Reviews and Ratings for Schrade SCHF45 Full Tang Bowie Fixed 10.35" 8Cr13MoV Plain Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Fiber Sheath

Schrade SCHF45 Full Tang Bowie Fixed 10.35" 8Cr13MoV Plain Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Fiber Sheathrated 4.571 stars out of 5 (14 reviews)
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
6
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Schrade SCHF45 Full Tang Bowie Fixed 10.35 inch 8Cr13MoV Plain Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Fiber Sheath

 

Price: $48.95

Save $32.04 (40%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Schrade SCHF45 Full Tang Bowie Fixed 10.35" 8Cr13MoV Plain Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Fiber Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike
Lancaster, CA
Oct 29, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Schrade SCHF45 - Bowie
Haven't used my SCHF45 much yet, but I have several other Schrade knives, some made with the same materials. I wanted a large chopper type knife and finally decided to go for it. I really like this knife. Can't wait to take it camping.
Schrade SCHF45 Full Tang Bowie Fixed 10.35" 8Cr13MoV Plain Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Fiber Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dan G
Albuquerque, Nm
Dec 22, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great knife
This is a terrific camp knife. Large and heavy. Very well made and at a very affordable price
Schrade SCHF45 Full Tang Bowie Fixed 10.35" 8Cr13MoV Plain Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Fiber Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joe
Colorado
Aug 04, 2015
Pros: Materials, Finish, Blade Material, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Awesome Chopper
Great for chopping and batoning. Sharp out of the box, I touched up with a steel and is now shaving sharp. Sheath can be easily strapped anywhere. Wish it had a button snap instead of velcro for the fastener.
Schrade SCHF45 Full Tang Bowie Fixed 10.35" 8Cr13MoV Plain Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Fiber Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Digimon Q
Oct 22, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Blade Material
Cons: None
O lawdy
This is my first fixed handle knife and its dank as hell. At first when i opened i thought this might be too big, but then i thought to myself 'treat yourself girl' I am a man.
Schrade SCHF45 Full Tang Bowie Fixed 10.35" 8Cr13MoV Plain Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Fiber Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Aaron
Florida
Sep 24, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Finish
Cons: None
Excellent Chopper
This knife is everything as described on the website. I use this knife for chopping mostly. It is the size of a small machete. It holds an edge very well being that it is a softer steel. The sheathe is a decent one, I wish the belt loop for it was a bit larger for bigger belts. The knife was razor sharp out of the box. This knife is highly recommended.
Schrade SCHF45 Full Tang Bowie Fixed 10.35" 8Cr13MoV Plain Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Fiber Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Beau W
Mccleary, Wa
Sep 08, 2015
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Materials, Blade Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Weight, None
Great blade for the money!
I originally purchased this blade as a replacement for my not so great sporty good store machete. I would not consider it a great replacement as the blade is too short, thick, and heavy for cutting brush while traversing through the woods, though it has become apart of my everyday carry replacing my cheapo hatchet. I loce this blade, not what I wanted to use it for, but its definitely found its niche. I have abused the crap out of it and it holds up great. It barely looses an edge, it has a great weight ratio, the balance is awesome and its great for nailing into a tree above my head so i could use it as a step. I wouldnt have others replacing their machetes or hatchets with this blade, but as a general purpose knife, shovel, hatchet, hammer and stepping stool its worked great.
Schrade SCHF45 Full Tang Bowie Fixed 10.35" 8Cr13MoV Plain Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Fiber Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jim
Nashville, Tn.
Jul 17, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
..the Chopper...
