Reviews and Ratings for Schrade USA-Made Manilla Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.01" D2 Satin Blade, Stainless Steel Handles - SCMF

Schrade USA-Made Manilla Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.01" D2 Satin Blade, Stainless Steel Handlesrated 3.6430000000000002 stars out of 5 (28.0 reviews)
3.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
5
3 star
3
2 star
5
1 star
3
Schrade USA-Made Manilla Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.01 inch D2 Satin Blade, Stainless Steel Handles

 

Price: $86.95

Save $57.04 (40%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Schrade USA-Made Manilla Folder Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.01" D2 Satin Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ian
Malaysia
May 08, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

excellent product

I like the weight in my hand, compare to other Balisong. Sharp as expected. well done Shcrade. its a great product.
Schrade USA-Made Manilla Folder Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.01" D2 Satin Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike
Ohio
Jan 18, 2018
Pros: Handle Feel, Blade Material, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None

Good and True Reproduction

This is pretty much a good reproduction of the original Manilla folder from the 80's. What you think of it likely will be based on your experience with modern Balisong designs. As a reproduction I give it a 5/5 as it pretty much represents what Balisongs were in the past-- heavy, beefy, sloppy, and loud. People need to understand that in the past, balisongs were not designed primarily as flippers to be spun around in the air but as actual functional knives that could be quickly deployed. The loose tolerances allows such a heavy knife to be deployed quickly without having to worry so much about form. Having a double bayonet edge on the spine was of no concern as you wouldn't be doing richochets or rebounds with this knife. This wasn't designed as a hardcore flipper and represents the stereotypical balisong you would see in martial arts movies or street brawls. It's loud and clanky and the metallic rattling sound on deployment adds to the 'intimidation' factor of a balisong. It's a copy of the past, not an attempt to try to compete with today's specs and tolerances. Given all of this and the fact that its only $79, uses D2 steel, and has a pretty solid construction despite of loose tolerances, its a 5/5. If you get this knife and expect it to flip like a $450 Alpha Beast Infinity, its a no brainer you will be disappointed. But compared to a lot of the junk out there in the balisong world in this price range, its a good buy.
Schrade USA-Made Manilla Folder Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.01" D2 Satin Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Biker
Arizona
Mar 06, 2018
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Heavy Duty

Made like a tank and feels good in the hand! Knife came fast and is made well. Bought it for a collection item!
Schrade USA-Made Manilla Folder Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.01" D2 Satin Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mr619
San diego California
Apr 02, 2018
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great knife

This product is exceptional great craftsmanship
Schrade USA-Made Manilla Folder Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.01" D2 Satin Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Goose
Bristol Tennessee
Apr 14, 2020
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip

Awesome knive

This knive you can carry every day. Its solid and feels good when using it for work or play. Not much bad to say about it myself. A little loose not much. I do some flipping learing more but this is more of a edc, work knife but i would also consider it as a collectors knife or just one to play with. Very well made and a great knife to have or if ur growing a collection then you gotta have one of these.. Schrade this Balisong is a winner.
Schrade USA-Made Manilla Folder Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.01" D2 Satin Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jimi
Colorado
Apr 25, 2017
Pros: Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None

Outstanding balisong

Great!
Schrade USA-Made Manilla Folder Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.01" D2 Satin Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bob
SEUS
Sep 14, 2018
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Weight, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

2nd purchase, still great...

Except for handmade rivets, this knife dupes a 1983 knife, which was its purpose. A tribute piece to the first Taylor butterfly knives. All the whiners seem to miss the point. THIS is what we had , folks, as very best available at the time. State Of The Art 1980. And it still is handground as the first, but now, with two in hand, can see the slightly higher grind on one side consistant to second. The latch also seems consistant, tight in one config, a bit loose in the other, depending on which direction latch installed will determine in tighter or looser , deployed or stowed. A handmade balisong as of my younger years, stouter than about anything ever made, aside from the original Taylor "heavy" model. A butterfly knife up to serious use and abuse, which cannot be said of baton twirler specialty items so in vogue today. If you want a baton twirler, buy something else. If you want a one-hand tough SOB knife, buy this one.
Schrade USA-Made Manilla Folder Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.01" D2 Satin Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chuck
Dallas, Texas
Jun 15, 2020
Pros: Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Buy it!!!

