Reviews and Ratings for Schrade Viper 3 OTF Assisted 3.5" Black Combo Double Edge Spear Point Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles - SCHOTF3B

Schrade Viper 3 OTF Assisted 3.5" Black Combo Double Edge Spear Point Blade, Gray Aluminum Handlesrated 4.515 stars out of 5 (33 reviews)
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
21
4 star
8
3 star
4
2 star
0
1 star
0
Schrade Viper 3 OTF Assisted 3.5 inch Black Combo Double Edge Spear Point Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles

 

Price: $41.95

Save $27.04 (39%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Schrade Viper 3 OTF Assisted 3.5" Black Combo Double Edge Spear Point Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Adrian W
uk
Jul 16, 2015
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Schrade Extreme Survival Viper
fantastic knife thanks
Schrade Viper 3 OTF Assisted 3.5" Black Combo Double Edge Spear Point Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bill S
Dec 03, 2016
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
I was expecting a much smaller knife. This one fits my hand like a glove! Very impressed with the quality
Schrade Viper 3 OTF Assisted 3.5" Black Combo Double Edge Spear Point Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Don J
manton, MI
Apr 19, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
for 40$, you can't beat it
Super cool, no play in blade once deployed. Rock solid. Like the glass breaker. Both edges are razor sharp out of box. Flies out super fast. Awesome for 40$ bucks. A favorite purchase of mine. Materials are nice. Gotta get used to the release a little.
Schrade Viper 3 OTF Assisted 3.5" Black Combo Double Edge Spear Point Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Spud
Casper wy
Feb 28, 2015
Pros: Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality
Very good knife carry it all the time
Schrade Viper 3 OTF Assisted 3.5" Black Combo Double Edge Spear Point Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jamie
Buffalo, NY.
Apr 02, 2017
Pros: Handle Material, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Excellent knife for the price. Good weight for EDC and absolutely zero blade play which is hard to come by with OTF knives. I would definetely suggest this knife to any knife collector.
Schrade Viper 3 OTF Assisted 3.5" Black Combo Double Edge Spear Point Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Zaffar
united kingdom
Jun 07, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
schrade otf
general use,very smooth opening,good sized blade very comfortable to hold and all round good otf for the price!
Schrade Viper 3 OTF Assisted 3.5" Black Combo Double Edge Spear Point Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Eduard B
Akron, Ohio
Aug 22, 2015
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
I like it
Schrade Viper 3 OTF Assisted 3.5" Black Combo Double Edge Spear Point Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Austin
portland
Jan 18, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
amazing
I use this knife all the time. Love that its assisted opened and all black
Schrade Viper 3 OTF Assisted 3.5" Black Combo Double Edge Spear Point Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jeff K
TX
Feb 20, 2017
Pros: None
Cons: None
Bought for a friend
I'm buying own of my own, after my friend said that it is a durable and sharp blade
Schrade Viper 3 OTF Assisted 3.5" Black Combo Double Edge Spear Point Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike
New Jersey
Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Cool knife.
Really nice very well made knife. For the price well worth it. Solid action will go well with my collection.
Schrade Viper 3 OTF Assisted 3.5" Black Combo Double Edge Spear Point Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kmkirk
KANSAS
Jun 03, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
This unusual OTF knife is very well built.
Schrade Viper 3 OTF Assisted 3.5" Black Combo Double Edge Spear Point Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steven
Los Angeles
May 23, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Awesome
I work on cars and basically just daily carry this knife and it's awesome. Use it to cut zipties, cardboard, etc and the blade is still just as sharp as it was new. I like how it has a safety too so u just feel a little safer with it in your pocket. I kind of thought the release was in a weird spot right next to the blade but once it came and I tried it, i don't think there is a better spot for it.
Schrade Viper 3 OTF Assisted 3.5" Black Combo Double Edge Spear Point Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Leo L.
Sacramento
Apr 05, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
AWESOME!
This is a far improvement from the 1st Gen version I have. Love that the button is on the side; it seems easier to deploy. I really also like the lock to detract the blade. The lock to keep it closed is really nice. I like the window breaker better on the 1st gen, but this one is fine and I'm sure it will work well. The blade is also double-edged, and the 1st gen is not, although it looks like it should be. Bad flaw on the 1st gen, I think. Now I have to get the 2nd side ground down and have it sharpened. Glad they improved that on the 3rd gen.
Schrade Viper 3 OTF Assisted 3.5" Black Combo Double Edge Spear Point Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Victor T
Lyon
Jul 02, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: None
Parfait
C'est parfait. Livraison rapide (commande le 25/06 et livraison le 02/07 en France !), produit conforme.
