Reviews and Ratings for Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum - SCPENG

Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminumrated 4.587 stars out of 5 (63 reviews)
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
44
4 star
14
3 star
4
2 star
0
1 star
1
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum

 

Price: $25.95

Save $17.04 (40%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mb
Oregon
Apr 10, 2010
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Fantastic

I think the pens are well-made, well-priced, and I've already bought one for myself and one as a gift. Now, I'm going to buy another as a gift. They are understated, which was a big draw for me.
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ron
Copperas Cove, TX.
Aug 09, 2010
Pros: Materials, Durability, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great product

I am in the military and travel alot TDY out of uniform and usually carry a knife. This comes in handy when I cannot carry knives. I have had comments from people that they like it as well, and what a great idea, and where did I buy it from. The only downfall with this product is the does not stay on the non writing end when in use, if there were threads to attach it to would make this product a rating of 6.
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Malada
missouri
Dec 28, 2009
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great Pen!!

I carry everyday. Great quality. Equal to pens that are much more expensive. I would recommend to anyone.
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Burly
Sonoma CA
Mar 15, 2010
Pros: Materials, Durability, Overall Quality
Cons: None

have to get this pen

Great product, Knifecenter rocks
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ish1
state college, pa
Jan 29, 2010
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Schrade Tac Pen

Like the fact that it has a fairly slim profile, is fairly light so it doesn't weigh down my shirt pocket, and the clip is strong. I have another model tac pen that is too large, heavey, and the clip is to weak/loose to hold it tight in my pocket. Wish it came standard wtih blue ink instead, but will have to find a refill instead.
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Macgyver
New Britain, CT
Jul 31, 2009
Pros: Materials, Durability, Overall Quality
Cons: None

It's mightier than the sword!

I always have a pen on me and I always have a defensive tool. It's reassuring to know that I can always have both - in one. Knowing how to use a tool is more important than just having it. Learn how to use it properly and you'll always have a degree of safety that most other people don't. This is an excellent tool in all respects.
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dennis
Chicago
May 24, 2010
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Schrade Tactical pen

OK I have not used the pen in a defence way. After retiring from the police and working security. I have had it around all my partners for two weeks. All are retired police and not one has said a thing. I also like the way it writes. I have always felt that if you can surprise someone you have the upper hand. They will not see it coming!
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Alexmhh
Granite Bay, CA
Sep 09, 2009
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great tac pen that actually looks like a pen

This pen is a great value, but not perfect. As other reviewers have reported, the cap doesn't stay on securely while writing. It is affordable enough to justify, and has a MUCH better design than any other tactical pens I can think of. The cap is secure when screwed on, and the pen is more than sturdy enough to strike with no fear of failure or damage. The pointed tip isn't as sharp as on many other designs--a major plus. It's pointed enough to make a nasty kubaton, but blunt enough that it still looks like a pen. While one friend commented it looks like a torpedo, no one thought it looked like a weapon. Many tactical pens are essentially shivs with an ink cartridge, and seem unlikely to pass into secure areas or appear appropriate in an office/school environment. The more conservative design of the Schrade, and the great build quality make it an ideal tactical pen given the tool's standing as a non-weapon everyday item purpose built to be used as a weapon when needed.
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Billy Bones
Glen Burnie,Md.
Mar 03, 2011
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Nice!

Bought both this and the S&W at the same time.Prefer this to S&W only because it fits my writing style(hand)better.Oh yeah, it writes great too.
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lou D
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Feb 25, 2010
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Excellent for the price

Great to use as a pen and for self defense if needed.
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Carlo
Italy
Mar 10, 2010
Pros: Materials, Durability
Cons: None
For writing. Veri light
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Larry
San Antonio, TX
Oct 03, 2012
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None

A great product

I used to carry an Uzi tactical pen. I had some issues with it, and began looking for a replacement. Price was a factor, and the Schrade fit that criteria. When i received it i realized it fit all my other criteria. This is a fine product, well made, a fit and finish second to none. I carry and use it every day, and could not be more pleased with this pen. I will be purchasing another for my wife. A great product at a great price. Highly recommended. P.S. This pen does not need special refills.
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
J.D.
Long Island, NY
Jul 27, 2009
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None

High Quality Features at a LOW Price.

