Reviews and Ratings for Schrade Extreme Survival Viper OTF Assisted 3.35" Black Double Edge Spear Point Blade, Aluminum Handle - SCHOTF8B

Schrade Extreme Survival Viper OTF Assisted 3.35" Black Double Edge Spear Point Blade, Aluminum Handlerated 3.933 stars out of 5 (15 reviews)
3.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
2
1 star
2
Schrade Extreme Survival Viper OTF Assisted 3.35 inch Black  Double Edge Spear Point Blade, Aluminum Handle

 

Price: $41.95

Save $27.04 (39%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Schrade Extreme Survival Viper OTF Assisted 3.35" Black Double Edge Spear Point Blade, Aluminum Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Russell
Edmond OK
Apr 24, 2015
Pros: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material
Cons: None
Great buy!
Excelllent OTF. Built like a tank with solid locking. Great value so you aren't afraid to use it.
Schrade Extreme Survival Viper OTF Assisted 3.35" Black Double Edge Spear Point Blade, Aluminum Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rob
Hanover, Mass
Dec 31, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great knife
This knife works very well. Very quick, sturdy, easy to use and the lock has some resistance as it should also razor sharp. Would definitely buy again!
Schrade Extreme Survival Viper OTF Assisted 3.35" Black Double Edge Spear Point Blade, Aluminum Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Knife Addicts
Hill side
Oct 29, 2015
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great tight OTF
Great OTF for the money! It's tight and great looking! No problem and great service from Knifecenter. Thanks!
Schrade Extreme Survival Viper OTF Assisted 3.35" Black Double Edge Spear Point Blade, Aluminum Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Eduardo S
Oak lawn
Dec 31, 2015
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
I returned the first one I was sent because it was defective. I opened the box a month after I recieved it, I was thinking knife center would not accept my return but they did. Awsome customer service. Had to reorder because I didn't respond to the e mail right away. But I was refunded my money. Happy with the product replacement.
Schrade Extreme Survival Viper OTF Assisted 3.35" Black Double Edge Spear Point Blade, Aluminum Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
****
US
Dec 22, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
perfect alternative to places where cc are not permitted
HEADLINE SAYS IT ALL...
Schrade Extreme Survival Viper OTF Assisted 3.35" Black Double Edge Spear Point Blade, Aluminum Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Willy From Wv
fu2aho@outlook.com
Feb 11, 2019
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Sheath, None
Bad to the bone...
I orderd one , it was one tuff blade I used & thrown it alot it was my best knife . A pri-- swiped from me .
Schrade Extreme Survival Viper OTF Assisted 3.35" Black Double Edge Spear Point Blade, Aluminum Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jarl
Quebec, Canada
Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Pocket Clip, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Sheath, Handle Feel, None
The closest thing to a switchblade you can get
Face it, I bought it for the look and the feel. I like the sound of the blade springing into place. You can't get a switchblade legally anymore and this model is legal everywhere even in Canada or California. Oh and don't forget to read the instructions.
Schrade Extreme Survival Viper OTF Assisted 3.35" Black Double Edge Spear Point Blade, Aluminum Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ed
New Haven CT
Nov 16, 2015
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
More than I expected.
First off, it's very fast opening. Locks up solidly and fits comfortably in the hand. Mine came razor sharp out of the box and has held it's edge well. Overall I would say buy this knife. You won't regret it.
Schrade Extreme Survival Viper OTF Assisted 3.35" Black Double Edge Spear Point Blade, Aluminum Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Big Bri
England
Aug 10, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Awsome different style knife
Shipping was rapid to th uk, orderd thursday, recieved monday, and very nicely boxed. Knife is sturdy absulutly no blade play witch is amazing. Deployment is fast and very reasuring when you here the snap.
Schrade Extreme Survival Viper OTF Assisted 3.35" Black Double Edge Spear Point Blade, Aluminum Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Phil C
Howey in the Hills, FL
Mar 13, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use
Quickly became one of my favorite knives...
I mostly use my Schrade OTF for breaking down cardboard boxes and an occasional plastic tie I run into while working on an old computer. I love that it has very little play in the extended blade, more like the OTF's with a third digit on the price. The price to quality is unmatched. And like most OTF's, the cool factor was what it's often all about. Closing the knife may be bit more difficult than you would like, but it's the sole reason for the ultra-fast ejection and the sinister sound it creates... I have a Schrade Gen 3 OTF. And though it had the same quality of fast, sinister sounding ejection, they way it was designed was awkward. This new Gen 4 design was many of us were looking for. That thumb button release lets you hold the knife in a natural position. If they can get it to retract and keep the price near the same, they will put all other lower priced OTF's and some higher priced one's Out of Business. Anyone who who loves knives should have one; Price is right and fun to play with all day long
Schrade Extreme Survival Viper OTF Assisted 3.35" Black Double Edge Spear Point Blade, Aluminum Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Brothers Italy
Italia
Jun 04, 2018
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Lock Type
Cons: None
Satisfied
I use the knife for collection, excellent proportion of price quality, works without jammed, blade well fixed, light knife to carry around without effort, also recommended as a defense for speed of us
Schrade Extreme Survival Viper OTF Assisted 3.35" Black Double Edge Spear Point Blade, Aluminum Handle
rated 2 stars out of 5
Eric
Virginia
Feb 19, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
More of a novelty
I opened the box, and was pretty surprised with what I received. The machining is not great; not terrible, but not great. The knife action is pretty good. It opens up quickly and doesn't ever fail to lock open. The worst part about this knife is the safety. In order to engage the safety there is a switch located near the end with the glass breaker. to engage the safety, you have to push it toward the blade. this is not bad, but when you slip it into your pocket it can disengage the safety very easily. In fact normally when I take this knife out of my pocket the safety is off due to this design. Second, the safety is very loose. A little harder to engage than to disengage. The overall fit and finish of this knife is pretty bad. The glass breaker is terribly machined, and the switches are all made of plastic.
Schrade Extreme Survival Viper OTF Assisted 3.35" Black Double Edge Spear Point Blade, Aluminum Handle
rated 2 stars out of 5
The Dude
The Midwest
Mar 12, 2018
Pros: Weight, None
Cons: Lock Type, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Novel at best
Since I purchased this blade I’ve yet to find any real application for it other than opening letters like a boss. I would under no circumstances carry this blade as a EDC, there are far better options out there. It feels weak and cheaply made, which is a let down compared to other Scharade blades that I’ve throughly beat the snot out of. Though it mimics a OTF well, it would not serve well as a stabbing or defensive blade.. I repeat.. it would NOT serve well as a defensive blade. Save your money and buy a Benchmade. No cool points are earned with this blade.
Schrade Extreme Survival Viper OTF Assisted 3.35" Black Double Edge Spear Point Blade, Aluminum Handle
rated 1 stars out of 5
Dan B
USA
Oct 16, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
beautiful knife
great knife and i was surprised to see AUS 8 as the blade metal for such an inexpensive knife. Knife functions well and easy to hold, It is going into my collection. great purchase.
Schrade Extreme Survival Viper OTF Assisted 3.35" Black Double Edge Spear Point Blade, Aluminum Handle
rated 1 stars out of 5
Rene De P
Sao Paulo, Other
Dec 02, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
poor quality and safety
when I opened the cardboard package the blade had pierced the product box, which immediately raised my concerns about how safe the knife was. Well, at least the blade was sharp. Operation of this knife is complicated, the controls are not practical or ergonomic, and although the price was low I am really disapointed by what I got.