Reviews and Ratings for SOG Flash II Folding Knife Assisted 3.5" Satin Plain Blade, Black Zytel Handles - FSA8-CP

SOG Flash II Folding Knife Assisted 3.5" Satin Plain Blade, Black Zytel Handlesrated 4.261 stars out of 5 (23 reviews)
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
9
3 star
4
2 star
0
1 star
0
SOG Flash II Folding Knife Assisted 3.5 inch Satin Plain Blade, Black Zytel Handles

 

Price: $48.95

Save $12.00 (20%) Off Retail

View Product Details
SOG Flash II Folding Knife Assisted 3.5" Satin Plain Blade, Black Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Austin
Wyoming
Dec 06, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Perfect edc
The perfect knife for the money. I have had this knife for years and their is absolutely nothing flimsy about anything on it. I have battoned with it countless times through knots know problem. Blades good for the money and takes a great edge if you sharpen it right. The clip is perfect and it holds a good edge. Compared to my spyderco delica4, coldsteel american lawman, and my crkt ripple this is my go to. I highly recommend this knife to anyone. Perfect edc.
SOG Flash II Folding Knife Assisted 3.5" Satin Plain Blade, Black Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris R.
New York
Jul 08, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
It's what I needed.
This knife is the right size for general around the house, yard, shop needs. Has excellent handle feel, opens/closes easily and is solid in construction and feel. Out of the box sharp and seems like it will be trouble free. Great EDC.
SOG Flash II Folding Knife Assisted 3.5" Satin Plain Blade, Black Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matt
North Carolina
Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Great EDC Knife
I use this knife as an everyday carry as law enforcement. It fits great in my pocket and on my gear. A very handy knife with a very rugged blade. Just wish the pocket clip was made a little different and reversible being that i'm a lefty. Other than that it is great for pretty much anything that you could want to do with it.
SOG Flash II Folding Knife Assisted 3.5" Satin Plain Blade, Black Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kyle
Valdosta GA 31602
Feb 16, 2015
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
SOG Flash II Awesome Knife
I've been very pleased over the years with SOG knives. They are very durable and lasting. the flash II is lightweight and a great everyday carry pocket knife.
SOG Flash II Folding Knife Assisted 3.5" Satin Plain Blade, Black Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lance H
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 23, 2013
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Excellent knife
I'm new to locking blades and picked this for it's size and the type of locking mechanism after seeing videos of different knives as well as it's reported quality. This opens easily with either hand and locks on opening. It's also easy to unlock with either hand. I appreciate the lite weight in my pocket and yet it seems very strong and fits well in the hand. The blade arrived razor sharp and seems to be keeping it's edge pretty well after a couple weeks of occasional use. It has a lever that you can use to lock the blade so that it won't open in case you are worried about accidental opening in your pocket. I haven't been using it and haven't had any accidental openings either. It comes with a dandy pocket clip that I haven't tried using yet, not sure if I want to or not. The clip can be reversed or removed.
SOG Flash II Folding Knife Assisted 3.5" Satin Plain Blade, Black Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
David
Ireland
May 04, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great knife
Work in a ware house so I use this knife everyday cutting open boxes straps ect and has proven to be the perfect tool for the job and 100% reliable the edge has not dulled yet !
SOG Flash II Folding Knife Assisted 3.5" Satin Plain Blade, Black Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jo
Md
Jul 21, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath, Handle Feel
Quick
This is a well balanced, quick knife with a solid blade. The edge is quite sharp from the box. Even with no practice it easily opens/closes one handed. Cons: No Sheath, grip is a bit soft. Handle seems a bit light weight, but I have had no problems. Perhaps I am just not used to an all plastic handle.
SOG Flash II Folding Knife Assisted 3.5" Satin Plain Blade, Black Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ron Pinkerton
Omak, WA
May 31, 2011
Pros: Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
Great knife, lightning fast!!
I carry this knife as a concealed carry defense weapon. It is highly concealable due to the clip placement. What I like most about the knife is the lightening fast action. The first time I opened I was very pleasantly surprised.
SOG Flash II Folding Knife Assisted 3.5" Satin Plain Blade, Black Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike
Owings, Maryland
Sep 09, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
Nice knife
nice knife. razor sharp blade and good action.
SOG Flash II Folding Knife Assisted 3.5" Satin Plain Blade, Black Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sot
TX
Jul 20, 2019
Pros: Handle Material, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Can Take a BEATING