Schrade Viper 3 OTF Assisted 3.5" Black Combo Double Edge Spear Point Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rhojean L
Ada, OH
Jan 11, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
Good Purchase for the $
I've always wanted an OTE but just hadn't found the right knife that fit my budget. When I saw this Schrade Viper on Knifecenter... I thought it was a misprint, when I got to the end of the order and it was still the same price.. I smiled big and hit "submit". The knife was here on the date given and it's a very good knife for the price. It takes a little adjusting to hold and trigger the release, but time and practice have paid off. Thanks KnifeCenter for my very first OTE knife!!
Schrade Viper 3 OTF Assisted 3.5" Black Combo Double Edge Spear Point Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Astronomer1
Chesterfield, VA
Nov 28, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: Pocket Clip
Improved design--well worth the money
This third generation knife is a vast improvement mechanically and esthetically over the Generation 2 model. It is more solid, sleek, and mechanically tighter. Like Gen 2, this new model's blade locks up solidly with no wiggle. I like the double-edged spear point more than the Gen 2 Tanto blade. The blade's black finish is also darker and richer. And the handle has a better design that more appropriately fits the nature of the blade. The deployment button is also in a better location, and with a little practice, the knife is easy to deploy in either the normal or the reverse grip. That button also serves as a hand stop when the knife is in use. In a reverse grip, you can place your thumb over the butt end of the knife, but the glass breaker tip is uncomfortable. The blade closure release button is a great improvement over Gen 2 in size, design, and strength. The only two minor faults are that the clip grips very tightly and the safety release is stiff unless you activate it exactly horizontally, in which case it functions smoothly. However, any vertical pressure towards the plane of the side of the knife will greatly increase the necessary pressure to release the safety. But these are minor quibbles. Overall the knife is a real winner in my opinion.
Schrade Viper 3 OTF Assisted 3.5" Black Combo Double Edge Spear Point Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jg
*********
Apr 04, 2012
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
awsome well balanced knife
awsome knife after a little practice it can be handled/opened with one hand. has a nice solid feel to it. blade is ultra sharp. it is under the corner of my mattress. you should make sure it is legal to have spring assisted knives in your state. as i stated easily handled with one hand. releasing the lock to close, i found works best holding the knife with your right hand. and with your left forefinger on the slide and your left thumbnail in the slide release, a little pressure on the release unlocks the blabe and slight pressure on the slide moves the blafde back far enough that you can then use your right thumb to draw the blade back into a locked closed position. very satisfied i bought two of these knifes.
Schrade Viper 3 OTF Assisted 3.5" Black Combo Double Edge Spear Point Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
David S
Ohio
May 01, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Sheath, None
Sturdy lil kicker
First of all the knife is just nice looking... Closed or otherwise. Second, came sharp as hell. Third, it's probably one of the safest blades with a strong safety lock. It's a winner all around in my book. Plus the glass breaker is a very useful bonus
Schrade Viper 3 OTF Assisted 3.5" Black Combo Double Edge Spear Point Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jacob Win
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Apr 08, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
shrade viper is awesome
Use the knife as a multi purpose carry knife. The knife has a great opening mechanism And very well made except the pocket clip bent. Other than that would for sure buy the knife again and recommend To friends and family.
Schrade Viper 3 OTF Assisted 3.5" Black Combo Double Edge Spear Point Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Richard H
County Durham uk
Sep 04, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Excellent product and delivery
Schrade Viper 3 OTF Assisted 3.5" Black Combo Double Edge Spear Point Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Stingray
Tampa. Florida
Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Outstanding
Awesome knife , company everything about this purchase was flawless
Schrade Viper 3 OTF Assisted 3.5" Black Combo Double Edge Spear Point Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Denny
Illinois
Mar 20, 2018
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Ease of Opening
Schrade viper 3
Nice knife,sharp and fast delivery!
Schrade Viper 3 OTF Assisted 3.5" Black Combo Double Edge Spear Point Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ray
NJ
Aug 12, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip
Awseome for what it is.
I'm not a knife guy. Just bought this knife for it's appeal as an inexpensive OTF. I like the weight and solid feel. The blade fires super fast and locks tight with no play. With some practice, you can fire the blade with one hand while holding the knife with a full grip. Not a defensive weapon by any means, but the best fruit slicer you'll ever find.