This is a great EDC Pen. Especially if u want to save your more expensive Tac Pens for special occasions. It has all the great features and durability of those other high priced Tac Pens at a low price. High Quality Fit and Finish.
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lw
Pittsburg, CA
Mar 31, 2010
Pros: Durability, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: Refill Quality, None

Schrade (Grey) Aluminum Tactical Pen

Use would be as a pen but with the added item product for personal protection if needed. It's GREAT because it is discreet in not attracting lots of attention because of shape and color unlike the Smith & Wesson which is very pretty in colors it's available in but they have "SMith & Wesson" printed right across the clip which makes it too recognizeable and not discret because everyone knows the business Smith & Wesson is in. The Smith & Wesson Tactical pen has a sharper point. Another great thing about the Schrade is the strength and quality for the price. I haven't found anything yet negative about it. Maybe in getting refills because I did order 2 refills but they forgot to put it in the order.
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Zack Thecat
Dallas
Jan 03, 2011
Pros: Materials, Durability, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Good tactical pen for the price

Nice light pen. I like the screw cap. The friction fit on the pen cap is good, once pen is in use. I've used it to punch holes in cardboard boxes and plywood. I purchased the S&W pen as well. I like the shrade version 1 design a little better, basically the same pen except for the machined design at the tip. The S&W tip has a machined "collar" feature that tends to get stuck when puncturing things. Overall good price, and the pen met my expectations.
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nick
Colorado
Apr 20, 2010
Pros: Materials, Durability, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great Value

Looks great, feels great, works great
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jh
new york, ny
Dec 08, 2009
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None

small but effective

the schrade tactical pen is small but an effective self defense tool. It can strike harder and delivers its strike to a small area. It can be used effectively against the the attackers hands or if need be to the attackers vital areas. It can be used in either hand. There is nothing to open or lock into place. It allows you to hit harder than you could hit with a colsed fist
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Razz
Rock Springs WY
Jun 28, 2010
Pros: Materials, Durability, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Schrade tact pen great pen at a good price

This bought as a gift and they really enjoys it. The color is mild and none attention grabbing and it looks good in any shirt pocket.
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
S71quinn
Eastern PA
Jun 30, 2010
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great travel pen

This is the 2nd pen I've purchased, (I lost the 1st one). I really like the price, so loosing it wasn't such a financial loss. The feel in my hand for both writing as well as tactical methods feels great. Regarding cons, I wish the cap stayed on the back end better during writing. Other than that think this is the best bang for your buck. When I travel, it comes with me everywhere.
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tnreb
Palmyra, TN
Jan 03, 2010
Pros: Durability, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: Refill Quality, None

Shrade tac pen

It is like the S&W pen except the "point" is more rounded. The price is the same so get the S&W. You can adapt other pen refills without using the expensive refills.
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
John
Oregon
Jan 04, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

Nice

Nice ergonomics and appearance. Should have better fit between cap and back of pen for when writing, though.
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve
Orlando, Florida
Aug 10, 2009
Pros: Materials, Durability, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Really nice tactical pen

Good feel, really well made and at a fraction of the price of some of the other pens.
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Vnv
new york, ny
Oct 27, 2009
Pros: Refill Quality, Durability, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: Refill Quality, None

a backup defender for all occasions

in the present days there are places where you cannot take a legal gun, knife, oc spray or even a kubotan. this item still can be carried anywhere. it is an effective lowkey addition to your aresnal
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Scott
NY, NY
Sep 25, 2009
Pros: Materials, Durability, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Why would you buy another tactical pen?

This pen writes smoothly, is well crafted and offers the same benefits as the other tactical pens in its class for a fraction of the cost. Good purchase.
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
J
east coast
Feb 22, 2010
Pros: Materials, Durability, Overall Quality
Cons: None
just as described
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Phil
Phoenix , AZ
Mar 03, 2010
Pros: Materials, Durability, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great Pen

I am very happy with the Pen! A great value! No need to pay 5 times more!!
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Vitali M.
Minsk, Belarus
Jun 20, 2014
Pros: Materials, Durability
Cons: None

Great pen! Good quality and good price

It's my first pen. I bought it for my job, I works on a plant and I always need a pen which can write in any conditions and surfaces. So I carry and use it every day, It writes wonderfully. Good price and good quality! Thank Knifecenter for your job.
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rescue Mike
PNW
Oct 28, 2009
Pros: Materials, Durability, Refill Quality
Cons: None

Great little pen

Use my pen everyday on the ambulance... Pen ink ran out pretty quick, but Fisher Space Pen refills work great!! Would definitely buy again!
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Roninroshi
MT
Aug 18, 2009
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Schrade (Grey) Aluminum Tactical Pen

Well made with a nice heft and finish ...
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Louis L
VIRGINIA BEACH VIRGINIA.
Oct 26, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: Durability, Overall Quality, Refill Quality

VERY NICE I WOULD BUY FROM THIS COMPANY AGAIN.

