, Black TPE Handle, Nylon Belt Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Former Customer
PA
Apr 14, 2019
Pros: None
Cons: Overall Quality, Finish, Blade Sharpness
Another bad call
At one time this was by far one of the most intuitive blade out there an absolute homerun.But as many other companies when they cut corners they ruin designs.This is no longer a JessX as it had been known now it is called the frontier. If you want to use it as a light machete you might be ok.It can no longer handle or perform anywhere close to it's predecessor. Inmho a total waste of money.You will waste more time sending it back or use a tool that will do the jobs you want to actually accomplish.It is a complete shame that they ruined such an awesome tool.
Schrade SCHF43 Frontier "Jessica X" Fixed Blade Knife 9" Black Modified Tanto, Black TPE Handle, Nylon Belt Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Dave
Colorado Springs, CO
Jul 30, 2019
Pros: None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials
Just BAD
Bad design and even worse execution. The handles will rub your hand, the sheath is a gimmick and the edge will chip. Never buying another knife designed by Chris Tanner.
Schrade SCHF43 Frontier "Jessica X" Fixed Blade Knife 9" Black Modified Tanto, Black TPE Handle, Nylon Belt Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Jhm45
Pa.
Sep 19, 2019
Pros: None
Cons: Overall Quality, Materials, Finish
An absolute shame
Since the company was taken over by the new owners they totally ruined this tool.In the beginning this was an awesome tool one of the best low priced choppers that could do it all.Unfortunately they ruined it,save your money and buy something that will hold up and do what you need no matter the circumstances.
Schrade SCHF43 Frontier "Jessica X" Fixed Blade Knife 9" Black Modified Tanto, Black TPE Handle, Nylon Belt Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
C Tanner
Columbus, OHIO
Jul 10, 2017
Pros:
Cons:
Knife has been changed
I am the designer of this knife. It was changed from a flat/saber grind to a hollow grind, which I do not approve of and had nothing to do with, regardless of the fact that they left my logo on the knife, which is misleading. Furthermore, I have significant evidence of VERY bad heat treatment on this batch, on top of the hollow grind. No longer representing the past 2 years of Youtube reviews. Buyer beware. - C Tanner Preparedmind101

KnifeCenter Note: We cannot verify the identity of this reviewer. So, please take that into consideration when believing what is said.
Schrade SCHF43 Frontier "Jessica X" Fixed Blade Knife 9" Black Modified Tanto, Black TPE Handle, Nylon Belt Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Gmarine0311
TX
Apr 07, 2020
Pros: Weight, None
Cons: Materials, Blade Sharpness, Finish
Not the original
They made it like Chris did but not the same grind and heat treatment is still off .