Reviews and Ratings for SOG Trident Assisted Folding Knife 3.75" Black TiNi Plain Tanto Blade, Black GRN Handles - TF7-CP

SOG Trident Assisted Folding Knife 3.75" Black TiNi Plain Tanto Blade, Black GRN Handlesrated 4.125 stars out of 5 (8 reviews)
4.1 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
1
1 star
0
SOG Trident Assisted Folding Knife 3.75 inch Black TiNi Plain Tanto Blade, Black GRN Handles

 

Price: $74.95

Save $17.00 (18%) Off Retail

View Product Details
SOG Trident Assisted Folding Knife 3.75" Black TiNi Plain Tanto Blade, Black GRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tango Alpha Golf
Charlotte, NC
Jul 25, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Light weight tactical
I use this as an every day carry knife and the zytel handle makes it so light I never even notice it chilling in my pocket. It's a pretty large folder at just under 4 inches and it's got a nice sized handle, A LOT of knife for not much weight. The blade is AUS8 and pretty tough, I have two both of which were shaving sharp when I got them and are easily sharpened. The coating is very shiny, it's not like the hard cased TiNi used on the standard trident folder, but it has a much classier look and is very tough to damage.
SOG Trident Assisted Folding Knife 3.75" Black TiNi Plain Tanto Blade, Black GRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rob C.
Quincy MA
May 17, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great knife/tool!!
I have had my trident/drop point serrated for about five years now and it has been put through the mill. From seeing action in the Middle East in the Marine Corps to cutting shingles for my roof at home, this knife has not let me down once. All of us know that with cheaper knives the hardware/screws almost always fall out and renders the blades useless, since I first used the Trident until now, none of the screws/hardware have even loosened in the slightest bit, and this knife has been through the wringer! I have not had a single issue with the blade lock, it has never disengaged/engaged in my pocket. It has been exposed to saltwater, fresh water, oils/solvents, gasoline and a whole slew of chemicals and still no rust or degradation to the handle scales. I just recently purchased one for a brother Marine and shipped it to him in Afghanistan. He will be happy! So to sum it all up, the SOG Trident is one stellar knife/tool, take it from a seasoned Marine!!
SOG Trident Assisted Folding Knife 3.75" Black TiNi Plain Tanto Blade, Black GRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike S
North Carolina
May 12, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Quality
I've carried this knife every day for 4 years and it has worked perfect for every task I've used it on. The blade holds an edge for a very long time and when I do need to sharpen it, it takes an edge quickly and easly. Handle is very comfortable and strong as well as the blade is strong too. Knife opens super fast and secure everything time.
SOG Trident Assisted Folding Knife 3.75" Black TiNi Plain Tanto Blade, Black GRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brandon M
OKC
Jan 03, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Buy it.
Everything I wanted in an EDC knife for a great price point.
SOG Trident Assisted Folding Knife 3.75" Black TiNi Plain Tanto Blade, Black GRN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ricky Van Buskirk
Lynchburg. VA
May 25, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Not bad
I used this to replace a gerber torch II tanto which the grips came off and a broken tip led me to retire it.This knife is about 1/2 the weight and is moderately sturdy. The blade while almost shaving sharp is slightly flimsy which i was shocked when i opened it and was inspecting it. hopefully i got a lemon regardless its very well balanced and designed it never leaves my side it's a great knife.
SOG Trident Assisted Folding Knife 3.75" Black TiNi Plain Tanto Blade, Black GRN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Redpatcher
San Mateo, CA
Mar 02, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
excellent blade for price
extremely sharp knife, great feel on the handle lightweight, not exactly great for clipping inside your pocket since the opening in the handle to expose the blade catches if your trying to pull it out quickly. best usage for clipping on belt or onto gear.
SOG Trident Assisted Folding Knife 3.75" Black TiNi Plain Tanto Blade, Black GRN Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Danger
Washington State - USA
Feb 09, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Weight, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Usually I'm a fan of SOG knives, but for me this knife fell short. As a law enforcement officer, I expect a lot from any knife I carry. The Trident is certainly visually appealing but the feel and function of the knife aren't what I normally get from SOG. This is a light knife and it does open easily with either hand, especially with the spring assisted opening. For safety reasons I can see the need for the safety lock, but it sort of inhibits being able to quickly deploy the blade or being able to do so with either hand, since the safety lock is only on one side. I surely don't want the blade opening in my pocket, but I really don't need the spring assisted opening function. Also, the safety lock tab sticks out just a bit from the side of the knife and tears the inside of my pocket over time. I've also pulled the knife out of my pocket and found that the safety has been accidentally deactivated while in my pocket. The other SOGs I own like the Pentagon, X-Ray Vision, and Visionary are all ambidextrous knives and open really smoothly without the spring assist. The Pentagon, X-Ray Vision, and the Visionary also lock up way better. When the blade is open on my Trident, it wiggles side to side slightly. I have several friends who have also carried the Trident and they all have varying degrees of the same problem. The things I do like about this knife are its weight, blade shape, and pocket clip. The Trident is light and I hardly notice it riding in my pocket. I really like Tanto blade shapes but of course that's my own personal preference. The pocket clip is really secure and holds the knife in place. I've never had issues with the knife falling out of my pocket, even during physical activity. Also, I like the sharp jimping on the back of the knife spine and it really gives your thumb a good grip. I kind of wish SOG would just make this knife with the Arc lock like the Pentagon has. I feel like that would solve my two main issues with this knife, the deployment and the lock up.
SOG Trident Assisted Folding Knife 3.75" Black TiNi Plain Tanto Blade, Black GRN Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
D Scott
Augusta, Ga
Mar 14, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Weight, Handle Feel
it's ok
Not what I expected from SOG. Knife is very lite and feels flimsy. I have bought better quality for less money. I would not recommend this knife.