Reviews and Ratings for Schrade SCMACH1 Machete 12.25" Blade, Black TPR Handles, Nylon Sheath

Schrade SCMACH1 Machete 12.25" Blade, Black TPR Handles, Nylon Sheathrated 3.000 stars out of 5 (7 reviews)
3 out of 5 stars
5 star
3
4 star
0
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
3
Schrade SCMACH1 Machete 12.25 inch Blade, Black TPR Handles, Nylon Sheath

 

Price: $15.95

Save $7.03 (31%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Schrade SCMACH1 Machete 12.25" Blade, Black TPR Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Johnny
South Africa
Feb 02, 2016
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great product
I am a collector of these
Schrade SCMACH1 Machete 12.25" Blade, Black TPR Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Justice W
Fort Erie, Ontario, Canade
Jul 14, 2016
Pros: Materials, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Schrade SCMACH1 MACHETE
I will admit the blade was not as sharp as I like but a few strokes on the steel and it cuts like a scalpel. Weight, handle, balance and general ergonomics are PERFECT I would stack this blade up against much more expensive machetes in all but the most extreme comparos. One of the best dollar values you will ever come across. Once again, Schrade hammers one out of the park
Schrade SCMACH1 Machete 12.25" Blade, Black TPR Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bladebuyer
Canada NS
Jan 11, 2019
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness
Great product!
Have owned this blade for over a year now. Was expecting a poor quality blade but got a great deal. When I opened the blade from the package it was fairly sharp but not as sharp as it could be so I sharpened the blade properly (it almost looked like they sharpened it to a point so they know you won't cut yourself when opening the blade which makes sense). After I went ahead and took it in the bush with me and was surprised at the performance. It was cutting through hardwood maple tree branches with ease. With the excellent tough rubber grip and the light weight of the blade it was easy to get through thick brush. It's also weighted well enough to be thrown. I own some throwing tomahawks and other blades and this works just as good. I noticed other reviews mentioning the blade breaking. I suggest sharpening the blade before use so it performs at its top. The only negative thing I have to say about it is the sheath that came with the blade. It was a Canvas sheath that did have a belt loop and a good velcro strap and button strap to keep the handle and blade in place that worked well for a while. But the canvas wears out at the bottom eventually so I had to get another sheath online. I purchased one made out of leather but with plastic on the bottom. They should make it out of good durable plastic or something a lot stronger so the blade won't cut through. Other than that the blad was a great buy. I suggest it to anyone who wants something simple for yard care or to put in your hunting bag. (Please listen to what I'm saying and sharpen the blade when purchasing. I could see a dull blade being the reason why your blades are breaking and I know to some newcomers into the blade world you might think the blade is sharp but I suggest sharpening it more. If my blade was that dull yours will probably be dull as well out of the box.) Thanks for reading and thanks Schrade for making such a great blade - BladeBuyer - I also forge my own blades and this blade is great.
Schrade SCMACH1 Machete 12.25" Blade, Black TPR Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Jarhead
L.A.
Aug 05, 2020
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, Finish
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
She's very bad Construction
Blade overall good does she said comes with is a piece of garbage I took it into the woods one day the sheath ripped apart very disappointed
Schrade SCMACH1 Machete 12.25" Blade, Black TPR Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Jamie
Beach Park, Il
Apr 21, 2016
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
Not sharp.
I just received my machete and it is beautiful. The only thing I don't like about it is it's not sharp. I also ordered a folding knife and the knife takes the hair off my arm. The machete doesn't. I'm very disappointed that it isn't sharp but i still really like it.
Schrade SCMACH1 Machete 12.25" Blade, Black TPR Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Chad
NC
Dec 31, 2016
Pros: None
Cons: None
Broke the blade
Got it to clear out brush for fishing broken in 15 minutes
Schrade SCMACH1 Machete 12.25" Blade, Black TPR Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Jay B
Alabama
Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, Finish, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Broken blade
While using the Machete to cut some low limbs off of an oak tree, the blade broke about two inches from the handle. Broken piece flew right over my shoulder. It was a small limb maybe one inch in diameter. Be aware these are not made for acual work!
Schrade SCMACH1 Machete 12.25" Blade, Black TPR Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Steve
Ohio
Jan 04, 2018
Pros: None
Cons: Blade Material
Disappointed
I used this to clear out some brush. Half inch diameter stuff. Pieces of steel from the blade were falling off. The blade had not been heat treated. It was preety sharp though. I wouldn't recommend.