CYBER WEEK DEALS: 6,100 ITEMS ON SALE! Details

KnifeCenter strives to provide individuals with disabilities access to its products and services, including through an accessible website. If you have questions, comments, or encounter any difficulty in using this site, please e-mail info@knifecenter.com or call - (800) 338-6799

Skip to main content

This website uses cookies to improve user experience. By using our website you consent to our Cookie Policy.

CYBER WEEK DEALS: 6,100 ITEMS ON SALE! Details

Reviews and Ratings for Spyderco Delica Folding Knife 2.9" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Mahogany Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive - C11WDP

Spyderco Delica Folding Knife 2.9" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Mahogany Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive4.556 (45 reviews)
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
33
4 star
7
3 star
3
2 star
1
1 star
1
Spyderco Delica Folding Knife 2.9 inch HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Mahogany Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive

 

Price: $155.97

Save $83.98 (35%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Spyderco Delica Folding Knife 2.9" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Mahogany Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive
5 out of 5
Risto
Finland
Aug 02, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Big improvement compared to the original!
Feels much better in hand than the original with frn handles, and looks much better, also upgraded blade steel also ads to the value.
Spyderco Delica Folding Knife 2.9" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Mahogany Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive
5 out of 5
Judyl
Hammonton
Jul 28, 2017
Pros: None
Cons: None
Beautiful and unique. The quality you'd always expect from this compa.
Spyderco Delica Folding Knife 2.9" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Mahogany Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive
5 out of 5
Terp
Easy Street
Jul 26, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Gorgeous
The grain and finish on the scales is beautiful! This is my 4th Spyderco, and like the others the blade is perfectly centered. Fit and finish oozes quality.
Spyderco Delica Folding Knife 2.9" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Mahogany Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive
5 out of 5
Jrp
Tennessee (TN)
May 11, 2018
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great Knife
I am very impressed with this knife. It feels great in my hand. The pakkawood handles give it a warm and smooth feel. This is a great EDC knife for all occasions.
Spyderco Delica Folding Knife 2.9" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Mahogany Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive
5 out of 5
Budokaiboy
Seymour, Ct
Mar 13, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Handle Material, Blade Material
Cons: None
Looks exactly as pictured here
I've got both the Delica and the Endura with the pakkawood handles. They both look just like the picture on the website, a little on the dark side. These are really beautiful knives.
Spyderco Delica Folding Knife 2.9" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Mahogany Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive
5 out of 5
Jw
San Diego, CA
Jul 26, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Beautiful Knife
This knife is awesome. The finish is beautiful and feels solid in the hand with a great amount of grip.
Spyderco Delica Folding Knife 2.9" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Mahogany Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive
5 out of 5
Chuck
Concord Township, Oh
Jul 12, 2017
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
I love this knife
Everything I loved about the original in a great new package. Arrived centered and sharp as I expected. Was really wowed by the fit and finish. Ready to put this one in the edc rotation
Spyderco Delica Folding Knife 2.9" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Mahogany Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive
5 out of 5
Jim
Tennessee
Jul 08, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great...Now I need the Endurance version.
The handle is a little darker on mine than some of the others I've seen. Also there is one little spot along the line where the HAP40 traditions to the SUS410 that doesn't parallel the edge... That's about the only bad thing I can say about this knife. The lock up is solid, blade is centered and sharp enough to get a clean shave. No side to side or up and down play. Really just a solid little knife.
Spyderco Delica Folding Knife 2.9" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Mahogany Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive
5 out of 5
Dennis
Denver Colorado
Jul 28, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Handle Material, Blade Material
Cons: None
Perfection
This Delica is perfect. With the Pakkawood handle in place of the standard FRN it makes is seem more like "Gentleman's knife". With the classic shape and blade geometry that is a tried and true slicer. The dual steel blade is also a huge bonus and awesome they brought the HAP40 back for it. Get one!
Spyderco Delica Folding Knife 2.9" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Mahogany Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive
5 out of 5
Jim
Reading PA
Jul 31, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None
Delica
Love the upgraded delica 4 withe the hap 40 steel and wood scales.
Spyderco Delica Folding Knife 2.9" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Mahogany Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive
5 out of 5
Jerome
Paris, Other
Apr 24, 2018
Pros: Handle Material, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
excellent edc
Very nice little knife, excellent edc. Delicate alternative to the standard delica 4.
