Reviews and Ratings for Spyderco GrassHopper Miniature Folding Knife 2.31" Blade, Stainless Steel Handles - C138P

Spyderco GrassHopper Miniature Folding Knife 2.31" Blade, Stainless Steel Handlesrated 4.529 stars out of 5 (17 reviews)
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Spyderco GrassHopper Miniature Folding Knife 2.31 inch Blade, Stainless Steel Handles

 

Price: $23.10

Save $9.90 (30%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Spyderco GrassHopper Miniature Folding Knife 2.31" Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike
Detroit mi
Jun 10, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Lock Type
Cons: None
Spyderco grasshopper
Love it
Spyderco GrassHopper Miniature Folding Knife 2.31" Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Richard T
Merritt, BC Canada
Apr 12, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Ease of Opening, Blade Material
Cons: None
Nice litle pocket knife, soldered sulver on it and looks great
Spyderco GrassHopper Miniature Folding Knife 2.31" Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael M
lawrenceburg,ky
Aug 05, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip
Excellent
Love This little knife i wish they would have made the lanyard hole bigger so i could fit paracord through easier but could still get it in i also wish it had a pocket clip but i understand
Spyderco GrassHopper Miniature Folding Knife 2.31" Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
R. C. Walker
Illinois
Jul 07, 2010
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Nifty and handy dandy.
I've always loved my Ladybugs. I like the Grasshopper even more. Like the slightly slimmer shape and longer blade. Comfortable in the hand. Well made. Sturdy. Nice fit & finish. Seems to stay sharp. I like the slip joint. Stays open & easier to close than a lock back. Not as easy to open but not hard to open. The price is great. Has safely done what ever I asked it to do around the house, garden, shop, and art studio.
Spyderco GrassHopper Miniature Folding Knife 2.31" Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ts 3763
Ohio
Sep 24, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Somewhat large for a keychain knife, but...
No problems at all, just a bit too big for keychain use. Arrived extremely sharp out of the box. Would make a good first EDC.
Spyderco GrassHopper Miniature Folding Knife 2.31" Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jason
Seattle, Wa.
Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
Excellent for travel
I chose this knife for a trip to England, where locking knives are frowned upon. It was an excellent choice, kept its edge and was very easy to drop into a pocket and forget when not needed. Highly recommend Spyderco knives in general, and this model for travel! Doesn't open as fast as a larger model, but it may break in a little bit more with use...
Spyderco GrassHopper Miniature Folding Knife 2.31" Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Andrew W
Elizabethtown, Ky
Dec 04, 2011
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Handle Material
Cons: None
Good for a teenage girl
My 17 year old daughter likes this knife. She likes the slim fit in her pocket. It is super sharp. And it looks good. Also it is easy to open and close because it does not have a lock. It won't break your nails.
Spyderco GrassHopper Miniature Folding Knife 2.31" Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bryan B.
Satellite Beach , FL
Oct 03, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
EXCELLENT !!
I carry this Knife with me all of the Time as a Pocket Knife .
Spyderco GrassHopper Miniature Folding Knife 2.31" Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Reacher (Said Nothing)
Algonquin, IL
Aug 08, 2011
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great EDC!
Great pocket knife. Handy, sharp, and *non-threatening.*
Spyderco GrassHopper Miniature Folding Knife 2.31" Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Minstrelman47
Fort Pierce, FL
May 19, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
The Grasshopper is GREAT!
I ordered two of these little folders for my wife and I. The old style sliplock design was the same as many of my other folders so -no problem. The knife is small and ideal for a pocket or keyring. We use them for all sorts of small cutting chores.
Spyderco GrassHopper Miniature Folding Knife 2.31" Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Reggie
New York
Oct 18, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Type, None
Spyderco c 138p grasshopper miniature folding knife
I use it on my keychain it is great
Spyderco GrassHopper Miniature Folding Knife 2.31" Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Nm Engraver
Prescott ,AZ
Nov 14, 2017
Pros: Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Nice Engraving
SS handles engraved very nicely.
Spyderco GrassHopper Miniature Folding Knife 2.31" Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ed
Venice, Ca
Feb 05, 2020
Pros: Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Ease of Opening, Blade Material, None
Nice Little Dress Pocket Knife
I got this for times when I just want a little something in my pocket. It is well made, sharp but really takes two hands to open. The action is pretty stiff, which is good for a non-locking knife. I think Spyderco would have used better quality steel for the blade, but for what it is, it's fine. It slips into my pocket and won't show when I am wearing a suit or dress slacks. Great for the symphony or dinner out when all you might need to do is trim a loose thread on your jacket or clip a rose from a bush for your date. I wouldn't take it into the jungle with me, but I have my new CIVIVI Backlash for that.
Spyderco GrassHopper Miniature Folding Knife 2.31" Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
~ Serpent Lord ~
Bowling Green, KY
Nov 09, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Handle Feel
Pocket Knife
Used as everyday work pocket knife. Good steel on this knife should let it hold an edge longer than my Case Caliber. Not really missing the lockback feature because it's a little heavier knife and the spring mechanism is pretty stiff. I've only started carrying this knife 3 days ago so these are really first impressions: the handling feel of the knife seems a little awkward...maybe I'm just not used to it after carrying the Case for about 3 years. The handle being just a little shorter keeps your little finger from getting a good grasp therefore stripping and trimming cables is made a little more delicately(less forceful) and on data cable maybe that's a good thing! I bought this along with the HoneyBee because I just couldn't image the size difference. The HB is merely a keychain knife; nothing more! The Grasshopper is as small as a useable knife should be. Very good sharpness from the factory as with every Spyderco. I have "Small" hands so I can be OK with the size and really that puts my middle finger in the end groove nearest the blade and index finger out in the breeze. If you have big hands consider yourselves warned. Before ever using this knife, I made a 6" lanyard for it to make it easy to pull out of my pocket. For my line of work(Low Voltage) a small light-weight knife is ideal.
Spyderco GrassHopper Miniature Folding Knife 2.31" Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ernest T
Yardley, Pa
Jul 01, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
Good little knife
I use the knife on my keychain. Very nice to always have on me. Not too big or small. Not sure about all but my only complaint is the centering is a little off. Great little knife
Spyderco GrassHopper Miniature Folding Knife 2.31" Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Brian
Minneapolis, MN
Aug 26, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
spyderco grasshopper - great value
I got these as gifts for my groomsmen and they loved them. They are a little sticky out of the box and pretty tough to open one handed given the size but I'm sure they'll loosen up with use. Overall a very sharp, good quality knife for the price.
Spyderco GrassHopper Miniature Folding Knife 2.31" Blade, Stainless Steel Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Chris
Canada
Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Weight, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
SpyderCo... but Only In Name.
I'm surprised this knife has the SpyderCo logo on it. I own other SpyderCo's and absolutely love them. This one however, is nothing special at all. It isn't big enough to cut anything significant, and doesn't grip very well. It doesn't lock, so I wouldn't feel safe about cutting anything, even if I had to.