Reviews and Ratings for Spyderco Sage 5 Folding Knife 3.03" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber/G10 Laminate Handles - C123CFPCL

Spyderco Sage 5 Folding Knife 3.03" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber/G10 Laminate Handlesrated 4.957 stars out of 5 (23 reviews)
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
22
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Spyderco Sage 5 Folding Knife 3.03 inch S30V Satin Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber/G10 Laminate Handles

 

Price: $163.80

Save $70.20 (30%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Spyderco Sage 5 Folding Knife 3.03" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber/G10 Laminate Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Johan
Sweden
Jul 27, 2017
Pros:
Cons:
Fast cusromer service and delivery
Fast cusromer service and delivery
Spyderco Sage 5 Folding Knife 3.03" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber/G10 Laminate Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jayb
Seattle, WA
Jan 27, 2018
Pros: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Beautiful and Beautifully Made
This is a very high quality knife. The blade is large, sharp and useful. The handle is beautifully made, purposeful but quite elegant to my eye. The lock is the best I've had in a knife, easy to use and you can flip it closed without having your fingers in the way of the closing. I also like that the lock design allows the back of the knife to be open. I prefer the wire type clip because it allows the knife to ride deeper in my pocket. My biggest concern when ordering this knife was the size. I've always preferred a small knife for my EDC, thin, easy to fit in the pocket but big enough to be useful. The Save 5 is certainly on the large side for me. I wouldn't want a bigger pocket knife. It's just a bit longer than the Delica (maybe 1/8 inch longer in the blade and 1/8 inch longer in the handle) and about 1/2 ounce heavier. However the handle and the blade are wider than the Delica. It is very easy to clip into my pocket and carry. (A difference for me is when I also put my hand in my pocket. There's less room for my hand than with a smaller knife!) Of course, the magic occurs when I pull the Sage 5 out of my pocket for use. A knife with a big blade and a large secure grip is a most useful tool. It's one of those you pull out of your pocket to admire occasionally as well. If you're considering ordering one, think carefully about the size, you're just not going to be disappointed in the form, function, quality and beauty.
Spyderco Sage 5 Folding Knife 3.03" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber/G10 Laminate Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nathan
BC
Jan 04, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Spyderco Sage 5
Been waiting on this one for quite some time. I'm not disappointed at all. Everything I wanted. :)
Spyderco Sage 5 Folding Knife 3.03" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber/G10 Laminate Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Edward
Vancouver
Jun 12, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Very nice knife
I use it for daily stuff like cutting boxes for recycling, opening packges, cutting zipties, etc. I love the overall design-The handle, pocket clip, blade shape and length. I learned how to use the middle finger to open the blade on Youtube. I am lefthanded and this knife is ambi.
Spyderco Sage 5 Folding Knife 3.03" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber/G10 Laminate Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Pons L
Paris, Other
Feb 03, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
My fifth Sage
Sage 5, with compression lock, is a beautiful, ultralight knife. Very versatile. Super easy to use.
Spyderco Sage 5 Folding Knife 3.03" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber/G10 Laminate Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael P
Tiburon, Ca
Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Stealth EDC Perfection
I can't think of one area where the Sage 5 could be improved. For me it is quite simply The perfect low profile EDC. I will admit that I am not a big fan of carbon fiber. I don't like the look and up until the Sage 5 have never wanted a knife covered with it. But for the mission of an inconspicuous pocket knife it works beautiful; blends in with any outfit, doesn't reflect light, excellent grip without being rough and so far has proven to be very durable. The Sage 5 has excellent ergonomics; the best I have found on a knife this small. The 50/50 choil offers a very secure grip with great control. The deep carry wire clip is great. I don't mind the polished metal; even if it is noticed by the public it does not signal anything threatening. And of course the compression lock is unsurpassed for deployment and secure lock up. So if the social situation calls for something inconspicuous but uncompromised in features, the Sage 5 is at the top of the list.
Spyderco Sage 5 Folding Knife 3.03" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber/G10 Laminate Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joe S
Indy
Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
This thing is excellent!
I've been a spyder co fan for a lot of years. The clip on the knife let's it sit low in your pocket. It's a great cutter and the lock on it is in the back. The design allows for heavy cutting with added safety. I use my knife everyday from cutting boxes to opening packages. It's easy to open and close. Super sharp. If you're looking for an everyday life this is it.
Spyderco Sage 5 Folding Knife 3.03" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber/G10 Laminate Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Aaron
USA
Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Lock Type
Cons: None
Excellent as always
Excellent as I would expect from Spyderco. I can't wait until the next of the series!