Spyderco Delica Folding Knife 2.9" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Mahogany Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive
5 out of 5
Nloff44
Buffalo NY
Mar 27, 2018
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Pakka Delica 4
Amazing knife fits in perfectly with my collection of delicas. Perfect fit and finish razor sharp great knife.
Spyderco Delica Folding Knife 2.9" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Mahogany Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive
5 out of 5
Dadsdresser
Pennsylvania
Jul 26, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great version
Thus has to be one of the most popular knives made and this version only. Makes it better. Very sharp out of the box and very sharp looking. Nice to have something not everybody else has
Spyderco Delica Folding Knife 2.9" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Mahogany Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive
5 out of 5
Jerry
TPE
May 24, 2018
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
Beautiful knife
Beautiful wood handle, very suitable for gentleman carry
Spyderco Delica Folding Knife 2.9" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Mahogany Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive
5 out of 5
Bwana
MN
May 23, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Handle Material
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Wonderful to Carry
What a beautiful looking knife. Not only does this look great, but it is wonderfully functional.
Spyderco Delica Folding Knife 2.9" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Mahogany Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive
5 out of 5
Knifenutdan
Manteca, CA
Aug 02, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Lock Type
Cons: None
Soiled Myself
Had to change my underwear after opening this gorgeous knife that just arrived at my door! Good thing I was home! The Delica is such as awesome knife on it's own but this Exclusive is really special. Like the detailed note from Spyderco inside the box that talks it up. I didn't necessarily need this knife but Oooooo is it nice and wonderful. So happy I pulled the trigger on it and didn't let it pass by (couldn't of lived with myself). Have you read up on HAP40? Is sounds great, particularly to sharpen. It looks great and is super sharp OOTB. I cannot recommend this knife enough! You want this knife in your life! The Delica is the best EDC knife in the Peoples Republic of California as it's just under the legal limit so you can show it off and not have to worry about getting hassled by the man.
Spyderco Delica Folding Knife 2.9" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Mahogany Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive
5 out of 5
Raymond3
California
Sep 02, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, None
Outstanding model of Outstanding model Spyderco.
This Delica Pakkawood with Hap40 core is an excellent variation of the famous Spyderco Delica. I owned, used and sharpened many hundreds of knives over the past 60 years. Currently, I own about 40 Spyderco's alone, including the similar sized Sage and Chaparral. The Para Military2 in several variations is my all around favorite knife. Only this year did I purchase my first Delica, and it has become an immediate favorite for its niche. It is small enough to comply with the 3 inch limit of nearby jurisdictions, comfortable in the hand and large enough to be functional for most tasks. For me, the Delica is best used simply dropped in the pocket without a clip. This Pakkawood Exclusive is an outstanding gentleman's pocket folder for any occasion. It is stiff which will smooth out over time. I have grown to like the locking mechanism, and one hand opening and closing is easy for me on my other Delicas. This one is much stiffer. The design of the steel liners is good, but compared to the four other Delicas I own the fit, finish, smoothness and blade grind were not as well done on the Pakkawood speciman that I got. That was greatly helped with a full strip and couple-hour full hand honing and polishing of all parts, including the flats of the blade. But, this is not a custom knife, and so maybe that is to be expected. The wood color variation on the one that I got is a very nice mixture of light and dark. Normally, for regular tasks I, carry the Delica ZDP189 with British Green along with a Para Mil2, but for dress up, this Pakkawood with Hap 40 is so much nicer. Both steels are made by Hitachi with their modern Particle Metallurgy process and can produce an exceptionally fine hair-splitting edge. This model is slightly heavier, but that extra weight feels good. On mountain hikes, it would stay behind in favor of the ZDP189 model though. If i could only own one knife, and it had to meet the 3 inch limitation, it might very well be this model Delica.
Spyderco Delica Folding Knife 2.9" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Mahogany Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive
5 out of 5
Lucky160
MINNESOTA
Aug 11, 2017
Pros: Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great Sunday knife
I do not use for a every day carry but it is a good Sunday carry.
Spyderco Delica Folding Knife 2.9" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Mahogany Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive
5 out of 5
Tom H
Illinois
Jul 07, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Oh, You Sirens of Ulysses!