I reviewed this once already. However I'm gonna make another one. This is the best knife I have ever owned. Actually this is the coolest thing I have ever owned.
Schrade USA-Made Manilla Folder Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.01" D2 Satin Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bob
SEUS
Sep 12, 2018
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Material
Cons: None

Great durable knife for the money...

Mine arrived Sept 12 2018, looking as good a best review knives...cleanly finished handles and blade, decent handmade rivets, stop pin obviously cut to length...primary blade grind a bit higher on one side, but tip quite symmetrical, better than a REAL bayonet, by far. When one pays under $100 for a knife, perfection is rare. What also is rare at that price is a knife this solid, this much stainless, this much D2 steel. A great one-hand stabber, scraper, digger, pryer knife tough enough for blue collar work knife subject to extreme abuse. No thin edge/thin stocked slicer, but a heavy duty folder, extremely heavy duty folder. If you want nitnoid showboat perfection, go elsewhere...if you want a rough and ready thick edged one-hand knife, this is hard to beat. Reports are that the D2 is thankfully left at softer end of things, as if taken to 60-61 is entirely untrustworthy for shock and abuse...this knife looks and feels and is tough...
Schrade USA-Made Manilla Folder Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.01" D2 Satin Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Zachery M
San Antonio, Tx
Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Lock Type, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip

Edc

This is quickly become my favorite knife I own. The only thing that could possibly make this knife better would be an optional pocket clip. But other than that hands down my favorite knife.
Schrade USA-Made Manilla Folder Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.01" D2 Satin Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Doug B
Oxford, MI
Mar 09, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: Weight, None

Time Machine to the 1980's

Overall a nice "beefy brute". Heavy. Mine looks good and has acceptable blade play. It's thick and the bite handle latch is taking some getting used to. If your expecting a Bradley performance you'll be disappointed. I purchased to add to my collection-mainly. It would be nice to see it in Brass and really take me back! "If you can count how many knives you have you don't have enough". Flip on!
Schrade USA-Made Manilla Folder Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.01" D2 Satin Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Millhouse
New Hampshire
Feb 07, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None

Great mid grade option

For quite some time i have been looking for a solid edc butterfly knife that was of quality but not in the 300 dollar range. When i saw this i was deeply considering a blade runner system bare bones, but when i saw this puppy and did some research i had to pick one up. Now if your looking to flip it its not a great starter knife its sharp on a side and a half of the blade with heavy handles that can provide some nasty accidental cuts. That being said as a edc knife i have been loving it. The d2 blade is great and despite the reviews i have read mine has minimal blade play when deployed. It is built like a tank, and flips with authority. The fact the latch is on the safe handle took some adjustment but now that i am use to the change i dont mind it. Over all for the price you cant beat it. Theres almost no mid level butterfly knife market, and though this is more of a throwback piece to the 80s as opposed to a modern flipping knife its still a great option. So if your actually looking to use your knife and want a balisong this may be a great option for you.
Schrade USA-Made Manilla Folder Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.01" D2 Satin Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jojo
Hawaii
Jul 21, 2017
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None

Heavy in a goodway

This knife is heavier and has more practical applications than other balisongs I've played with. It can be a bit clunky flipping around but it cuts like a dream and the stainless steel is a great look. My only gripe is the fact that the latch is on the safe handle and often dents the blade above the safe portion of the blade.
Schrade USA-Made Manilla Folder Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.01" D2 Satin Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Edcutter
Chicago
Apr 29, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Blade Material, None
Cons: Lock Type, Weight, Lock Ease of Use

Great knife

I have used it for two weeks now, in a warehouse. I cut shrink wrap, straps, open packages, clamshell boxes, and whatever else. I destroy cheap knives in a few weeks. This one was well worth the money. It's heavy if you are a flipper, and loud, but I still enjoy flipping with this one. Fanning and finger rolls seem easier than in my lightweight balis, but I won't do a few tricks with this monster. Comes real sharp, and holds its edge well. I took the latch off. In fact, the latch is the only part of the knife I dislike.
Schrade USA-Made Manilla Folder Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.01" D2 Satin Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Brandon
New York
Apr 08, 2017
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Lock Type

