Reviews and Ratings for Spyderco Manix 2 Lightweight Folding Knife 3.37" Maxamet Satin Plain Blade, Gray FRCP Handles - C101PGY2

Spyderco Manix 2 Lightweight Folding Knife 3.37" Maxamet Satin Plain Blade, Gray FRCP Handlesrated 4.769 stars out of 5 (13 reviews)
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Spyderco Manix 2 Lightweight Folding Knife 3.37 inch Maxamet Satin Plain Blade, Gray FRCP Handles

 

Price: $203.00

Save $87.00 (30%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Spyderco Manix 2 Lightweight Folding Knife 3.37" Maxamet Satin Plain Blade, Gray FRCP Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jonathan L
Latta SC
Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Stays sharp
I have owned this knife for several weeks now and I use it all of the time and it just never seems to get dull, which I love! Still shaving hair like it did the day I bought it! Everyone needs a knife like this!
Spyderco Manix 2 Lightweight Folding Knife 3.37" Maxamet Satin Plain Blade, Gray FRCP Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matts
Cross River
Sep 26, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Whoa
Have S110 Manix and this..After dropping and polishing the edge.yes its work..oh well..fun work.. in working wood the Maxamet is a whole diff ball game. It feels much tougher and doesn't chip. No fear there..Shaving wood feels like doing wax much longer..The edge polished out smoother than s110 and leaves gorgeous more shiny wood. I like its patina..keeps it non reflective. After a month I stopped using S110 to carve..just wasn't close. Ive chipped s110 a few times..Sorry to say, same w m390 but no chips...and m4...unreal steels...but...maxamet... wooohoo.
Spyderco Manix 2 Lightweight Folding Knife 3.37" Maxamet Satin Plain Blade, Gray FRCP Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ivan L.
Minnesota
Dec 04, 2016
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
Stonewashed Finish
The blade has a stonewashed finish instead of a satin. The edges of the spine, Spydie hole and the finger choil are rounded-off considerably compared to my s110v Manix. Action is very smooth and drops free out of the box. No blade play. Fit and finish are superb and as always with spyderco; razor sharp out of box. Spyderco's wire pocket clip is so well executed. I can't speak to the edge retention of Maxamet but if it's better than s110v like people are saying; this knife is worth every penny if you actually use it.
Spyderco Manix 2 Lightweight Folding Knife 3.37" Maxamet Satin Plain Blade, Gray FRCP Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Andrew
North Carolina
Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Wow
Extremely sharp and durable excellent blade retention. Would definitely buy a second and will do so soon
Spyderco Manix 2 Lightweight Folding Knife 3.37" Maxamet Satin Plain Blade, Gray FRCP Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
James
Elgin, Il
Jun 14, 2019
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
2nd chance
This is my second review after having the knife a while. It is fantastic. I used it to drill little holes in my deck and it is just as sharp as before. No chipping or cracking. This steel has to be one of the best if not the best. I carry it all the time and amazed how it slips right through envelopes, cardboard, tape... whatever you would deal with day to day. I have a couple Spyderco's and I'm now committed to them even though I have crkt, cold steel, sog, buck, benchmade....you name it. The only thing that comes close is my alaska made d2. but that's a fixed blade hunter. btw i previously criticized it's stiffness when opening. Since then I've gotten smarter and realized the screw is for adjusting the stiffness in opening. I know a knife is not for drilling, I just needed some small holes to hook my planters in.
Spyderco Manix 2 Lightweight Folding Knife 3.37" Maxamet Satin Plain Blade, Gray FRCP Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sonny
TX
Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Handle Material, None
Awesome steel!
Let's be honest here... this knife is all about the CTS-Maxamet steel, & WOW what a great steel! It's the sharpest knife out of the box I have received from any maker. 200 cuts through double thick cardboard and it would steel cut phone book paper (not as clean of course but it'll do it). 5 passes on the spyderco UF stones @ 40 degrees and it's back to laser beam sharp with lots of bite. I keep it handy in the garage but I find it in my pocket a lot too. It's super light 3oz or less so it just disappears when it's on you. If you can get one, you'll enjoy it for sure.
Spyderco Manix 2 Lightweight Folding Knife 3.37" Maxamet Satin Plain Blade, Gray FRCP Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Colt
Alberta, Canada
Nov 07, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
My favorite EDC
The Manix 2 Lightweight has become my favorite EDC in the past 5 years due to the incredible lightweight build while still being plenty strong for everyday use and feeling like it is a high quality piece. The ergos are perfect for my above average sized hands. The blade size and profile is my absolute favorite. The action is positive and sturdy. Deep carry clip is perfect. Traction on the handle and the blade back is 10/10. The reason this version of the M2 LW is my favorite is the steel, I've got the blue CTS-BD1, brown CTS-XHP versions and both are great, but the Maxamet is my favorite. Incredibly long wearing while still taking an edge without too much fuss. Love the stonewashed finish. It came finished with an incredible edge out of the box, as do all the Spydie's I've purchased to date.
Spyderco Manix 2 Lightweight Folding Knife 3.37" Maxamet Satin Plain Blade, Gray FRCP Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Stu
United Kingdom
Mar 16, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Handle Material, None
WOW !!!!! HRC 68 to 69 !! A MUST BUY !!!