Spyderco Sage 5 Folding Knife 3.03" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber/G10 Laminate Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Andrew
San Jose, CA
Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
My New Favorite EDC Knife
The Sage 5 is a great EDC knife. It was a little stiff out of the box, but it loosened up nicely after a couple weeks of use. Although the blade is on the smaller side, the handle and ergonomics make this knife feel big in the hand. The Spyderco compression lock is one of my favorites and they did a nice job with the carbon fiber laminate as well. My only regret is not ordering sooner.
Spyderco Sage 5 Folding Knife 3.03" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber/G10 Laminate Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Da F
Medford, Ma
Sep 28, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
a classic spyderco design made into perfection
I have been carrying this Sage 5 everyday ever since I have received it. I eat with it, drive with it, work with it and go to bed with it. Even when it is not in need, I still take it out of my pocket to admire its elegant blade. The handle is very ergonomic. The compression lock, one of my favorite, is built like a vault by Spyderco's Taichung factory. The extra inner stop pin helps to reduce possible blade play. The carbon fiber, unlike other Sages, is coarse yet does not lose the classy feeling. The wired clip provides deep carry. And CPM S30V, heat treated by Spyderco, is perfect for EDC usage. This knife has nested skeletonized liners, which greatly reduces its weight yet still provides formidable strength. In general, this knife is a gem. It is a magnificent combination of great design and perfect execution.
Spyderco Sage 5 Folding Knife 3.03" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber/G10 Laminate Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chuck
O
Apr 08, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Amazing design
I was first skeptical but as I use it grown on me. Ergonomics is the jewel in this piece. It's just easy to use mainly because of the blade shape. The leaf blade from Spyderco most likely isn't ideal for stabbing thugs and terrorists, but is great doing everything else! Carving, sharpening, scraping, digging, picking things up with your knife... the flat wide blade is REALLY great. I never worry about damaging the tip either. Aesthetics is great. It doesn't scare people. The clip and the scale is ideal for EDC. Clip hides more than well, and the fiberglass scale won't damage your clothe. The handle ergonomics is so far the best I've felt in Spyderco lines. As a non-tactical every day carry knife, I choose Sage 5 as my first choice.
Spyderco Sage 5 Folding Knife 3.03" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber/G10 Laminate Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jimmy B
Branchburg, Nj
Feb 25, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Handle Material, Blade Material
Cons: None
Beauty and Braun
Solid, high quality knife with looks that remind me of a gentleman's folder. I really like the compression lock. At first it was a little hard to unlock the blade, but now that has broken in and the knife just falls back into the handle. The deep carry wire clip is very nice and I really like the texture and looks of the carbon fiber.
Spyderco Sage 5 Folding Knife 3.03" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber/G10 Laminate Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve
Hawaii
Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
Spyderco Sage 5
I had to wait a few days for this knife cause of it's demand and popularity; it was worth it. Great edc knife.
Spyderco Sage 5 Folding Knife 3.03" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber/G10 Laminate Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jason
Pleasant Hill, Ca
Jun 14, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Every morning I choose this knife to carry...
Like: -- Knife is very easy to carry. It nearly completely hides in your pocket. You don't drag on it when you put your hand into your pocket. Very nice. -- Sharp. By far the sharpest knife I have received from the factory. ZT, Benchmade, customs, nothing is as sharp as this so far. Like that. -- Light weight. This is one of my key factors for picking a knife -- Spidey hole. So awesome. -- Compression lock is very easy to use Dislike: -- Spidey hole is extremely sharp on the edges. I ran a file to kind of remove that "sharpness". It really roughed up my thumb. -- Takes a bit to break in (I am impatient!) -- Compression lock is still breaking in I didn't initially love this knife. I just liked it. However over the time I have had it (few weeks), I find I have not picked another EDC in nearly 2 weeks. I can't think of anything my other knives have over this one (I don't have a huge collection of knives, maybe 10-15 Benchmades/ZTs/etc). Buy it, love it.
Spyderco Sage 5 Folding Knife 3.03" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber/G10 Laminate Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike P
TN
Oct 01, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Best EDC for 2016
The new Spyderco Sage 5 stands alone as one the best EDC knives for 2016. Spyderco continued the Sage series with what I think is the best in the series. The G10 laminate scales are much smoother on this knife and the overall feel and fit in the hand is perfect. The S30V holds a great edge and holds up well under all conditions. It's a great light-weight EDC and the press lock system is in my opinion the best. It's going to be hard to pick which knife I want to carry between this knife and my PM2.
