Reviews and Ratings for Spyderco Manix 2 Folding Knife 3-3/8" BD-1 Plain Blade, Translucent Blue FRCP Handles - C101PBL2

Spyderco Manix 2 Folding Knife 3-3/8" BD-1 Plain Blade, Translucent Blue FRCP Handlesrated 4.645 stars out of 5 (31 reviews)
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
23
4 star
7
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Spyderco Manix 2 Folding Knife 3-3/8 inch BD-1 Plain Blade, Translucent Blue FRCP Handles

 

Price: $101.50

Save $43.50 (30%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Spyderco Manix 2 Folding Knife 3-3/8" BD-1 Plain Blade, Translucent Blue FRCP Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Scott
orange county, California
Apr 08, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Love this knife
I use this knife for EDC. It is very sharp and lightweight. Plus will not rust. I really like the pocket clip as well as the color. I agree with Nutnfancy that this knife is a 11 out of 10. For icing on the cake, I was lucky enough to get the last one in stock from the KnifeCenter. Delivery was fantastic and item was in very good condition.
Spyderco Manix 2 Folding Knife 3-3/8" BD-1 Plain Blade, Translucent Blue FRCP Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dannyb
Fort Worth Texas
Jul 25, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Best EDC around!
Razor sharp out of the box. Locking mechanism works great. Light weight and easy to carry.
Spyderco Manix 2 Folding Knife 3-3/8" BD-1 Plain Blade, Translucent Blue FRCP Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Glock 45
Iowa
Nov 21, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Best light weight knife I've ever owned.
Light weight Very sharp Solid as a rock
Spyderco Manix 2 Folding Knife 3-3/8" BD-1 Plain Blade, Translucent Blue FRCP Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Stephen S. F.
Tallahassee, Fl
Dec 31, 2013
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Waited a few months before I...
Wrote this review, so that I would have a chance to really get a solid opinion, not just a "first impression".... This knife will easily fulfil & exceed expectations! Glad I waited to write...cause the "review" I WOULD have written, 5 minutes after opening the box?...would have been negative...and WRONG!
Spyderco Manix 2 Folding Knife 3-3/8" BD-1 Plain Blade, Translucent Blue FRCP Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joey
Houston TX
Apr 04, 2017
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
a winner...
EDC all good stuff on this spidey...
Spyderco Manix 2 Folding Knife 3-3/8" BD-1 Plain Blade, Translucent Blue FRCP Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Luke
Arkansas
Feb 27, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Beautiful
This is a beautiful knife. The BD1 material is almost a one of a kind on this knife. There are few other blades out there with this material. The ball bering lock on it is extremely smooth. It is a great edc knife with looks and functionality if the size is right for you.
Spyderco Manix 2 Folding Knife 3-3/8" BD-1 Plain Blade, Translucent Blue FRCP Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Arthur S.
Detroit, MI
Jun 14, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Awesome knife at a great price
This is a great EDC knife (if the larger size is not an issue). It is extremely light and very user friendly with typical Spyderco quality.
Spyderco Manix 2 Folding Knife 3-3/8" BD-1 Plain Blade, Translucent Blue FRCP Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Texasg
Cibolo, TX
Oct 03, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great color great blade !
I use this model as my EDC, the more I use it the faster it deploys. Love the CTS-BD1 blade steel, holds its edge and looks fantastic also.
Spyderco Manix 2 Folding Knife 3-3/8" BD-1 Plain Blade, Translucent Blue FRCP Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Knife F
Lancaster, Ca
Aug 21, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Awesome EDC
Spyderco makes awesome cutting tools and this is no exception. Great size and shape. Lock action is smooth with one handed opening and closing. This is truly a beautiful folder that every collector should have. Regarding Spyderco's claim that this knife has a hard use lock. I really don't think Spyderco knows the definition of a hard use lock after seeing several lock failures demonstrated with this model and there long running Endura on You Tube. Sure, you could use it in self defense in a pinch. But, if I know I might be in an area where it might come in handy to have a tactical folder, I will always choose Cold Steel.