I bought one of these about 7 years ago. I really liked it for EDC due to it's being light, ease of deployment, and descent fit in the hand. I liked it so much I bought my dad one. This was my dad's first assisted opener. When my dad uses any tool or piece of machinery he pushes it to the limit. He does this because he knows if he breaks it that he can fix it. He swears by this knife. He has beat on it with a hammer, used it as a pry bar, as a screw driver, scraped metal, you name it he has used it for that purpose. About 2 years ago he lost the knife. He had me order him another one. About 2 months later he found the knife stuck in a tree at my uncle's place where he had used it working on a shredder. So, now he has a nice one and a beat up one. It is hard to sharpen. It takes a little time. But he says he does not mind since he is good at it and it holds an edges well. He loves the pocket clip because it can be resprung. He puts it in the vice and carefully bends it at the right place and it is tight in his pocket again. He has done this numerous times. The lock has given on him one time. He said he knew he was pushing it to the max and was prepared for it to give so that if it did he would not get injured. The last time I was at home I picked it up. It is worn and beat up but still very functional. If you are looking for a light, tough, comfortable EDC I don't think you can go wrong with this knife. Be patient when sharpening and you will always have a good sharp tool in your pocket.
SOG Flash II Folding Knife Assisted 3.5" Satin Plain Blade, Black Zytel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Victor
Mar 29, 2010
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Lock Type
Amazingly good knife
This is a great product.
SOG Flash II Folding Knife Assisted 3.5" Satin Plain Blade, Black Zytel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Dennis D
Washington state
Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, None
Cons: Lock Type
SOG fsa8 flash 11
Works great for my daily carry cutting line and opening boxes.opens easly with one hand.No need for blade lock.
SOG Flash II Folding Knife Assisted 3.5" Satin Plain Blade, Black Zytel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Larry
Valley of the Sun
May 18, 2011
Pros: Pocket Clip, Lock Type, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Feel, Overall Quality, None
Perfect Sized EDC, but not perfect
I wasn't impressed by the imagery for this knife. However, as soon as I got it in hand, I see what why people rave about it. It is the perfect sized EDC folder--2.875 oz with 3.475" blade. Lightweight because there are no steel liners. Reassuring axis lock. Ideal blade shape for everyday use--clip point without an overly broad blade as on the Spyderco Tenacious. I have two nits: (1) The middle finger handle groove--it's too deeply set and I cannot get a comfortable grip no matter how I try to engage it. It's not clear why it was designed this way. To allow the thumb convenient access for opening? Not necessary. It may be a consequence of the narrowness of the package. In contrast the Aegis with its broader blade has far superior handle ergonomics. Nit (2): The blade has some up/down (mostly down) play when locked open. The last blade I owned with this much play was an early model Benchmade Pika ('96). I've looked for solutions short of returning it or sending it to SOG for servicing, but so far have not found anything sufficiently detailed. Many owners of this knife rave about the lock up. Maybe I got a lemon.
SOG Flash II Folding Knife Assisted 3.5" Satin Plain Blade, Black Zytel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Tom
Virginia
Apr 11, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Weight, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Very Addictive!
The deployment of the blade is perhaps the most fun and addictive part of this or any knife I have owned. Not a big fan of the safety lock, seems kind of useless. My only other complaint is a very little side to side blade play but not too much. BTW there is no up and down play at all. All in all its a good knife for a good price.
SOG Flash II Folding Knife Assisted 3.5" Satin Plain Blade, Black Zytel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mo Shoffet
Fargo, ND
May 24, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip, Lock Type, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Handle Material, Handle Feel
Excellent Action
Very good knife - this is my first assisted opener, and my first SOG, and I'm impressed on both counts. I've been a diehard Spyderco user for years, but this knife has sold me on SOG as a brand. Assisted open feels great, blade is tight with no wobble, and the best part is the clip - fantastic design keeping it a low profile. My only real complaint, and why I went 4 instead of 5 stars is that the handle has a very strange feel to it - it's a little slick (not grippy) and the material just *feels* a little cheap. Still, for half the price I paid for my last spyderco I can't complain, and the overall quality is top notch. I'll definitely be looking at other SOG's in the future!
SOG Flash II Folding Knife Assisted 3.5" Satin Plain Blade, Black Zytel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Tmenzies
Hong Kong
Jun 04, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: Handle Material, None
Very Fast
Warning: The action of this knife is addictive!! It opens lightning fast with very little pressure or movement needed to get it going - opens with a great 'clunck' and gentle recoil in the hand. Lock up is OK, but there is slight up/down and side to side play. I like the blade shape and it was 'sharp enough' out the box (could have been sharper though). I like the way that the clip puts the knife deep in the pocket, but would prefer if the clip was another 10-15mm longer as that would put the depression in the clip in a better place to grip it to help with extraction from the pocket. The handle shape is good, with some good finger grips making the knife feel secure in the hand and stopping your fingers riding forward onto the blade, but it could be more deeply textured to increase 'grippiness'. Be aware that the Flash II is quite a bit larger than the Flash I, so depends what size knife/blade you prefer.