Spyderco Sage 5 Folding Knife 3.03" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber/G10 Laminate Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matt
Kailua, Hawaii
Sep 01, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Sage 5
How I use the product: I've only owned the Sage 5 for about one month, but it has been my primary EDC since. My other recent purchases are the Delica 4 Ti, and the Spyderco Tusk. The Tusk and Sage are both Taichung, Taiwan manufacture. The quality of the Taichung folders is the best I have ever owned. I have been knife collecting since 1972, as to put this qualitative judgment into perspective. I have used this for a number of chores, but no tasks that would test the knife. As an everyday pocket knife, it is light, extremely high quality, and easy to clip to the pocket or sit at the bottom of the pocket with your spare change. Things that are great about it: Light weight, a combination of carbon fiber and G-10, S30V blade steel, deep pocket clip, and the phosphorous bronze bushings on a tracked blade guide as part of the outstanding compression lock-up system. Details you would have wanted to have known before owning: Perhaps the high quality of design, materials, and overall utility of this knife. I own Micro TEch, Benchmade, Chris Reeve, Randall, and Victorinox made knives, and place Spyderco Taichung knives at the top of the heap in terms of quality, utility, and design.
Spyderco Sage 5 Folding Knife 3.03" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber/G10 Laminate Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Greg B
KY
Dec 07, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Sage 5 excellent knife
I found the Spyderco Sage 5 to be a high quality knife. The blade sharpness & alignment were excellent. The Sage 5 is my knife for EDC. It is comfortable in my front pants pocket and is durable and of sufficient size for general use. The deep carry clip is perfect. I cut rope, packing straps and cardboard each week. The blade holds its edge and I really like the lock mechanism it works well with either hand.
Spyderco Sage 5 Folding Knife 3.03" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber/G10 Laminate Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rj
New York
Oct 09, 2017
Pros: Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Fantastic EDC
Great size, great blade, great everything.
Spyderco Sage 5 Folding Knife 3.03" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber/G10 Laminate Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Shane
INDIANA
Sep 10, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Excellent!
The PM2 is my all time favorite folder but this one might soon take that title. I think compression locks are as good as it gets and the one on this Sage 5 might be the best yet. The scales are different at first compared to G10, but they're still grippy and very nice looking. The Sage 5 will be my EDC for the office and other places I fear some might think a larger blade is scary. The deployment is very stiff without adjusting the pivot but should wear in perfectly. The clip is sturdy and hides well. The S30V blade is brutally sharp out of the box. 10/10
Spyderco Sage 5 Folding Knife 3.03" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber/G10 Laminate Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Br
MD
Sep 10, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
LOVE
One of my favorite Sage's. Always been a fan of the Sage series, with the Sage 2 being my favorite, but the Sage 5 might be my favorite once it breaks in. My only negative so far is that the compression lock isn't as smooth as any Paramilitary 2 I've owned. I'm hoping that with some break in time it'll become close to as smooth, that would make this knife absolutely amazing.
Spyderco Sage 5 Folding Knife 3.03" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber/G10 Laminate Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Paul S
Parker, CoParker, Co
Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Ease of Opening, None
Tops In Value & Quality.
A knife this excellent for $130.00? You bet, way to go Spyderco! Only Cons the lock & action really stiff but breaking in well after a few weeks. Buy this knife, you can not beat it for $130.00.
Spyderco Sage 5 Folding Knife 3.03" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber/G10 Laminate Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve D
Safety Harbor, Fl
Mar 08, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Gentlemanly
This is a gem and the pinnacle of the Sage series. The compression lock on the small frame is perfect. It has all the typical Spyderco strengths with great materials, ergonomics, sharpness, and build quality. It is silky smooth. This fits perfectly in my collection and compliments my Domino and Manix 2s. For small knife carry this fits the bill perfectly. Get you one.
Spyderco Sage 5 Folding Knife 3.03" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Carbon Fiber/G10 Laminate Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Peter S
Mass
Jan 11, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
The perfect EDC size-almost perfect fit & finish
As the title says, this knife is THE perfect EDC size, for me at least--blade, handle length and weight. The fit and finish are almost perfect. The CF scales, even if they are just a laminate, are excellent. All other finishing is excellent except the blade edge. As I look along the edge under a 10x loop, I can see a couple very slight ragged areas [burrs?] and near the tip, I see a slight step in the edge. This explains the paper cut test occasionally tearing the paper. Mind you, I'm being very picky. But for $130-plus, I expect perfection. Especially since my $98 Manix 2 S30v edge WAS perfect [USA made]. AND I just got an Ontario Utilitac II that also has a perfect edge--for $24!!! Still, I highly recommend getting at least one of these from the sage series.