Spyderco Manix 2 Folding Knife 3-3/8" BD-1 Plain Blade, Translucent Blue FRCP Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve S
Tamworth, UK
Jan 01, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
True blue!
A valued part of my collection of quality folding knives. Also used as part of my EDC rotation. I love the quality and attention to detail with this knife all surfaces are perfect and there are no burs or faults anywhere. The blade is perfectly centred and opens and closes so smoothly and easily it's a dream. From the very first time I saw a picture of the translucent blue handle, I knew I had to have one. As the light catches it the colour is gorgeous and to top it all off Spyderco gave it a Full Flat Grind. Home Run !!
Spyderco Manix 2 Folding Knife 3-3/8" BD-1 Plain Blade, Translucent Blue FRCP Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ron
California
Oct 01, 2013
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Lightweight,sharp
I bought this knife for personal everyday use,and protection if ever needed. I needed a knife that was lightweight, but could still have a large enough blade to make a difference. I looked for days(internet), found this one. I love it, very lightweight, cannot even tell it is in my pocket, nice size blade, came very sharp and the overall feel in my hand is perfect. I would buy this knife again.
Spyderco Manix 2 Folding Knife 3-3/8" BD-1 Plain Blade, Translucent Blue FRCP Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Johnny B
Poland
Mar 15, 2018
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Lock Type
Cons: None
Lightweight King
This is Lightweight EDC King. I carry it with ease and I sometimes forget I even have it in my pocket. Its is light but very impressive - it goes throigh everything like a dream. Pure gold. Another great one from Spyderco.
Spyderco Manix 2 Folding Knife 3-3/8" BD-1 Plain Blade, Translucent Blue FRCP Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ray J.
greenfield ma.
Feb 23, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
the best
i use this knife for everything.its easy to sharpen, it holds the edge, its light weight is perfect. best of all the is the easy opening and closing.the very best thing is it is made in the USA. WHY NOT MAKE ALL YOUR KNIVES IN THE USA. its more important to me than than saving a few bucks.
Spyderco Manix 2 Folding Knife 3-3/8" BD-1 Plain Blade, Translucent Blue FRCP Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
James D
Brisbane, Australia
Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
First Spyderco
This knife is so light, sharp, fast, grippy and easy to carry every day. Only had it for 2 weeks but am loving every minute of it. I am using it as my first EDC knife and have no complaints so far. People have said it feels cheap because its so light. I agree it is light but still has a great feel of quality. I love the manix shape and lock.
Spyderco Manix 2 Folding Knife 3-3/8" BD-1 Plain Blade, Translucent Blue FRCP Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
David E.
Georgetown, TX
Nov 18, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Review of Spyderco's New Manix Folding Knife in Translucent Blue
Will use it as a carry knife. While Spyderco designs and manufactures nice utilitarian knives, I ordered the knife in Feb./Mar. of 2011 and received it in early NOVEMBER, 2011. That is, I had to wait EIGHT (8) months to receive this product because of manufacturing problems/scheduling at Spyderco. Spyderco should have clearly stated the planned delivery schedule or availability of it's products in it's promotional advertisement for each new knife product. That's the RIGHT thing to do when manufacturers care about their customers....
Spyderco Manix 2 Folding Knife 3-3/8" BD-1 Plain Blade, Translucent Blue FRCP Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris
Albuquerque, NM
May 12, 2015
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Fantastic EDC. Great value, craftsmanship, and edge retention.
I have other knives that I spent more money on. This knife seems to out perform all of them. Very well built and the pocket clip is the best one on the market. CTS-BD1 steel is very impressive. Stays sharp and takes little effort to get it right back to razor sharp. For the money there is just not a better knife out there.
Spyderco Manix 2 Folding Knife 3-3/8" BD-1 Plain Blade, Translucent Blue FRCP Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike
Airizona
Mar 19, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Get r one
I love this knife.i use it for edc had it for almost a year still sharp, Still tight lock up. I would like to see different colors or a clear version.
Spyderco Manix 2 Folding Knife 3-3/8" BD-1 Plain Blade, Translucent Blue FRCP Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jk
Richmond, VA
Apr 20, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
All the goodness of regular Manix 2 in a light weight form factor ...