Having already busted the knife budget for the month, I had no intention of purchasing another knife. But, no matter how much bees’ wax I plugged in my ears, this beautiful temptress’s song kept calling my wallet closer to the rocks, until the ship of my finances lay ruined upon her shore. Beauty, before bread, I suppose; and I am happily beguiled under her spell. >>>>> What a handsome knife. Pakkawood scales give Delica a timeless, classic look, to its already aesthetically pleasing lines. Grip is comfortable in hand. >>>>> It is hard to keep up with the alphabet soup of blade steels being used these days. I’m just going to drink the Spydeco cool-aid on this layer cake of steels. I wonder if the HAP40 will need to be given some tooth for certain cutting applications, given its fine grain structure? We will see. The 2.9” blade is legal carry in my state (another 2 mm, and it would become a “Dangerous Weapon”). Arrived sharp, opens easily, and lock functions well (love their lockbacks). >>>>> Great job on a gorgeous dress folder KnifeCenter & Spyderco! Just wait a month, or so, before showing me the next one.
Spyderco Delica Folding Knife 2.9" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Mahogany Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive
5 out of 5
Nemo
Paris
Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Perfect Gentleman Farmer Folder
If the Endura with Pakkawood handles is too big for you, there is the Delica alternative! Again it is IMHO the best version ever made of that legendary folder. I have bought it from the Knifecenter and Howard Korn which is really proud of his exclusive version have buffed the handle to a beautiful result. The Delica is not only a shortened version of the Endura, it got a thinner blade which gives great slicing and whittling power. Again this exclusive version got the clad HAP40/SUS410 blade and it gives you a powder metallurgy high-speed alloy in a very thin stock. The blade got also now more lateral strength than pure stainless steel. On the Delica with its thinner stock, again this pure slicing wonder! With a little time you can hone it in a true razor. The Delica got that status of pure EDC as it is small enough to be accepted easily by sheeples. The handle adds a touch of class to this little workhorse and the special alloy blade gives more power to the “matter separator”. This is a little gem is just asking to be clipped and use. As you can notice there is no lanyard hole on the version. That can be an issue for some people who use a lanyard to retrieve the knife from their pocket and enhance the handle in length. It’s a matter of taste. I love lanyards on knives pictures but I don’t like them on my EDC and the Delica’handle is perfect for my hand. I have kept the clip mounted for tip up carry, on the opposite of the Endura which I open with a Spyderdrop. But the Delica is so smooth that it can be “spyderdropped” too. Fit and finish are stellar and you can notice the 0.5mm of difference in the blade’s stock. Also the full steel backspace gives a feeling of reliable and solid construction pushing the envelope in that great design. You can notice the hole in the clip which is not in use when mounted on the knife butt compared to the Endura’s mounted on the axis clip. Again, you choose your ways they are four positions. All in all the Delica KnifeCenter’s special edition is an incredible EDC and a must for the collector. It’s the kind of knife which can not leave your pocket as it’s flat, soft and precious! (You can find the pictures on my site nemoknivesreview.com )
Spyderco Delica Folding Knife 2.9" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Mahogany Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive
5 out of 5
Bphree123
Jul 21, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
Delica perfection
Delica has been my go to edc blade for years. I have been wanting to upgrade to one of the high end delicas but struggled to find that checked all the boxes for me. Then I saw this and I was sold. It's classy but still has everything I like in my delica. It adds a little weight over the classic delica but I actually like that...feels solid. Then add the upgraded steel. Winning! I can already tell this will be one of my go to blades for years to come. If I really had to find something to complain about it would be no lanyard hole (really don't care). The other thing that the liners are flush with pakkawood and if run my fingers across that transition the liners are a little sharp but really that's a nitpick that I found because I couldn't stop foundling this knife. Thinking about...do it.
Spyderco Delica Folding Knife 2.9" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Mahogany Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive
5 out of 5
Kenneth
Mountain View, Ca
Mar 09, 2018
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Epitome of a gentlemen’s folder
This knife is a must have for someone looking for a classy every day carry folder. It takes everything that’s great about the delica and adds some character to it that makes you proud to own it and that makes it more pleasurable to use. At the price $155 there is some stiff competition and honestly I was on the fence about buying this knife but pulling the trigger on this beauty is a decision that I do not regret in the least bit. The pakkawood delica has a charm to it that is hard to deny. It’s a refreshing change of pace from the typical frame lock folder with titanium or carbon fiber scales. If you have never owned or got your hands on a delica before and are into efficient edc slicing tools I can confidently recommend this knife to you. Buy one now and ask your wife for forgiveness later, or buy two so she can join in on the pakkawood fun.