WRITES ICE AND IS ALWAYS BY MY SIDE.
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Benzidrine
Perth, Australia
Mar 18, 2010
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Exceeded my expectations

Pretty decent overall and extremely good in comparison to its competition. The design is better then what I have seen on some other tactical pens. It the point comes in at a strong angle shows it to be a pretty thick walled pen in the point area. I would have no concerns using this in an emergency situation to break a window or the like. I actually find the cap stays on pretty well when I have been writing, true I wouldn't trust it to stay on in some sort of high vibration excessively shaky environment but for regular writing I have no concerns. I there was one recommendation I would make it is that the cap could of been a little thicker walled for extra durability. I would buy one again.
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gilbert Z
Florida
Jul 11, 2009
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None
The quality of this pen from Schrade is certainly in par with my Mil-Tac pen. I now carry this pen to work and no one would even notice the potential of what this pen is capable of. I would recommend this great pen to anyone who wants to be prepared. Love this pen!!
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mickeyelam
Houston, TX
Nov 13, 2009
Pros: Materials, Refill Quality
Cons: None

Great tool for the price

I really like the pen; it fits in a pocket very nicely without any printing. I do wish the clip didn't have sharp edges; I can imagine it being a problem if I ever have to use the pen for self-defense.
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Felt Tent
Rural PA
Jan 04, 2010
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Is the pen mightier than the sword?

Why try to decide if the pen is mightier than the sword when you can defend yourself while writing at half the cost of others tactical defense pens. It was a great buy.
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Marcus
Rochester, NY
Apr 13, 2010
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Schrade Aluminum Tactical Pen

I have thus far purchased 3 of the tactical pens, to give as gifts, in three of the 4 different available "configurations" as it were. One of them went to a 4th degree Isshinryu blackbelt, who is thus far quite pleased with it. The quality of the product appears to be very good. It is comfortable in the hand and visually appealing. I prefer a screwtop cap on a tactical pen, which the Schrade has. At the price offered by the KnifeCenter, it is hard to find much to criticize. We haven't had sufficient experience with the item to comment on the durability of the anodization. I have seen some disappointment expressed in other reviews regarding the fact that the cap doesn't snap snugly onto the back of the pen body when used for writing. Given the overall quality of the product, I view this as a minor inconvenience, if you even want to call it that. I would imagine that there would be no reason that one couldn't go through an airport with this pen, placed in the tray at the security checkpoint with ones keys, change, etc.
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Blue650sv
Monterey, CA
Nov 29, 2009
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great tool for great value

I work in a setting where carrying a knife is not an option yet I still desire a tool that gives me a small sense of security. The Schrade Tactical Pen fits the bill perfectly and it doubles as a nice writing pen! Most people who borrow it from me for quick use comment on what a great pen it is without realizing its potential as a defensive tool. And, compared to the other tactical pens in the market, this one is actually affordable and the quality was fairly good (decent machining, a finish that's putting up with day-to-day carry). I only have two quibbles about it. The first quibble about it that I have is, as noted by other reviewers, the screw on the clip works itself loose. The second is that the pen occasionally works itself lose from the cap in my pocket if I don't really tighten it before putting it away. I just put Loctite on it and haven't had a problem since with the clip plus I have to really tighten the cap before pocketing it. I've given away two as gifts already and I have two of my own. Highly recommended!
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Person
minnesota
Apr 29, 2010
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None

cool!

Well machined. Good heft. Girlfriend was impressed.
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Shawn
Northeast PA
Aug 27, 2009
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great buy, very functional

I travel a lot for my company and I wanted a tool to keep on me for self defense, a tactical pen was the answer but they were all too expensive. The Schrade Aluminum Tactical Pen fit the bill exactly. I find it very functional as a pen, easy to write with and solid as a tool for defense. I also like that it is labeled as "Schrade" rather than a known defensive brand. Several friends have commented on it and agree the price is perfect! Great purchase, highly suggest it.
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bill
St. Louis, MO
Jun 11, 2010
Pros: Materials, Durability, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Very nice

No problems getting through TSA.
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Talon
austin, texas
Dec 28, 2009
Pros: Durability, Materials, Refill Quality
Cons: Overall Quality, None

Good value

Bought as gifts for my sons. Compared to other tactical pens, good value. They write well, and seem reasonably strong. The blunt end won't attract too much attention so should not be a problem carrying, but would be a useful if needed. Attractive and well made. The front pen of the pens unscrews, and you can press it onto the other end, but it seems only friction on the cap threads hold it in place. Down the line might be a problem losing the cap or damaging the threads.
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Billy B.
Danville, ky
Jun 04, 2012
Pros: Durability, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: Refill Quality, None

Great pen!

