Reviews and Ratings for Spyderco Delica 4 Folding Knife 2-7/8" ZDP-189 Satin Plain Blade, British Racing Green FRN Handles - C11PGRE

Spyderco Delica 4 Folding Knife 2-7/8" ZDP-189 Satin Plain Blade, British Racing Green FRN Handlesrated 4.438 stars out of 5 (16 reviews)
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
1
Spyderco Delica 4 Folding Knife 2-7/8 inch ZDP-189 Satin Plain Blade, British Racing Green FRN Handles

 

Price: $119.00

Save $51.00 (30%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Spyderco Delica 4 Folding Knife 2-7/8" ZDP-189 Satin Plain Blade, British Racing Green FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Larry C.
Lovington, Nm
Jan 11, 2012
Pros: Weight, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
AAAAA++++++
Blade steel is as good as it gets.
Spyderco Delica 4 Folding Knife 2-7/8" ZDP-189 Satin Plain Blade, British Racing Green FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Taylor C
-
Mar 02, 2015
Pros: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use
Cons: None
Great Steel. Love the color.
Been on my DEC rotation for a while with other Spyderco. Already came nice and sharp from factory as my all other Spyderco knife. Form factor and how it feel is exactly a Delica4. The color is dark green, so dark that it looks almost black. Blade steel is really hard, it took me a while on the sharpening stone to get the mirror polish on the edge that I like.
Spyderco Delica 4 Folding Knife 2-7/8" ZDP-189 Satin Plain Blade, British Racing Green FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
A. W.
Massillon, OH
Nov 11, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great Blade
I don't intend to abuse this knife (I have cheaper knives for that!) but it feels as if it could certainly handle some rough treatment. The blade came very sharp and there's no play when locked open. Easy to open one-handed, light weight and a decent size for EDC. Overall a quality product.
Spyderco Delica 4 Folding Knife 2-7/8" ZDP-189 Satin Plain Blade, British Racing Green FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
John L
Federal Way, Wa
Feb 03, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Material, Lock Type
Cons: None
Great knife!
Great size, shape and mechanism. I could not ask for a better edc knife.
Spyderco Delica 4 Folding Knife 2-7/8" ZDP-189 Satin Plain Blade, British Racing Green FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Paul
Switzerland
Aug 18, 2016
Pros: Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Lock Type, None
Godfather of EDC
Its one of the best EDC knives out there, its so lightweight that I can totally forget that Im wearing a knife, the back log is okay, its not my favorite lock but the lock is solid and reliable, there is enough grip on the handles for all EDC tasks I can imagine. The thin blade is a perfect slicer but of course its not a survival knife. Well and ZDP189 is a very very good steel for edge rentention, its harder to sharpen then VG10 but the ZDP189 fits very well to the Delica and Delica's destiny ;-)
Spyderco Delica 4 Folding Knife 2-7/8" ZDP-189 Satin Plain Blade, British Racing Green FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Barnabe
Pacific Rim
Sep 20, 2012
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Redefines the word "sharp"
It is hard to believe, but this knife holds a sharper edge than the Spyderco Paramilitary, and other S30V knives I've owned. Right out of the box it has the sharpest edge of any of the knives I have. Cutting things like rope and cord feels strange because the blade gets completely through the material before I even think about applying much force. It is hard to describe just how sharp this blade is. The rest of the knife is fairly typical Spyderco, slender and light, nothing unusual. The blade is just...wow.
Spyderco Delica 4 Folding Knife 2-7/8" ZDP-189 Satin Plain Blade, British Racing Green FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Myke
High Desert
Jan 20, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
EDC companion
This is a great pocket EDC with Lazer sharp ZDP-189 just waiting for something to cut!!! The minimal weight due to the FRN make it disappear in your pocket but the outstanding blade material are what stand out when it comes to cutting. I will be on the hunt for more blades featuring the ZDP-189 material.
Spyderco Delica 4 Folding Knife 2-7/8" ZDP-189 Satin Plain Blade, British Racing Green FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Hunter82
Vienna, AUT
Mar 20, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
great size for an EDC
I have to test ZDP-189 extensively before I can tell something about the steel. All I can say now is that it feels sturdy, looks great and it came sharp (though not as sharp as the Dragonfly, Stretch or Delica FFG VG-10). I´m just a little curious whether dirt will accumulate in those skeletonized liners. I rather prefer even surfaces, specially in the folding knives handles. But dis-assembly and re-assembly is a joy and so will be cleaning this knife.
Spyderco Delica 4 Folding Knife 2-7/8" ZDP-189 Satin Plain Blade, British Racing Green FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kim