Torx pivot will allow for adjustment, if necessary, otherwise, rest of the knife is put together with pins and you will not be able to take it apart, unlike many Spyderco knives. Wired pocket clip is one of their best design, light weight with just the right amount of tension. Near premium CTS DB1 steel is excellent for edge retention and is easy to resharpen. FRN handle is ergonomic and fairly grippy. Jimping on the choil and thumb rest provide excellent handling characteristics. One of the best light weight EDC knives under $100.
Spyderco Manix 2 Folding Knife 3-3/8" BD-1 Plain Blade, Translucent Blue FRCP Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
James M.
Little Rock, AR
Sep 14, 2011
Pros: Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Blade Material, None
Light and Strong
This knife is the perfect EDC size for me. An easy carry due to the sub three ounce weight. Surprisingly, the translucent handles forego the need for liners - it feels as if the handles are fiberglass matrixed within a much harder polymer, perhaps the same that encages the ball bearing lock. Really, even though the blade steel is low-rent BD1 like my budget UKPK (read: easy to sharpen), you cannot go wrong with this knife.
Spyderco Manix 2 Folding Knife 3-3/8" BD-1 Plain Blade, Translucent Blue FRCP Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steven F
Scottsdale, AZ
Oct 28, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
The best
Precision construction, very light weight, sharp blade, smooth action. My favorite of all my knifes,
Spyderco Manix 2 Folding Knife 3-3/8" BD-1 Plain Blade, Translucent Blue FRCP Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jakob
Mckinney , Tx
Nov 21, 2017
Pros: Handle Material, Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, None
Great knife but get the better steel
I love this knife design wise but I'm really regretting buying the BD1 option it doesnt hold a super great edge. The lock takes a few days to really wear in but ince it does it works perfectly and with ease
Spyderco Manix 2 Folding Knife 3-3/8" BD-1 Plain Blade, Translucent Blue FRCP Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Greg T
Albuquerque
Nov 11, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Spyderco Manix 2 Translucent Blue Handle
The fact that this knife has no metal liners had me concerned about its lateral stiffness. But it is in fact stiffer than the FRN handled Endura, which has steel liners. There is virtually no lateral blade play in this Manix. The large handle and deep finger choil give secure grip for even large hands. The blade is wide and has a symmetrical leaf shape. It will push-cut newspaper cleanly and shave hair right out of the box. The caged-ball lock provides secure lockup and is ambidextrous. It can be closed one-handed, with a little flick. The only thing I would change about the knife, and this is just personal preference, is the blade shape, I prefer more of a belly on the cutting edge. This knife has a long continuous radius for its cutting edge. All in all, it is a perfect EDC knife, surprisingly sturdy for its light weight.
Spyderco Manix 2 Folding Knife 3-3/8" BD-1 Plain Blade, Translucent Blue FRCP Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Yaohua
Brooklyn
May 11, 2020
Pros: None
Cons: None
customer service is very good.
This is the second knife I bought at Knifecenter. The knife is very sharp and great, and the customer service is very good.
Spyderco Manix 2 Folding Knife 3-3/8" BD-1 Plain Blade, Translucent Blue FRCP Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Grimner
Norway
Nov 10, 2011
Pros: Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: Handle Feel, None
Brings back memories
First of, the handle material reminds me of cheap water-pistols from the 1980s. Looks great, feels cheesy when you are just fondling the knife. But once your fingers find the steel it all comes together and you have a light EDC blade with excellent ergonomics. Quite sharp, steel seems nice tough I haven't seen how it works in hard use yet. Opens and closes fast with a bit of training. Only a hint of wrist action needed.
Spyderco Manix 2 Folding Knife 3-3/8" BD-1 Plain Blade, Translucent Blue FRCP Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Darius
Knoxville, TN
Apr 04, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great worker
After owning this knife for some time I really like it more the longer I have it. The only thing that I could say that I don't like about it is it takes up a lot of pocket space. It doesn't see as much pocket time as it should because of this. It is however an amazing knife. I love the weight and the feel in hand. Very comfortable while using. The finger choil and jumping are great for control. CTS BD1 is a great steel, I was surprised how easy to get a polished edge on it and cuts like a dream. I would recommend this knife to anyone and would give 5 stars if it didn't take up so much pocket space. It's worth the money and I'm glad I bought it.
