Reviews and Ratings for Spyderco Chicago Folding Knife 2" CTS-BD1 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles - C130GP

Spyderco Chicago Folding Knife 2" CTS-BD1 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handlesrated 4.091 stars out of 5 (11 reviews)
4 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
2
1 star
0
Spyderco Chicago Folding Knife 2 inch CTS-BD1 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles

 

Price: $58.10

Save $24.90 (30%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Spyderco Chicago Folding Knife 2" CTS-BD1 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Hithere001
Jackson Heights, NY
Dec 18, 2016
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Excellent EDC Knife
I bought this knife because I live in NYC. Carrying a blade longer than 2 " will get you arrested. This knife has excellent construction. It is obvious that Spyderco makes excellent, high quality products. The blade is thick, high quality metal and it comes razor sharp. Even though it is not classified as assisted opening, once the knife is broken in, it is very easy to open one handed. This is the best designed and constructed pocket knife I have ever owned. I will buy other Spyderco knives, they are a great company.
Spyderco Chicago Folding Knife 2" CTS-BD1 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kmck
Hawaii
Oct 19, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
My Favorite Spyderco. Ever.
I'm an Archivist & Librarian who uses this knife as part of my EDC. I have 4 other Spyderco blades, but this is by far my most favorite everyday carry. Period. Its small, but sharp and ready to use with the flick of my thumb. Its usually used to cut parcels and such open, but I've used it to cut steaks at lunch, and whittled tent stakes on the fly. Awesome tool, never leave the house without it.
Spyderco Chicago Folding Knife 2" CTS-BD1 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Justin
IL
Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Great knife for a city with strick restrictions
Having moved close to Chicago this knife is the longest I can legally carry. Typical great quality from Spyderco and is nice to not scare any friends not comfortable around a knife.
Spyderco Chicago Folding Knife 2" CTS-BD1 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike G.
Chicago, IL
Dec 09, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use
Great small EDC
I was originally using a shi**y no name folding knife up until it completely broke on me. Blade completely snapped out of the handle. I was looking into investing into a nicer edc but I didn't want to break the bank either. I work at a grocery store here in Chicago so I carry it for small things like tape and cardboard, but also around the city, it gives me a higher sense of safety compared to having nothing on me. Overall, the knife feels well built and sturdy, blade is very sharp and even, and it fits well into any pocket. The only con is that the locking mechanism is a little stiff at first but I'm hoping it eases up with more use.
Spyderco Chicago Folding Knife 2" CTS-BD1 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Boo
Georgia, Tbilisi
May 23, 2011
Pros: Pocket Clip, Lock Type, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
The BEST EDC knife!!!
very cool pocket knife, i'm going to order one.
Spyderco Chicago Folding Knife 2" CTS-BD1 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jim Richardson
Chicago, IL
Jun 20, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great little work knife for Chicago
As a retiree, I volunteer at a food pantry and a non-profit used book stores where there are always cardboard boxes to open and deconstruct. While I like quality knives, it's more socially acceptable to use something small and legal in Chicago. This does the job, and then some. Locks up solid, opens very easily one handed without striking any fear in others. Keeps an edge. Very comfortable in the hand, and feels like a serious tool. Fits nicely into the watch pocket of a pair of jeans. There was a bit of a burr and tiny tear in the G10 at the liner lock, but it's smoothed up with a little use.
Spyderco Chicago Folding Knife 2" CTS-BD1 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Yank Garbr
Columbia, SC
Jun 09, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Pocket Clip, Handle Material
Great little EDC knife
I bought this knife because you can carry it in every state, almost everywhere. Not having to worry about blade length when I travel to other states. Its a great little utility knife that doesn't scream tactical. Nice and lightweight too. Peronally I think that the pocket clip looks a little "paper clipish." Some might like it though because it looks inconspicuous, I would've prefered a solid clip. Also, I just wish that they were able to figure out why the carbon handles were cracking, and kept that look, that was a classic look. The G10 is still nice looking handle with a gripy feel. I also like how when the blade is open, it leaves a notch for your index finger. All in all, I'm really happy with it, and would recommend it to anyone.
Spyderco Chicago Folding Knife 2" CTS-BD1 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Howard K
Boca Raton Florida
Nov 08, 2012
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
Spyderco Chicago is almost great.
I support the use of a small blade 2" or less for everyday carry. Even though I no longer live in a city that limits knife size, I still continue to use the smaller blade. The smaller blade is not considered a weapon and, is manageable for daily use. The only drawback is Taiwan manufacture. Still the quality is acceptable. I do recommend the style, size and comfortable grip. Of all brands Spyderco is my preferred.
Spyderco Chicago Folding Knife 2" CTS-BD1 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Rg
NSW, Australia
Jul 03, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Not too happy with this one
I was excited about this knife, but it is a bit dissapointing. It has the build quality of the Byrd series of knives, low quality G10, and what looks like painted liners, and no jimping at all. The blade also came blunt and no profiled evenely on both sides, I'll now have to buy a diamond stone to reprofile it myself. The wire clip is nice though and the size is perfect. Once i've fixed the blade is should be a good little utility knife.
Spyderco Chicago Folding Knife 2" CTS-BD1 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
John
Bay Area, CA
Sep 07, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Great design -- But rough around the edges for Spyderco
Maybe the economy is hitting Spyderco but i've seen them turn out nicer knives at this $40 price point and lower. The ergonomics of this little Chicago knife are awesome for such a small piece -- exactly what you'd expect from Spyderco. BUT, it's the fit and finish that falls short. They've turned out better and cheaper products with the Ambitious -- and even the couple Byrd series i've gotten have been better. Take this with a grain of salt -- could be just the one i recieved but the action is not smooth and drags noticeably on the liner lock (been cleaned. The liners are not polished -- which isn't a big deal but they've done this on their lower end knives before and it adds that extra quality aspect that this one is missing. The lanyard tube rattles noticeably. The blade shape is great and sharp but had burnish marks that I haven't been able to fully get out. Again, i'm a huge Spyderco fan -- even love some of the Taiwan based products but this Chicago seems like it snuck past their normal standards. For $20, I'd be fine. For current price -- ehhh.
Spyderco Chicago Folding Knife 2" CTS-BD1 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Andreas M
sweden
Jun 12, 2013
Pros:
Cons:
Well, Not my cup of tea..
My chicago was not as expected due to a quite blunt and uneven edge.. The size is great for smaller tasks as anyone would expect (if it was sharp) i do own a spyderco sharpening system but i dont like the idea of sharpening a new knife after unboxing it in order to use it.. The opening (whit my chicago) is still wery dull and to flick it out is not a smooth action. It's actually hard, atleast if u don't want to wave ur hand like a maniac.. Im sure this knife IS a good small EDC but my one was just made on a monday... This is the first Spyderco that i have a bad experience with and i have over a dozen of this super nice brand.