Quality Knife for the Price

The entire thing is made out of steel, so it'll probably outlast you. One con is the latch which will flip upwards and shove itself between the safe handle and your hand while flipping (the safe handle is the one with the latch, not the other way around). The only other notable con is the fact that there is a decent amount of handle play; I personally don't mind this though. Another thing to note is that if you're a flipper that's used to light knives such as the 51 Morpho, there will definitely be a learning curve due to the weight.
Schrade USA-Made Manilla Folder Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.01" D2 Satin Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bloody Digits
Northern IL
Sep 29, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, None

Super Good Materials, Sloppy Tolerances

The other reviews I read were very good and accurate so I knew what I was getting when I ordered it. I wanted a D2 blade, and good quality material in the handle. I love the look of this knife, it's heft, size, and weight, and compared to other knives of this quality, the price was great!!! Be aware though, that with the blade being sharp on both sides, I don't consider this a good flipper, or a good blade for a working all purpose knife. The bad news is that the tolerances are so loose that the handles don't align to each other so that I can operate the lock, and lock it closed. The blade can also hit the lock lever and put a nick in the sharpened part of the backside of the blade. This slop is about half of the handle width when open, and about half that when closed, only because the blade inside the handles limits this movement. I am a machinist, so I can fix / tweak all of the negative things I have mentioned, but for most people that is not an option. As I said, I knew what I was getting, and I am very happy with it.
Schrade USA-Made Manilla Folder Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.01" D2 Satin Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bandaid Boy
Northern Illinois - US
Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Blade Material, None
Cons: Lock Type, Weight, Lock Ease of Use

Built Like A Tank....

From reading many reviews of this knife before I ordered one, I knew just what I was getting. Though it was not the perfect blade for me, I ordered it anyway, because it was the only one I found of such quality materials, at such a great price. One negative about this knife is that the backside of the blade is sharpened, and it can also bang into the lock lever on the sharpened backside, causing a nick. I see no advantage in having the backside sharp on a working knife, but this knife is designed for fighting, I guess. It is very sturdy, and very heavy, and the handles are very slippery. It is a cool knife, but others are better for everyday chores.
Schrade USA-Made Manilla Folder Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.01" D2 Satin Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Bandit
Folsom, LA
Aug 16, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath, Handle Feel, None

Potential

I thought the knife had way to much play in the handles but, I was aware of this when I made the order. I primarily use the product for "Flipping" or do tricks. My feeling about this knife was it had so much potential out of the box. I may go to the hardware store today and purchase threaded Pivot Pin's, Bushings and Washer's to tighten the Handles up and prevent the Blade from Striking the Handle's. Sincerely, Steve
Schrade USA-Made Manilla Folder Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.01" D2 Satin Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Chuck
Dallas, Texas
Apr 22, 2020
Pros: Handle Feel, Lock Type
Cons: None

Made in the USA!

It has a lot of wiggle to it, but honestly it doesn't bother me. It deploys really quickly and its made entirely of steel.
Schrade USA-Made Manilla Folder Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.01" D2 Satin Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Mike
NC
Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Weight, None
Cons: Lock Type, Ease of Opening

Not the best for flipping

This is a solid, heavy balisong. Swings fairly smoothly and the construction seems built to take a beating. There's a fair bit of play in the handles so it rattles around a bit as well. Blade was good and sharp straight out of the box. Two things of note for anyone looking for a good flipping blade: The latch is on the safe handle, which sometimes causes it to swing in and interfere with closing; and the back edge of the point - about two inches - is sharpened, which presents a hazard. If your form is good, it shouldn't be a problem, but everyone makes a mistake now and again.
Schrade USA-Made Manilla Folder Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.01" D2 Satin Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Ccf
SW Ohio
May 31, 2018
Pros:
Cons:

Appears to have potential, but falls short

"+" Familiar brand name USA Classic style "-" Latch is on the non-bite handle Blade is really loose The negatives out weighed the positives which resulted in me returning this item.
Schrade USA-Made Manilla Folder Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.01" D2 Satin Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Tristan
Seattle
Jun 05, 2018
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Material, None
Cons: Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality

Very Disappointed

My girl got me this for my birthday and I am unfortunately having her return it. There's ding marks all over it from the rivets, the countersinks have burs and chatter, the knife is more sanded on one side of the frame. The knife is beat, chipped and dented up. The finish on it and workmanship is the worst I've seen. It was also super dirty, like it was left outside. The play on it was the sloppiest I've ever felt too. Blade wasn't shart and had a ding. The latch is almost impossible to engage.
Schrade USA-Made Manilla Folder Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.01" D2 Satin Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
A. Arregui
Madrid
Nov 15, 2018
Pros: None
Cons: Handle Feel, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality

