Reviews and Ratings for Spyderco Ambitious Folding Knife 2-1/4" Plain Blade, G10 Handles - C148GP

Spyderco Ambitious Folding Knife 2-1/4" Plain Blade, G10 Handlesrated 4.629 stars out of 5 (35 reviews)
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
24
4 star
10
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Spyderco Ambitious Folding Knife 2-1/4 inch Plain Blade, G10 Handles

 

Price: $44.10

Save $18.90 (30%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Spyderco Ambitious Folding Knife 2-1/4" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jason S.
Los Angeles, Ca
Jul 09, 2012
Pros: Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
Slick little knife
Great everyday knife. Bought it as a present but was very happy with the size and feel of the knife. Will end up buying one for myself soon.
Spyderco Ambitious Folding Knife 2-1/4" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Vince
Virginia
May 17, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
Great knife
This knife is one of the best knives I have ever owned. Hands down. I will definitely buy more knives from Spyderco as this knife has amazing quality and came RAZOR sharp. This is a GREAT everyday carry knife if you are on a budget and a really good one if you have plenty of money. I can't recommend this enough.
Spyderco Ambitious Folding Knife 2-1/4" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Crispeto
Portland
Mar 04, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great little knife
I have the Tenacious, Persistence, and this Ambitious. My Persistence is my usual EDC but I often grab my Ambitious for box cutting or for carving something out. Materials are fantastic. G10 handle and blade as sharp as a razor. Great little utility knife.
Spyderco Ambitious Folding Knife 2-1/4" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mishbass
Atlanta
Mar 19, 2018
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Blade Material, None
Best bang for the buck!
I’ve had and carried the knife for a number of weeks. For $33 you can’t do better. It’s small, yet comfortably fits in your hand with a three finger grip. The fourth finger is slightly in back. There are no hot spots on the knife. Although it’s cheaper steel, it’s remained sharp for everyday, mundane cutting activities. The blade is well centered and needs a bit of breaking in but not much. The knife looks great in basic black. The blade shape is ergonomicly designed allowing for easy cutting at most angles. No side to side blade play or other loose parts. No brainer at this price.
Spyderco Ambitious Folding Knife 2-1/4" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
'Cord Weaver'; Paracord That Is...
Fort Myers, Florida
Mar 10, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Truly one of my next purchases, another Spyderco knife.
My Spyderco 'Tenacious' is a multi-tasker, I will use it for almost anything. It feels good in your hand, has a really smooth action, and it,,,well, it cuts like a knife should.
Spyderco Ambitious Folding Knife 2-1/4" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Johnny S
Charlottesville
Jul 22, 2011
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Weight
turn coat
This was my first spyderco. I have had many many knives in my life and only thought of spyderco as the makers of the delica. I didn't like the plastic handles and I don't care for lock back knives. Before this knife came out I was more or less a loyal fan of B.M. knives and I have many of them. After seeing the quality in this blade and trying it out for one week I have to give it to spyderco, Damn, these guys have great quality for twhat you pay. I liked it so much I just ordered a sage 3 to see what I can get for a little more money. Good job Spyderco!! This knife is selling other knives in your lineup.
Spyderco Ambitious Folding Knife 2-1/4" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Douglas B
Wabash, Indiana
Nov 29, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great Knife!
I needed a everyday knife that wasn't to big but big enough to get things done. Hands down one of the best kives I've ever carried.
Spyderco Ambitious Folding Knife 2-1/4" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Barbara
Sagle, Idaho
Sep 08, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Sheath, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Second One!
This was purchased as a gift - the second one I purchased for the same person! Somehow he keeps them for several years and then they disappear!! My friend absolutely loves these knives and carries it all the time and uses it for multiple things. I can only assume that this is a superior knife and would be well worth the expense of owning one. I will continue buying them for him when they mysteriously disappear.
Spyderco Ambitious Folding Knife 2-1/4" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lego Bigfan
VA.
Apr 27, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Lock Type, Sheath, None
great knife
great knife! it is a good knife for the money, I use mine for every thing.
Spyderco Ambitious Folding Knife 2-1/4" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Timmy
Us
Aug 02, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Spyderco ambitious
Great little knife it's razor sharp and cuts through stuff like butter!!! I love it I am a maintenance technician I use it ever day in my job
Spyderco Ambitious Folding Knife 2-1/4" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wheat
GA
Oct 17, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Weight, None
Awesome
This is the best EDC knife I own! Great quality but won’t break the bank.
Spyderco Ambitious Folding Knife 2-1/4" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tim B
Alto Georgia
Oct 14, 2016
Pros: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
Spyderco and Gerber
The Spyderco I ordered for myself as a carry knife the Gerber was a birthday gift both were great quality and shipment was fast but the best thing was the cost 40 to 50 percent less than I had priced anywhere else thank you Knifecenter.com
Spyderco Ambitious Folding Knife 2-1/4" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nick The Enforcer
Illinois
Mar 28, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
"little-big-knife" a Huge homerun!