Spyderco Manix 2 Folding Knife 3-3/8" BD-1 Plain Blade, Translucent Blue FRCP Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jimmy
virginia beach, virginia
Aug 31, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Light Weight Folder
This is a daily carry knife. specifically in warmer weather when you are wearing lighter clothes and don't need bulky, or heavy. The light weight makes it perfect for shorts with draw strings, or elastic for camping, hiking and kayak fishing. It is a trade off. light weight does not lend to the solid feel that a heavier, full metal lined handle and a nice G-10 handle would, but then it would loose the qualities that I described above. Perfect knife for the active person and light and large enough to be efficient for backpacking, river camping, bike touring, kayak fishing etc. It is what I was after. The only reason I did not give it an excellent mark is that nothing is perfect, but it is well executed and well made.
Spyderco Manix 2 Folding Knife 3-3/8" BD-1 Plain Blade, Translucent Blue FRCP Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Joey
Aurora, Oh
Mar 31, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Ease of Opening
NIce and solid
As always, razor sharp and well made . The opening process for me is still a bit of a hassle
Spyderco Manix 2 Folding Knife 3-3/8" BD-1 Plain Blade, Translucent Blue FRCP Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Joey
Aurora, Oh
Mar 31, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Ease of Opening
Typical Spyderco
nice knife for sure....but not the best by far
Spyderco Manix 2 Folding Knife 3-3/8" BD-1 Plain Blade, Translucent Blue FRCP Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Francois
Switzerland
Jan 17, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Feel, None
the blue plastic feel a little bit "cheap" BUT it's cheaper!
After I bought the G-10 one, the blue plastic feel a little bit "cheap" BUT it's cheaper!...feels a little bit slipery. The blue look is interesting still.
Spyderco Manix 2 Folding Knife 3-3/8" BD-1 Plain Blade, Translucent Blue FRCP Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Barnabe
Pacific Rim
Apr 11, 2013
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Flyweight heavy hitter
This was my first knife in BD-1, so I was very eager to put it through its paces. After doing the usual multi-materials test, I felt this reminds me a bit of Gin-1. I've gotten it to take a clean razor edge fairly easily (easier than Gin-1 IMHO), and I also noticed how quickly it takes a mirror polish! This steel seems overall pretty easy to work with, and capable of getting pretty sharp, but (naturally) it does not hold an edge as long as some of the other recent steels (e.g. ZDP-189, S30V, etc). For someone who enjoys adjusting and sharpening regularly, though, it is a lot of fun. All around, I'm pretty pleased. The bearing lock is great, rock solid, and practically foolproof. Because it doesn't need a steel liner, this knife is very, very light, but doesn't seem at all fragile. The ergonomics are pretty good, and the handle fits my (rather large) hands surprisingly well. As usual, the flat grind and leaf shape make for a great and versatile combination. And did I mention, it's just so light! Almost unnervingly light at first touch, but with use it feels a lot stronger.
Spyderco Manix 2 Folding Knife 3-3/8" BD-1 Plain Blade, Translucent Blue FRCP Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Unevenpolecat
Minnesota
Mar 18, 2019
Pros: None
Cons: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material
Cheapest and yet expensive piece of crap
This is this kind of knife you buy at a fleet market for 30 bucks while drunk and when you sober up you realize you made a big mistake. This is the lowest quality knife I have ever bought and my first spyderco ( also my last ). You can do so much better for one hundred bucks. The worst part about it, do to knife centers return policy I cannot return it because the clip fell off the cheap plastic this knife calls the handle WITHIN THE FIRST 15 DAYS, causing the knife to be considered "in used condition." The clip is a piece of wire the screwed to the cheap plastic. I don't know what is wrong with these guys giving this thing 4 stars and above, they must be sucking some things under tables for cash, but this knife SUCKS MORE THAN THEY DO ! Don't make my mistake stay away from this knife, it's so bad, knife center doesn't even want it back.