Texas
Dec 12, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
Nice EDC knife
At the time I ordered the Delica 4 my normal EDC was a Spyderco Dragonfly 2 in VG-10. I am very happy with the Dragonfly, but had run into a couple of instances where a longer blade would have been better. In addition my son has a Dragonfly 2 in ZDP-189 and he really likes the ZDP-189 steel. So this version of the Delica 4 gave me the opportunity to get a slightly longer blade along with ZDP-189 steel. When I first decided to try a longer EDC, I purchased a Ken Onion Ripple. But over time I have migrated back to the Dragonfly, mainly due to weight and the Ripple's action tends to need frequent cleaning to stay smooth and effortless in opening. The Delica is much lighter than the Ripple, and has not made itself a nuisance in the pocket. Besides the light weight, the blade came very sharp and has retained that sharpness. I am not a big proponent of the pocket clip on my EDC, so I will probably end up removing the clip on the Delica. The clip on my Dragonfly is a wire clip and is more aesthetically pleasing than the clip that come on the Delica. A positive feature is that the clip can be re-positioned for either tip up or tip down on either side of the scales. After a month's time I am very happy with this knife.
Spyderco Delica 4 Folding Knife 2-7/8" ZDP-189 Satin Plain Blade, British Racing Green FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mark
Ohio
Dec 30, 2016
Pros: Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Spyderco Delica in ZDP-189
Spyderco Delica is a great EDC knife. Just the right size for every day carry. The blade steel ZDP-189 is awesome. Comes Razer sharp from the factory, holds a great edge. The edge can also be polished like a mirror. Wasn't sure if I'd like the color British Racing Green but took a chance on it and I love it. It's a dark green and it looks great. This knife is a favorite in my rotation of EDC knifes.
Spyderco Delica 4 Folding Knife 2-7/8" ZDP-189 Satin Plain Blade, British Racing Green FRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nick T
florida
Jan 25, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Good knife
You're starting to pester me, now.
Spyderco Delica 4 Folding Knife 2-7/8" ZDP-189 Satin Plain Blade, British Racing Green FRN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Kelvin
HKG
Jan 05, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Sypderco Delica 4 ZDP-189
I am a upholstery leather trader. I will use that knife to cut sample from customer occasionally. It is always sharp... But after my abuse, to split the leather, it no longer sharp like before. Anyway, I love the design and the workmanship.
Spyderco Delica 4 Folding Knife 2-7/8" ZDP-189 Satin Plain Blade, British Racing Green FRN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Michael
Bangalore
Jun 22, 2014
Pros: Ease of Opening, Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Feel, None
great EDC
Great EDC knife. Average looks. Very sharp.
Spyderco Delica 4 Folding Knife 2-7/8" ZDP-189 Satin Plain Blade, British Racing Green FRN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Dave N
NW Ohio
Apr 05, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
Its a great EDC!
I have two Delica's, one in VG10 and this model. Nothing against VG10, but I really prefer the ZDP steel. What you are paying for is the steel!!! And it is very good stuff. It is also my EDC choice for the last 6months plus. It is also light weight and you dont have to worry about messing up an overly pretty knife. The only reason I didnt give it 5 stars is I dont like the saber grind. But the new FFG coming out is sure to be just right. And I will buy one.
Spyderco Delica 4 Folding Knife 2-7/8" ZDP-189 Satin Plain Blade, British Racing Green FRN Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Mark S.
Ohio
Feb 13, 2012
Pros: None
Cons: None
Good knife, but overpriced
This is a good knife. I have owned this knife for 8 or 9 years. It is very light and keeps an edge pretty well. It holds up well in multiple enviroments for moderate EDC use. I only carry this knife when boating or at the lake if I want to stick a small knife in the pocket of my bathing suite. That being said, I believe it is over-priced for what you get. Seems like this knife for be in the $$48 - $55 range.... just my opinion. For the current, price, I believe you can get some better knives... even better Spydercos. Guess people keep paying what they are asking so no reason to drop the price.
Spyderco Delica 4 Folding Knife 2-7/8" ZDP-189 Satin Plain Blade, British Racing Green FRN Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Andy
Wilmington DE
Oct 17, 2017
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Blade Material
The only knife blade I have ever broken
I had mine for about two months and I had the blade break when I was cutting an apple. The first half inch broke off. ZDP189 HOLDS A RAZOR EDGE but is very brittle. If you treat your knives gently it will be fine. I contacted spyderco and they replaced it with a VG 10 blade model at my request.