Spyderco Delica Folding Knife 2.9" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Mahogany Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive
5 out of 5
John
Laguna Beach, Ca
Jul 07, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Perfection
I ordered two and both are perfectly made. I have to imagine these won't last long. Knifecenter, is the Pakka Dragonfly next? Please!

KnifeCenter Reply- We'll have to wait and see but it's not out of the realm of possibilities.
Spyderco Delica Folding Knife 2.9" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Mahogany Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive
5 out of 5
Leibniz
Charlotte NC
Jul 31, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Best Delica ever
I love this knife. It's the perfect size for your every day carry. The wooden handles makes it a gentleman knife.
Spyderco Delica Folding Knife 2.9" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Mahogany Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive
5 out of 5
Mike
Canada
Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material
Cons: None
A beautiful delica exclusive
Excellent fit and finish. Great blade steel. Nothing not to like here, the great delica knife in a beautiful finish and handle material and great quality. Good job on this exclusive, I had to get two of them. Also excellent customer service and shipping from KC, as always.
Spyderco Delica Folding Knife 2.9" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Mahogany Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive
5 out of 5
Cam
Michigan
Apr 23, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Material, None
Cons: Lock Type
Love it
.
Spyderco Delica Folding Knife 2.9" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Mahogany Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive
5 out of 5
Gonzo
Dalles
Mar 28, 2018
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Delica pakkawood Hap 40
Great people to buy and deal with... I would buy from them again. Thanx
Spyderco Delica Folding Knife 2.9" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Mahogany Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive
5 out of 5
Andy
Darwin Aus
Aug 01, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, None
Cons: Handle Feel
Top shelf offerings from Spyderco
Out of the box this is a stunning looking knife. Well made and solid feel compared to other blade and handle materials used. Going from carrying a few different salt series knives for a few weeks, this is up a level in my view. Not going to be a EDC but will be my go to when I want my best knife from Spyderco to carry.
Spyderco Delica Folding Knife 2.9" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Mahogany Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive
5 out of 5
Mr Coltello
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 26, 2018
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, None
Great addition to the Delica collection
There's probably no need to go into what's great about a Delica, as that topic has been covered a million times. It's a classic. That said, this one is a particularly nice combination of blade steel, attractive wood scales, and the fit and finish is top notch. Mine came out of the box perfectly centered and super sharp with a nice Pakkawood pattern on the scales. This is a very handsome knife, and the wood makes it feel like a much more substantial piece than the standard Delica in both weight and in-hand feel. I will be happy to carry this one for a long time. As with many Spydercos, this one is stiff as can be out of the box, and needs some break-in time, but so do a lot of good things, right? I am not a fan of the locking mechanism on the Delica, but once the knife is broken in, it works well, and you get used to it. It's safe, but it's not my favorite. Last thing: as pretty as it is, this Delica is made to be used!
Spyderco Delica Folding Knife 2.9" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Mahogany Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive
5 out of 5
Mark
Port Royal, Va
Jul 03, 2017
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None
Beautiful and Practical
Just purchased, so will post an update if any issues down the road. It will rotate through the knives I edc. The steel is HAP40/SUS410 and I already have a Dragonfly with it. Great steel along the same performance as my Dragonfly with ZDP189, so expecting the same here. The handles are Paccawood, which is a wood composite that has about the same properties as G10, which means they should hold up well. They look like real wood, but time will tell on the appearance. Great steel and beautiful handles on a Delica. What's not to like?
Spyderco Delica Folding Knife 2.9" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Mahogany Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive
5 out of 5
Thegooch
The internet
Feb 27, 2019
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Best delica out there
Skip the FRN and get this one. Best one by far.
Spyderco Delica Folding Knife 2.9" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Mahogany Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive
5 out of 5
Carl S.
Burgaw NC
Jul 31, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
Buy this!