...say what you will about 8cr13mov, but Schrade has the heat treating right on this blade...with the weight and hollow grind it goes through anything like butter...titanium color finish is smooth as glass...I stropped it a few times and got a hair shaving edge, then went and took out 1 1/2 inch branches in a hedge row...no problem, one stroke, done...great TPE handle; balance is great, just a tad blade heavy(about 1" from the hilt) ...jimping a little aggressive so I hit it with a diamond rod to round off the edges...sheath is nice with plenty of lashing points or 1 3/4' belt.( 2' will fit, but tight)..blade showed no roll, no chip, did not dull on what limbs I took out...soap and water took off the sap, good as new...nice solid grip and great feel, but a little on the thin side, no hot spots at all...thumbs up..can't beat the price...
Schrade SCHF45 Full Tang Bowie Fixed 10.35" 8Cr13MoV Plain Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Fiber Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kelly
Iowa
Aug 11, 2015
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
schf 45
I was waiting for this knife to be released for awhile. I immediately ordered the knife when i seen on the website. The knife is EXCELLENT!!! the handle is ok. Could use some palm swell though. Would REALLY be cool if an option was available to get micatra handles and a kydex sheath.
Schrade SCHF45 Full Tang Bowie Fixed 10.35" 8Cr13MoV Plain Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Fiber Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bkh
pa
Nov 23, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, None
Cons: Weight
Schf45
Very good knife for the price. On the heavy side, but chops and batons well
Schrade SCHF45 Full Tang Bowie Fixed 10.35" 8Cr13MoV Plain Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Fiber Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Walter
Dallas
Sep 23, 2015
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Blade Material, None
Schrade mega Bowie
Love it
Schrade SCHF45 Full Tang Bowie Fixed 10.35" 8Cr13MoV Plain Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Fiber Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Glen T
Earth
Dec 09, 2015
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard
That's not a knife...
Wow, this is one big knife! I knew the dimensions before ordering, but was shocked at the size of it. The huge, thick blade is great for all heavy chopping tasks, I used it to drop a 6" diameter tree and for batoning the wood from it. It held a decent edge the whole time, the grip feels pretty good. My only complaints were the thumb rest on the back of the handle and the belt loop on the sheath. The ridges on the thumb rest were a little sharp and rubbed the inside of my palm while using the knife. I hit it with a dremel to round it off a little and it is now pretty comfortable. The belt loop is really big, I'm thinking of cutting it off as the sheath holds the blade well without the handle strap. I plan on attaching to to the molle loops on my bag or belt using 550 cord, so I won't need the belt loop. All in all I'm very happy with the purchase.
Schrade SCHF45 Full Tang Bowie Fixed 10.35" 8Cr13MoV Plain Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Fiber Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Gary S
Umkomaas, Other
Dec 13, 2016
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Finish, Sheath/Scabbard
Quality for price
Great product. Really heavy knife in its class, ideal for battening, chopping tasks and general camp work. Could cut a tree down with this knife no problem. Don't like the finish of the ridges on the back, they should be on blade in front of pommel.They interfere with hand and are too sharp. Really sturdy construction in general. Not a lady or kids knife , bit too heavy. Sheath holds knife securely although the loop around the handle is junk, fastens with Velcro and is not a loose strap which could come out of sheath. Having said, very happy with this product overall. Could really recommend to someone looking for a big knife for heavy work, just be aware it is a big heavy knife.
Schrade SCHF45 Full Tang Bowie Fixed 10.35" 8Cr13MoV Plain Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Fiber Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Forrest
Maine
Oct 03, 2015
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Materials, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material
Beast
Use this knife for chopping and batoning wood. It has a great edge and is not hard to re-sharpen after abuse. The grip is comfortable, though I would prefer a beefier palm swell instead of the more square handles. The sheath is nothing to rave about but it does lock securely into place.
Schrade SCHF45 Full Tang Bowie Fixed 10.35" 8Cr13MoV Plain Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Fiber Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Scout 1
Tyne&wear
Jul 26, 2017
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Blade point
Bought this knife first impressions wow used for heavy use well pleased until the tip broke off just snapped off couldn't believe it contacted schrade explained what happened and they sent me a new knife straight away now thats very good customer service