I use this pen often for its primary purpose, writing, and second, defense. It wrote good but the ink cartridge that it came with, quit writing the second day I had it. Fortunetly I had ordered a fisher space pen refill, which writes beautifully! Should have ordered the fine point though. The pen itself has some sharp edges around the fluting, but they havnt cut me. Overall, an excellent pen ( with the proper ink cartridge)! I would recommend this pen, and I would buy it again.
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Vargar
Norway
Nov 12, 2012
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Good tactical pen

The Schrade aluminum tactical pen is almost identical whit the S&W aluminum tactical pen and they are both good tactical pens. As a defense tool it is no need for buying a more expensive tactical pen, but some of the more expensive tactical pens may be better writers.
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joelsuperstar
Vancouver, Canada
Mar 01, 2010
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Excellent Bargain

This pen is fully equivalent to the Mil-Tac TDP1. Some small differences are that it is lighter and the surface is slightly slicker. The fit and finish is first rate and it takes standard Fisher refills. I wish Knifecenter carried the black model though. If they did I would purchase more. Also much less expensive than the competitors. Great value.
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 5 stars out of 5
Smokewagon Joe
California
Jan 18, 2018
Pros: Durability, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Good Buy!

Very well built. I have paid much more for lesser tactical pens. I would highly recommend.
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 4 stars out of 5
The Mad Hungarian
North East PA
Nov 13, 2009
Pros: Durability, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: Refill Quality, None

Great Tactical Pen

Can't beat the price, every bit as good as a pen 3X the price, I recommend this plookin' for a Tactical Pen.
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 4 stars out of 5
S.Allan
Powder Springs, Georgia
Mar 12, 2010
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None

One solid pen

I use this pen everyday at work. The clip is very strong and it stays in my shirt pocket until I need it.
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 4 stars out of 5
Eb1
Oakland, CA
Nov 13, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great deal for the money

As good as most of the tactical pens out there at 1/5th the cost... and the cap stays on the back when you're writing!
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 4 stars out of 5
Shrimp37
Phoenix, AZ
Aug 24, 2009
Pros: Durability, Materials, None
Cons: Refill Quality, Overall Quality

not bad for the price

This is not a bad product for the price. Compared to other tactical pens it is a 1/5 the price, for something I will use and likely lose, the price seems fair. I was happy with the overall construction of the shaft, it is thick and pretty solid. The screws in the pocket clip should be treated with loctice as soon as you get it, as mine became loose very quickly. The pen refill in mine needed to be replaced as soon as I got it, but hey its designed to be replaced, so no worries. Overall I was happy with the product and asides from the two easy fixes I will probably buy a couple as gift for friends.
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 4 stars out of 5
The Mad Hungarian
NEPA
Apr 06, 2010
Pros: Durability, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: Refill Quality, None

The only problem with this pen is keeping people from stealing it :)

I immediately replace the cartridge with a Fisher Bullet Pen refill and that took care of the only negative aspect I found on the pen. F&F are excellent, makes a great field expedient ice pick does not look like a Tactical SD device. I repeadtedly slammed the point into a phone book and left some deep divots, this would definitley cause damage to any object it came in contact with and with a good ink cartridge it writes like a more expensive pen.
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 4 stars out of 5
Benjamin B.
Maine
Jul 18, 2009
Pros: Materials, Durability, Overall Quality
Cons: None

An excellent bargain on a tactical pen!

In agreement with the previous reviewer, I find that the the Schrade/Taylor tactical pen is very nearly on an equal level of quality to the Mil-Tac pen, whilst being a mere fraction of the cost. I cannot speak for the quality of the supplied ink cartridge, as I immediately replaced it with a Fisher refill, which fit wonderfully. My only complaints, and they are minor, are that the clip can be a bit tight at times, and that the machining has a bit more edge to it than I'd like--but not to the extent to which it becomes uncomfortable. I placed an O-ring between the cap and the barrel of the pen to prevent any possibility of the cap dislodging in my pocket as I've had the Mil-Tac do before, but with its longer cap threads I don't think it would have been an issue.
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 4 stars out of 5
Chp5
ATL
Aug 10, 2009
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Good buy

Very sold and well made. My only criticism is that the cap does not stay on the pen when you use it for writing.
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ben
Australia
Sep 13, 2009
Pros: Materials, Durability, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Solid.

