Reviews and Ratings for Spyderco Cat Folding Knife 2.44" CTS-BD1 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles - C129GP

Spyderco Cat Folding Knife 2.44" CTS-BD1 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handlesrated 4.500 stars out of 5 (20 reviews)
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
15
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
1
Spyderco Cat Folding Knife 2.44 inch CTS-BD1 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles

 

Price: $61.60

Save $26.40 (30%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Spyderco Cat Folding Knife 2.44" CTS-BD1 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Thomas
Kirkland, Washington
Sep 09, 2019
Pros: Handle Feel, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Material
Great value
This is a first impression as I just got the Cat two days ago. But she hasn't left my pocket. Great little EDC value gem. I wouldn't have normally chosen BD1 as a blade steel. But as a budget steel, it is all one can ask for. Good ergo, reasonable materials, and vood price all add up to a great value. The Cat is not pocket candy, but she is a little beater that will feel good in the hand a d easy on the pocket book.
Spyderco Cat Folding Knife 2.44" CTS-BD1 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nick The Knife
ohio
Jul 23, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Practically Perfect Little Knife
Works great as a smaller EDC knife. The blade excels at slicing, the ergos are superb, fit and finish excellent for the price. The blade steel is decent although not as "new" as the particle steels, and no one ensures the steel performs to its best like Spyderco. The only thing I miss is the jimping that was present on the carbon fiber version. Wish they didn't take it away.
Spyderco Cat Folding Knife 2.44" CTS-BD1 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ruck66
Guam USA
Apr 20, 2013
Pros: Blade Material
Cons: None
Those who believe that 440C is bottom line stainless no not what they talk about. In the sixties, seventies and eighties 440C ruled the stainless blade market custom and production. It wasn't until ATS-34 came along in the early nineties that 440C fell behind the curve. And yet today you still find 440C on custom, semi-custom and production blades. Like all blade steels, tempering is everything. For years, Paul Bos cooked 440C for Buck Knives and probably still does. If you want an expert opinion on 440C, he is the man to ask. In point of fact, Paul most likely turned Al Buck on to the excellent properties of 440C. I believe that Paul learned about 440C from his mentor making filet knives for the Tuna Industry in San Diego!
Spyderco Cat Folding Knife 2.44" CTS-BD1 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Barry
New England
Dec 30, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Awesome
This is not just a great small knife it is a great knife period. Because of the design ergonomics the knife fits even a large hand perfectly. The 440C blade steel is old school perfection. Sharp out of the box with great edge retention and ease of sharpening. Liner lock snaps into place with no blade play. This is a lot of knife in a small package and it should be great to use/carry around non knife people. Lastly the wire pocket clip allows for very deep pocket carry making the knife almost invisible.
Spyderco Cat Folding Knife 2.44" CTS-BD1 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Stuart H
Oshawa
Feb 26, 2015
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
"The Perfect Office-Friendly Folder'
You work in an office, but you're also a pocket knife type of guy who knows quality. Which brings us to the Syderco Cat folder. I consider this ambidextrous knife to be one of the best non-threatening office-friendly folders on the market. From the stubby spear-pointed blade to the ergonomically fitted G-10 scales that incorporate a folding front finger choil, this compact knife is truly a work of art. My only criticism of the Cat is that the deep carry steel wire pocket clip is polished rather than blackened. When I'm asked for a recommendation concerning an EDC knife that is to be utilized in an office environment, my answer is either the Spyderco Cat or the Victorinox Swiss Army Floral Knife. Either way you can't go wrong!
Spyderco Cat Folding Knife 2.44" CTS-BD1 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Baker
VA
Apr 26, 2018
Pros: Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: None
CAT
Mandarin mauling, tangerine orange peeling, apple carving CAT. Having tip of blade so close to your finger tips is great for precision fruit carving. Go anywhere legal blade length. Pivot screw came a bit tight. Backed it off to flick open.
Spyderco Cat Folding Knife 2.44" CTS-BD1 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
John M
Florida
Jun 18, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Pleasantly surprised!
Excellent product. Other vendors did not have the most recent model. The price was fair, and service was outstanding. Two business days between ordering and receiving my knife. I am impressed.
Spyderco Cat Folding Knife 2.44" CTS-BD1 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Fg
Virginia
Apr 04, 2013
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
Great EDC
Overall this is a very nice knife.. Solidly built and smooth opening. For its small size it maintains a good weight and feel in the hand. Excellent value hands down.
Spyderco Cat Folding Knife 2.44" CTS-BD1 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cj
Atlanta, GA
Jan 05, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Spyderco Rocks as Usual
A great day-to-day knife, but I gave it to my wife for Xmas. She uses it for just about everything from box cutting & opening, to rope trimming, to personal protection options. The thumb hole is large enough to really flip it open quickly, the blade is wide enough at the base to be sturdy, and with a snub-nosed tip, the fulcrum point keeps it from slipping out of control. The handle grip is fantastic, and the blade lock is top notch. The only issue I have is that the clip is wire, which I feel may give it a chance to bend out of shape down the road, but my wife likes it better than the full-metal clips on other folding pocket knives (I have a Delica, and that was her peeve with it, was the clip)... so... to each his/her own! Great knife all the way around, and comes razor sharp out of the box.
Spyderco Cat Folding Knife 2.44" CTS-BD1 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bruce
Glenville PA.
Aug 05, 2013
Pros: Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use
Cons: None
Great Product-Great shopping experence
Since we live in a world where everything comes in some sort of package that needs to be cut open to get at the contensense , my spyderco cat will be my constent friend. Perfict blade shape and sizes for the task. veary well made and comfortable in pocket. And I must say my shopping experience at knife center was great. Good price great service