Schrade Viper 3 OTF Assisted 3.5" Black Combo Double Edge Spear Point Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Tom
California
Oct 27, 2015
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Handle Feel, None
Schrade Extreme Survial Viper 3rd Gen OTF
Great OTF knife. Excellent quality for the money. Good features and safety. My only issue is the handle, wish the cuts on the front and back were horizontal instead of vertical for better thrust control, that being said the edges of the grip are fine. Love the window breaker in the butt of the handle. Thanks Knife Center for great service.
Schrade Viper 3 OTF Assisted 3.5" Black Combo Double Edge Spear Point Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bob F.
Villa Park, IL
Mar 20, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
The UPS guy dropped off my new pocket knife today, and I gotta say; "it's a winner!" It's much more robust than the first generation OTF I've been carrying. With a better locking system, and an easier to use safety. The texture of the handle is coarse enough for a good grip, without being uncomfortable. The only things I would change would be to offer a clip point or tanto blade, and shorten it half an inch for a more utilitarian EDC.
Schrade Viper 3 OTF Assisted 3.5" Black Combo Double Edge Spear Point Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Roger. F
Tennessee
Apr 24, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Weight, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, None
It's great for the intended purpose
For an OTF knife is works very good and for very good price, the deploy button is towards the back and a little hard to get use to and to bring the knife back in takes a little getting use to but after you figure it all out I like the knife and the price is very good.
Schrade Viper 3 OTF Assisted 3.5" Black Combo Double Edge Spear Point Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bryce B
Elkhart, Indiana
Apr 05, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, None
Very Nice Upgrade
I just love the upgrade they did on this knife. I have the older type also and like it, but this is a MUCH better knife all around. The blade is larger, double sided sharp, handle material is solid and steel, a thin profile, and great as an every day carry. My only complaint would be the blade release lever. It is difficult to get used to since it is so far to one side and trying to hold the knife and use the lever with one hand is very awkward. Plus the lever is on the top rather than the side.
Schrade Viper 3 OTF Assisted 3.5" Black Combo Double Edge Spear Point Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bulldog
Birmingham, AL
Mar 22, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
nice blade
Good quality product for the price. I like the double edge blade, very sharp out of the box. The blade comes out quick, but it takes some practice to get used to handling the knife.
Schrade Viper 3 OTF Assisted 3.5" Black Combo Double Edge Spear Point Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
John K
new Jersey
Dec 27, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
good knife great price
For the money spent this is a great knife. Easy to handle without worrying if it will break. Can't beat it for the price. Blade is nice n sharp quality craftsmanship
Schrade Viper 3 OTF Assisted 3.5" Black Combo Double Edge Spear Point Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Don
Canada
Jan 05, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Toy like
Well how do I put this, I always wanted an otf but restrictions and what not always kept it out of my grasp. So needless to say when I seen it I ordered it but the usefulness is low and the quickness of opening expected is slowed by the safety and such which leaves much to be desired not to mention the awkwardness of the closing mechanism. Still it is pretty cool.
Schrade Viper 3 OTF Assisted 3.5" Black Combo Double Edge Spear Point Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Cam
USA
Jul 21, 2019
Pros: Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening
Looses quality
It is a great knife but not ideal to sharpen and the spring does not push the knife up after so long
Schrade Viper 3 OTF Assisted 3.5" Black Combo Double Edge Spear Point Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
John
Hong Kong
Feb 07, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: None
Great OTF knife
I've bought this knife for my gal. She likes it very much. She can handle it very well. The blade is razor sharp out from the box. It is a compensation who can't have an auto OTF. The blade deploys fast. A great knife for self defense.
Schrade Viper 3 OTF Assisted 3.5" Black Combo Double Edge Spear Point Blade, Gray Aluminum Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Brian
Michigan
Sep 05, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Handle Feel
Inferior to gen 1
Solid workmanship, can not ding the quality. But design is marginal. I carried the gen 1 for years daily it spent many years and tours as my go to everything knife. Not a day went by that it wasn't in my pocket. Only bought the new generation because my gen one went awol... I am very dissapointed in the new knifes design. The total shrouding creates severe jamming issues if exposed to dust debris, heck even pocket lint gets trapped in the mechanism.. and as a tactical use blade the first gen trigger was far more intuitive than the current design in an emergency pull situation.. and the heft just feels very insubstantial the mechanism is solid the lock is great but the heft and feel just does not inspire any sort of confidence. Should have kept the gen 1 design and just improved it. simplest way to rate it.... my gen 1 never ever stayed home. This gen 3 has been relegated to my desk as a letter opener and I paid stupid money on ebay to get a new used gen1..