Nicely made pen. Screws together tightly, and comfortable to use, I haven't tried the ink it comes with as I put a Fisher Space Pen refill in it immediately, SPR4 fits perfect. I recommend it, low-key styling which didn't get me any funny looks, I can't imagine it ever breaking, and i'ts much much cheaper than the competition.
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mvg
Brooklyn, NY
Sep 20, 2010
Pros: Materials, Refill Quality
Cons: None

Schrade for little $

attractive, snag free, light-weight but balanced as a functional pen +
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 4 stars out of 5
James
West, Tejas
Apr 06, 2011
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great!

I really like this pen, it is high quality and feels sturdy but I was very disappointed when I wrote with it. The ink cartridge is like that of a cheapo pen and I like an inky pen. Easy fix I just took the cartridge out of a pen I like and it was the same diamater as the one in there just a tad longer so I cut it and now I have a tacticool pen that writes like I want! Strong pocket clip to so it won't just slide out of your pocket!
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 4 stars out of 5
47
RSA
Sep 22, 2009
Pros: Durability, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: Refill Quality, None

Tactical

Carry the pen in my pocket daily. Very pronounced tip. Good grip. When tip is inside pocket it doesn't look like a weapon. The pen actually writes, but I would like a better quality pen tip.
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 4 stars out of 5
James Lou
Greenbow, Alabama
Apr 12, 2011
Pros: Materials, Durability, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Good Pen

Its is a good pen I was disappointed with the ink being used to gel pens. It was an easy fix though to replace ink cartridge with one from a different pen.
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 4 stars out of 5
Derek
manning ab
Feb 03, 2010
Pros: Durability, Overall Quality
Cons: None
nice very affordable nice finish
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 4 stars out of 5
Milan F
Adelaide, Australia
Mar 12, 2012
Pros: Materials, Durability
Cons: None

Good value

I use this pen every day and is with me just like my watch and mobile phone. These pens use a standard "Parker" refills as well as the originals. The only down side is that you have to hold or place down the tip cover/lid while writing.
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 3 stars out of 5
Dan
Tulsa, OK
Dec 28, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Refill Quality
Cons: None

Tactical Pen

Pretty good pen for the price writes great
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 3 stars out of 5
C Levi
St. Joseph, Mo
Mar 14, 2011
Pros: Durability, Refill Quality, Materials, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great First time

I use the pen everyday. It writes wonderfully. It isn't the most comfortable for long writing jobs with the ribs around the end. It has no cap retainer or threads to place the cap while righting, so it comes off very easy if you lay it down. It has good balance and works great as a kubaton style tool when closed and not writing with it. It still would function as such if need be without the cap retainer it would be easier to lose control of it and lose you advantage. Overall a good try and great start. 2nd generation is better
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 3 stars out of 5
Jeremy H
Wisconsin
Aug 09, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Refill Quality, Materials, Durability

Nice, But....

I like the shape and to hold of it, but....when i got it and opened it the ink pen had burst, maybe it was heat or the shipping. Still it was a broke mess. Refills that fit are hard to find apparently, as I have not yet found one.
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 3 stars out of 5
C
SF
Aug 11, 2009
Pros: Materials, Durability
Cons: None

High hopes. Disappointed by excecution

I had high hopes for this product which I bought after losing my Benchmade tactical pen, but was somewhat disappointed. The materials and fit and finish are very good, but there are two big problems with the design. 1)The cap screws on instead of the press-fit design of the Benchmade. If you have it clipped in your back pocket, it can loosen and unscrew over time since the only thing holding the pen together is screw-down friction 2)There is no real way to hold the cap on the back of the pen when writing. It is basically just held in place by gravity and friction so it can rattle loose when writing and fall off the back. It’s still a good pen with a solid feel, but these minor problems would keep me from buying another.
Schrade Tactical Pen, Gray Aluminum
rated 1 stars out of 5
William B.
Seattle, WA
Feb 25, 2012
Pros: None
Cons: Materials

Leaks

Purchased 5 Schrade pens for "stocking stuffers" and upon opening them found gobs of ink had leaked out. Poor refill or bad design. Knifecenter offered to accept a return but it's not worth the postage. They should have offered a free replacement refill, but did not.