In the middle of everything

Rough, simple and clumsy. Not a flipper, not a EDC. Its heavy but not sturdy since the pivot pins are the worst i´ve seen so far (LOTS of play in the handles). Cheap manufacturing. Not a 1 because it looks cool. Have it for a couple of days and now its on sale. Terrible knife in all respects.
Schrade USA-Made Manilla Folder Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.01" D2 Satin Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Jason
Hawaii
Nov 24, 2018
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Sheath, Weight

Looks nice but unbelievably flimsy

When I found out about this knife, I had to have it. A classic look that doesn't cost an arm, a leg, an eye, and your first born son. I love to support US manufacturers when I can, especially for knives of this type, although this balisong was disappointing for the price. It's beautiful, extremely sharp out of the box, and the latch stays in place tightly, but that also makes it a hassle to deploy. Other than a 14" balisword, this is the heaviest balisong I've toyed with, which I personally don't really mind, although I suppose more 'professional' flippers would rather have something lighter. My main issue with this knife however, is that while the overall construction seems bulletproof, I'm positive that if I do anything other than let this collect dust, the pivoting pins will break, and that is not something I look forward to, as I've never attempted repairing a bali, and I'd like to not scuff the finish when it does go flying apart. So not only is it the heaviest balisong I've used, it's also the flimsiest and makes the $20 Chinese made balis look top notch. I don't know if this is typical quality of Schrade but if I had known this in advance, I would've skipped on this purchase.
Schrade USA-Made Manilla Folder Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.01" D2 Satin Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Kenneth
Mountainair, NM
Nov 24, 2017
Pros: None
Cons: Blade Sharpness

Disappointed

So, i have no problem with the weight of this knife or the Manilla style, or the dangerous double edge, or the fact that it no longer locks in the open position, but t i like my knives sharp. If a knife isn't sharp, what good is it? The width to thickness ratio on this knife doesn't allow for a very sharp edge. Maybe it's just me, i mean the knife is sharp enough for most practical applications, not sharp enough for surgery or personal grooming, but so obtuse and edge bothers me, personally. Or maybe I got a lemon. Also, I would have liked to see D2 marked on the blade. Bottom line, I would not buy this knife again.
Schrade USA-Made Manilla Folder Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.01" D2 Satin Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Matt
Wisconsin
Sep 27, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Material, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Ease of Opening

Not worth $80

The overall construction of the knife was not that of an $80 knife, Even after returning it and getting a new one it still came WAY too lose for a balisong not to mention having a crooked blade and uneven handles
Schrade USA-Made Manilla Folder Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.01" D2 Satin Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Dave
North Carolina
Jun 07, 2018
Pros: Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Feel, Overall Quality

Sloppy design

I have a bear and son balisong that was less than half the price but tighter tolerances. Where schrade fell short was the tolerances in the handle gaps. Handle and blade wobble is awful in this bali. Something I would expect from a flea market balisong. The guys in the office of schrade making the decisions on how to make this knife are the ones at fault. Managers and designers. Bosses and idiots that think they know about knives but fail to look into the matter. They found a way to throw it together in the USA fast and make a buck. Just use sloppy tolerances and quality won't matter. Sure it's D2 steel blade and stainless handle. But that doesn't mean it performs well. If I had a golden car with square wheels, I would have a brick. That's the selling point of this bali, D2 and stainless.... who cares if it is functional and flippable right?
Schrade USA-Made Manilla Folder Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.01" D2 Satin Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Pristine2
Altoona PA
Dec 23, 2019
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Handle Feel

Should have read the reviews -- a terrible knife

Completely my fault for not reading through the reviews, but this is by far the worst butterfly I've ever handled, despite the high quality materials in the blade (D2 is a fine choice) and handles (nicely machined stainless). Far worse than the $25 Benchmark I practice with. The pivot pins are way too loose to be useful, and they are just rivets, so they cannot be adjusted. It's a dangerous, wobbly mess. Also, the blade is mounted backwards. The bite side of the blade faces the latch handle, which is the reverse of every balisong in history. That's going to lead anyone who owns this knife to some serious hurt.