A true mid-duty edc that you forget you are wearing! Exceeds my expectations [china made spidie]. great clip, easy to carry, easy to depoly and easy on the budget. liked it so much I got a slightly larger persistance. you can't go wrong wit this one. one small strip of grippy tape improved the purchase on the grip a lot.
Spyderco Ambitious Folding Knife 2-1/4" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Stefan A
Sävedalen, Sweden
Apr 27, 2012
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Short strong knife
Well made Spyderco quality and a short stout powerful blade. Great for everyday use; cutting string, rope, i.e. power cuts, opening boxes etc. that don't require a long blade.
Spyderco Ambitious Folding Knife 2-1/4" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dave
Oklahoma
Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: Lock Type, None
Great product
Spyderco Ambitious Folding Knife 2-1/4" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dustin B.
Hedgesville WV
Aug 22, 2012
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Great Workhorse!
First Spyderco I've bought and love it! It's a great little workhorse. Opening the knife at first was stiff, little 3 in 1 fixed that.
Spyderco Ambitious Folding Knife 2-1/4" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris R
oregon
Aug 22, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
must have!
Use it a work (marine environment)cutting some stuff up and left it on the dock while I did something else real quick, someone came by and kicked it off the dock in to the water, reset the macho meter because I almost cried. I have more expensive knives, bigger knives, but this one is a true gem. I was hesitant to buy it, being made in china and all, but I fugured I was going to beat on it, and spyderco has great blades, so I ordered it. The knife locks up solid, the stainless steel liners are thick, and the blade is razor sharp. Pocket clip is reversible for the lefties. When dull, lap it a few times on a stone, hit it up with a knife steel (or a smooth stainless socket ext. if it's handy)and it will shave hairs again. The knife is better quality than knives 3 times it's price. Made in China so what, in this economy, for this price, this knife is a steel, I'm ordering all three sizes. Also great for out in the woods, campcraft, and hunting and fishing. Buy it.
Spyderco Ambitious Folding Knife 2-1/4" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Buck J
Asheboro NC
Dec 10, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Ambitious!
Hey, My son got on the edc scene, I started with the Persitance then got this Ambitious. I like it a touch better due the size, but and awesome knife all the way around. Get one, you won't be disappointed.
Spyderco Ambitious Folding Knife 2-1/4" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
L.D.
Michigan
Jan 05, 2015
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Spyderco C148GP Ambitious is an awesome knife
This knife is an excellent value for the price. I am not a fan of liner locks, but the Ambitious may just change that. This knife locks up solidly and feels like it is fitted as good as knives in higher price ranges. I would buy one again.
Spyderco Ambitious Folding Knife 2-1/4" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cody Ob
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Aug 31, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
For the Ambitious Knife User
Spyderco has created a fantastic everyday carry value folder and this is it. If the tenacious is too big for you, this is the one! Decent steel quality and great price combine with a sturdy grip to make this knife an awesome EDC. You can change where you want the pocket clip and whether it is tip up or tip down carry which is a great feature! I love it, and you will too!
Spyderco Ambitious Folding Knife 2-1/4" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Top
Prosperity, SC
Apr 04, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great value
I own many knives from several different brand names. I must say this is BEST EDC knives I own. Looks like I lose the knife to my oldest daughter!! I have to order me another.
Spyderco Ambitious Folding Knife 2-1/4" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tfmiii
Sonora, Ca
Mar 14, 2018
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Handle Material
Cons: None
Great Every Day Carry Knife
There is is great feel and finish to this knife. I got it at a great sale price and carry it every day to work. I take the clip off because I don't use it.
Spyderco Ambitious Folding Knife 2-1/4" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Fishfan
Greensboro, NC
Mar 01, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Love it
I've owned the big brother(Resilience)to this knife for several months and while it's a great knife too, I have found myself carrying this Ambitious more often. Slight smaller, so I don't feel like I'm giving up much in my hand, but the different feel in the pocket is incredible. I recommend both, but if you twisted my arm to choose one, it would be the smaller Ambitious.
Spyderco Ambitious Folding Knife 2-1/4" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Timmy
Asheboro nc
Jul 22, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Awesome knife
I am a maintence tech I us it everyday it cuts well and still holds a pretty good edge it's easy to open and handles well really light
Spyderco Ambitious Folding Knife 2-1/4" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Matt
MI
Mar 13, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Lots of knife in a small package
I got this knife because my new employer has a 2inch knife blade policy (state max being 3inch). This knife does a great job of packing a lot of cutting power into a small package. The weight and width help compensate for the short blade.
Spyderco Ambitious Folding Knife 2-1/4" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Joey Marez
Austin, TX
Feb 16, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Ease of Opening
Lot of quality for such a reasonable price
For such a cheap price this knife is very well constructed. It's a good length, the blade retains a sharp edge despite daily use, and the handle has a nice feel and clean, simple lines. My only criticisms are the weight (it's a fairly heavy knife, especially compared to the Spyderco Native that I've been carrying) and the lack of a choil. The jimping on the back of the blade should suffice for keeping my fingers from sliding forward.