SOG Flash II Folding Knife Assisted 3.5" Satin Plain Blade, Black Zytel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ordu
Out West
Jan 19, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Handle Material, Handle Feel
Almost perfect
This is one of my absolute favorite EDC knives. The pocket clip is perfect, though a little goofy looking. The blade flies out and the blade itself is gorgeous. I wish it had a stonewashed finish instead of satin but it's still a beautiful blade. Came decently sharp from the factory, about 10 minutes of work and it was razor sharp. More knife manufacturers need to take SOGs pocket clip design and copy it. Having the knife deep in your pocket is great for retention and also it's basically invisible, which is always a bonus. Zytel handles are not as grippy as I had hoped, I'm not sure how much purchase you would get on the knife in wet conditions. G10 would be preferable.
SOG Flash II Folding Knife Assisted 3.5" Satin Plain Blade, Black Zytel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ex. John Doe
Kahleeforneeah
Jan 24, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Good value
Here's an everyday carry folder that's extremely light (no liner has a reason!) yet is sturdy and locks tight. I've never seen a legal knife that is so easy to open quickly with a flick of the thumb. Great for emergencies. It's plenty sharp, but easy to put on a fine hone on if you want to shave with it. The knife does have a "detente" to remain closed, so I'm not sure why a safety is necessary. I didn't like it (otherwise 5 stars) so I removed that level and pin assembly, which I know voided my warranty, but I had an incident in which the knife was accidentally on safe mode when I wanted to use it.
SOG Flash II Folding Knife Assisted 3.5" Satin Plain Blade, Black Zytel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Tmenzies
Hong Kong
Jun 27, 2010
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Handle Material, Blade Material
Small Update
To address the small amount of 'wiggle' in the lockup that I mention above, I took to my Flash II with a star drive and some Loctite blue. I tightened the pivot a little and all 'wiggle' was gone without effecting speed or smoothness of opening. One point of note - the Flash II was the only of the knives on my bench (I was doing a bunch - after all the Loctite was open!) which showed any sign of a locking compound on the pivot (and my selection included Spyderco, Kershaw and Boker Plus) - so top marks to SOG for that!
SOG Flash II Folding Knife Assisted 3.5" Satin Plain Blade, Black Zytel Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Fernando
Madrid, Spain
May 06, 2019
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Weight, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Lock Type, Handle Feel, Handle Material
Good for the price but not a hit
Razor sharp out of the box and really fast opening. But the handle material looks pretty cheap. My main con is that it is really difficult to close with one hand because of the combination of the design of the lock and the assisted opening mecanism. I have the same problem with all models which, regardless of their price, combine an AXIS-type lock and an assisted opening mechanism like the BM Vector. IMO the only assisted openers which can be easily closed with one hand are those with a liner lock such as the Ken Onion Boa or the BM 890 Torrent (just to cite two discontinued master pieces).
SOG Flash II Folding Knife Assisted 3.5" Satin Plain Blade, Black Zytel Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Bj Del Conte
CA
Mar 31, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, None
Less than Impressive
I picked this knife up in a sporting goods store, off the shelf in a clamshell package. I loved the styling of it, and it was the first assisted opener I owned. As soon as I started playing with the knife, I noticed that the fit and finish left much to be desired. The action opens with a satisfying *shunk*, but the handle material seems to be made completely of plastic! Without a metal liner, the blade can easily flex side to side. There is very noticeable give. Closing the knife is achieved via a small switch, which on my knife is very stiff and hurts my thumb. In usage, I found that knife was very sharp out of the package. It seems to hold an edge decently, though I haven't been too rough on it yet. Overall, the value of this knife is poor due to build quality. A good concept but too rough around the edges for me personally. I still think it looks cool, but there are better knives out there for less money.
SOG Flash II Folding Knife Assisted 3.5" Satin Plain Blade, Black Zytel Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Tozan
Torrance, Ca.
Jun 18, 2014
Pros: Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material
Good handeling knife very bad blade material.
I love how this knife opens, carries, weight and feel all are very good but the blade is terrible. I am very experienced at sharpening blades but this just wont sharpen up. It needs to be offered with a quality blade material not the crap that is on it.
SOG Flash II Folding Knife Assisted 3.5" Satin Plain Blade, Black Zytel Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Dallasdeadeye
dallas,tx
Jun 29, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Pocket Clip
almost had it.
like i said above almost a good edc knife, its light weight, fast to open, came sharp, innovative design, one flaw and its a big one, its hard to open it quickly when you cant even remove it from your pocket, the pocket clip is a deep pocket clip, to deep if you ask me. the edge of your pants pocket can work its way up and over the end of your handle making it near impossible to deploy quickly. not my go to folder, back up blade at best. i removed the clip and carry it in my pocket with the safety on.