Arrived in 4 days and has exceeded my expectations. Beautiful light and dark wood pattern and even lamination line on the blade. Feels great in hand and has enough heft to let you know this isn't a normal FRN version. Knifecenter has a hit here and I'm hoping for other models like this, like a Native or Manix.
Spyderco Delica Folding Knife 2.9" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Mahogany Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive
5 out of 5
Knifepirate
South Carolina
Apr 06, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Lock Type
Cons: Pocket Clip, Weight, None
The Best Delica
This was my first delica, and I am amazed. The fit, finish, centering, ergonomics, etc are all fantastic. The only issue I have is that Spyderco slapped on the stock delica clip. The clip has a hole for a lanyard hole even though this sprint run doesn't have a lanyard hole. This is very lazy on Spyderco's part. Otherwise, this is a great daily office carry knife!
Spyderco Delica Folding Knife 2.9" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Mahogany Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive
4 out of 5
Jc
WA
Aug 01, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Ease of Opening
Classier Little Folder
I carry this knife for light use tasks. I think it would hold up well to moderate use, but don't have experience with that. The fit and finish is very good and the knife is attractive in this configuration. The blade came very sharp and has been a joy to cut with. I haven't had to sharpen it yet so can't comment on the durability of the steel. Two drawbacks for me are the clip and the sharp edges. I find the clip sets the knife too far out of the pocket. This is not a security concern as the tension ensures it remains in the pocket, but rather a drawback on looks and concealability. The other downside are the sharp edges on the lock bar and trademark round hole. I know that breaking over these sharp edges in manufacturing would make the knife more expensive to produce, but the knife feels unfinished as it stands. These drawbacks are easily addressed with aftermarket clips and some light stoning so shouldn't cause you to avoid this knife.
Spyderco Delica Folding Knife 2.9" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Mahogany Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive
4 out of 5
Andy
USA
Aug 01, 2017
Pros:
Cons:
Great Delica!
This is an great rendition of the beloved Delica, but it's not perfect. I only rate it at 4 stars because for $132, I believe a knife should be functionally and aesthetically flawless. I don't like a slight gap between the lockbar and a scale, and the blade action is quite stiff out of the box. With use over time, it will loosen up, but I prefer my knives function more consistently instead of needing this much of a break in period. Everything else is wonderful! Overall, I certainly don't regret this purchase, and it will be a knife I'll cherish for decades.
Spyderco Delica Folding Knife 2.9" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Mahogany Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive
4 out of 5
David
Monroe, La
May 31, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
Beautiful Knife
This is a beautiful knife and a really nice version of the Delica. The only reason I gave it a 4 is because of how stiff the action is on my knife.
Spyderco Delica Folding Knife 2.9" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Mahogany Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive
4 out of 5
Marty
Robins , Ia
Aug 05, 2017
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None
Beautiful Muligan
The second one I received was exactly what I expected. I read a couple of poor reviews on the handle coloring But majority were extremely positive and this is a beautiful example of the Delica so I ordered and hoped for the best. Both scales on the first one were dark black with very little wood grain coloring. Not very happy, I contacted Knife Center about an exchange. Process was very smooth, actually ordered second one prior to return. Firgured if I end up returning both am only paying for 1 shipment back. Second knife is Perfect. I would give it 5 stars if didn't have to go through ordering 2 and paying to return 1. If you get balanced coloring on the scales you will be very happy with this.
Spyderco Delica Folding Knife 2.9" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Mahogany Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive
4 out of 5
Rye Guy
Los Angeles
Jul 22, 2019
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Enjoying the slicing of the HAP40
I stropped the factory edge before using. It seems easier to go get a fine edge easier than S35VN. So far I've only cut cardboard, but both regular and the heavier duty kind for furniture shipping. Regular card board cuts easy like using a fresh box cutter blade. Because of the thicker Delica blade, the heavier cardboard has a lot of friction. The blade is slightly warm after a few slices. Because of the 3 different steels, pivot felt gritty after some opening and closing of the blade. I'm assuming the SUS410 crumbled away much quicker than the HAP40 or the stainless lock. A quick cleaning with some rubbing alcohol and re-lubing fix that.
Spyderco Delica Folding Knife 2.9" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Mahogany Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive
4 out of 5
Rae
Lakewood, Co
Aug 15, 2017
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Handle Material, Lock Type
Cons: None
A Delica with Wood!!
