Reviews and Ratings for Schrade SCMACH2 Sawback Machete 15" Blade, Black TPR Handles, Nylon Sheath

Schrade SCMACH2 Sawback Machete 15" Blade, Black TPR Handles, Nylon Sheathrated 1.941 stars out of 5 (17 reviews)
1.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
2
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
2
1 star
11
Schrade SCMACH2 Sawback Machete 15 inch Blade, Black TPR Handles, Nylon Sheath

 

Price: $16.95

Save $10.63 (39%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Schrade SCMACH2 Sawback Machete 15" Blade, Black TPR Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cid
Wisconsin
Dec 20, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Schrade SCMACH2 Sawback Machete 15"blade is awesome.
Preppers Dream. Tactical Machete built solid. Sharp blade, great grip. Awesome sheath. Not too light, not to heavy. Great balance. Great Survival tool. Awesome price. Add to your Bug Out Bag or Get Home Bag. Can be used in Close Combatives when the SHTF.
Schrade SCMACH2 Sawback Machete 15" Blade, Black TPR Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike M
King George, VA
Oct 29, 2019
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Great tool for clearing brush
Overall I am happy with this machete. The blade slices through most small branches and saplings, plus the saw makes larger limbs easier to snap. Handy for when things start to get overgrown.
Schrade SCMACH2 Sawback Machete 15" Blade, Black TPR Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mike
virginia
Nov 30, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
top notch tool
solid product. easy to grip and use.
Schrade SCMACH2 Sawback Machete 15" Blade, Black TPR Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
J J B
Michigan
Nov 03, 2015
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
good quality
I am very pleased with this item. Have used it to clear brush on some lots on the lake, and in the woods. Fits well in the hand and easy to use.
Schrade SCMACH2 Sawback Machete 15" Blade, Black TPR Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 2 stars out of 5
David
New Hampshire
Jun 05, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, None
Cons: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard
Broken blade
I loved this knife for several months. It is light and easy to use and fit my hand well. Then I hit a tree limb, just like hundreds of other times, and the blade snapped in half and hit in me in the leg. If there was one just like this but with better quality steel I'd buy it. I'm also not thrilled with the sheath. Snap plus velcro hold well but its a pain to draw when you have to undo both every time.
Schrade SCMACH2 Sawback Machete 15" Blade, Black TPR Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 2 stars out of 5
Doug
Slade, KY
Jul 06, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Handle Material, Blade Material
Handel broke and is loose
I liked this machete until the handle got loose and now it wiggles too much for my liking. cut well until then
Schrade SCMACH2 Sawback Machete 15" Blade, Black TPR Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Sparky
Texas
Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Handle Material, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Material
Terrible
Cut off 2 - 1" limbs and blade was torn up.
Schrade SCMACH2 Sawback Machete 15" Blade, Black TPR Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Riggs
NC
Jul 31, 2020
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Weight, None
Cons: Blade Material, Materials, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Looks Good, really is weak from the start which was very surprising
Bought this blade as well it looked awesome like I could cut brush or make a path through the woods with no problem. Had it on my side fishing and went to clear some small limbs and branches back from the river and after 2-3 swims the blade was bent from every strike and the limbs still hanging strong. To say I was dissapointed was an understatement and wish if this was known to be a weak blade they would send me another because it really is a nice looking product it’s just not good. Anyhow I went and got my 20 year old non sharpened machete which I was supposed to be replacing and returned and in minutes had and large area cleared back. Not just the little 1-2” limbs and so on that broke my new blade but even 3 and 4” trees growing and had no issue with ole faithful
Schrade SCMACH2 Sawback Machete 15" Blade, Black TPR Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Roy F
Camden AR
Mar 22, 2017
Pros: None
Cons: Overall Quality
Not worth it
I bought this machete and within 20 minutes of use the blade had bent in 2 places and a large chip broke out of the edge of the blade
Schrade SCMACH2 Sawback Machete 15" Blade, Black TPR Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Jer
Wisconsin
Dec 30, 2017
Pros: None
Cons: Blade Material, Materials
Broken blade
I bought this schrade machete to replace my army surplus blade which I used for 30 plus years. I liked the schrade the first time I used it. Very sharp knife edge made quick work of young saplings and tall marsh grass. Then I recently used it to cut shooting lanes in an oak forest. The blade snapped in half when I struck a 3/4 " oak branch. Disappointed to say the least.
Schrade SCMACH2 Sawback Machete 15" Blade, Black TPR Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Garry
Alabama
Mar 26, 2017
Pros: Weight, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Blade Material
Used it to trim some bushes blade broke not very strong
Blade is week
Schrade SCMACH2 Sawback Machete 15" Blade, Black TPR Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Thomas Mc
Hallsville TX
Sep 25, 2018
Pros:
Cons:
Junky scrap
Blade started shattering every time I hit a 1" oak limb coming off in pieces hitting my other hand
Schrade SCMACH2 Sawback Machete 15" Blade, Black TPR Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Bob G
Maryland
Apr 05, 2020
Pros: None
Cons: Overall Quality
I agree, not worth the money
Like some of the other reviews, worked well at first, but I snap a large chunk out if the blade just trimming branches under an inch in diameter
Schrade SCMACH2 Sawback Machete 15" Blade, Black TPR Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Bob
South Texas
Jan 10, 2017
Pros: None
Cons: Blade Material
Bad blade temper
I was looking to replace a machete that I lost. It was just a cheap stamped steel blade from Tractor Supply. It worked well but had to be sharpened often. I thought the Schrade SCMACH2 would be an excellent replacement. The first time I used it I was going to cut down a small bush called a Catclaw. I routinely cut these down with a machete. I took about 3 whacks at it and noticed that the Schrade blade had 3 dents in it where I had connected with the small (1/2" dia.) branch. Schrade used to be a top notch knife maker. I would buy one from Harbor Freight before I would buy another Schrade.
Schrade SCMACH2 Sawback Machete 15" Blade, Black TPR Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Richard F
Schuyler Nebraska
Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Material, Materials, Finish
my blade broke off rite at the handel an went flimsy it broke inside
to cut brush and shrubs in general wooded areas it's a light weight blade with excellent swinging an balanced weight and cuts swift and is easy to handel an carry things to no well how strong the blade durability of the steel is with impact cutting and or sawing an how strong the Hand grip would be cause it went flimsy so I don't get cut shortly after the blade fell outta the handel
Schrade SCMACH2 Sawback Machete 15" Blade, Black TPR Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Ben
GA
Jun 06, 2017
Pros: None
Cons: Blade Material
Broken Blade
Blade broke after first use, the cheap steel machete I had before ths was much better. Don't waste your money on this.
Schrade SCMACH2 Sawback Machete 15" Blade, Black TPR Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
John Mcnulty
Chesapeake, VA
Dec 22, 2018
Pros: Weight, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Overall Quality
I would pass on this one
Received one for Christmas last year, Loved the feel and was delighted the first time i used it...Minimal use and and worked fine. This past week went to lop off a couple of small branches from a standing sycamore, blade snapped back in the handle..??? Have sent the importer a message but have not heard back for several days...Probably would pass on this one....