Spyderco Cat Folding Knife 2.44" CTS-BD1 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Paul R
Florida USA
May 26, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Weight, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Sheath, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Cons: Handle Feel, None
Liner lock is super tight. Really great value.
The G129GP I got was really solidly built and has virtually no movement in the blade in any direction. The blade is also pretty much perfectly centered while folded. The action is a little stiff new and I haven't had time to see if breaking it in reduces that. The traction between the clip and the scale grip is very aggressive on cloth and holds the knife in place very firmly on the cloth of your pants/pocket. The handle scales have fairly squared corners and are the only thing I think could improve this without totally different materials.
Spyderco Cat Folding Knife 2.44" CTS-BD1 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike
Deerfield Beach, FL
Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Watch out for the Cat
This is an everyday carry for me. It's what I have come to expect from Spyderco. Its sharp, reasonably sized for most jobs, well constructed and did I say sharp? If your looking for something dependable for a small investment, this is it. The G10 is an attractive finishing touch. Great knife overall.
Spyderco Cat Folding Knife 2.44" CTS-BD1 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
John
FL
May 30, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Lock Type
Cons: None
True value
Well worth the price. The jimping was a bonus. Great quality for a small folder. Excellent EDC.
Spyderco Cat Folding Knife 2.44" CTS-BD1 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
G Magee
Wall, NJ
Oct 04, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
great knife
Love the balance of this knife. The handle and choil make the knife handle like a much larger knife. The liner lock is large and feels almost a sure as a frame lock. Do not like the wire clip as it has that little "rattle."
Spyderco Cat Folding Knife 2.44" CTS-BD1 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve
Rockville MD
Aug 26, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great Knife
The Cat is my new EDC- the size is great for most situations that I encounter (routine office, around the yard and house, on the trail). We just moved and that Cat was my go to knife for opening boxes and then cutting them down. It held its edge well and was very comfortable in my hand. I was concerned that it was going to be too small, but it is 'just right'; grip is good, love the deep pocket clip, and the blade shape is just what I need. My wife 'borrowed' mine which is why I made the purchase of 2 more (one for me, and one 'just in case')
Spyderco Cat Folding Knife 2.44" CTS-BD1 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Peter
Virginia
Apr 03, 2018
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Blade Material, None
Not perfect, but close
There are many areas in which this knife doesn't disappoint, so I'll start with the few in which it does. Where fit and finish are concerned, this knife is generally just fine, however my particular piece came with an ugly burr inside the thumb hole. Functionally this is a non-issue, it just looks terrible. The only other place I can ding this knife is that it doesn't have jimping on the thumb ramp or finger choil. Again, functionally there's nothing wrong with that, so this is all personal preference. This knife is incredibly ergonomic and having a good grip on it isn't compromised, but many other less expensive Spydercos have this feature, and I would have loved to see it on this one. Everything else I have to say about this knife is completely positive. The handle fills the hand well and allows for a full grip, and the thumb ramp and finger choil contribute to the fantastic ergonomics. This knife can be flicked open relatively easily, and the liner lock is easy to access for closing. The G10 looks good and provides a good texture. The pocket clip is great and sits the knife deeply in the pocket. Overall, I definitely recommend this knife for a good sub-3" option.
Spyderco Cat Folding Knife 2.44" CTS-BD1 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Chris L
Pittsburgh Pa.
Aug 21, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
It is what I had expected, a well made product with good fit and finish and ideal for pocket carry.
Spyderco Cat Folding Knife 2.44" CTS-BD1 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Tony B.
Portland, OR
Jun 15, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Blade Material, None
Excellent smaller EDC
This knife will most likely be my EDC for quite some time. I love the shape, size, and fitment in my hand. It's not too small or too big. I've only used it to cut some paper, a zip tie, and a few bite size pieces of apple. In all instances it performed flawlessly, the knife inspires confidence and I'm sure it would have no problem taking on larger tasks. Pros: - Price - Size, overall shape, it feels great in the hand, nice EDC for those looking for a knife that is a bit on the smaller side. - love the low ride wire clip - solid lockup, zero blade play - very sharp out of the box - The feel of the G-10 is perfect. I'm a G-10 fan. Cons: - lower-end blade steel, but what do you expect at this price - The one I received has a slight blemish on the blade, ironically next to the Taiwan stamp - No jimping (spyderco's site says it does have jimping, I believe the original CF version did, probably just an oversight) - Stiff to open and close at first, it has "broken in" though I wish I picked up one of the original CF versions, I guess it was discontinued for a reason though.
Spyderco Cat Folding Knife 2.44" CTS-BD1 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Hollyhops
FL
Dec 07, 2019
Pros: None
Cons: None
So Close yet So far away
Nylon washers, Jerky opening. Could have been great. I recommend Ka-Bar Dozier Mini same length blade fraction of the cost. Smooth as butter.
Spyderco Cat Folding Knife 2.44" CTS-BD1 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Eli
Victoria
Jul 19, 2015
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Almost excellent!
Bought this as a edc apple eating, string cutting, bag opening general purpose lightweight knife. Fantastic! Easy to carry, smooth, fast-opening, and sharp. High quality all around. Loved it for two days until I noticed that the liner lock didn't hold. I wouldn't call it a lock so much as a prop for holding the blade open. I could push the blade closed with one finger--the liner lock easily slipped off to the side allowing the blade to pass by. Major lock malfunction! Returned it but I might try another because I hope it was just that particular knife, not all cats.