The knife is fantastic and it's edge retention is out of this world. I've used it on everything and it's still hair splitting sharp. The build quality is great but the plastic is really grippy with the spider web pattern but for me at least it's all about the soul of the knife it's Micro Melt Maxamet steel blade. It's got a weird looking grain on the steel for a sintered steel and where it's been sharpened it's edge looks like when you've ground and polished tunsten carbide. That nice metallic sheen but wow it's performance is the best I've had yet out of knife. I've got a few Falkniven knives with the super gold powder steel blades and I would thought they would never be beaten but this Maxamet just sailed on past it in a cutting performance test, no one knows the HRC hardness of this steel so I took it EMC metallurgy labs and it was tested there and it fell between 68 and 69 HRC on the blade cutting edge and 65 to 66 HRC on the spine. That's just ridiculously hard ha ha. Just to put it in perspective Sandrin Knives have just released the worlds first tungsten carbide knife with a HRC of 71 now that's quiet soft for tungsten carbide it can go a hole lot higher than that but for a STEEL to get in the height 60s well that's just pure effing magic. The folks at the labs said they could not believe there own eyes and had to test the HRC machine to see if it needed resetting but yes Maxamet is officially a super steel !
Spyderco Manix 2 Lightweight Folding Knife 3.37" Maxamet Satin Plain Blade, Gray FRCP Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Norcaldude
Chico, Ca
Nov 25, 2016
Pros: None
Cons: None
Excellent knife
Just got this in the mail today. Came hair shaving sharp. Very light for it's size. Lock is solid. Not the sort of lock that the blade falls home freely when you disengage it, but it's also not the sort that give you a sort thumb trying to work it. Initial impressions are that I like this knife a lot. We'll see how it stands up over time.
Spyderco Manix 2 Lightweight Folding Knife 3.37" Maxamet Satin Plain Blade, Gray FRCP Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Stu
United
Mar 16, 2017
Pros: None
Cons: None
Update on my Maxamet Spyderco !!!
I just wanted to add that when you come to sharpen your knife you will find it very difficult to sharpen. I have a work sharp ken onion edition which is excellent at sharpening knives in fact it's awesome but the problem is when you get factory sharpened knives it's usually a v shape grind which is okay but it wears down fast (NOT SO WITH MAXAMET DUE TO ITS HARDNESS) and then you have to remove more steel to resharpen the blade where as the Work Sharp Ken Onion Edition gives a covexed edge which will last longer and stay sharper for longer and removes less steel and so is a far more efficient at cutting. Now because your new Spyderco Manix 2 in Maxamet steel is very, very hard your going to find it very difficult to resharpen so the best way to do this is with a leather strop on a Work Sharp Ken Onion Edition which you can buy here as I've just found out. You can buy all sorts of add on items for this machine it really is awasome and it will help keep your knives in hair splitting condition, it can even resharpen ceramic knives with dimond abrasive belts so Maxamet steel is easily resharpened to a scalpol cutting edge !!!.
Spyderco Manix 2 Lightweight Folding Knife 3.37" Maxamet Satin Plain Blade, Gray FRCP Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Chris
Mesa, Az
Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Almost Perfect
I've had this knife for about 3 months now. My other knife was a Native 4 in S30V. I would have to say that the Maxamet Steel is a huge upgrade from S30V. Even though it is a much harder steel, the one time it needed a little sharpening, it sharpened in minutes with the Spyderco Sharpmaker. By "a little sharpening" I mean that it finally stopped shaving hair so it needed a little touch up. The Manix 2 took a little getting since I think it is a bit on the large side for pocket carry but I'm getting used to that. The only down side is a touch of rust started to form on the blade just below the lettering, in the hinge part. Now I will admit that I do use it to cut citrus fruit sometimes and have used it to cut meat but I do rinse it. I would have given it a 5 but I have decided that having the handle riveted rather than screwed together is a bad thing with a Maxamet blade. I need to be able to get into the knife to clean the rust out from in the hinge part but can't without drilling out the rivets.
Spyderco Manix 2 Lightweight Folding Knife 3.37" Maxamet Satin Plain Blade, Gray FRCP Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Brett T
Fort Carson, CO
Mar 16, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Material
Insanely light; not as robust as other versions
This is a very useful EDC knife, especially with the long lasting edge from the Maxamet steel. The blade shape and ergonomics are just as good as other, non-FRN versions of the Manix 2, but it is much lighter. Most days I prefer to carry my G10 Manix 2, which has smoother deployment and closing. The blade is also thicker. This is a great option for when you don't want the extra weight of a knife.
Spyderco Manix 2 Lightweight Folding Knife 3.37" Maxamet Satin Plain Blade, Gray FRCP Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
James
Elgin, Il
Feb 12, 2019
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Ease of Opening, None
just got it and its love at first sight
I received this knife a few days ago and compared it to other folders that I own. Buck, Benchmade, The blade is extremely sharp. I'm anxious to see how long it stays that way with limited use. I like the shape of the blade and the handle. I was surprised to find I needed to oil the blade to prevent rusting,, but that's my ignorance of various steels. My disappointment of the knife is the opening and closing of the blade. My Buck, which is not my favorite works a lot easier, but the best is the benchmade. When I press the button on the benchmade the blade is loose and I can either flip it open or closed without touching the blade. The Spyderco is not loose to open though smooth and a little complicated to close because the hinge is stiff. I oiled it and that helped a little but not much.