I really like wooden handles on a knife so I was excited to see this offering from Spyderco. As far as a knife goes it's a Delica! The Delica has always been my favorite knife in the Spyderco lineup, at least as far as everyday use and mine get used! My plans for this one are to use it but probably not as often as some of my other Delicas as I would really like this one to stay pretty. The only negative thing I can say about this particular knife is the wood is substantially darker on one side than the other. Of course wood is a natural material so it's not all going to look the same but I would have liked a little better match. Overall though, I really like this knife and look forward to many years of use!
Spyderco Delica Folding Knife 2.9" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Mahogany Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive
4 out of 5
Gary
Seattle
Mar 27, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, Lock Type
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, None
Beautiful Delica
This may be the most beautiful, fanciest Delica yet. PM2 will always be my go to knife, but for times I need something understated, the Delica fits the bill. The spidey hole needed a bit of chamfering - it shouldn't be sharp. The Pakkawood fools most people, who think it's real wood.
Spyderco Delica Folding Knife 2.9" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Mahogany Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive
3 out of 5
James
Aloha, Or
Oct 13, 2018
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, None
Great fit, terrible finish
The tolerances on the knife are amazing, and it came hair shaving sharp. Unfortunately, the knife came pretty much unfinished. The back of the knife was sharp enough to cut, as well as the Spidie-hole,as well as the edges of the liners. The action was so bad I had to pry the knife open with two hands. I ended up taking the knife apart and discovered that the liners still had machining marks. I then spent about two hours with 1000 grit sandpaper on curved edges (including the hole), and whetstone on flat edges and the face of the liners. Now the edges are no longer hazardous, and the action is merely stiff instead of being unusable, and I expect that will work in. I still give it 3 stars because the fit is truly amazing, but be aware that you will likely have to do what I did to make it usable.
Spyderco Delica Folding Knife 2.9" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Mahogany Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive
3 out of 5
Rich
Laurence Harbor, Nj
Nov 14, 2018
Pros: Handle Material, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Beautiful but...
Beautiful knife but, very stiff action. Also as other's have stated very sharp edges where there shouldn't be sharp edges. No lanyard hole???? Very unlike Spyderco. Not worth the premium $$$$
Spyderco Delica Folding Knife 2.9" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Mahogany Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive
3 out of 5
Edward
Round Rock, Tx
Oct 30, 2017
Pros: None
Cons: Handle Material
not as pictured
I already had the hap40 Delica. I saw the photo and description so ordered it. Mine came with the Pakkawood handles looking almost 'burned' color. Dark and unpleasant. I expected wood looking handles not that. unfortunately, by the time I opened the box, it was too late to return it. would not recommend this. the liners are great. but I doubt a gentleman would want to be seen with handles like this. just my preference. It has nothing to do with the steel or the concept.
Spyderco Delica Folding Knife 2.9" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Mahogany Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive
2 out of 5
Brian
Lincoln, Ca
Feb 07, 2019
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Definitely the most poorly finished spyderco.
The hap40 made short work of cardboard, and the cardboard made short work of the finish on the 410 cladding. Speaking of, absolutely bad cladding line on one side. The action was super gritty/sandy/rough. Even with a clean out and forced break-in. I tore it down (screws werent even tight) and found poor finishing throughout. I used they grey and white sharpmaker stones to take the rough spots off the liner and mechanisms. Once all done, and reassembled, it's not as gritty, but still has the worst action of any knife ive owned-- including flea market stuff. But, that hap40 is nice, and it's an unobtrusive knife, so I still like it overall.
Spyderco Delica Folding Knife 2.9" HAP40/SUS410 Satin Plain Blade, Mahogany Pakkawood Handles, KnifeCenter Exclusive
1 out of 5
Ray
Saratoga Springs, Ny
Jul 16, 2018
Pros: Handle Feel, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Blade Material
Do NOT belive the hype with this knife.
This knife is not as good as the regular delica. Sure the handle is nice and thats about it. Blade steel is garbage. i made ONE cut into cardboard hitting no staples what so ever and the blade edge is now deformed. The stiffness of the opening action on this knife is so bad i cut my thumb on the very sharp spyder hole. I do like the handle and the clip is nice. not worth the price they are asking.