Reviews and Ratings for Schrade SCHF9N Extreme Survival Large Fixed 6.4" Gray Blade, Black TPR Handles, Nylon Sheath

Schrade SCHF9N Extreme Survival Large Fixed 6.4" Gray Blade, Black TPR Handles, Nylon Sheathrated 4.818 stars out of 5 (11 reviews)
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Schrade SCHF9N Extreme Survival Large Fixed 6.4 inch Gray Blade, Black TPR Handles, Nylon Sheath

 

Price: $32.95

Save $33.71 (51%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Schrade SCHF9N Extreme Survival Large Fixed 6.4" Gray Blade, Black TPR Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
M.A.J.
Hiram ,Ohio
Sep 27, 2018
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Bad ass! Bushcraft knife
SCHRADE is really knocking it out of the park! I just got this knife and was really surprised of the quality very well done, I own several ontarios RAT 7, RTAK 2 Bk7 and this thing is a beast I can't wait ti use it , I have no sought this knife will do everything as the ontarios and the BK, don't look at price this knife feel like a 100 dollar knife, the only knock I have is the sheath, Go get your self one you will not regret it . GoodJob Schrade keep it up.
Schrade SCHF9N Extreme Survival Large Fixed 6.4" Gray Blade, Black TPR Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
73F100
Tennessee
Mar 18, 2020
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great value!
I just received my new Schrade SCHF9N. I had watched some reviews on line about different survival knives and settled on this one. I was not disappointed. The quality of manufacturing and materials is superb. Some reviewers said the handle was a little large but I have somewhat big hands and the grip is perfect for me. The sheath is well made and functional. I especially like the wide and beefy spine. It has a nice sharp edge especially back by the handle for striking a ferro rod. I am looking forward to using this knife for many years to come.
Schrade SCHF9N Extreme Survival Large Fixed 6.4" Gray Blade, Black TPR Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Noah
Texas
Jan 07, 2017
Pros: None
Cons: None
Do it all
I have had this knife for about 3 years now and have done everything with it. I have skinned and butchered a hog, cut down trees and used it to baton hard and soft woods with ease. This is an excellent knife at any price.
Schrade SCHF9N Extreme Survival Large Fixed 6.4" Gray Blade, Black TPR Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
John
Oklahoma City , Ok
Mar 03, 2018
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Wow! What a beast
So when I ordered this knife I was expecting the quality would match what I paid for it. I was simply wanting a fixed blade utility knife for outdoor use that I could use and abuse with no worries if I broke it or lost it. When I opened the box and saw this beast I was impressed. The knife is thick. It's up for anything you want to do with it. The quality for the price is amazing. I found the sheath decent too which is not always the case with cheaper knives. I have several Schrade knives from years ago that were made in the US. I hate to see them made in China now but it seems they are cranking out quality knives for those of us on a budget. This is truly a very cool knife.
Schrade SCHF9N Extreme Survival Large Fixed 6.4" Gray Blade, Black TPR Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Robert
Texas
Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Tough as nails survival knife
My go to knife. I used this knife to baton oak limbs, make bow drills, and chop down trees five inches in diameter. I reshaped the edge to work better with my sharpening system. After three hours of chopping trees and buttoning oak limbs, the blade showed little damage and the edge was still razor sharp, tested by shaving hair on my arm.
Schrade SCHF9N Extreme Survival Large Fixed 6.4" Gray Blade, Black TPR Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve
Goodyear, AZ
Dec 30, 2015
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
The BEST BUY in a survival knife
To me, this is the absolute BEST BUY in a survival knife. I have at least a dozen fixed blade survival and fighting knives, but this is now my primary knife. The blade is thick and strong, and the coating doesn't wear off easily. The blade is very sharp out of the box. I was able to crack open a coconut in just two whacks. The handle (grip) is longer than many other knives (good for larger hands), and reasonably comfortable - rubbery - good for wet situations. The lanyard hole is a nice touch, and the open slot in the rear of the handle leaves some space for pounding with the "pommel" end. The balance is excellent - hard to find a better balanced knife in my opinion. And the price point makes this knife simply unbeatable. The only thing that I would prefer to see is a Kydex sheath. The nylon sheath is the only drawback to this knife.
Schrade SCHF9N Extreme Survival Large Fixed 6.4" Gray Blade, Black TPR Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
John
Texas
Dec 13, 2018
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Materials, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Weight
Great knife for the money
I own a lot of Schrades some old and some new, some American and some Chinese. The new Chinese knives have come a long way; but you have to pay attention to the type of steel used. I'm also a big fan of the bolo style blade; and this is a partial bolo. It is a heavy knife as are many knives coming out of China. That's okay if the designs are right; and this one is. It is definitely a bush knife that can serve well as a defender. I doubt that it can be broken and should be able to baton with ease. The sheath is ok. I won't complain about it. I realize some folks like a lighter blade; and I wouldn't classify this one as an EDC. It's a woods blade to have along with your favorite just in case. I like it very much.
Schrade SCHF9N Extreme Survival Large Fixed 6.4" Gray Blade, Black TPR Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Hunter D
Hidden Valley Lake, CA
Feb 02, 2015
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Blade Material, None
Incredible Knife for the Price Range
This knife is incredible. Not only did it come shaving sharp out of the box, but it feels great in the hand, the weight is perfect. Even the sheath is incredible, I loved the handy storage pouch, I have actually filled mine with fire starting equipment, and a small sharpening stone. I also love the use of mollie straps, and I like how the storage pouch is removable. I really likey his knife overall and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a good survival knife.
Schrade SCHF9N Extreme Survival Large Fixed 6.4" Gray Blade, Black TPR Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cheryl G
Wisconsin
Nov 09, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Balance is excellent. Weight feels good in hand, extrememly well built
I highly recommend putting this knife up against any other brand. The Scrade will beat it's quality, design, and function every time.
Schrade SCHF9N Extreme Survival Large Fixed 6.4" Gray Blade, Black TPR Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
J. Jones
Washington state
May 01, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: Weight, None
Great buy and knife kicks....
I love this knife. I have owned it for 4 years and purchased it through knife center. The spine is super tough and it holds an edge very well. It's a survival knife, so the sheath and pockets are versatile, and the knife is made to take a beating. I definitely recommend this knife
Schrade SCHF9N Extreme Survival Large Fixed 6.4" Gray Blade, Black TPR Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Jm
Rydal, PA
Sep 04, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: Blade Sharpness
Good value
Nice big hunk of steel, great for many uses. Handle feels nice in my extra large hands, sheath is adjustable not only for belt size but also locking strap so it can be set up to hold the knife tightly in the sheath unlike a lot of other modern knives. My main issue is the grind, it is far from even side to side and did not come sharp at all. It will function as a hacker as intended but it would have been nice to have a properly ground edge :(