Spyderco Ambitious Folding Knife 2-1/4" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Brian S
NC
Feb 16, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great EDC
Can't go wrong with any Spyderco
Spyderco Ambitious Folding Knife 2-1/4" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mikael H
Sweden
Dec 29, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Handle Material, None
Cons: Blade Material
Great value
Actually bought this for a friend, and have only played a little with it, but I must say I'm impressed with it. Handle is much better then the price indicates. Blade is shaving sharp, just like I've come to expect from a Spyderco. Had it been in S30V, VG10 or another well known steel, I would have bought at least one for myself. Not that what is used is necessarily bad, but I'm a sucker for good steel.
Spyderco Ambitious Folding Knife 2-1/4" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Tf
Northern California
Jan 10, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great Value
Well made, great fit and function. Nice size. Good value.
Spyderco Ambitious Folding Knife 2-1/4" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Carter E
Texas
Aug 18, 2016
Pros: Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material
Cons: None
Ambitious
Great value buy. Bought if for my wife and she loves it. The blade sharpens easy and has a stout appearance for being a smaller blade. Action is good and good.
Spyderco Ambitious Folding Knife 2-1/4" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ryan
long island, ny
Feb 11, 2012
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Handle Feel
good for the money
this knife has found a spot in my edc rotation, and it stands up to many of my other favorite knives with no flaws to mention. the blade steel although not top quality is more than sufficient for my needs and with a 2 1/4 inch blade should be used within its intended purposes. some reveiws trash the knives and others, most of which are done by people who have used the knife outeside of its intended relm of use. this is a small relatively light weigh ecd blade for random everyday tasks and nothing more. ive used this knife for opening boxes cutting twine and even stripped a few wires with it . the blade has held uo very well and the lock up remains tight not play at all. the pocket clip is able to be place in any carry position (right hand left hand tip up tip down) which allows it to be comfprtable for nearly anyone who carries it. the g10 is medium traction at best but is good enough for my uses. my ambitious came very sharp out of the box and needed not work. my only slight complaint is that the screws on the pockey clip can come a little loose after alot of use but with a little lock tight that problem is solved . the opening is pretty smoth although if not oiled often ive found a faint squeaky sound when opening slowly but proper cleaning and oiling takes care of that. i find this knife to be useful and not to big that it bothers me although is is a little larger than my prefered edc blade like the scallion , twitch one and flash 1 which are my top 3. this comes right after those. i would buy again and for the price you wont find much better . and its a spyderco , that alone should instill confidence when buying this knife
Spyderco Ambitious Folding Knife 2-1/4" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Disparatedan
Seattle, WA
Mar 01, 2011
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Pocket Clip, Blade Material
Closest match to perfect EDC I've found so far!
I was looking for a smaller knife for non-threatening EDC purposes, but so many knives under a certain size feel weeny, or have poor ergonomics. I also wanted to stay under $40 or so, because that way I feel happy using/abusing the knife, or even losing it (lets facing, it's hard to lose that $400 knife if you keep it safe at home!). For the price, this little baby is great. It's a little small for heavy cutting, but other than that it has superb ergos. The handle feels good in a number of different grip positions and the shape and jimping means you can really choke down on it. The G10 scales are real grippy too. One-handed blade deployment works well too, better in the right hand than the left though. Lockup is good and tight, very little blade play in any direction. I love the blade shape - it accommodates cutting at a variety of angles, and piercing too, all without raising shocked looks from people when you use it! The pocket clip isn't the best, it works well but is very conspicuous and allows a lot of the knife handle to show. Also, while the blade came razor sharp, this isn't S30V, and it does blunt with use (and I believe that this Chinese steel is prone to rust too). Overall this is a great little knife with some high-end features, and a great price that is made possible by cheaper blade material and Chinese manufacture.
Spyderco Ambitious Folding Knife 2-1/4" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Air Nasty
Nottingham, MD
Mar 21, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Ambitious Nice Small Blade
Excellent size. Holds an edge well. I use this one for work mostly. Opening packages, cutting cardboard, etc. Deployment is fast after working it in. One of my favorite knives for work cuz if I drop it, I still cringe, but not as much.
Spyderco Ambitious Folding Knife 2-1/4" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Sparky
WICHITA, kS.
Feb 14, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None
Beautiful knife it was just smaller then I expected. I did find the pocket clip was so tight it was hard to put in, and take out of my pocket.
Spyderco Ambitious Folding Knife 2-1/4" Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Majog
Upstate NY
Nov 30, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Weight, Overall Quality
Pass on this One
This product is billed as a pocket knife with a 2.25 inch blade. The reality is that closed it is too big or heavy to be a real pocket knife. It was also not very sharp compared to other new knives and for the money I would go with the Gerber Ultralight or other model. Not impressed.